Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3282 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't like the fact that its in a jar. But that doesnt matter it looked chalky and obvious i was wearing foundation, and to top that it broke me out so bad. No, not ever.



on 1/11/2010 2:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this awhile ago and I did not like it. There was little coverage and it looked caked on and I don't remember there being decent colors.


on 1/11/2010 4:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this product when I'm too lazy to go out with a full face. I have horrible skin (blemishes at it's worst) and this foundation reaaally does the trick. I take the 187 (any stippling brush works), dip it right into the jar (very little goes a very long way) and stipple the foundation onto my face. I don't use any primer underneath or even set it with powder yet it lasts an unexpectedly long amount of time. It covers well and feels like I have nothing on my face. Plus, it controls my oil. Minus the price (especially for a drugstore product), it's pretty amazing overall.


on 1/9/2010 8:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this foundation. A little goes a LONG way and it makes my skin feel soft and clean even after putting it on. I have the shade Porcelain Ivory and it's perfect. Not too yellow, not too pink.

It's really easy to apply with my brush but I suppose you could use your fingers also although it might make getting the product difficult and you could pick up too much.

It gives my skin a glowy matte airbrushed look, but of course you have to use primer underneath because it doesn't have the best staying power. All in all though, it's a wonderful foundation with great coverage.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible product, I got this at Rite Aid they were having a 40% off sale on a lot of the makeup. I should have never bought this, the colors are way off, it was was to creamy, and feels like your wearing a mask. Good thing i tried this the next day just to see what it would look like because i had to take it off within 5 min, its way to heavy. Don't waste your money on this!


on 1/7/2010 3:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this website, I use it before I buy anything new. This is my first review. At 38 I have used every foundation possible, powder, liquid,mineral, and this is the best one I have ever used hands down. I don't need a lot of foundation and my face tends to get oily as the day goes on. This foundation makes my face look flawless and not shiny at all. Also you need so little for 12.99 Canadian it will last me a long time. All I can say is love it!!


on 1/7/2010 1:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Since I have oily skin, a foundation which claims to offer a matte finish sounded perfect for me. I was quite happy with the colour range (which includes quite a few shades for darker skin tones), although I did not find a perfect match (which happens very rarely anyway, considering my yellowy-pale skin). The foundation was very easy to apply and gave quite heavy coverage (which in fact proved to heavy for me giving me the undisired mask-effect).
However, after two hours it was not dreamy at all - my face looked like an oil slick, and my attempts to use powder over this foundation only added to the cakey effect. The shade, which seemed to blend in with my skin nicely at the beginning, has become darker and looked horrifically. I also would not reccomend using it on the skin in the eye area, as it creates dry patches, and causes irritation. After a few days the foundation caused breakouts, which finally made me discontinue using this foundation.
In addition I was not overimpressed with the packaging, which, although small and handy, is not very sanitary. Despite the price is very low, it is not suitable for oily skin (as it isn't oil-free), and may lead to breakouts. It is probably better for people with normal - combination skin, who preffer heavier coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2010 7:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My sister loves this foundation and it really looks great on her. She has got a beautiful skin thou. I tried this foundation while staying at her place and I kind of like it. I even thought of buying it but after 2 days it broke me out so that was it.


on 1/7/2010 6:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a decent foundation. I tried it a few years ago and hated it...but that was back in the day when I was new to makeup and didn't prep my skin properly. I recently repurchased it again in hopes of making it work for me.


I have the shade sun bronze, which fits my NC40-44 tan yellow undertoned skin quite well. It's a bit too light but a bit of powder over it sorts everything out. The shade selection is extensive and I think most people would be able to find a shade that suits them okay.


The texture is obviously a mousse, and I actually like it. You have to apply this on moisturized skin otherwise it'll go on flaky and patchy. Ontop of moisturizer, it just glides on easily. I like using this ontop of a primer a lot of the time aswell. I have combo / oily skin and this leaves me looking nice and matte. When used ontop of primer and set with powder it doesn't oil up much on me at all. Lasting power is ok - it doesn't last ALL day but it lasts long enough for me to stay out for 6 hours or so without worrying if my foundation has faded.


Coverage is good - not heavy and thick, but not too sheer either. It looks pretty natural on me. The packaging isn't that sanitary but how else would you package mousse? Just make sure you wash your hands before dipping your fingers in there ;)


Overall I like this foundation and would probably repurchase.


on 1/3/2010 9:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so i bought this thinking it would make my skin look clear and flawless.....WRONG. It made my skin look so dry! it sucks out every bit of moisture in your face and then it leaves you with these gross looking dry spots all over your face. Not a good foundation at all.


Back to Top