Nuxe • Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm with Honey and Precious Oils • Lip Treatments

rated 4.2(342 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 8/15/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NOT GOOD. Not that mosturizing either make my lips look good :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 7/27/2010 9:50:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE, December 2010
This is now my holy grail lipbalm, which I will never be without. I'm done with the rest. The reason is, it's finally winter, it's freezing and for the first time ever my lips are absolutely protected from dusk til dawn. A layer of this and nothing touches them; no wind, no cold, nothing. They stay soft, velvety and plump and this feels sooo good and protective. Also, even in drying conditions, it lasts for quite some time.
I highly recommend this to everyone.

Original review:

It may be a little early for me to write this, since I've only used this balm for a couple of days, but usually when something really wows me early on it's for a good reason. I think I may have found a HG product here.
I've been lemming this forever because I love anything that even implies it contains honey, plus Nuxe is only available at the pharmacies in my country, so I figured their products must be a step above your average gimmicky cosmetic brand. And I finally got this, even though a rich balm is more useful to me during winter months. It set me back 12,50 for 15 ml - which is more than 3 times the quantity a tube of Labello will provide.
I first realized the quality is awesome the minute I opened the pot. First of all, it smells heavenly. I expected it to smell like honey obviously, but instead it smells like lemon pie. Gorgeous scent. And when I actually touched the product I was impressed at the consistency; very soft and creamy - nothing waxy or oily about it - and not sticky whatsoever. It melts on the lips like butter and forms a nice, silky, non sticky layer. Feels very nice and comfortable. And a little goes a very long way.
It actually lasts too; slept 2 hours with the airconditioning and this on, and when I woke up it was still there. Also, I tried using it overnight, and when I woke up my lips were the smoothest, softest and most supple I've seen them.
The packaging feels sturdy and expensive; you may not like sticking your fingers in a pot, but I assure you, it's worth it, and after all you only need to touch the surface for the product to melt on your finger. Absolutely no need for scooping or rubbing around to gather the quantity you need. It's actually very clean for a pot lipbalm.
And as for the price, this will be much more expensive than my usual Labello or lipsmacker, however it's absolutely worth it because you need a tiny quantity and the pot is huge. And because it's transparent, you can see it's full of product; no optical illusion here (*cough* Korres* cough*). Also, obviously, you get ten times the quality compared to the cheaper stuff, which I have all over my apartment and now consider throwing out and only keeping this.
Of course this will have to be reevaluated under winter conditions. If I change my mind, I'll update then. But me and this balm got off to an excellent start.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ValentinaRUS on 7/26/2010 5:23:00 AM more reviews by ValentinaRUS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's really great in moisturizing my lips but the major downside is that it can get pasty especially in the cold weather. Probably I will repurchase it unless I find something that heals and hydrates my lips just as well or maybe even better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Azula on 7/2/2010 1:48:00 AM more reviews by Azula

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So this balm is my HG. I am addicted to ANY balm and I cannot for the life of me be without something on my lips or they will get sore and red even though I'm not really a licker. I also have peeling nonstop, day and night due to a horrible and disgusting habit of picking my lips (yep, I don't know how I even accomplish that either).
All together I have obviously tried basically everything on the planet, expensive or cheap, and I have a bunch of lip products (some glosses are awesome for moisture and protection, like TheBalm's or Dior's) that I use religiously, so I really bought this just because I was bored.
At first I didn't like the waxy consistency (this thing is thick!), but after forcing myself to use it for a couple of days, I realized that if I use it when my lips are peeling the most and I rub it in with my fingers repeatedly, it exfoliates them and leaves them looking like new (literally). This reaction is very weird, I never had it before with any other lip products, even actual exfoliators, and so now every time I'm peeling (so let's leave it at every day) I use this, exfoliate, take it off with a tissue and then apply a thick layer, especially when going to bed.
My lips look healed, almost like I never touched them and no peeling remains. It is incredible and very much worth my money as it is a unique product.
Disclaimer: This doesn't feel moisturizing to me, it feels like I rubbed a candle on my lips and in a way that protects them. Overall, I like it, actually love it for my specific use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miahesterly on 4/6/2010 4:46:00 PM more reviews by miahesterly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I wear a lot of matte lipsticks which can dry my lips out, so this makes the perfect base as it moisturises, but doesn't make the lipstick slip off. On its own however, I find it a bit too waxy and hard, and not the most moisturising - it seems to disappear quickly. But if I layer a thinner, glossier balm over it (such as Korres Lip Butter), I get long-lasting moisture. I do this at night and in the morning my lips are in perfect condition. I will definitely repurchase it.


