Almay TLC Truly Lasting Color

3.8

348 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

NEW 6/2013 - Aqua (water, EAU), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cyclohexasiloxane, butylene glycol,talc, boron nitride, HDI/trimethylol hexllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, PEG/PPG -18/18, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, sodium chloride, trisiloxane, hydrolyzed rice protein, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond seed extract), laminara japonica extract, nerreocystis leutkeana extract, macrocystis pyrifera extract, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, trihydroxystearin, lactobacillus/lemon peel ferment extract, camellia sinesis leaf (green tea) extract, aspalathus linearis leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, tocepherol acetate, sodium ascorbyl phophate, methicone, tribehenin, hydrogenated lecithin, triethoxycaprylysilane, alumina, silica, hydrolyzed glycolsaminogkycans, sodium hyaluronate, sorbitan sesquioleate, palmitoyl, hydroxypropyltrimonium amylopectin/glycerin crosspolymer, sorbitol, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, May contain/ +/- titanion dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) zinc oxide (ci77947), 22757. ORIGINAL- (Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 3.3%, Zinc Oxide 2.3%), Water, Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Talc, Nylon-12, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Trisiloxane, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Nereocystis Leutkeana Extract, Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Magnesium, Potassium, Trihydroxystearin, Lactobacillus/Lemon Peel Ferment Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methicone, Tribehenin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Alumina, Silica, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Sorbitol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was running low on foundation, and decided to pick this one up as it is long-lasting as well as oil-free. When I applied it the next day, I was disappointed with the coverage. It seems like it should have full coverage, since it is a thick and creamy texture, but it just fades to nothing when applied to your face! I had to dab it on with a brush and then use a ton of concealer to hide blemishes and redness. Once I saw the staying power, however, I was willing to live with the bad coverage. It stayed on all day, and my skin, which usually gets oily after a few hours, was completely matte, even after 12 hrs! I was amazed, although the more I wore it I realized that I didn't really like the powdery, false finish it gave. It also seemed to dry my skin out. After a week of wearing this, my skin broke out worse than ever. Usually I never have reactions to products, so I don't know what happened here, but my pores were completely clogged! I stopped using it and now my skin is fine. The only good thing about this foundation is the lasting power, and I won't be buying it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/22/2012 11:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

LOVE me some Almay TLC. This beats Revlon Colorstay hands down IMHO. I don't need to touch this up as it lasts all day, I have to touch up Colorstay in the afternoon. The coverage is awesome, good but not heavy & cakey. I apply it with an ELF powder brush and the results are natural looking & it also has a pump (Yeah)!

It's a little pricey for drugstore so I try to wait for sales. Almay does not seem to go on sale as often as Revlon so if it's on sale I grab it. If you are looking for a natural looking, long wearing foundation, check out Almay TLC. This is a highly under rated and under loved foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2012 10:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been trying out tons of different foundations lately. With my skin type I need STAYING power....but I also don't want it to look (or feel!) like I'm wearing a mask. I picked up Almay TLC and threw it into my rotation of all the different foundations I've been trying about 3 weeks ago. To my surprise this stuff is great! It does have a thick consistency and is best applied w your fingers...also a damp makeup sponge helps spread it. The days I happened to put this on and then went for my touch ups through out the day I was amazed. It still looked even, smooth and my oil had not broken it down. I even wore it on a day where I thought it wouldn't hold up (volunteering for 3 hrs) and it held up beautifully! I recommend checking it out. :)

UPDATE 11.20.2013
I hate to say it but I am over this foundation. I will admit that this stuff will hold on to your face ALL DAY(even if you are super oily in your t-zone) and it never broke me out tho I am prone to break outs from time to time. So what's the prob?? While I find that I love many things about TLC foundation, over time I just felt like it started to look like a thick clay mask on my skin. Not natural at all. So I'm still in search of a great long wearing makeup but with some "glow" or naturalness left to my skin. Does that exist? I'll keep u posted.

If you are gonna try it here's some tips from a long time user...
--Apply with a dampened sponge and dab it on your skin instead of applying directly with fingers at is is hard to spread and starts to "grip" your skin right away and is harder to evenly apply.
--I used it with Maybelline loose powder in 02 Medium and the combo is nice & matte. Photographs very well.
--Go lightly on the application and it will still be there alll day...won't come off untill you use your face wash. I promise. And as always...'hands off' & this stuff won't budge on you.

