Graftobian • HD CREME FOUNDATIONS, 64 SHADES • Crème

rated 4.1(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bgraceg on 5/19/2010 9:29:00 PM more reviews by bgraceg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I stumbled on this product somewhere - I was using Cinema Secrets and needed to re-order the Graftobian oxygen cream I had purchased and found this line of foundation comig in a palette.

I am using neutral palette #1, I am sort of ruddy fair, pink in my skin, but not ultra fair, and finding I am mostly using Glamour Girl, with a little Sweet Heart mixed in. The colors on the left are light for me, I use them for the area around my eyes and lids. I don't like to look too pasty and these two shades make me look even toned without being mask-ish.

It is good coverage - medium to heavy. I first put on the oxygen cream, (great stuff too), then some primer (i use sally hansen or the 24 mineral one), and then I spray my foundation brush with cinema secrets moisture spray, and then DAB the brush into the pans and dab it on the skin, pressing in not swiping, as another poster mentioned.

Then I will use a smaller brush to go over any blemishes.

I put some creamy blush on sometimes or bronzer, then mineral veil powder - voila!! I am dewy and looks so natural yet my redness is covered well. (I really liked CS but could never find just the right color.)

No pore clogging so far (used it about a month), no breakouts, fairly easy to remove, unfortunately does contain parabens - unlike CS - but I am hoping I will absorb less of them by using the non paraben containing primers!

And what a steal. I would like to try some other colors too ! I love this stuff.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christianadivine on 2/3/2010 3:54:00 PM more reviews by christianadivine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought this about 6 - 8 months ago and have been using it ever since then. This is hands down one of the best foundations I've ever tried.


It provides medium to full coverage and can even be sheered down to a light coverage if mixed with moisturizer or blended out with a damp sponge and VERY little product. It looks very natural when applied, not overly dewy or overly matte, the texture of this foundation is very similar to that of one's natural skin. The color selection is so much more realistic to people's actual skintones instead of being too yellow, too orange, etc. If you apply it and it looks too orange, chances are you're neutral or cool undertoned and/or you're using a shade that's too dark for you.


The lasting power is decent when paired with a primer and setting powder. I use Ben Nye's Neutral Set Powder to set and Smashbox's Primer in Light before application of the foundation and this trio makes for a FLAWLESS face that looks natural and NOT cakey.


Some people say that they can't achieve full coverage with this foundation, and I've found that this has to do with application methods and not the product itself. This product definitely isn't the easiest of foundations to apply but it is definitely worth learning.


I apply it using my Cover FX 160 brush and I prefer this method over all other ones I've tried. I didn't like the application using a damp sponge, but that's just personal preference. If you need a light coverage, and not full or medium, the sponge method probably would work better. I apply a nice thin layer of the foundation over my face and go back over problem areas with this same brush or a concealer brush (depending on how large the problem area is) using a patting motion (NOT SWIPING). The KEY for better coverage with this type of foundation is patting it into problem areas, not swiping it, swiping it will only sheer out the application of the foundation and will result in a lighter coverage.


Overall, this is my favorite foundation to date. I also own RCMA's creme foundation and I like both of them about the same. The only time I prefer RCMA over Graftobian is on warmer days because the consistency of RCMA is a little drier and not as creamy as Graftobian's.


For reference, I'm in the NC30 - NC35 Range. At this moment I'd probably be considered an NC33 and I use a mix of "Buttermilk" and "Desert Sand". "Buttermilk" (2/3) and "Desert Sand" (1/3).


Overall, this IS a true HD foundation. =] It looks GREAT in the daylight, in photos (with OR without flash), at night, etc. It looks perfect in all lighting situations. =D It's also VERY affordable compared to alot of high end HD foundations out there. I HIGHLY recommend this product.