Ingredients (French version) : beeswax, vegetable oil, lecithin, behenoxy dimethicone, sweet almond oil, shea butter extract, honey, shea butter, dimethicone, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, grapefruit peel oil, capric triglyceride, hydrogenated vegetable oil, soybean oil, rosa moschata seed oil, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, lemon peel oil, candelilla wax, allantoin, calendula officinalis flower extract, BHT, citric acid, citral, limonene, linalool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mar7ini on 3/10/2010 9:07:00 AM more reviews by mar7ini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a lucky (?) owner of quite nice, full lips. If I take care of them and moisturise them on a regular basis, they reward me with a smashing look. If I don't , however, they start looking terrible - chapped, uneven, and there's no way I can put lipstick on them without looking at my reflection in the mirror without some level of disgust.

So, I was very excited to find a local pharmacy that carries NUXE products. Their honey lip balm was something I've been wanting to try for quite some time. The products I'm currenly using are Sisley's Lip Nutritive Balm (nighttime) and Korres Lip Butter in Pomegranate (daytime). Unfortunately, there are 2 problems with these products: Korres lip butter gives my lips a nice colour, but the initial sense of moisture and softness passes away very, very quickly and leaves my lips coloured, but dry. The Sisley balm moisturizes really well and is more durable but it's expensive as hell (I paid 45 Euros for the tiny jar) - that's the reason I'm using it at nighttime only.

So I've been looking for an alternative and I think I found it! The NUXE honey lip balm comes in a little glas jar, which is not a problem for me. The consistency is quite thick and waxy, but not sticky (in contrary to Sisley which is a bit like vaseline). The colour is, well, honey yellow, and the smell, aaaaaah, the smell is divine. It's a mixture of honey and orange blossom - not too intense though. It's not greasy and it's almost invisible on our lips.
I put it on and felt my lips transform in a matter of minutes, if not seconds. Wow! And the result is exactly what I want: soft, moisturised lips without feeling the product on them all the time.

And one more remark:
Sisley: 45 Euros for 9g (0.3 oz) - seriously, I must have been crazy when I bought this.
Korres: app 9 Euros for 6g (0.21 oz) .
For NUXE, you pay app. 11-12 Euros for 15g (0.52 oz).

You do the math.

This product contains: Beeswax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter Fruit), Vegetable Oil, Lecithin, Behenoxy Dimethicone, Sweet Almond Oil, Mel (Honey), Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Grapefruit Peel Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglycerides, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Limonene, Glycine Soja (Soybean Oil), Rosa Moschata Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Allantoin, Lemon Pell Oil, Candelilla Cera Wax, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Citral, Linalool.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisa356 on 1/16/2010 7:37:00 PM more reviews by lisa356

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's expensive but the size is big for a lip balm. Took me a long time to use up my first one and I'll definitely buy again. It has a nice texture and melts when you put it on. Made my lips so soft and comfortable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SKURA on 12/30/2009 9:14:00 AM more reviews by SKURA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm using this balm periodically past few years. And it save my lips! I have big issue with my lips - everything dried them. Can't wear lipstick, can't wear anything :(. Lucky for me, my lips don't look ugly and chopped - but they're very dry and it hurting how dry can be :(.
I'm using this balm only at night and my lips looks (and feel) wonderful :). Only bad thing about this balm - I can't use it constantly cause after while I'm used on it and it doesn't help anymore. But that's mine and my lips problem - don't have anything with a balm :).
Definitly I'm buying this again after pause :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 patchoulissime on 12/23/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by patchoulissime

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really picky when it comes to lip balms. The consistency has to be right, otherwise I won't use it, no matter how well it perfoms because I can't stand waxy feeling on my lips and this is the mother of all waxy lip balms.


When applying, it feels like trying to put pure beeswax on your lips. I've tried different amounts and I've tried to rub it in my fingers a bit so that it would "melt" little and become softer with no luck. It really is a horrible lip balm, if not the worst I've ever tried.


It doesn't feel moisturising at all and my lips don't feel any softer than if I hadn't put anything on them. It just sits on my lips and I wonder if anything is sinking in. It's the winter time now and I need something that really soothes and moisturises my chapped and dried out lips - unfortunately this lip balm didn't do the job.


It tastes like grapefruit. Not the fresh fruit, but like the grapefruit essential oil. Now, I don't like to put essential oils on my lips since I'm going to get some of it into my mouth anyway. Also, essential oils are not sun safe and I prefer to protect my lips.


The only positive thing I can say about this is the packaging. The heavy glass jar looks nice, but that's about it. A HUGE disappointment.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sara99 on 12/18/2009 10:14:00 AM more reviews by sara99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this on a whim from b-glowing and I really like it! It has a nice honey scent (that is milder than the burt's bees honey lip balm) and I do like that it exfoliates your lips as you put it on. It has a nice gloss look without being sticky, I wear it everynight (as my lips will crack and bleed the next morning without some form of chapstick each night) and I wake up with incredibly soft lips. Not the cheapest of balms but definitely worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nuxe products

More Lip Treatments products