Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(336 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BeautyAndTheBlush on 12/2/2011 9:37:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAndTheBlush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

...I'm just giving my honest opinion here, but the day I wore this foundation I got called 'pastey' because I was so pale and it washed me out. Secondly, I chucked this stuff in my mom's makeup drawer and a few months later, while letting it sit in it's pastiness, I decided to check up on it. Hahahaha, there was some oily, greasy, watery substance floating atop of the paste!!! No joke, if ya'll wanna know what's in your makeup...let it sit horizontally for a few weeks and the less dense liquids will rise to the top...so think about what you're really putting on your face. So then I starting laughing while putting a Q-tip in the oils...wow, I could have won a science fair with the "mysterious oily paste" called Truly Lasting Colour! Unfortunately for me, this paste is truly lasting, as it will bask in my mother's makeup drawer for all eternity!!! :) So, yeah I don't recommend it...although when I finally stopped freaking out over how pale, cakey, and gross my face looked at the end of the day I made an oath never to wear this foundation again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celialove on 11/26/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by celialove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Holy crap. I am never using another foundation again. I have pretty oily skin and live in a really humid climate, so most make-up melts off my face a few hours into the day. This stuff stays on my skin, doesn't look cakey at all, and lasts all day without making me look shiny at all - which is a HUGE deal for me! I've never had that happen with any makeup! I like the medium coverage, and the lightest color matches my skin without being too pinky or orangey or anything. My only complaint is that it's a little pricey for a drugstore brand, but it's definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NaturalGirl1116 on 11/1/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by NaturalGirl1116

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation, it's been a struggle trying to find a drugstore foundation that I actually liked. First off the color is spot on, I have very fair skin and most drugstore foundation's lightest shades are too dark. I love that this comes in a pump!! It's so easy to get the perfect amount, it's also very hygienic and less wasteful. At first I thought I wasn't going to like this foundation very much because of it's very thick consistency, I thought it might feel cakey. But that was not the case, the coverage was light/medium and felt great on my face almost like second skin. Not sticky or cakey at all, which I lOVED!! This also lasted all day on me and didn't change colors or cake up. Oh and a few words on application, first I tried a damp sponge and it was way too sheer and harder to blend. Then i tried my fingers and it applied a lot smoother. I also like this foundation a lot better than ColorStay, it blends easier, it's not cakey, more natural looking, matches my skin tone better and last but not least comes in a PUMP!!! ****UPDATE**** Unfortunately I had to stop using this foundation because it was drying out my skin. I think it's the lemon extract that's the culprit. I think this foundation would be great for someone with oily/combination skin because it really does control shine all day and look matte. But if you have dry skin I would stay away! My sister is using this foundation and she has oily skin and it makes her skin look great and she's gotten many compliments. Too bad it's too drying for me :-/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blondie86 on 10/22/2011 1:52:00 PM more reviews by blondie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Where has this foundation been all my life?? I've never used one before that made me look so natural. The color matches perfectly to my skin, it takes one pump to cover my face, and it doesn't oxidize at ALL or look cakey. I really wish there was a bit more coverage, but I just use concealer and I'm good to go. Revlon Colorstay is dead to me at this point.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LP007 on 10/15/2011 10:05:00 AM more reviews by LP007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I would have to say this out performs most department store brands I've tried, by a long shot! I have spent so much money over the years, and I use to obsess about finding a THE foundation. This is it (and I pray it does not get discontinued!)

Love it! Here's why:
- Oil-free
- Colour matches perfectly, and does not oxidize
- Medium coverage, but definitely can be built to full
- Feels weightless and lasts ALL day
- Does not cause breakouts (or irritation like some others)
- The bottle lasts a long time, and the pump is awesome
- It has SPF 15 and its moisturizing without feeling oily
- Covers pores fairly well, much more than any other drugstore brand I've tried
- With a good primer and physician's mineral loose powder, it looks great!

I have been cursed with extremely sensitive, oily and acne-prone skin, and this is now my HG <3!

