Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation

3.5

461 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Octinoxate 3.5%, Titanium Dioxide 1.9%) -------------------- Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Boron Nitride, Phenyl Trimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Niacinamide, Hydrolyzed Oat Flour, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Phytosteryl Canola Glycerides, Palmitic Acid, Oleic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Ceramide 6 II, Cholesterol, Linoleic Acid, Ceramide 3, Tocopherol, Ceramide 1, Triolein, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Alumina, Silica, Sodium Citrate, Dipropylene Glycol, Laureth-7, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Methicone, Stearic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tetrasodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol +/- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77497/Zinc Oxide)


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Alright, first off, let's talk about my skin type. I have combination skin on the less finicky end of the scale. Some slightly dry patches, normal around the outside of my face, and oily in my t-zone. I don't break out too easily from foundations, more so powder face products. When I tried this, I was looking for a dupe for the oh-so-loved Naked skin foundation from Urban Decay. But hey, we all were right? The color looked decent (being that I'm fairer than most), so I picked it up. I believe I got it for around $8 which I am now realizing was ridiculous. It looked good when I first applied it so I had high hopes. After having it on for all of 20 minutes, my face was an oil slick! It was greasy and patchy and had turned a completely different color. I always laugh at people's ridiculous claims from my favorite foundations but I kid you not, this was the most ridiculous thing I had ever experienced. I tried it a few other times with various primers, sprays, setting powders, etc., and it made absolutely no difference. Sorry Revlon, this was a flop for me.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

My everyday foundation! Love how lightweight it feels, definitely that "nearly naked" feeling. Coverage: Buildable. Can range from light to medium coverage.
Finish: Satin
Although I wouldn't count it as my holy grail. Still feel like I could find something better out there but until then I'd repurchase.

EDIT:
Breaks me out. Totally thought other factors were contributing to my acne but eventually pinpointed the source to this particular foundation.
For reference I have acne-prone, sensitive and dry skin.


on 12/12/2013 6:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation! It is quite light, but like the description says, I think it is somewhat build able. Really, for me personally, one layer is enough, maybe another under and around the eyes. It has some great staying power, I was surprised. It's like a lighter version of color stay. I like the way it feels on my skin better than color stay, which really feels like I've put paint on my face sometimes. The color is a pretty good match. I used vanilla and it's a bit lighter but I prefer to go a bit lighter than too dark. I would recommend this to people who are okay not having a very full coverage foundation that feels nice and light on the face.


on 12/10/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Even though I'm only giving the Nearly Naked three stars, this is definitely something I'd repurchase and keep as part of my foundation stash.

I purchased this about a month ago (for a buck and some change thanks to my Walgreens points :) and would gladly have paid full price.

Pros:
1. This is extremely lightweight. I feel like I'm wearing nothing. The texture reminds me of MUFE Face and Body (but without the breakouts!) or MAC Face and Body (but with far more coverage and pigmentation and not nearly as watery.)
2. I am combo/oily but I find that I really don't need to powder this down right now. (It's winter in the Southwest so very dry. I don't know how this will function in the summer.
3. Despite the fact that I am EXTREMELY, EXTREMELY sensitive to cyclopentasiloxane, this has not broken me out. I got the idea to try it from another MUAer who is sensitive to 'cones but had success with this. When I say I'm sensitive to cylcops, I mean ... I wore the Maybelline Fit Me to the movies and had six large pimples on my cheeks by the time the movie ended. This is NOT an exaggeration. No such problems here.
4. The color is very forgiving (See more on this in "cons" below.)

Cons:
1. Hey Revlon, you usually do pretty well on the shade range? What's with the range for this line? The darkest shade in this is Cappuccino. I am NW50. This is too yellow for me ... BUT, and this is a big one, it is sheer enough that lightly dusted with a pressed powder in a slighter warmer shade, I get a flawless ( but not heavily made up) look. If you are darker than NW45, this shade will likely be off for you but you can make it work. (A bronzer or blush would work, too.)

