Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3288 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 1/29/2010 2:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation. At first it's kind of expensive for a drug store foundation but it is really worth it considering the quality. I have normal to dry skin with occasional acne and I also have dark circles underneath my eyes. I don't even need to use concealer when I use this foundation. I'm a light three and it matches my skin perfectly, it's a pretty light color with a pink undertone. I apply this with my fingers and I barely need to blend at all, its sooo easy. Since it's matte it can highlight dry spots a little bit, so you really need to make sure you moisturize before putting it on. I would not recommend this for people who have really dry skin or for people who need a lot of coverage.



on 1/28/2010 6:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really thought I'd like this product but completely changed my mind. I can't wear this in the summer time, when I sweat, the foundation leaves my face somehow so there are little dots all over my nose. I also look really pastey, maybe I got the wrong color or something.

I may give this another try if I find a store with testers.


on 1/24/2010 9:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Came all clumped up, with half the tub stuck to the inside of the lid. Nice light texture but it settles immediately in my pores. I didn't even know I had some of the pores that look like craters with this foundation on! Also absolutely no coverage over redness, bruises, even pimples despite being so thick. And finally, it comes off all day long if you touch your face or blow your nose. And that's even with using a sponge to buff it in before leaving for the day. So I can't imagine anyone this would be good for, except maybe perfect 18-yr old models.


on 1/24/2010 4:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Used to be my ultimate favorite foundation before I discovered L'oreal true match liquid foundation, but I still adore this foundation and use it a lot. It is the prefect match for me and my shade is 2.5 medium. Most drug store product look too pinkish on me because I am olive skin tone, but this one is perfect!! I stipple it on using a very dense kabuki brush and I adore the result, very airbrushed natural look. The only down side is that I feel that it does not last, but I still like it a lot.


on 1/23/2010 2:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this foundation for over a year and I really like it. It can give light, natural coverage if you use a small amount of product, but it's also buildable to full, flawless coverage without looking cakey. It photographs well and doesn't make me look white-faced, and has a really good range of shades. The only drawbacks for this product are that it doesn't last particularly well in hot weather and can tend to sit slightly on the surface of the skin if you don't blend it in well (however, this is only noticeable if you look really closely). The packaging also isn't the most hygienic, but I really can't think of another way they could package this because of it's mousse texture. For these reasons, I give it a 4 out of 5, and I'll continue to buy and use it.


on 1/21/2010 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I have combination skin oily on the T zone but dry on the cheek and forehead area, this foundation didn't dry out my cheek or make my oily area shinny. It is comfortable to wear, easy to put on, great coverage. I am on my third jar and will continue to use it.


on 1/19/2010 5:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

According to me this is a drug store version of MAC studio tech. This is what I like about it - I love the coverage, its not too cakey but its not too sheer either. It covers over redness and blemishes well and I did not need a concealor. It was very easy to use, I just dot with my fingers and blend, I'm not too good at doing makeup and it does not take me long at all. it gives my skin a good smooth finish. Now what I do not like - On me its not long lasting just like the studio tech. Also my t-zone gets oily. not super oily where I have to dab it but more than if I used another foundation. I am a NC 30 and the light beige is a perfect match for me. So this is not my HG but close. I will surely have this around in my makeup bag but will probably use it more in fall and winter rather than the summer


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice foundation overall. At first I was skeptical, especially looking at the size of the container (it appears small, like you wouldn't get a lot of uses out of it). Surprisingly, it has lasted a good amount of time, and you really don't need that much.

The foundation gives a good amount of coverage, and hides blemishes nicely. You do need to watch blending around the jaw line, because if you aren't careful (especially with this foundation), it will show. It does provide a really nice finish, and your skin feels satiny soft. If I have a good amount of time, this is always the foundation I go to, because it does provide that nice finish. It lasts a long time, and doesn't settle into your pores. I have read on some other reviews that people found it disappears on their skin...it doesn't do that with mine. It's really quite a nice foundation and I would definitely buy it again.

I would say the only downfall are the colour choices. I'm fair skinned, and have found a lot of the shades too pink for me. I'm using Light 3 (natural ivory) right now...it seems to be doing the trick.


on 1/19/2010 10:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I came across this product and started using it when my skin was breaking out. Then, when my skin improved I put it away and recently gave it another try. At first, it seemed to cover my imperfections, but it was kind of cakey. So, this time I tried a trick and anyone should try this if they have a problem with blending it, because it is an unusual physical property that can be confusing. So, I take a normal amount of the product and mix a little bit of moitrizer with it. It turns it into a thicker liquid and blends really well. However, dry skin beware. You should exfoliate and moistrize before using this because it horribly shows dry patches. It doesn't hydrate at all and my friend with oily skin seemed to have a problem with it clogging her pores. The coverage is good, it's medium to heavy and comes in a great selection of colors so it's very buildable for skin tones. However, it will only cover your skin perfections, it won't help your skin. It's an okay foundation, but nothing really great.


on 1/17/2010 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to be obsessed with Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse (I get it in 0). I can't stand the heavy feeling of most liquid foundations and feel like powder foundations don't give me enough coverage. This product was light, but seemed to sink into my pores. However, over the years, its quality seems to have declined. Last year, I started having more problems with the formula drying out my face and making me look like I was obviously wearing (badly applied) foundation. I finally gave up and switched to liquid, but if Maybelline makes a more hydrating version of this product, I'd probably try it out.


Back to Top