Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3217 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* regrebs on 12/4/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by regrebs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This was the first foundation that I've ever tried (I used it a year and a half ago), so I sort of hold it close to my heart, but for me, it just sucks. The color changed throughout the day and looked cakey and blotchy. I absolutely loved the way it felt as I was putting it on--very "light as air" and fluffy--but it just didn't work the way I wanted it to. On the plus side, the container is wonderful, so when I stopped using the foundation, I scooped it out and washed the container, and now I use it as a travel-sized lotion container!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bgraceg on 12/4/2009 6:33:00 AM more reviews by bgraceg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this airy soft foundation that makes my skin look nearly flawless, and I have also used high end brands too.

I have chosen a shade that is a touch darker than my own fair skin tone, and apply it on top of one of my other lighter colored foundations, then blend with a sponge. It makes my skin look sun kissed and creamy, instead of pinkey blotchy which it can look.

I don't use it all the time, but when I want to look more golden, and I also have several other foundations in my drawer that were up to 10 times the price of this one, but I find myself using this more than the expensive ones.

I know the ingredients (at least in my older version) aren't ideal (silicones, parabens, etc), so I recommend a primer or moisturizer first to protect your skin and to keep the dimethicone from drying you out (I always do that anyway unless it's a purely mineral makeup).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bialap on 12/3/2009 1:27:00 PM more reviews by Bialap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this foundation for the past 3 years and i love it. Sometimes i'll feel the need to switch it up and try a new foundation but I always come back to this one. It covers very well and does not dry out my skin at all. I believe its due to the jojoba oil in the product. I'd definitely recommend this foundation to people with acne-prone skin and who don't want a heavy, messy foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 infirmierabelle on 12/1/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by infirmierabelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I thought it was too cakey for me and I couldn't find a good shade. It did not blend very well at all. I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emmit643 on 11/30/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by emmit643

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this. It was such a cool idea.

It always looked cakey. It didn't blend well. It was hard to find the right shade without looking too orange, or too light.

I love the texture and the pot, but that is all.

This was not a good buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candyisverygood on 11/27/2009 9:31:00 PM more reviews by candyisverygood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

There's nothing to hate about this product! I don't get why people on this website are so against it. Almost every gal I know that uses foundation uses this stuff. The consistency is that like no other. It feels light like a feather when it's on your fingertips. It doesn't require you to use very much product at all. I am sure that if this stuff never dried out, I would have it for a good 2 years or so. It DOES dry out my face, though. I do have unsually dry skin, but it's just a warning. I think this would be a better product for Winter, then. It lasts pretty well throughout the day; not incredible but not horrible. It really does mattify your face, so this would be perfect for the more oily ladies around. The container is not perfect, as every time I open it, it drys it out a little bit more. So give it a go!


*TIP* This stuff does make a great so-called "Lip Eraser". If you are going for the perfect nude lips, this will be your friend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Gogogo on 11/24/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Gogogo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation would be a godsend if there were more color varieties! I have tried two of the medium tones (0 and 1) and have realized that unless one is predominantly orange or pink this is NOT the foundation for you! My fickle olive skin tone wins again, but this looks incredible on my lucky girlfriends. It just makes me look like an oompaloompa though :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dreamlandlover on 11/24/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by dreamlandlover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this foundation made my skin more oily than matte. It has good coverage, and is better for dry skin because of it's creamy texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dh59 on 11/24/2009 5:39:00 PM more reviews by dh59

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Since I started using this foundation I have never bought any other. I have had other bought for me and given them a try and were not in the same league as this one, I then tried to use the others during the day, so as not to waste but just wanted my Maybelline Dream Mousse foundation back.
I get lighter for winter and darker for summer and I hope they never change the consistancy. I love it ! My skin is dry, mature'ish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PansyWithNoZ on 11/22/2009 6:08:00 PM more reviews by PansyWithNoZ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ok so i bought this thinking that it would make my make up look Light like the ad said like it's been air brushed on..
Well to my suprise at first when i opened it , it was really nice and soft and smooth but when i put it on my skin it looked kind of cake like and i wasn't as i expected since my skin is kind of dry and has bumps it jus doesn't look as good but over all it's just to cake like..
The way it's adverstived though is good...
Update :
this stuff just flat out sucks for me , It only works if you have nice smooth skin i wouldn't recmonedd this to anyone with dry skin or some mild bumps

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products