Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3250 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 liveitup on 1/11/2010 4:35:00 AM more reviews by liveitup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product when I'm too lazy to go out with a full face. I have horrible skin (blemishes at it's worst) and this foundation reaaally does the trick. I take the 187 (any stippling brush works), dip it right into the jar (very little goes a very long way) and stipple the foundation onto my face. I don't use any primer underneath or even set it with powder yet it lasts an unexpectedly long amount of time. It covers well and feels like I have nothing on my face. Plus, it controls my oil. Minus the price (especially for a drugstore product), it's pretty amazing overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AWilliams87 on 1/9/2010 8:53:00 PM more reviews by AWilliams87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. A little goes a LONG way and it makes my skin feel soft and clean even after putting it on. I have the shade Porcelain Ivory and it's perfect. Not too yellow, not too pink.

It's really easy to apply with my brush but I suppose you could use your fingers also although it might make getting the product difficult and you could pick up too much.

It gives my skin a glowy matte airbrushed look, but of course you have to use primer underneath because it doesn't have the best staying power. All in all though, it's a wonderful foundation with great coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xoxjulie21xox on 1/7/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by xoxjulie21xox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible product, I got this at Rite Aid they were having a 40% off sale on a lot of the makeup. I should have never bought this, the colors are way off, it was was to creamy, and feels like your wearing a mask. Good thing i tried this the next day just to see what it would look like because i had to take it off within 5 min, its way to heavy. Don't waste your money on this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sara38 on 1/7/2010 3:13:00 PM more reviews by sara38

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this website, I use it before I buy anything new. This is my first review. At 38 I have used every foundation possible, powder, liquid,mineral, and this is the best one I have ever used hands down. I don't need a lot of foundation and my face tends to get oily as the day goes on. This foundation makes my face look flawless and not shiny at all. Also you need so little for 12.99 Canadian it will last me a long time. All I can say is love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aggiemaye on 1/7/2010 1:57:00 PM more reviews by aggiemaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Since I have oily skin, a foundation which claims to offer a matte finish sounded perfect for me. I was quite happy with the colour range (which includes quite a few shades for darker skin tones), although I did not find a perfect match (which happens very rarely anyway, considering my yellowy-pale skin). The foundation was very easy to apply and gave quite heavy coverage (which in fact proved to heavy for me giving me the undisired mask-effect).
However, after two hours it was not dreamy at all - my face looked like an oil slick, and my attempts to use powder over this foundation only added to the cakey effect. The shade, which seemed to blend in with my skin nicely at the beginning, has become darker and looked horrifically. I also would not reccomend using it on the skin in the eye area, as it creates dry patches, and causes irritation. After a few days the foundation caused breakouts, which finally made me discontinue using this foundation.
In addition I was not overimpressed with the packaging, which, although small and handy, is not very sanitary. Despite the price is very low, it is not suitable for oily skin (as it isn't oil-free), and may lead to breakouts. It is probably better for people with normal - combination skin, who preffer heavier coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 martas777 on 1/7/2010 7:52:00 AM more reviews by martas777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My sister loves this foundation and it really looks great on her. She has got a beautiful skin thou. I tried this foundation while staying at her place and I kind of like it. I even thought of buying it but after 2 days it broke me out so that was it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu5icbtch on 1/7/2010 6:57:00 AM more reviews by mu5icbtch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a decent foundation. I tried it a few years ago and hated it...but that was back in the day when I was new to makeup and didn't prep my skin properly. I recently repurchased it again in hopes of making it work for me.


I have the shade sun bronze, which fits my NC40-44 tan yellow undertoned skin quite well. It's a bit too light but a bit of powder over it sorts everything out. The shade selection is extensive and I think most people would be able to find a shade that suits them okay.


The texture is obviously a mousse, and I actually like it. You have to apply this on moisturized skin otherwise it'll go on flaky and patchy. Ontop of moisturizer, it just glides on easily. I like using this ontop of a primer a lot of the time aswell. I have combo / oily skin and this leaves me looking nice and matte. When used ontop of primer and set with powder it doesn't oil up much on me at all. Lasting power is ok - it doesn't last ALL day but it lasts long enough for me to stay out for 6 hours or so without worrying if my foundation has faded.


Coverage is good - not heavy and thick, but not too sheer either. It looks pretty natural on me. The packaging isn't that sanitary but how else would you package mousse? Just make sure you wash your hands before dipping your fingers in there ;)


Overall I like this foundation and would probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 karibari121 on 1/3/2010 9:42:00 PM more reviews by karibari121

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok so i bought this thinking it would make my skin look clear and flawless.....WRONG. It made my skin look so dry! it sucks out every bit of moisture in your face and then it leaves you with these gross looking dry spots all over your face. Not a good foundation at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JamieKiddo on 1/2/2010 5:33:00 PM more reviews by JamieKiddo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product expecting good things, but to be totally honest i was majorly dissapointed not only was the colour range limited, i hated the coverage as there wasn't any, and it is definently not suitable if you have dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 XniamhX on 1/2/2010 5:29:00 PM more reviews by XniamhX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

One of the worse foundations EVER!! It lasts for about 2 hrs. Defintely not suitable for dry skin. I had to top up three times during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products