Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(339 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mzlovely on 12/19/2011 6:15:00 AM more reviews by mzlovely

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In all honesty I don't think I gave this product much of a try. It spread really goopey like on first application. I tried it a second time starting with my right cheek (clearest cheek with only acne scars) and it spread terribly. I mean Revlon Colorstay is hard to spread too but at least it covers fairly well, this couldn't cover up my scarring. It was like goopey light coverage foundation. After I tried spreading it on my right cheek I wasn't in the mood to deal with it and took it off with make up remover and just put on my RC. So in all honesty I didn't give this much of a chance. Id be willing to try it out again considering for some reason I just took it back without really trying to work with it. But as of now upon first experience I give it 2 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 productjunkie15 on 12/18/2011 2:56:00 AM more reviews by productjunkie15

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! I really love this foundation. I have dry cheeks with an oily t zone. During the warmer months, I wear Smashbox Halo foundation. During the fall/winter, I gravitate towards a liquid. I had been using Revlon Colorstay for quite some time, and it was making me break out and overall dulling my skin. Thanks to the girls over on the makeup board; a few of them recommended Almay TLC. I can't thank them enough. The coverage is exactly what I wanted - medium without looking like a mask. This stuff builds well on itself if you desire more coverage after you've initially applied it. The shade "neutral" is a perfect match for my olive skin that gets fairly pale in the winter. Love love love this stuff. No more breakouts and it wears ALL day long. I set my t zone with a tiny bit of Smashbox Halo. Hope it never gets discontinued!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Vbrouse on 12/13/2011 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Vbrouse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this was a great foundation! Until a week into it I noticed I had more breakouts. I also have dry skin and this made my skin even more dry! Not to mention it's so dry now my skin is really irritated and burning! The coverage was not very good either, at first it is nice. But in a couple of hours it was like I had no foundation on. It also rubs off VERY easily. Just a no for me, Packaging is nice and sanitary. and the price is a little pricey for drugstore. Def. invest in a better foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BeautyAndTheBlush on 12/2/2011 9:37:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAndTheBlush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

...I'm just giving my honest opinion here, but the day I wore this foundation I got called 'pastey' because I was so pale and it washed me out. Secondly, I chucked this stuff in my mom's makeup drawer and a few months later, while letting it sit in it's pastiness, I decided to check up on it. Hahahaha, there was some oily, greasy, watery substance floating atop of the paste!!! No joke, if ya'll wanna know what's in your makeup...let it sit horizontally for a few weeks and the less dense liquids will rise to the top...so think about what you're really putting on your face. So then I starting laughing while putting a Q-tip in the oils...wow, I could have won a science fair with the "mysterious oily paste" called Truly Lasting Colour! Unfortunately for me, this paste is truly lasting, as it will bask in my mother's makeup drawer for all eternity!!! :) So, yeah I don't recommend it...although when I finally stopped freaking out over how pale, cakey, and gross my face looked at the end of the day I made an oath never to wear this foundation again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celialove on 11/26/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by celialove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Holy crap. I am never using another foundation again. I have pretty oily skin and live in a really humid climate, so most make-up melts off my face a few hours into the day. This stuff stays on my skin, doesn't look cakey at all, and lasts all day without making me look shiny at all - which is a HUGE deal for me! I've never had that happen with any makeup! I like the medium coverage, and the lightest color matches my skin without being too pinky or orangey or anything. My only complaint is that it's a little pricey for a drugstore brand, but it's definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NaturalGirl1116 on 11/1/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by NaturalGirl1116

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation, it's been a struggle trying to find a drugstore foundation that I actually liked. First off the color is spot on, I have very fair skin and most drugstore foundation's lightest shades are too dark. I love that this comes in a pump!! It's so easy to get the perfect amount, it's also very hygienic and less wasteful. At first I thought I wasn't going to like this foundation very much because of it's very thick consistency, I thought it might feel cakey. But that was not the case, the coverage was light/medium and felt great on my face almost like second skin. Not sticky or cakey at all, which I lOVED!! This also lasted all day on me and didn't change colors or cake up. Oh and a few words on application, first I tried a damp sponge and it was way too sheer and harder to blend. Then i tried my fingers and it applied a lot smoother. I also like this foundation a lot better than ColorStay, it blends easier, it's not cakey, more natural looking, matches my skin tone better and last but not least comes in a PUMP!!! ****UPDATE**** Unfortunately I had to stop using this foundation because it was drying out my skin. I think it's the lemon extract that's the culprit. I think this foundation would be great for someone with oily/combination skin because it really does control shine all day and look matte. But if you have dry skin I would stay away! My sister is using this foundation and she has oily skin and it makes her skin look great and she's gotten many compliments. Too bad it's too drying for me :-/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blondie86 on 10/22/2011 1:52:00 PM more reviews by blondie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Where has this foundation been all my life?? I've never used one before that made me look so natural. The color matches perfectly to my skin, it takes one pump to cover my face, and it doesn't oxidize at ALL or look cakey. I really wish there was a bit more coverage, but I just use concealer and I'm good to go. Revlon Colorstay is dead to me at this point.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LP007 on 10/15/2011 10:05:00 AM more reviews by LP007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I would have to say this out performs most department store brands I've tried, by a long shot! I have spent so much money over the years, and I use to obsess about finding a THE foundation. This is it (and I pray it does not get discontinued!)

Love it! Here's why:
- Oil-free
- Colour matches perfectly, and does not oxidize
- Medium coverage, but definitely can be built to full
- Feels weightless and lasts ALL day
- Does not cause breakouts (or irritation like some others)
- The bottle lasts a long time, and the pump is awesome
- It has SPF 15 and its moisturizing without feeling oily
- Covers pores fairly well, much more than any other drugstore brand I've tried
- With a good primer and physician's mineral loose powder, it looks great!

I have been cursed with extremely sensitive, oily and acne-prone skin, and this is now my HG <3!

Try it out...you'll be glad you did!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aily on 10/14/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Aily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite foundation. I've only tried drug-store brands, but of those I've tried MANY. This is one of the pricer drug-store brands, but it's very worth it. I love Almay foundations because I find they don't change colour as you wear them, and I love this one because of the satin, non-oily texture and medium coverage. I use "naked" which is a nice, light-medium shade that stays true and is flattering. I have beige undertones and some foundations have changed throughout the day into a more yellow undertone, but this one doesn't. It also has a really nice pump and is a great value for the product, it goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CarolJeanneGirl on 10/11/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by CarolJeanneGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have repurchased this product several times since I first started using it. I absolutely LOVE it! I first use Cetaphil moisturizer on my face and then apply this foundation in "Naked" with a stippling brush. After that, I apply Cover Girl Translucent Powder over it and it looks amazing! It lasts SO long...for my whole work day, which I can get pretty sweaty! It's definitely buildable to a medium/heavy coverage...but more toward the medium side. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products