Nuxe • Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm with Honey and Precious Oils • Lip Treatments

rated 4.2(368 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ExpatBeauty on 4/26/2012 10:14:00 AM more reviews by ExpatBeauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

* My Lips - Normal(ish), drier in the winter
* Review – This lip balm is well-regarded and highly-rated and for good reason, it effectively moisturizes without feeling heavy, greasy or gross. It nourishes, repairs, soothes and protects the lips with honey, plant oils, shea butter, and grapefruit essence. Lips are softened and smooth. I find this to be great for priming the lips before lipstick application. Since I'm not a fan of applying lip balm with my finger, I try to use a retractable lip brush to apply. Note that if your lips are severely damaged, cracked or painful, I don’t think this would work well enough to adequately remedy those symptoms.
* Cons - No SPF and while the glass pot has heft and looks pretty, it can be a bit unhygienic.
* Price - A generous glass pot retails for around €12. Available at all pharmacies and parapharmacies.
* Tip - For extra soft lips, gently exfoliate with a drop or two of your favorite carrier oil (i.e., jojoba, olive, sweet almond, etc) with a generous pinch of sugar at least once a week or more often as needed. Follow-up by protecting lips with lip balm.
* Verdict – While this may not be *the* lip balm to beat all lip balms, it's certainly the most elegant lip balm I've tried so far. Recommended.
** UPDATE ** - I don't know if it's common but I've noticed that the product tends to get "gritty" towards the end. This has been my experience with both the pot and stick format. Still works for me though. Perhaps this is the honey crystallizing? Like real pot of honey often does over time? :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* minimad on 4/16/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by minimad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this balm nightly and wake up with smoothe lips. It has a slightly gritty texture when first applied, but after a minute my lips melt the balm and it smoothes out. This balm makes me feel luxurious. I will absolutely repurchase when needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 4/10/2012 8:27:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

OK but I've tried better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 knatalia81 on 4/6/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by knatalia81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

An absolutely disappointing product. I've been reading so many positive reviews on this balm, but after 2 weeks of using it every night I'd say my lips look even worse than before. They used to be just dry, now some kind of crust's appeared on them!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunalove on 3/24/2012 9:48:00 PM more reviews by lunalove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good night lip balm to repair lips/for preventive care. Although it smells and tastes more like lemons to me, not honey. It is thick and sort of waxy as some other reviewers have mentioned and not really shiny.
I wouldnt put it in my purse or anything but I apply it every night before bed and wake up to smooth soft supple lips with no cracking and I dont get that weird white stuff in the corners of my lips like I do with some other balms. It should last a year only applying before bed, so it is worth the cost.
EDIT: I bumped down my rating because my pot has gotten extremely gritty, as though it's an exfoliant~ my husband hates it now and even though I know that you can stick it in hot water, to try to get the sugar to melt again, I shouldnt have to do that...
You can apply it gritty and rub it in to get the exfoliating benefits and then try to rub off the grit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandabear5 on 3/7/2012 10:40:00 AM more reviews by pandabear5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is pricey, but a pot should last a year. You don't need a lot of it and it stays put. If I put it on before bed, when I wake up in the morning, it's like I just put it on. Leaves a matte finish. It looks very natural over a lip stain.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nb55 on 2/22/2012 7:52:00 PM more reviews by nb55

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

You need to rub this balm a little bit between your fingers to warm it up a little bit so it will be absorbed. It is an excellent balm to apply before bed because it will stay on and by morning your lips will be completely hydrated. It does last a long time and if you work it out to price per use it is not all that expensive. Worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Marianthoula on 1/16/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Marianthoula

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I forgot I had this! I bought it on a whim and used it for about 1 year. I even put some in a smaller plastic container and kept it in my bag.

It would moisturize my lips beautifully. It had a great smell, but somehow the smell changed after about 3 months into something sweet but indescribable.

The bad part is that after about 1 year of use, it started smelling a little acrid and I dared not use it any longer on my lips. I had about half the jar left, so I used it to soften my cuticles. I must add that I always dipped CLEAN fingers and never dipped them twice (you know, jar->lips->jar again).
It is really bad, because I didn't buy it cheap and it lasted so little. For that little time it did a very good job, though.

Now I am using a noname beeswax product made in a local monastery. It is the absolute BEST and dirt-cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristalov on 1/16/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by kristalov

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this lip product! It stays on without being sticky, protects, and is super moisturizing. Everything I am looking for in a lip balm. I will definitely be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 donatela on 12/17/2011 6:28:00 AM more reviews by donatela

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent lip treatment! I had lip blisters and my pharmacist initially gave me a pharmaceutical treatment but I didn't like its ingredients (cancer and petroleum in a tube). When looking for something more natural, this balm caught my eye and along with another natural ingredient based product really helped me to recover from blisters within a week! It does have a waxy texture, but I don't mind since it does its job. I got used of it now. It makes a great base for thick lipsticks too. Also, I found another use: I put some in my runny nose when I caught a cold. Its waxy texture prevented my nose from getting red and chapped! Def my HG lip balm!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nuxe products

More Lip Treatments products