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lizzy28 on 1/4/2010 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Lizzy28

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For reference: dry, sensitive, Rosacean neutral toned NW/NC10. My current favourite foundations are LM Silk Creme #Soft Ivory and Chantecaille Real Skin Foundation #Fresh. I first ordered this foundation in #Bombshell but it was slightly too dark/pink on me so I ordered the lightest warm toned shade, #Graceful Swan. This shade is slightly too yellow and a tad too pale(!) on me. For my best colour match I would have to mix #Bombshell and #Graceful Swan. On the foundation itself: creamy full coverage foundation with a matte yet non-flat finish. You'll only need the size of a rice grain to cover your whole face. I applied with my fingers and used a damp BeautyBlender sponge to pat/blend on a beforehand well exfoliated and moisturized face. Blending goes fairly easy. I set with some powder. My findings: despite being a full coverage foundation it still looks natural. It didn't make me break out or irritate my sensitive skin. There's no fragrance and no silicones in it. However this foundation will accentuate any dry patches and it's not as moisturizing as I'd would like my foundations to be. I also prefer a slightly more dewey finish. Last but not least I don't want having to mix two foundation shades. So I won't repurchase but I would still highly recommend giving Graftobian Glamour Cream Foundation a try, especially if you're very fair skinned and/or if you don't have overly dry skin. The price can't be beaten; I paid 10 Euro for 1/2OZ (=14 gr).
*PPP Foundations List in My Notepad*

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bjone082 on 1/3/2010 1:57:00 AM more reviews by bjone082

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I purchased this product form camera ready cosmetics while I was on my hunt for my perfect foundation and after I looked at all of the wonderful reviews it received. I bought the Warm pallet (#1) for the smaller samples since I wasn't sure how accurate the colors were online compared to my actual skin tone. I have used for about a week and a half everyday as my foundation. Overall, I believe this can be a good foundation, but I don't think it is for me, so I don't believe it is worth buying again. Here's my list of pros and cons:

Pros:
Great color selection, easy to mix colors for for the in between shades.
Great coverage
When I first put it on it feels that I almost have no make up on.
The packaging came in a small pallet, good for traveling and makeup cases.

Cons:
The biggest problem I had with this foundation was the application. In a lot of reviews it says a little goes a long way, but this wasn't the case for me. I tried applying it several different ways. With brushes, sponges, fingers, all used a good amount of the product. and this product would not last me as long as my other foundations if I were given the same amount.
The product also took more time to apply than a simple liquid foundation or powder. Because of the high pigmentation, it takes a lot longer to blend into the skin evenly. This is not a good on-the-go or in-a-hurry make up.
If you forget to moisturize it will definitely magnify the dry skin.
It also rubs off easily when I touch my face.
I bought this product from camera ready cosmetics since that is where most people said they bought there's from. However when I checked my bank statement along with my purchase of the Graftobian palette was a lovely $12.00 charge from a reservation rewards(scam). I know this would have had to been from this purchase because, I have not bought anything else online in the past three weeks, and I am very careful when putting any credit card info anywhere.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flamencovixen on 12/25/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by flamencovixen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have only positive things to say about Graftobian!


I have combo skin (oily t zone) and get some zits during the time of the month. I get some redness around my nose and cheeks. My face and neck have different undertones – face is light in color with neutral undertones but my neck is light to medium and has yellow-beige undertones. I would say that I’m a MAC NC 25 to 30 right now.


I purchase Graftobian from www.camerareadycosmetics.com The color swatches on Camera Ready Cosmetics are horribly deceptive so it’s difficult to figure out what colors to get. I bought Graftobian palettes (Warm 1 and Warm 2) and then also Cinema Secrets Kit #3.


Warm Palette 1 has the following colors (in the order of lightest to darkest): Graceful Swan, Ingenue, Vixen, Temptress, and Enchantress. Graceful Swan is pale with yellow undertones. Ingenue is a shade darker – it’s still light with yellow undertones. Ingenue was too light for me (I would say Ingenue would be similar to a MAC NC 15 to 20). I was hoping that Vixen, the next shade up, would be a match but while it had the right depth, it just didn’t have enough yellow to match my face to my neck. (FYI, I saw a foundation chart that matched Vixen with MAC NC 30). The two darker shades - Temptress and Enchantress - looked similar to Vixen in that they seemed to have the same undertones but weren’t yellow enough.


