L'Oreal • Voluminous mascara • Mascara

rated 3.6(3104 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 AliasAgent844 on 6/19/2009 8:49:00 PM more reviews by AliasAgent844

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After looking at reviews on here I decided to go ahead and try this product. I'd been using Max Factor's 2000 Calorie Mascara, but I think I've decided I like this much better. It goes on much easier for me. I also find that it makes my lashes look a lot fuller. Sometimes it does have a tendency to be a little clumpy but if you work with it a little it's fine. I don't think it's super super expensive and I actually tried it against Benefit's Bad Gal Lash and I find this to be loads better. I think this is definitely my HG mascara at the moment :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helenexox on 6/19/2009 8:33:00 PM more reviews by helenexox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot stand this product. It seems to never really dry and has a sticky, gummy consistency which I cannot handle. It flakes (which is weird for such a gooey mascara) and by the end of a 6 hour day, I'm not even wearing it anymore! What's up with that?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cutiepie8723 on 6/19/2009 7:12:00 PM more reviews by cutiepie8723

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have beenwearing this mascara for a while it is volumous but it makes my eyelashes clump together other than that its a very good product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ouija on 6/19/2009 3:36:00 PM more reviews by ouija

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I wore Voluminous years ago, and then spent the next several years mascara-hopping. I just bought another tube last week and am now wondering why I ever stopped using it. Voluminous is - for me - the ultimate volumizing mascara. Not even Lash Blast or Colossal or Volume Exact come close to what Voluminous does for my lashes.

To be honest...it's pretty messy. I always have to run a comb through my lashes after application because it does clump. (This morning I had a clump about the size of a ladybug on one lash, lol.) But Voluminous is well worth the trouble...my lashes transform into a thick dark fan of lashiness and volume with just one coat. I notice some reviewers complaining that it doesn't add length. It's not supposed to. It's a volumizing mascara. Not a lengthening mascara.

I still use Lash Exact and Lash Discovery...depending on my mood. But now that I've rediscovered Voluminous I can't imagine reaching for any other thickening mascara when I want dramatic volume. Clumps are a small price to pay for such an amazing effect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Belann on 6/19/2009 8:50:00 AM more reviews by Belann

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I wore this mascara for years and really like it even though it did not lengthen my lashes as much as I wanted.
Since I wanted longer lashes, I bought some fake eyelashes, which I never used.
I read some reviews on Max Factor's 2000 Calorie Extreme and bought it, not having high hopes.
The Max Factor gave me the look I have wanted for years.
I will say that if the Max Factor becomes unavailable, I may switch back to the L'Oreal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melinda_ on 6/17/2009 9:32:00 PM more reviews by melinda_

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this and I will be returning it tomorrow. It makes my lashes look like crap. So obvious I am wearing mascara, and not in a good way. It makes my lashes, which are long, too long. I bought this for VOLUME. No volume, whatsoever. Isn't that what this mascara is supposed to give? The only volume it gives is clumps.

Ugh. So disappointed right now.

UPDATE: I returned it today and got Almay one coat, which is much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aznlau22 on 6/17/2009 6:18:00 PM more reviews by aznlau22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Finally, a great decent drugstore mascara! Wow, I've gone through the Maybelline Great Lash (horrible, gurarantees clumps) and Covergirl Lash Blast (though ppl say this is a great mascara, this doesn't do anything to my already unoticealbe lashes. this is only best for ppl who have thick lashes) and they don't compare to this loreal product! This is the best mascara i tried so far. My lashes are short and thin. This mascara GREATLY lengthens my lashes, adds volume and color so I have thick VERY noticeable black lashes! great buy! Try it, it's only $7.49.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 misschristie on 6/15/2009 2:02:00 AM more reviews by misschristie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had a very similar experience with the reviewer below. I've been using Maybelline Volum' Express for 3 years now. I love it! It delivers a perfectly smooth volumizing application from the first swipe. But recently decided to switch it up with L'Oreal Voluminous--just because L'Oreal was the first makeup aisle I hit.


In the first couple of swipes, I immediately notice it's too wet, making makes my eyelashes stubby. Then in the next couple of swipes, it becomes too clumpy, especially clumpy on the tips. It really it wasn't bothering me too much, UNTIL my husband mentioned that my eyelashes were clumpy! :-/ So off I go, back to the tried and true.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blessed11 on 6/15/2009 12:15:00 AM more reviews by blessed11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was kinda let down by this product.
I've heard such a hype about how great it is...but after trying it for a few weeks, I think it's just another okay mascara. Not the very worst, but not that great.
My boyfriend commented that my lashes looked clumpy on the tips the first time I wore it..and he's never said anything like that before with any of the other mascaras I've used (so it's not my application, haha).
I won't repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eq2008 on 6/13/2009 11:11:00 PM more reviews by eq2008

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this gives me great volume but the reason I will not buy again is because it smudges. I have oily eye area and can only use very few brands of mascara that won't smudge on me. How I wish this one was one of them because my lashes looked beautiful when I first apply it. One hour later, I look like a racoon....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products