Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3269 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 1/17/2010 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to be obsessed with Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse (I get it in 0). I can't stand the heavy feeling of most liquid foundations and feel like powder foundations don't give me enough coverage. This product was light, but seemed to sink into my pores. However, over the years, its quality seems to have declined. Last year, I started having more problems with the formula drying out my face and making me look like I was obviously wearing (badly applied) foundation. I finally gave up and switched to liquid, but if Maybelline makes a more hydrating version of this product, I'd probably try it out.



on 1/17/2010 6:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is very OK. Not good, not great, but ok. I mean the color match was pretty good but the finish was too matte for me and it highlighted every single dry spot like crazy! Plus it creased. Recommended for the oily type skin.


on 1/15/2010 3:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This foundation didn't work for me! It broke me out like crazy, stuck to every single dry patch even if I used mosturizer before applying and at the same time made me look shiny... I tried to apply it in many different ways but nothing worked.
It's a pity because the colour match was really good. I have very fair skin, always finding troubles looking for a foundation, and Ivory was almost the same colour of my skin (a bit too rosy).


on 1/14/2010 12:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had read so many great reviews on this foundation that I was really excited when I saw one in my shade that I brought it straight away! However, at first, I didn't like it at all. When I put it on it looked cakey and powdery and not at all natural enough. However, I discoverd that when I mixed a little bit of it up with my moisturiser( Johnson's 24 Hour facial Moisturiser) when I spread it on my face, it blened perfectly, it felt light and my skin looked clear, matte and soft.


on 1/13/2010 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really liked this foundation. Good colour range, its a expensive in Ireland (I'd say the equivalent of about $14/$15).

The coverage is really nice and I don't find it drying at all. Its very natural, but you must,must must! apply with a kabuki brush. I find with a paddle brush or fingers, the foundation tends to apply more to some places than others and then ends up looking cakey,powdery and dirty.

Its staying power is nothing to write home about though, it only lasts maybe 5/6 hours. I wish they'd make a long lasting one, but I would definitely buy this again.


on 1/13/2010 2:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok so i have combination skin. oily t-zone. i highly discourage this product for those who have realy oily skin or live in a realy humid climate. this product tends to crease horribly. i tried to wear this for a few months and it was realy hard to keep it on it kept smudging. and it isnt very natural. im not sure about other skin tones but im more olive colored and i cudnt realy hit the rite skin tone even after i bought like 4 of them trying to get my color right. over all i think this is probably best for someone who is fair. and doesnt need alot of coverage and who has normal skin type.


on 1/13/2010 1:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When I first bought this product, it took me a while to get the hang of applying it, as a little does go a long way, and over application may lead to a 'mask-like' and totally unattractive appearance. However, after the proper mix of the foundation and face creme (I use Weleda Rose face moisturizer), I was pleasantly surprised and pleased by the results. This product gave me dewy but complete coverage that seems to be lacking with other drugstore brands. Though I typically use Chanel foundation, this is my favorite drugstore choice. Please note that my skin tends to be dry and I am not prone to breakouts, so for those that may be prone to breakouts, this may not be for you. Happy hunting!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't like the fact that its in a jar. But that doesnt matter it looked chalky and obvious i was wearing foundation, and to top that it broke me out so bad. No, not ever.


on 1/11/2010 2:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this awhile ago and I did not like it. There was little coverage and it looked caked on and I don't remember there being decent colors.


on 1/11/2010 4:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this product when I'm too lazy to go out with a full face. I have horrible skin (blemishes at it's worst) and this foundation reaaally does the trick. I take the 187 (any stippling brush works), dip it right into the jar (very little goes a very long way) and stipple the foundation onto my face. I don't use any primer underneath or even set it with powder yet it lasts an unexpectedly long amount of time. It covers well and feels like I have nothing on my face. Plus, it controls my oil. Minus the price (especially for a drugstore product), it's pretty amazing overall.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top