Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 MsJuicyJ88 on 11/20/2009 8:29:00 AM more reviews by MsJuicyJ88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I tried this when it first came out years ago and I don't know what types of improvements they have made since then but I was not impressed it was too thick and cakey like and looked it once applied to my face..may be good as a concealer due to it's thick consistency but I do not recommend as a foundation alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coquette89 on 11/19/2009 6:31:00 PM more reviews by coquette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This foundation does give good coverage and it looks flawless from far away. Up close it looks very dry and patchy. I've also noticed that it turns orange throughout the day. Also made me break out. Wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goggless on 11/18/2009 6:53:00 AM more reviews by goggless

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love love love love love this foundation:) it looks so natural, and i'm really into matte foundation. i dont like to much shimmer on my face. overall, this is my favorite drugstore foundation. i will buy this product forever:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarah91x on 11/16/2009 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Sarah91x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this product, if i had to choose the best drugstore foundation, it would be this one. When i first put it on and seen how easy it glided on i thought that after an hour this was going to melt right off my face, i actually went and worked out and when i was done i noticed that it was STILL on my face. I also love how it light it feels! I would definitely buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hellokitty1121 on 11/13/2009 3:53:00 PM more reviews by hellokitty1121

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product is an ok foundation. I'm not much of a foundation person but on occasion ill wear this. It feels light when I put it on and it blends well. The only thing I don't much like about it is that when I have dry skin I absolutely cannot wear this. It leaves bad patchy spots all over. When I use a moisturizer with it I feel it dosent look as good or last as long. I would say this is more of a summer time foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amber2310 on 11/13/2009 8:52:00 AM more reviews by amber2310

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Although this product matched my skin tone well, I found it didn't blend very well, and left patches on my skin, whether that is because I have some dry areas on my skin I'm not sure, but long story short, I tried blending this with my fingers, with a brush and with a sponge, all of which left and uneven finish. Only good thing I really have to say is I do love the texture, so I am going to look at getting some of the Dream Matte Mousse blush, but sadly I will be looking for a better foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimmieduff on 11/10/2009 4:24:00 PM more reviews by kimmieduff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

During Summer, this foundation gives me the best natural coverage while taking away the shine and keeping oiliness at bay. It feels so light on my face too, like I'm not wearing any foundation at all. It tends to last me the whole day through but for more staying power, I suggest you use a loose powder on top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dazidoo on 11/9/2009 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Dazidoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I quite like this foundation: I think it gives good coverage, it matches my skintone really well (I have 010 Ivory), it makes my skin feel quite smooth. I don't wear foundation every day, I usually only wear it on nights out, so I don't know if it is long lasting but it seems to ok by me. I use my fingers to apply the mousse
This product seems to get mixed results with different people so if it isn't overly priced, on sale or on offer then I recommend you try it, I bought this because there was a 3 for 10 on maybelline products and I had heard so much about this product so I thought I'd give it a go and I'm glad I tried it. I had previously tried the dream matte eyeshadows and was disappointed with the results and I didn't like the colours but this product is not too bad.
I don't know if I will buy this again, it is quite good but I will try other foundations because I don't think this is absolutely perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nliedel on 11/9/2009 9:00:00 AM more reviews by nliedel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've read a lot of complaints about this product and it works for me, so I'll share how I use it. I read the packaging and it contains tons of silicones. That's what makes it "mousse-like," in texture. If you use a face primer with this, you're sunk. It's adding silicone, to silicone and it will slide off your face, quick.

Instead, I tried a finger and no primer, other than oil-free mousteriszer. Ugh, too much. I tried again, this time using a makeup sponge-wedge and dampening it a little. I dabbed it twice into the pot, very lightly, dabbed it all over my face, then blended it in. It stayed and looked matt' e. To get a really matte look, I used my Bare Minerals "Mineral Veil," overtop. I'm picking up some MUFE powder in a week, or so and that's the HG of setting powders for many. I'll report back on that.

Overall, I'm happy enough to keep this in my foundation rotation (addict here). I am just very careful about application. It's not a grab, slap and go thing. You need to blend it out. Which you should be doing anyway. I don't think a stippling brush would work better than a latex-free cosmetic wedge. I got a very nice look from this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Roxyaiz on 11/8/2009 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Roxyaiz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation it glides on, its velvety soft, if gives good coverage with out feeling heavy and your skin will look beautiful in flash fotography. What else can i say i like it better than my channel, smashbox and shiseido foundations. Not that those dont work well, its just that matt mouse is so light- I feel as if I am not wearing anything!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products