Overall, I'm pretty happy with this. I like that it's not a "make a long haul to Sephora or Ulta" purchase and is reasonably priced. I also like that it's a fair replacement for MUFE F&B (which I LOVE but breaks me out. :(

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2013 5:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I enjoy this, its light, buildable, and doesn't dry me out.
I have very dry, acne prone skin; i didnt notice any long term improvements to my skin, but no problems either. color matched perfectly.
Mine is almost a year old and its life is almost over, after a few hours it gets a bit flaky.
I wish makeup companies made half sized bottles too so it wouldn't go bad.


on 12/7/2013 10:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation has been hyped about by many of my teenage friends and by so many youtuber/bloggers so I decided to get it and decide what i thought about it for myself. I got this in nude and the colour is a good match for my neutral toned skin.

First of all, I love this foundation because it looks very natural which is exactly what I need for school. The coverage is light but covers most of my scars and spots but doesn't feel like I'm wearing a mask which is how I felt when wearing revlon colourstay.
I didn't break out from this at all during the week that I have worn it.
Staying power is pretty good it lasts for 6 hours before my forehead and nose starts looking a bit shiny but the rest of my face stays the same so it'll probably have better results on someone with dry skin.

However...
It has no pump!! I'm always careful to apply this because it's easy to pour out too much product. My solution is to pour it upside down on my real techniques sponge and then apply that to my face. But still...revlon needs to sort out this whole pump thing.
The price is a okaaaay. Not brilliant as you're paying £8.99 for 30ml of minimal coverage but still affordable.

Overall I gave it 4 lippies and would recommend it to others (however my friend tried it on her acne scarred face and all it did was made it more noticable so if you have severe acne, I wouldn't recommend this for you). Even with all it's good points, bourjois healthy mix is still my HG foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2013 7:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i can't tell you how much i adore this foundation!! before this, i used revlon's colorstay foundation. i liked it but i'd say the coverage was a bit too heavy for my liking despite the hype it had received from the blogosphere
it was not until my friend introduced me to this had i dare to say i found my new HG foundation.

Pros:
- very natural looking. You can't go wrong with this foundation. the nearly naked foundation won't cake you up. it gives a nice light-medium coverage. however it is buildable on more problematic areas. considering my skin is clear and i just wear foundation to just even out my skintone, this did the exact job and gave me a perfect, flawless complexion


Cons:
- it is more expensive than other drugstore brands particularly here in australia retailing for 25. luckily i got it on special and picked it up for 16
- unfortunately it did oxidise throughout the day slightly
- did not control my oily skin despite being
- i'm not a huge fan of the pump free packaging. Not only is it more difficult for me to control the amount of product i use but it's also unhygienic and unsuitable to carry around in my make up bag as i do find foundation tips over onto the lid

summary:
overall i love natural looking foundations and this has been the best one yet! until i experiment with more light-medium coverage foundations that are natural looking, the revlon nearly naked foundation will remain my HG foundation

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This foundation made my skin very greasy and break out easily, but it covered up my blemishes somewhat.


on 11/27/2013 6:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To be honest, I did not like this foundation at first...it didn't have enough coverage, the color was all wrong, and I didn't feel like my skin looked like skin...BUT, I used this foundation with a damp beauty blender which sheered out the foundation even more than it already comes. So I experimented a little and I didn't like it with my Sonia kashuk flattop buffer brush or a regular foundation brush (toooo much work to blend in) so today I decided to revisit this foundation and use my coastal scents flat top buffer brush (from the elite brush collection ...its very fluffy and easily distributes product; not stiff like the Sonia kashuk brush) and OMG the application was amazing. I feel like the brush actually pushed the foundation into my skin and gave me nice all over even coverage and even made the color match fit me more AND my skin looked completely natural...I love this foundation...I think its great. I won't go as far as saying holygrail cuz I'm testing out about 5 foundations along with different applications but this one has a definite place on my vanity. I bought the shade cappuccino and I am a 7.5 in Mac match master foundation. I used my bare minerals concealer under my eyes, Mac mineralize skin finish all over to set the foundation and elfs contouring blush duo in turks and Caicos and their liquid lipstick in bark for a nude look today and omg my face is BEAT even without the heavy contouring and highlighting I like to do...this combo will be my go to work routine 10 minute beat for the winter... I jus love how this foundation covers yet sinks into my skin. Wear time is normal for me, 8 hours with blotting twice...not bad. No oxidation at all from initial sink in. Price is good, juz wish it had a pump....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2013 10:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

THIS. SUCKS.

there's no coverage at all! people with skin issues stay away!

unless you have no acne or scarring issues this will make you look like you have bad skin and foundation on

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top