Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3289 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm surprised with the low ratings on this one. I heard many great reviews about this product in person. Im about a Nw/Nc20-25, and I got classic ivory (light 2). When I heard "matte" i thought that it would be on the verge of being dry on my face, but when i applied this with my fingers (clean fingers does well with this, and i find that using brushes waste alot of product with this type of foundations. plus its much much more easier to blend), it had such a silky texture. It felt like I was barely touching the product. The color matched really well for me, and im sure I could use the natural ivory (light 3) in the summer. However I would understand if some people couldnt find the right shades, as they have about 10 shades total comparatively to MAC's 30something.
I have acne prone skin with combination (which is hard to find the right foundation for, as the skin has both dry and oily spots). But this does it good. Doesnt look cakey at all even though its matte. Truely does have the "air brushed" feeling on the face!
PLUS, this has not broke me out yet! :) 3 days in so far.
*just for reference, Urban Decay's 24/7 concealer stick has broken me out, mary kay's medium coverage liquid foundation has. So I was quite impressed with this drugstore foundation, my first too! definetly glad I made this purchse. Got it at Walgreens when they were having their 40% off & found a $2 off any maybelline foundation coupon in the everyday savings newspaper pile. Total came out to $4.23, comparing to $10-definetly a steal for a possbile HG product!
*also, gave it a 4/5 rating for packaing, as its in a heavy glass jar.



on 2/15/2010 5:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

May I say this is terrible on dry skin and I'm still in disbelief that this is my mother's HG foundation. If you have dry patches/flaky skin it will accentuate those places and give you a dull, "omg I'm tired" look.I used this in the shade "Caramel" and it looked amazingly ashy on my skin tone, I wouldn't recommend this if you want to have that flawless, polished face however for combination/oily skin this may work out - not for oily because it will just slip off at the end of the day.
Overall the color choices are not good and it's not suitable for dry/very dry skin hence the word "matte", not a foundation I will consider repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Any of the dream mousse products whether it be foundation or eyeshadow never live up to their expectations. They are too dry. Needs a little more moisture. Maybe some aloe.


on 2/15/2010 9:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is worse then u can guess.When i start applying, big surprise ..to see how nice is "sitting"on my skin and it took few minutes to apply it all over.But this start to settles into fine lines and dont want to move from there ..no matter what brush,/sponge i used to fix it.Few minutes later i start to feel how is drying my skin..and my face become tight and strange..itchy.
Very bad product.Maybelline is having affordable, nice products..but not this time.
I will not use this product anymore..is poison for my skin.
Update:24june 2011,i did test it again,this time i had a lighter color.It is nice if u use like make up base serum or some special primer for keeping mate the skin.The finish is amazing ,so fine,so delicate! But my amazement few hours later change in disappoiment when i saw how my face change in a disco ball.This foundation is so tricky! I am sure that only people with dry skin can use this foundation.I really can't use it..so disappointed!!!


on 2/14/2010 3:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Ok so I have had a love/hate relationship with this foundation (mousse version), and have gone back to it a number of times. After changing moisturisers, now I really like it. It looks smooth and makes your skin look a bit like its airbrushed. Has a nice amount of coverage too, which you can customise. Best applied with a sponge. Just make sure you set it with a decent setting powder and it lasts ages. I use "gorgeous" setting powder.


on 2/12/2010 5:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this foundation is HORRIBLE!!!!!


on 2/12/2010 10:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My biggest complaint with this product is the consistency. When I put it on my face, I have these little foundation "bits" all over. No amount of blending could make them go away, I have to literally pick them off my face. This is more of a sheer coverage, which I'm not really going for. My skin tone is uneven so I need something with at least medium coverage, but I prefer full coverage. This foundation was hard to layer and after a few hours it managed to slide off my face, even though my skin isn't oily. The colors were great though, I did find a perfect match for my skin tone, I just couldn't get over the horrible consistency


on 2/12/2010 1:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't add much that hasnt already been said, so ill keep this brief. i liked the texture for about a week, then it changed in some indescribable way that made it 100x worse than when i bought it (possibly it dried out or something?). no good. pawned it off on my 13 year old sister, and will not be repurchasing.


on 2/11/2010 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this product twice. I always chose lighter than my tone b/c it's impossible to find your tone at pharmacy stores and tone scale guidelines never help you to find your shade. It's light weight and has medium coverage but was not enough to cover my pimple scars. I really liked it when I first started using but after a while it started to itch my skin and I found myself scratching my face!


on 2/9/2010 2:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It broke me out, it sank into my giant pores and it literally slid off of my face after 3 hours. I really wanted to like it because it went on smoothly and it's pretty cheap. I tried it with a sponge, a brush and fingers but none worked...


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top