Try it out...you'll be glad you did!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aily on 10/14/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Aily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite foundation. I've only tried drug-store brands, but of those I've tried MANY. This is one of the pricer drug-store brands, but it's very worth it. I love Almay foundations because I find they don't change colour as you wear them, and I love this one because of the satin, non-oily texture and medium coverage. I use "naked" which is a nice, light-medium shade that stays true and is flattering. I have beige undertones and some foundations have changed throughout the day into a more yellow undertone, but this one doesn't. It also has a really nice pump and is a great value for the product, it goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CarolJeanneGirl on 10/11/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by CarolJeanneGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have repurchased this product several times since I first started using it. I absolutely LOVE it! I first use Cetaphil moisturizer on my face and then apply this foundation in "Naked" with a stippling brush. After that, I apply Cover Girl Translucent Powder over it and it looks amazing! It lasts SO long...for my whole work day, which I can get pretty sweaty! It's definitely buildable to a medium/heavy coverage...but more toward the medium side. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MiaMore84 on 10/11/2011 3:58:00 PM more reviews by MiaMore84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually don't mind this foundation from Almay. My friend gave this to me cuz the color was too light on her but was perfect for me.

Pros
Blends well
Not too heavy feeling
okay coverage

Cons
Kinda gets oily by end of the day
should be better coverage considering the weight of Product

I'd give this product a B/B-

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leisterz on 10/8/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by leisterz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Okay, so I am BIG on foundations. Jump to my comparison of Colorstay and Almay if that's only what you're interested in. A few things about me and my skin:

I'm Asian with yellow undertones, combination skin but tends to be on the dry side most of the time, minimal pores, mild acne, moderate hyperpigmentation/acne scars. Can't complain much BUT with Almay I can have ALMOST (like 95%) perfect skin. :D

I've tried all kinds of foundations (high and low end) and I stuck to Revlon Colorstay (normal to dry) because it has by far the best coverage and lasting power. I've used it for about 2 years and considered it my HG foundation.

Then, I moved to a different city and my skin condition got worse and super dry. I had to cover up more and I noticed that Colorstay looked more cakey than usual. It still looked good but I wanted something BETTER. Then I stumbled upon reviews for Almay tlc and heard all the craze and decided to get it. I was a bit wary cuz a lot of MUA reviewers said it was bad for dry skin but I got it anyway.

COMPARISON FOR COLORSTAY AND ALMAY:
Colorstay has better coverage while Almay's is only medium. However, Almay's is buildable to a full coverage and would not cake up like colorstay. I can go without concealer and ALL my hyperpigmentation spots are still concealed!
They both last about the same amount of time (all day), but note that I do NOT have oily skin.
Almay has less pink undertones and is a better match for me imo. I can't say it's yellow but def not as pinkish. I use Neutral in Almay but Natural or Medium beige in Colorstay.
Almay has a pump! W00t for hygiene = less pimple popping up.
If you think Colorstay is thick, Almay's consistency is THICKER! I was shocked at first thinking it'll be even more cakey but I was surprised that after applying it looked like 2nd skin instead of a "I'm trying to mask my skin" look that colorstay has.

HERE IS HOW I USE IT:
If you have DRY skin, you MUST moisturize. Double moisturize if you must. I used Eucerin Face lotion, it's good! Use a primer if you want it to last even longer (through sweat and hot weather). Because the consistency is SO THICK, it's tough using a regular foundation brush to paint/blend it on. Instead, I use a flat top/stippling brush from ELF, spray a mist of water over the brush to thin out the consistency, then STIPPLE it on. Keep stippling until you reach desired result. Then set it with a good translucent powder! (I recommend physician's formula mineral powder..the compact ones...for drugstore products)

This works GREAT. It doesn't look like i have powder sitting on my nose or cheeks or anything like that. This is probably my new drugstore HG foundation. I hope it works for you guys too!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sroberts89436 on 10/4/2011 12:51:00 AM more reviews by sroberts89436

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is not consistent on me. The first day I applied it with a sponge,went over it with a foundation brush and used a concealer brush on blemishes. I loved it the finish was semi matte and it didn't show any fine lines I had and lasted all day. The second day I applied it the same and it was balling up on some dry spots and looking cakey. I had to wash it off to fix it and it felt heavy all day. The third day my skin seemed drier so I just used the almay as a concealer and my bare minerals all over. I think this foundation is good for younger skin that is normal to oily. I did not get any new pimples from it and it seemed to heal the ones I had. I just can't wear it everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products