Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3296 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 2/25/2010 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like this at all. I thought it was going have a light feel but it ended up looking too cakey on my skin. PLUS, it broke me out.



on 2/24/2010 10:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hatred. I hattteedd this foundation. Extrememly cakey, breaks you out, and impossible to blend. I threw it away after just a few uses. I really don't reccomend it.


on 2/23/2010 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is one of the first foundations I have ever bought, and until recently I haven't been able to buy better ones. It is horrible. Good texture yes, decent coverage, yes. It blocks my pores like no tomorrow, dries out my skin no matter how well I have moisturised and makes it flaky. I have tried to mix it with makeup base, but it still wreaks it's havoc on my skin. Horrible... just horrible...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The general tip with any kind of foundation is to use a good moisturizer beforehand. I wore this today with my total effects moisturizer and some sunscreen and it went on smoothly. It has medium buildable coverage which I like, and has jojoba oil in it which can either irritate your skin or do wonders for it. It did well on my combination-oily skin. I wore it to work today for 6 hours. By the 3rd hour, my nose was starting to get oily, but it's nothing a good blotting powder can't absorb. At the end of my 6-hour shift my t-zone didn't look super oily, more of a dewy effect. I still like the finish that it has and I think it would be better when used in conjunction with the dream matte powder.


on 2/20/2010 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I liked this stuff when I was in the 8th grade & knew nothing about quality make up. ;) Cakey, yellow, & unhygienic. Would not repurchase.


on 2/17/2010 6:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I liked the idea of this, but i hated the product. It made my skin look really dry even though i moisturized, it broke me out, plus it didn't give good coverage. It's my moms HG though. The only good thing is you get a lot in the jar so it will last a while if you liked this. Not buying again.


on 2/17/2010 5:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This foundation does go on your skin smooth and makes your skin look really nice but i found it gave me spots so i stopped using it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm surprised with the low ratings on this one. I heard many great reviews about this product in person. Im about a Nw/Nc20-25, and I got classic ivory (light 2). When I heard "matte" i thought that it would be on the verge of being dry on my face, but when i applied this with my fingers (clean fingers does well with this, and i find that using brushes waste alot of product with this type of foundations. plus its much much more easier to blend), it had such a silky texture. It felt like I was barely touching the product. The color matched really well for me, and im sure I could use the natural ivory (light 3) in the summer. However I would understand if some people couldnt find the right shades, as they have about 10 shades total comparatively to MAC's 30something.
I have acne prone skin with combination (which is hard to find the right foundation for, as the skin has both dry and oily spots). But this does it good. Doesnt look cakey at all even though its matte. Truely does have the "air brushed" feeling on the face!
PLUS, this has not broke me out yet! :) 3 days in so far.
*just for reference, Urban Decay's 24/7 concealer stick has broken me out, mary kay's medium coverage liquid foundation has. So I was quite impressed with this drugstore foundation, my first too! definetly glad I made this purchse. Got it at Walgreens when they were having their 40% off & found a $2 off any maybelline foundation coupon in the everyday savings newspaper pile. Total came out to $4.23, comparing to $10-definetly a steal for a possbile HG product!
*also, gave it a 4/5 rating for packaing, as its in a heavy glass jar.


on 2/15/2010 5:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

May I say this is terrible on dry skin and I'm still in disbelief that this is my mother's HG foundation. If you have dry patches/flaky skin it will accentuate those places and give you a dull, "omg I'm tired" look.I used this in the shade "Caramel" and it looked amazingly ashy on my skin tone, I wouldn't recommend this if you want to have that flawless, polished face however for combination/oily skin this may work out - not for oily because it will just slip off at the end of the day.
Overall the color choices are not good and it's not suitable for dry/very dry skin hence the word "matte", not a foundation I will consider repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Any of the dream mousse products whether it be foundation or eyeshadow never live up to their expectations. They are too dry. Needs a little more moisture. Maybe some aloe.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top