Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 emmit643 on 11/30/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by emmit643

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this. It was such a cool idea.

It always looked cakey. It didn't blend well. It was hard to find the right shade without looking too orange, or too light.

I love the texture and the pot, but that is all.

This was not a good buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candyisverygood on 11/27/2009 9:31:00 PM more reviews by candyisverygood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

There's nothing to hate about this product! I don't get why people on this website are so against it. Almost every gal I know that uses foundation uses this stuff. The consistency is that like no other. It feels light like a feather when it's on your fingertips. It doesn't require you to use very much product at all. I am sure that if this stuff never dried out, I would have it for a good 2 years or so. It DOES dry out my face, though. I do have unsually dry skin, but it's just a warning. I think this would be a better product for Winter, then. It lasts pretty well throughout the day; not incredible but not horrible. It really does mattify your face, so this would be perfect for the more oily ladies around. The container is not perfect, as every time I open it, it drys it out a little bit more. So give it a go!


*TIP* This stuff does make a great so-called "Lip Eraser". If you are going for the perfect nude lips, this will be your friend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Gogogo on 11/24/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Gogogo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation would be a godsend if there were more color varieties! I have tried two of the medium tones (0 and 1) and have realized that unless one is predominantly orange or pink this is NOT the foundation for you! My fickle olive skin tone wins again, but this looks incredible on my lucky girlfriends. It just makes me look like an oompaloompa though :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dreamlandlover on 11/24/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by dreamlandlover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this foundation made my skin more oily than matte. It has good coverage, and is better for dry skin because of it's creamy texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dh59 on 11/24/2009 5:39:00 PM more reviews by dh59

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Since I started using this foundation I have never bought any other. I have had other bought for me and given them a try and were not in the same league as this one, I then tried to use the others during the day, so as not to waste but just wanted my Maybelline Dream Mousse foundation back.
I get lighter for winter and darker for summer and I hope they never change the consistancy. I love it ! My skin is dry, mature'ish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PansyWithNoZ on 11/22/2009 6:08:00 PM more reviews by PansyWithNoZ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ok so i bought this thinking that it would make my make up look Light like the ad said like it's been air brushed on..
Well to my suprise at first when i opened it , it was really nice and soft and smooth but when i put it on my skin it looked kind of cake like and i wasn't as i expected since my skin is kind of dry and has bumps it jus doesn't look as good but over all it's just to cake like..
The way it's adverstived though is good...
Update :
this stuff just flat out sucks for me , It only works if you have nice smooth skin i wouldn't recmonedd this to anyone with dry skin or some mild bumps

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rt7022 on 11/22/2009 5:47:00 PM more reviews by rt7022

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I just started using it again after several years, and love it. I have combination skin, not much acne, and I'm a pale redhead. I was amazed when I applied this stuff this morning because my skin just looked PERFECT and airbrushed. I was also extremely surprised that such a light foundation lasted ALL FREAKING DAY! So far, this is my HG foundation, and I never pick HGs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunzari on 11/21/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by sunzari

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, this product is most conducive to oily/combo/acne-proned skin girls like me. I think perhaps the cakey look is due to either the application of it, or the individuals using the product have dry skin.

How I use it: Using a Mac 109 brush, I swirl and buff, swirl and buff. Perfect airbrushed finish. Mac 109 goes a long way people, better than most foundation brushes!.
I have A LOT of blemishes and dark spots on my tan/honey (South Asian) skin from acne and despite this product being marketed as light to medium coverage, it actually gives me the full coverage I need to cover up without looking overly done. I don't even need to apply my MAC studio finish concealer. Dream matte goes on light and stays matte. I interchange it with my MUFE Matte foundation and dare I say it, the price makes me favor the dream matte over the MUFE by a slight edge!

Bottom Line: Go try it! You won't feel terrible if you don't like it because the price can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 247swimchick9 on 11/21/2009 12:14:00 AM more reviews by 247swimchick9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have rediscovered this product. At first, I didnt like it. But I tried it again, and love it! It's really light on the skin, and makes me feel like im barely wearing anything--I apply very little at a time to avoid looking cakey. This has a matte finish, and I dont really need to powder over it, just on my forehead and nose. This doesnt dry me out, which most matte products do. I definitely reccommend to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 11/20/2009 3:51:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There's really nothing positive to say about this foundation. It caked, didn't match my skin (Maybelline all your foundations are red/pink/orange!) and it didn't go on smoothly. I had streaks no matter how or with what I applied it with and it just didn't look nice at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products