beautyblender • the sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(591 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ccarebear344 on 1/26/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by ccarebear344

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

The Beauty Blender has changed my life. Seriously. The application is so smooth. The pointed part of the sponge is perfect for applying concealer, while the rounder part applies foundation perfectly. Obviously, it is better than the cheap wedge sponges you can buy at the drugstore. I was surprised when I liked it better than some of my foundation brushes. I have never tried to use it dry. It is pricy- but def. worth it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Redbone21 on 1/25/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by Redbone21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My go-to makeup tool. I wasnt really big on sponges before I bought this but I gave in to the hype and bought it. Its AMAZING at blending. Makes foundations, powders and concealers very blendable. When I use opaque products this helps sheer them out to the most natural look. You need more use more. I wouldnt suggest using this with something sheer and using this to build because from my experience it wont work. Im already on my 4th sponge and yes I count this as one of my HGs

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aek634 on 1/23/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by aek634

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A must-have beauty tool for me. It's expensive, yes, but you can reuse it and clean it to extend the longevity.

My first one molded as I was travelling and had to put the damp sponge back in its container. There is a little hole in the lid, but this does nothing to dry it off. If you can, leave the sponge out to air to completely dry before putting it away.

Another tip is to rinse out the sponge immediately after using it. I have absolutely no staining on this one with rinsing it after every use.

Allows for flawless, not overdone looking foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brandytodd12 on 1/19/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by brandytodd12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I guess there's nothing I can say about this that hasn't been said already. None the less I still want to review it!
I'm someone who has worn foundation for a long time; as a teenager I had acne and now thankfully in my 20's I don't but still have redness. So I've always liked to wear foundation but as I get older I realize less can be better and I hate feeling it on my skin.
This little tool has really helped out my wants!! I've always avoided sponges to apply foundation for many reasons as it seems streaky, soaks your make up, etc. I was skeptical of this product especially for the price but wanted to try.
I'm soo glad I did as it applies your foundation so flawlessly that it truly covers while still looking like skin. It really does blend better than my brushes and fingers no streaks! The knock offs really are nothing like this(tried 1). I have combo/dry skin and I also avoided the bb thinking it would make my skin or makeup more slick or oily for some reason haha. It actually makes it a little more matte for some reason?? The good part about that is I feel I don't get oily in my t-zone as fast in the day it's bizarre but true. Anyways really cool product. The downside is the price as it probably lasts a few months but hard to spend $20 on a sponge haha. It also takes a little longer to blend as you have to stipple so it works right but no biggy. And the cleaning takes a little longer.. I highly recommend the specific soap for it because I tried others and it would not clean it. Their specific bar soap does well so far at least. And I think that's all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missxcindii on 1/16/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by missxcindii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this awhile ago but it's been sitting on my make up table as I was seriously considering whether I needed it. I usually use my fingers to blend foundation because make up artists say that "this is your best tool". I've also tried brushes, which I find way to irritating on my sensitive skin after awhile. After trying numerous foundations and having them all look super cakey I decided to finally try the BB because I was so sick of heavy foundation looking skin. This is actually an excellent product. I have been using it with my nars sheer glow. It makes it so simple! I just put the product on my hand and stipple away. Usually if I use my fingers it takes me awhile to blend and I always end up putting way to much. I actually like that the sponge just soaks up the excess because I usually end up just putting all that on my face that I obviously do not need. This made my foundation look so smooth and nice. I will continue to use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reddplanet on 1/9/2014 11:37:00 AM more reviews by reddplanet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

There is literally NOTHING like this product and no other sponge performs remotely like it. None of the "knockoffs" are anything like the real deal. The material they use is seriously amazing. It puffs up perfectly, bounces perfectly on the skin, and blends my makeup perfectly, and with proper cleaning will last a REALLY long time. I stockpile them now, and keep two in my "active use" cup, so that one is always clean and ready to use.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GirlyGirl143 on 1/9/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirl143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Don't get me wrong, I love my beauty blender....but it is awful expensive for this little sponge. My sister has the Cynthia Rawley egg shaped beauty sponge that she got at TJ Maxx. Her version works just as well, grows in size with water, is very soft and blends concealer brilliantly. Back to beauty blender, love the finish it gives. It is very gentle and feels good on the face. The point of the egg shape is perfect for finishing concealer under the eyes or use the big round part of the egg to stipple foundation on. As with all sponges, this does soak up your product. When cleaning my sponge I was actually able to squeeze globs of my foundation out of it. But....its a sponge....that's what they do. I am not sure if I would repurchase. Since I have so many brushes and tools I would probably be inclined to try a cheaper version like the real techniques sponge instead.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gingercurls on 1/2/2014 2:17:00 AM more reviews by gingercurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are several things about this sponge that I really like. The first being the shape. The sponge is shaped like an egg and the pointier end of the sponge makes is easy to get a nice finish with foundation around the eyes, nose, and mouth. I also like how bouncy the sponge is and how it creates an airbrushed look and finish. However, the sponge does tend to deteriorate very quickly and never stopped bleeding color when I had to wash it. I used the sponge about twice a week for two weeks before it started to fall apart. I also did not like how it absorbed so much product and I felt like I was wasting a lot of foundation. The price makes this a product that I would not re-buy because it just does not last long enough to justify the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 creamdeviolet on 1/1/2014 9:35:00 AM more reviews by creamdeviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like the finish, how ever if you use a foundation that is silicone based, this thing will get damaged and absorb all the silicone...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 12/31/2013 12:25:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I asked my sister to buy this for me for Christmas. I have been intrigued by this product for years, but could never fork over the $20 to buy it. Seems like such a waste for what it was....a pink sponge. I could buy a whole bag of cosmetic sponges for $6 at Sallys. Why did I need this sponge?


The answer is I really didn't. It performs well and I like that it is reusable, but its really no better than a nice cosmetic wedge sponge. I mean don't get me wrong...I like it. I'm glad I got to try it, but am I addicted...no. Foundation goes on nicely, but my foundation doesn't seem to last as long when I use the sponge. It looks wonderful for a few hours and then the foundation seems to disintegrate faster than normal.


The sponge itself is well made and seems like it will last awhile. It does get stained with foundation and it looks sort of gross afterwards, but it is a sponge so those sorts of things will happen. It is relatively easy to clean. I heard that shaving soap works well to clean them and I'm going to try that because I don't want to buy the beautyblender cleansers as they are expensive.


The sponge does have pink dye that washes away when you squeeze it, but I have not noted any transferring of pink to my face. I know some people have expressed concerns about that, but believe me I think it is just a false worry.


All in all I would give the product a 3.5. I debated giving it a 4, but didn't because I reserve 4 and 5 for products I'm completely enamored with. I haven't fallen in love with this "magical" sponge, but I will update you if I do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More beautyblender products

More Misc Beauty Tools products