Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3182 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 greenbird on 11/2/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product offers a lot of coverage. It covers sunspots/freckles, acne, acne scars, and dark circles with ease. But if you are not careful-this foundation can get very cakey. In low or indoor lighting, your skin will have a beautiful, luminous appearance from the smooth coverage. The texture is such that application is very smooth. But in daylight-if you are not careful, you will look overly made up. I use it more as a spot concealer than an overall foundation. The texture is a plus though-superior to liquid foundations I have tried, and less dry than powder foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blacklondon on 11/2/2009 3:09:00 PM more reviews by blacklondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I just found my HG foundation and its under $10! I had heard a lot of bad reviews, but some good ones as well. So I decided to try my luck and buy it. It is a fairly cheap product so if I ended up hating it I wouldn't feel so bad.

But turns out I really LOVE it!! The first time I used it my skin got some little bumps but nothing serious, I figured it was my skin getting used to the foundation or possibly something else entirely. After a whole month of using it I am happy to say that it works wonderfully for me. I have no complaints whatsoever. But I really don't have acne or other skin issues so I wouldn't recommend this if you have problem skin.

I adore the packaging it comes it, because you can get every single last bit of the product out. I also apply the foundation with a damp makeup sponge, if you were wondering.

This paired with my L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Powder leaves my skin looking flawless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Camy03 on 11/2/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Camy03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation so much.I'm NC35 in MAC and the color medium 0 is the perfect match for my medium yellow skin tone.I use my 187 brush to apply, which gives me a flawless matte coverage but if you use your fingers works really well too.
Is perfect for oily skin and I think this foundation isn't for dry skin because she is really matte.
The only thing I don't like she smudges off on everything.
But i will buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovekaygee on 11/2/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by lovekaygee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely LOVE this product. I tried it for the first time when it was released and i cant seem to find anything that compares. It has great value... mind you i have really combination skin, oil and dry. I have lots of trouble finding a foundation that fits the criteria of what my skin needs. I use it as an undercoat to my Mac studio fix powder n works amazing. I have tried to venture out to other products but I always seem to come back to the Mousse. i apply it with my fingers and just gives me great coverage. it feels sooooo light n for the price... nothing thus far has changed my mind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 princessmimi on 11/2/2009 2:14:00 AM more reviews by princessmimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is by far the worst foundation i have ever used, not only does it rub off on everything i wear but it makes me turn completely red, i start off looking good and within a half an hour im as red as a tomoatoe. I would not recomment this product to anyone, after trying this I have been completely put off maybelline cosmetics, extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xSushiFlower on 11/1/2009 12:47:00 PM more reviews by xSushiFlower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I just have to say this first; I hate drugstore foundations because I always seem to get the wrong color even though it looks very close to my skin tone. Its a waste of money because you really cant use that foundation again. This is what happened to me with this foundation. Not only was this the wrong color, but it felt like I was applying frosting to my face! The coverage was too heavy for everyday use. Another thing I dislike is the fact that this foundation broke me out unlike any foundation i have ever tried before. I don't really like how the packaging is in jar form, being very unhygienic. The only thing i still use this foundation for is concealer under my eyes because of the peachy/orange color to cancel out dark circles. If you have a yellowy skin tone like me, i would skip over this Maybelline product line all together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kellywilson0 on 11/1/2009 11:21:00 AM more reviews by kellywilson0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

For all of you fair-skinned girls out there considering this foundation, all I have to say is HOLY ORANGE FACE, BATMAN...not good :-(


I'll start with the Pro's: the consistency of this mousse is AMAZING. And blending this product is a dream (the mousse is a fabulous idea). I also LOVE the Dream Mousse Blush and the eye-shadow (although not sure if they make the eye-shadow anymore).


Con's: The color selection is not a good one for very fair-skinned ladies. I bought the lightest color (Light Ivory/Light 0), and my face was literally ORANGE due to the tone...like I mentioned before, blending this product was super easy, but unfortunately, no amount of blending was able to tone down the orange color. This one is a definite no for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lanlajolie on 10/31/2009 7:56:00 PM more reviews by lanlajolie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Cute jar, I will say that. As well as a good selection in colors. But none of the right colors for me. The undertone was did not suit me.

But other than that, it's very blotchy, did not blend very well, had this pink undertone that made me look like I got sunburned. It accentuated my existing pores and clogged some more, too. Made my dry patches more noticeable, and the coverage was very heavy. Playing with it was fun, the mousse texture is fabulous, but applying it on my face, it just looked like a layer of dirt rubbed on my face. Then it streaked and rubbed off on my clothes very easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 erin91290 on 10/29/2009 2:23:00 PM more reviews by erin91290

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Too dry, made my skin look blotchy, and had an orangish hue no matter what color I picked. I'm pretty sure it's been causing a lot of my recent breakouts too, so I switched to something else. Not worth it for the price, and it doesn't last more than about two hours before becoming oily and needing a touch-up. Not recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lesdiaboliques on 10/29/2009 3:17:00 AM more reviews by lesdiaboliques

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far my favorite drugstore foundation to use. I think it has great coverage, feels light on the skin, and is very smooth. I wear it every day, love the price. The only thing I don't like about it is the packaging. The pot form is very bacteria prone. Overall, very very satisfied with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products