Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 mrssuarez21 on 10/4/2009 2:13:00 AM more reviews by mrssuarez21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This may sound weird but I used this as a coverup to my first foundation. It went on smooth and did cover but often it would melt off. I would never use this as a regular foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PrettyKewl on 10/3/2009 10:37:00 PM more reviews by PrettyKewl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great stuff for a cheaper foundation. It covers smoothly, flawlessly. You won't have that obvious tell-tale "mask" look that is typical of cheaper foundations. It is very easy to apply, and goes on very evenly, even when you apply with your fingers. Medium coverage. Looks very natural, and blends seamlessly with your skin tone. The only issue I have with this stuff it tends to settle into the pores and lines after 3 or 4 hours. If you have smaller pores and smooth skin, this stuff will be a dream come true. However, you could always use a primer under if you have larger pores (I did not try this yet).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dmtowns on 10/1/2009 4:32:00 PM more reviews by dmtowns

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Alright. When I first starting using this, I loooved it. The coverage, the finish, how quick and easy it was to apply and blend, I thought I'd found my HG foundation. Unfortunately about two days into wearing it, I experienced the worst breakout I have ever had in my life (and FWIW I have had moderate-severe acne since I was 8 years old). This seemed to clog every single pore on my face, I even had pimples on my eyelids and browbone. It took my skin months to clear up completely. Dream Matte Mousse was the worst beauty purchase I have ever made.

For those looking for an alternative to this that doesn't cause major breakouts, I suggest Boots No.7 Intelligent Balance Mousse Foundation, it's a much better product and didn't break me out at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 justjenny on 9/25/2009 12:56:00 AM more reviews by justjenny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product when i first started using foundation, and at the time it was great for me because i didn't really need a full and long lasting coverage. But now trying it out again i realise that it does not stay on long it is hard to apply and blend. It is best used as a concealer for the under eye or some thing like that. It is horrible for dry skin it goes flaky and makes your skin very cakey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yadi8186 on 9/25/2009 12:39:00 AM more reviews by yadi8186

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne scars from when I was younger and this product doesn't cover them at all. It has a very light coverage and is not buildable. I gave it a two rating because it does match my skin perfectly. In my opinion this product is for someone with normal skin, clear complexion, and not in need of much coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 littlebitoflove on 9/23/2009 4:33:00 PM more reviews by littlebitoflove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I do use this product alot, as its a reasonable price and is a good little extra to have in case of emergency. i think it gives 'normal' skin a lovely finish, however when i was on holiday recently it was literally dripping off my face! Doesn't always give the best coverage of spots either but i still love it and it lasts me a long time i find :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristikitten29 on 9/22/2009 7:09:00 PM more reviews by kristikitten29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my go to foundation from as soon as it came out until just recently. I absolutely love the texture of this foundation. It is so soft and silky. It is more than a powder which I always felt made me look like chalk, but not as heavy as a liquid. The reality is this foundation doesn't give me the coverage that I need for my acne prone skin. This product also definitley isn't for dry skin as it would probably have a cakey tendency. But if you have good skin without breakouts and are looking for smooth, light coverage I would say to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susie31 on 9/22/2009 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Susie31

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

(SEE PIC TITLED MAYBELLINE DREAM MATTE MOUSSE and feria chocolate cherry cuz im wearing it and by the way that was in the MORNING BEFORE washing face and AFTER sleeping in it!)very awesome! in classic ivory which is warm without being yellow and finally something pale enough for me! looks tearfully dark in container but goes on light and pale:) basically its actually a TRUE NEUTRAL finally!!! no yellow no pink!
lasts and lasts doesnt budge or "break up"
I even set it with dream matte powder and did this nothing to affect the integrity of the foundation:) it stayed perfect:)
I slept in it (I know bad) no break outs and looked GREAT in the morning, I was sooooo surprised it was still there
totally kept oilies at bay!!! and has a wonderful satin natural finish...
looked younger with it
total ease of application, you cant mess it up.
I am the most picky with foundations and hate most of them.. so much but this one is a keeper for SURE
covers under eye circles too did not accentuate any fine lines, is non drying, totally "flexible" didnt accentuate pores at all.
their 24 hour makeup was crap for me and classic ivory was too dark in that one.
AGE REWIND: their "age rewind" is AWESOME too, I am super oily, but age rewind puts "oil rebound" a bay... and is gel like consistency..not at all greasy
well it says its discontinued (the age rewind) so I thought id add tiny bit review here because they wont let me add a review there after discontinued which really sux of makeupalley)
BACK TO DREAM MATTE MOUSSE:anyway I highly reccomend this even if you PREFER LIQUID foundation cuz I totally prefer liquid and never had luck with mousses or powder cream foundations... yet as a liquid lover, I like THIS one only.(revlon colorstay powercreme/tube=yuck)
so....give it a try.
it passes that test beautifully..when all day everytime you look in the mirror youre pleasantly surprised and pleased:) it looked fresh and new all day, and the finish is what I love the most.. it does something for you rather than JUST cover... you get that satin smooth finish. and no way is it too "matte" not flat !
your face will have DIMENSION and clarity.and just be flawless.
also I find it much better than my beloved L'oreal cashmere perfecte.which is also a power creme in a tube. which I had to rub off of my nose everyday... that was horrible.
UODATE: I am in love with this in porcelain ivory! UNLIKE other maybelline porcelain ivories this is NOT TOO PINKY!!!! yayyyyy its paler than the classic so if classic is too dark for you and youre afraid porcelain will be pink, no worries!!!! I HATE ANY pink in my makeup and with this I dont notice yayayay..perfect! my HG right now.. keeps oily AWAY..I dunno why some people say it makes them ily, it does opposite for some , we all have different chemistry, doesnt break me out looks smooth and flawless and i look YOUNGER!!! NOT drying either and the staying power is GREAT, I touch up around nose thats normal. and dont always have to...love it love it love it i guessits discontinued,not in stores, stock up
UPDATE this was my HG but it doesnt last long and the anti oily effect wore off and now i get extremely oily with it! for the first few months it was GREAT oil control, superb, now it isnt.
bummer cuz porcelain was the most perfect color ive ever found

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 oumsker on 9/21/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by oumsker

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm not too fond of this product at all. When you put some kind of power of top of the mousse, they don't set on the surface well enough. And when there's humidity or sweat involved, it turns pretty ugly. You can see the mousse being washed away and some powder clogging on pores. Ugh. Instead of hiding my pores, does the opposite. Sorry. That's just my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancermary13 on 9/21/2009 7:45:00 PM more reviews by dancermary13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I could not find a good shade for my face. This really really made my dry spots noticeable, and my face was still oily and it does not blend well at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products