Wish me luck on finding a better foundation but if you are into TLC I hope you find my tips helpful! :)

Update 10.4.14***
I'm back to my TLC after a very bad experience w CG 3 in 1 (see my review). While TLC is not the best I'm just gonna be experimenting w different application methods in order to get the most natural application. Think that's key with TLC as it can be too thick...but again stays alllll day. No joke.


on 1/21/2012 11:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I was looking forward to trying this liquid foundation, but I was really disappointed by it. First of all, it is very hard to blend. It has an odd consistency, it feels slightly gummy and thick, it's hard to describe. It looks weird when you blend it with your fingers, I usually blend my liquid foundation with my fingers and it looks fine, but I tried using a liquid foundation brush and it still didn't look right. I like a really natural looking finish to my foundation, and this just didn't give me that. It looked uneven, and it didn't look good after wearing it for a while, even after setting it with the TLC powder. It just didn't blend into my skin well at all, even though the shade was right. It was the slightest bit cake-y. If these qualities don't matter to you, I will leave you with the good things about this foundation: the shades seemed pretty good, and the lightest one matched my pale skin decently, and it didn't really clog my pores. and. I'll probably still continue to try more Almay foundations and concealers, but this one was a dud for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2012 8:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this is Neutral, which is almost identical to the color I use in the Rimmel Lasting Finish Line. Neutral should have been a perfect match, but it was way too dark. It looked okay when first applied, but then it oxidized and got very dark. I decided to give it another chance, so I repurchased it in Buff. Buff is so light, it looks like I am applying white cream when I put it on my skin. However, it oxidizes and darkens within a few minutes and is a very good, although not perfect, match. I apply this by smearing it on my T-zone, and then I use my fingers to pat it into the skin and blend it out. The coverage is medium, but very natural. It sinks into my skin and makes my pores look smaller. I don't need concealer with this foundation. This lasts and is almost difficult to remove. I am keeping the darker Neutral shade to use in the summer. I paid $14.00 for the Neutral, which is a lot for a d/s foundation, but I got the Buff on sale for $3.45. I love the pump. Overall a great find, and I definitely recommend it.


on 12/27/2011 10:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this foundation for about a month or so now. And i've noticed it has very sheer coverage. I have sensitive-combo skin and when using this my skin was itchy and my eyes burned ! As for the lasting power, it really does last a long time, infact, its kinda hard to get all off. And the packaging is awesome i love the pump. But unfortunately the foundation is just bad on my skin very matte finish and on the dry spots on my face it looks bad along with caking around my nose :( so i wont repurchase but i will keep the bottle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2011 10:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product doesn't get enough attention if you ask me! I LOVE this foundation. Super light weight and good coverage. I can't believe it looks this good and it does stay on some time compared to other drugstore foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2011 9:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The best drugstore foundation I've ever used. Bought it on a whim, as it was on sale for half-off and I decided to try it out. It's lightweight, provides great coverage, and doesn't make my skin more oily than it already is (I have pretty oily skin). Although I do have uneven skin and acre scars here and there, I find myself not needing concealer when I wear this foundation. The shade also matches me perfectly, which is hard to find considering I'm half Filipino and half European so my skin is fair, with warmish olive undertones--I have a difficult time trying to find my shade with other brands. I will definitely buy this product again.


on 12/19/2011 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Update: Tried this stuff couple more times with different application and started to get pimples on my chin and jawline.
What a waste. Was excited to try this after seeing good reviews and got it on sale for only $6. I think it's normally over $10. I got the lightest shade which made my face look really pink. I find this problem in many of the DG foundations, but this was wayyy too much pink! It also felt greasy, and would just not settle to my skin. It just sort of lied on it and come off when I'd use a tissue to blow my nose and such. Eww. The coverage was useless as well. Did nothing for blemishes, settled into creases, and got cakey around my nose.
-------
The only reason why I'm keeping it and giving it a 2 is because of the pump. I've been wanting to get a pump bottle and will keep this one. I like that the design of it is long, and not wide. Just dislike the shade of the cap. Bu it'll do.


on 12/19/2011 6:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

In all honesty I don't think I gave this product much of a try. It spread really goopey like on first application. I tried it a second time starting with my right cheek (clearest cheek with only acne scars) and it spread terribly. I mean Revlon Colorstay is hard to spread too but at least it covers fairly well, this couldn't cover up my scarring. It was like goopey light coverage foundation. After I tried spreading it on my right cheek I wasn't in the mood to deal with it and took it off with make up remover and just put on my RC. So in all honesty I didn't give this much of a chance. Id be willing to try it out again considering for some reason I just took it back without really trying to work with it. But as of now upon first experience I give it 2 lippies.


Back to Top