Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3263 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 1/21/2010 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I have combination skin oily on the T zone but dry on the cheek and forehead area, this foundation didn't dry out my cheek or make my oily area shinny. It is comfortable to wear, easy to put on, great coverage. I am on my third jar and will continue to use it.



on 1/19/2010 5:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

According to me this is a drug store version of MAC studio tech. This is what I like about it - I love the coverage, its not too cakey but its not too sheer either. It covers over redness and blemishes well and I did not need a concealor. It was very easy to use, I just dot with my fingers and blend, I'm not too good at doing makeup and it does not take me long at all. it gives my skin a good smooth finish. Now what I do not like - On me its not long lasting just like the studio tech. Also my t-zone gets oily. not super oily where I have to dab it but more than if I used another foundation. I am a NC 30 and the light beige is a perfect match for me. So this is not my HG but close. I will surely have this around in my makeup bag but will probably use it more in fall and winter rather than the summer


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice foundation overall. At first I was skeptical, especially looking at the size of the container (it appears small, like you wouldn't get a lot of uses out of it). Surprisingly, it has lasted a good amount of time, and you really don't need that much.

The foundation gives a good amount of coverage, and hides blemishes nicely. You do need to watch blending around the jaw line, because if you aren't careful (especially with this foundation), it will show. It does provide a really nice finish, and your skin feels satiny soft. If I have a good amount of time, this is always the foundation I go to, because it does provide that nice finish. It lasts a long time, and doesn't settle into your pores. I have read on some other reviews that people found it disappears on their skin...it doesn't do that with mine. It's really quite a nice foundation and I would definitely buy it again.

I would say the only downfall are the colour choices. I'm fair skinned, and have found a lot of the shades too pink for me. I'm using Light 3 (natural ivory) right now...it seems to be doing the trick.


on 1/19/2010 10:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I came across this product and started using it when my skin was breaking out. Then, when my skin improved I put it away and recently gave it another try. At first, it seemed to cover my imperfections, but it was kind of cakey. So, this time I tried a trick and anyone should try this if they have a problem with blending it, because it is an unusual physical property that can be confusing. So, I take a normal amount of the product and mix a little bit of moitrizer with it. It turns it into a thicker liquid and blends really well. However, dry skin beware. You should exfoliate and moistrize before using this because it horribly shows dry patches. It doesn't hydrate at all and my friend with oily skin seemed to have a problem with it clogging her pores. The coverage is good, it's medium to heavy and comes in a great selection of colors so it's very buildable for skin tones. However, it will only cover your skin perfections, it won't help your skin. It's an okay foundation, but nothing really great.


on 1/17/2010 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to be obsessed with Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse (I get it in 0). I can't stand the heavy feeling of most liquid foundations and feel like powder foundations don't give me enough coverage. This product was light, but seemed to sink into my pores. However, over the years, its quality seems to have declined. Last year, I started having more problems with the formula drying out my face and making me look like I was obviously wearing (badly applied) foundation. I finally gave up and switched to liquid, but if Maybelline makes a more hydrating version of this product, I'd probably try it out.


on 1/17/2010 6:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is very OK. Not good, not great, but ok. I mean the color match was pretty good but the finish was too matte for me and it highlighted every single dry spot like crazy! Plus it creased. Recommended for the oily type skin.


on 1/15/2010 3:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This foundation didn't work for me! It broke me out like crazy, stuck to every single dry patch even if I used mosturizer before applying and at the same time made me look shiny... I tried to apply it in many different ways but nothing worked.
It's a pity because the colour match was really good. I have very fair skin, always finding troubles looking for a foundation, and Ivory was almost the same colour of my skin (a bit too rosy).


on 1/14/2010 12:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had read so many great reviews on this foundation that I was really excited when I saw one in my shade that I brought it straight away! However, at first, I didn't like it at all. When I put it on it looked cakey and powdery and not at all natural enough. However, I discoverd that when I mixed a little bit of it up with my moisturiser( Johnson's 24 Hour facial Moisturiser) when I spread it on my face, it blened perfectly, it felt light and my skin looked clear, matte and soft.


on 1/13/2010 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really liked this foundation. Good colour range, its a expensive in Ireland (I'd say the equivalent of about $14/$15).

The coverage is really nice and I don't find it drying at all. Its very natural, but you must,must must! apply with a kabuki brush. I find with a paddle brush or fingers, the foundation tends to apply more to some places than others and then ends up looking cakey,powdery and dirty.

Its staying power is nothing to write home about though, it only lasts maybe 5/6 hours. I wish they'd make a long lasting one, but I would definitely buy this again.


on 1/13/2010 2:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok so i have combination skin. oily t-zone. i highly discourage this product for those who have realy oily skin or live in a realy humid climate. this product tends to crease horribly. i tried to wear this for a few months and it was realy hard to keep it on it kept smudging. and it isnt very natural. im not sure about other skin tones but im more olive colored and i cudnt realy hit the rite skin tone even after i bought like 4 of them trying to get my color right. over all i think this is probably best for someone who is fair. and doesnt need alot of coverage and who has normal skin type.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top