L'Oreal • Voluminous Original • Mascara

rated 3.6(3129 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amyshannon on 7/9/2009 5:20:00 PM more reviews by amyshannon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot rave enough about this mascara!!! I am an avid, die hard, MAC girl and I did not think any product would be able to take me away from anything in their line. I saw a review on this particular mascara and curiosity got the best of me. From the first time I used it, I was hooked and have remained hooked. It gives great color and thickness. Length you would not believe! This product is very inexpensive and you have nothing to lose by trying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kay789 on 7/9/2009 12:04:00 AM more reviews by Kay789

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This mascara is great for giving volume. I went through at least 3 of these. It's not clumpy, does not smudge, easy to remove, and it gives great volume. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vintagequeengf1 on 7/8/2009 8:19:00 AM more reviews by vintagequeengf1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara. It lengthens and adds volume and also has serious staying power. I have never had issues with clumping; I usually apply one coat and then wiggle my brush to disperse the lashes, followed by a second coat using the same technique. My lashes look gorgeous - long, dark, and thick! At the end of the day, my lashes are perfectly intact - no flaking or smudging. This one's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alohacarol on 7/8/2009 7:32:00 AM more reviews by alohacarol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have bought this mascara twice I believe. THis is ONE of my HG mascara! I can always rely on the quality, price and availability. My other HGs I have to go to certain foreign stores or the department store to buy but Voluminous I can buy at the market, convenient store and the drugstore.

I love that it actually HOLDS my curl, (with lash curler of course) makes my lashes longer AND thicker and that I can build my lashes bigger and bigger.

Flaking isn't bad at all and clumping is sometimes an issue but to me it's not a big of a deal. (Trust me I hate clumped lashes too)
The key is to start from the bottom and wiggle the wand against your lashes. If you want to build your lashes start from your mid lashes to the end. (Instead of the roots which will cause clumping) And you want to build even more? Only apply at the ends of your lashes.

I am always satisfied and suprised at my lashes when I look at my side profile and love that I can have doll lashes without wearing falsies. Oh also unless you are crying or having a major sweat this is really reliable. And if you are, try the WP version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kkat989 on 7/8/2009 3:28:00 AM more reviews by kkat989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Overall Rating: 4
This product has an enormous wand which is one of the aspects that I hate and love about this mascara. I have almond shaped asian eyes and it is often difficult for me to maneuver large wands of mascara. With this mascara I can never put mascara on without putting mascara in undesirable places around my eyes. The wand is just too big but on the upside, i never need more than one pump! As soon as i take the mascara wand out of the product, what is on the wand can give me enough product for both of my eyes. Which is something I look for when I'm in a rush. This formulation weighs down my eyelashes, however, and no matter how much I curl my lashes the curl either never shows up or never stays on my eyes. But thats just the downfall of being asian.... small eyes and small lashes.
This product does give me the illusion of lengthened and my volumptious lashes. However, the price is a little too much for me. I paid about 11 dollars for this product and I think I would be able to find another product for less with better results as well.

Price: 4
Again, I paid 11 dollars for this, there are other products out there in the drugstore that are much cheaper and perform better.

Packaging Quality: 3
I love and hate the packing... by packing here i'm referring to the wand. Its too big for achieving that perfect application without any mistakes but big enough that I don't need to use a second pump of product. With this mascara I can literally have enough product for both of my eyes--and I like the look of alot of mascara on my lashes.

Would I buy this product again? Probably not. This decision is primarily based on my desire to continue to try all of the mascaras available to me in the drugstore. Thats more than half the fun of buying mascaras is it not? knowing that there are a million options for you to try and the need to try them all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zeje on 7/5/2009 1:21:00 PM more reviews by zeje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't amazed by this mascara. It did not provide my eyelashes with any volume and as soon I as put it on my eyelashes stuck together. I wore it for two weeks straight hoping that I would see some improvement, but it just stayed the same. The only thing is that it did make my eyelashes look really long, even my boyfriend commented on the length, but I am just not impressed because I was looking for volume and got none.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sage6o4 on 7/1/2009 3:57:00 AM more reviews by Sage6o4

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'll admit it - I'm a MU snob. But I honestly did want to like this, and feel kind of bad that I don't. Anyway, I'm a member of the Diorshow cult, but my sister told me I had to try this telling me it was better than Diorshow. So I tried it... Well, first of all, it was WAY too runny, it smudged (I NEVER have problems with smudging!) It also didn't really do much for length at all... This kind of reminded me of Vaseline on my lashes... (helped seperate but that's pretty much it) except Vaseline doesn't smudge and flake!! :( The thing I hated most about Voluminous is the fact that the formula is soooo runny!! However, I won't give it a 1 because I do like the way it seperates... even if that's all it does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 macazun on 6/29/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by macazun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

great wand, but mascara clumps easy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ciaobella on 6/28/2009 4:17:00 AM more reviews by Ciaobella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorites. I love the brush that it come with. Makes it so easy to achieve the look I want. Adds a Lot of fulness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessica84 on 6/27/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Jessica84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm impressed with this mascara. First I tried the new one with collagen and I hated it, so I decided to give this one a try. It did not clump, it looked really natural, and it defined each lash. It did not flake throughout the day or run, was easy to wash off, and it did not feel like there was anything on my lashes all day. Great mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products