L'Oreal Voluminous Original

3.6

3133 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/water/eau, paraffin, cyclopentasiloxane, cera alba/beeswax/cire d'abeille, stearic acid, triethanolamine, acacia senegal gum, carnauba/carnauba wax/cire de carnauba, palmitic acid, dimenthiconol, hydroxyethyl-cellulose, panthenol, imidazolidinyl urea, sodium polymethacrylate, methylparaben, PEG/PPG- 17/18 dimethicone, 2-oleamido-1,3-octadecanediol, propylparaben, simethicone, BHT, polyquaternium-10. MAY CONTAIN /- CI 77492, CI 77499, CI77491/iron oxides; CI 77007/ultramarines; CI 77891/titanium oxide; CI 77266/black 2; mica; CI 75470/carmine; CI 77510/ferric ferrocyanide; CI 77288/chromium oxide greens; CI 77289/chromium hyrdoxide green


on 7/16/2009 1:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only good thing I can say about this product is that it can lengthen and add volume to my short lashes, but only if it's applied in a thin coat. Other than that, here are the CONS:
- Clumps extremely easily
- Flakes/smudges upon contact
- 2 coats makes this look like a spidery/gloopy mess
- Very unnatural look

I cannot stress enough that this mascara is not even worth experimenting with. On a bright sunny day, my eyes looked like raccoon eyes within a couple of hours (I didn't even have to rub my eyes for this to occur; I do not have particularly watery eyes either). I would never repurchase this, but I am tempted to see what the waterproof version can do.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is decent! i would buy it again but in wp, because this doesn't hold a curl unless you do a VERY light coat. However I love how it is easy to remove and creates dramatic length and volume.


on 7/15/2009 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really want to love this mascara, but it is really bad for flaking all over my face before the day is over.
It makes eyelashes look false and thick, but it isn't something I would wear for all day (I only wear it out at night anymore)


on 7/9/2009 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this mascara and it may be my favorite drugstore mascara. I would suggest it to anyone!


on 7/9/2009 5:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot rave enough about this mascara!!! I am an avid, die hard, MAC girl and I did not think any product would be able to take me away from anything in their line. I saw a review on this particular mascara and curiosity got the best of me. From the first time I used it, I was hooked and have remained hooked. It gives great color and thickness. Length you would not believe! This product is very inexpensive and you have nothing to lose by trying it.


on 7/9/2009 12:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This mascara is great for giving volume. I went through at least 3 of these. It's not clumpy, does not smudge, easy to remove, and it gives great volume. Love it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this mascara. It lengthens and adds volume and also has serious staying power. I have never had issues with clumping; I usually apply one coat and then wiggle my brush to disperse the lashes, followed by a second coat using the same technique. My lashes look gorgeous - long, dark, and thick! At the end of the day, my lashes are perfectly intact - no flaking or smudging. This one's a keeper.


on 7/8/2009 7:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have bought this mascara twice I believe. THis is ONE of my HG mascara! I can always rely on the quality, price and availability. My other HGs I have to go to certain foreign stores or the department store to buy but Voluminous I can buy at the market, convenient store and the drugstore.

I love that it actually HOLDS my curl, (with lash curler of course) makes my lashes longer AND thicker and that I can build my lashes bigger and bigger.

Flaking isn't bad at all and clumping is sometimes an issue but to me it's not a big of a deal. (Trust me I hate clumped lashes too)
The key is to start from the bottom and wiggle the wand against your lashes. If you want to build your lashes start from your mid lashes to the end. (Instead of the roots which will cause clumping) And you want to build even more? Only apply at the ends of your lashes.

I am always satisfied and suprised at my lashes when I look at my side profile and love that I can have doll lashes without wearing falsies. Oh also unless you are crying or having a major sweat this is really reliable. And if you are, try the WP version.


on 7/8/2009 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall Rating: 4
This product has an enormous wand which is one of the aspects that I hate and love about this mascara. I have almond shaped asian eyes and it is often difficult for me to maneuver large wands of mascara. With this mascara I can never put mascara on without putting mascara in undesirable places around my eyes. The wand is just too big but on the upside, i never need more than one pump! As soon as i take the mascara wand out of the product, what is on the wand can give me enough product for both of my eyes. Which is something I look for when I'm in a rush. This formulation weighs down my eyelashes, however, and no matter how much I curl my lashes the curl either never shows up or never stays on my eyes. But thats just the downfall of being asian.... small eyes and small lashes.
This product does give me the illusion of lengthened and my volumptious lashes. However, the price is a little too much for me. I paid about 11 dollars for this product and I think I would be able to find another product for less with better results as well.

Price: 4
Again, I paid 11 dollars for this, there are other products out there in the drugstore that are much cheaper and perform better.

Packaging Quality: 3
I love and hate the packing... by packing here i'm referring to the wand. Its too big for achieving that perfect application without any mistakes but big enough that I don't need to use a second pump of product. With this mascara I can literally have enough product for both of my eyes--and I like the look of alot of mascara on my lashes.

Would I buy this product again? Probably not. This decision is primarily based on my desire to continue to try all of the mascaras available to me in the drugstore. Thats more than half the fun of buying mascaras is it not? knowing that there are a million options for you to try and the need to try them all.


on 7/5/2009 1:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wasn't amazed by this mascara. It did not provide my eyelashes with any volume and as soon I as put it on my eyelashes stuck together. I wore it for two weeks straight hoping that I would see some improvement, but it just stayed the same. The only thing is that it did make my eyelashes look really long, even my boyfriend commented on the length, but I am just not impressed because I was looking for volume and got none.


Back to Top