Warm Palette 2 has these colors (in the order of lighest to darkest): Buttermilk, Desert Sand, Golden Sunset, Deep Zanthe, and Mid. Marigold. At a first glance, Buttermilk, the lightest of this palette, seemed to be too yellow and dark in the pan. The other shades were deeper and looked orangey-brown. I decided to try the Buttermilk anyway and surprisingly, it worked really well to match my face to my neck.


I use a wedge sponge spritzed with distilled water (I got the idea of using a tiny water spritz bottle from Eve Pearl, a makeup artist). The sponge must be moist enough to thin out the foundation. Using the moist sponge, dab or tap the foundation on your face. If you rub the foundation on your skin as you would normally do with liquid foundation, the cream foundation may not apply as evenly. Buttermilk’s yellow undertones helps to neutralize the redness around my nose and cheeks. Because I apply a thin layer of this foundation, more recent acne scars are still sometwhat visible so I follow up with spot concealer (Lauren Hutton spot concealer from her light face disc). I then set the foundation with face powder.


After a few hours, my T zone does get a little shiny but this doesn't bother me as this is no worse than other foundations I have used (Revlon Color Stay, however, is one foundation that I have tried that seems to stay put the longest). What’s great about Graftobian foundation is that it doesn’t oxidize or turn orange on my skin. There isn’t any fragrance as well.


If you are worried about cream foundations being too heavy – you shouldn’t be. In fact, if you apply them correctly (i.e. with a moist sponge) this foundation feels lighter than some liquid foundations (such as Revlon Color Stay, Sally Hansen foundation by Carmindy, and Maybelline 24 hour superstay). In fact, I can use this foundation as my everyday foundation. It doesn't have any SPF so it won't reflect any white cast on your face when a photo is taken of you.


It’s always good to exfoliate and prep your skin with moisturizer because this foundation (as well as other cream foundations) can show dry patches and flaky skin.


To briefly compare Graftobian with Cinema Secrets cream foundation: in terms of texture, Graftobian is less creamy so Graftobian may be better for oily skins (as long as you can find a color match). Also, Cinema Secret’s Kit 3 has foundation shades with more yellow in them than Graftobian's warm palettes.

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sh3D3vil84 on 12/19/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Sh3D3vil84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I cannot say enough about this foundation. I've tried countless brands of foundation that never actually live up to what they are promising. This stuff is amazing. It's extremely pigmented and leaves your face absolutely matte. I have combo/oily skin with mild acne. This foundation covers it all. I don't even need concealer anymore!! It has a tendency to bring out flakies so you do have to moisturize and exfoliate but it's so worth it. Also this doesn't feel like you have foundation on. I couldn't even tell I was wearing it. It looks amazing in photos. This foundation doesn't make me break out either. Also for $10 you cannot beat the price. I don't think I could ever go back to a different brand after this!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaulaNC on 11/15/2009 10:41:00 PM more reviews by PaulaNC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

EDIT: This is truly fantastic!! I was reading about Nars today, MUFE (I do like F&B) and don't know why I am always tempted by new foundations! Graftobian is the best. You can get smooth, beautiful believable HD coverage with the skunk or a moistened sponge. I love it. HG!!

I read a lot of the new reviews every day, and now, I am so happy I do! I wouldn't have known about Graftobian any other way. The review was actually for RCMA, but it led me to the camerareadycosmetics.com web site. So, after a long time reading on the web site and some great advice from sarasotagirl, I ordered the Cool #1 palette. There is a MAC equivalent foundation chart there, and it advised that Sunrise Flush would be the dupe for NW20. I think it's too light, and Aurora (the middle shade) suits me better. After priming with Avon Magix (today was the first day I tried that, too!) I spritzed the skunk with homemade moisture mist and dabbed lightly into the middle 3 shades and went to work. Unbelievable coverage with a light look and feel! Great color match, too! I tapped the first color (Buff, the lightest) and Sunrise Flush with my taklon brush to use as a concealer. Worked beautifully! You've gotta be kidding me, $20 for this wonderful palette? And, you use SOOO LITTLE that it should last for months and months...and maybe a few more months! How convenient for travel! This evening, no oily forehead and a tiny bit of gleam on the nose, and that's not bad, considering it was 80 degrees here today. I agree that it makes flakies more obvious, but if I have flakies, I don't know of anything that disguises that. But, it made the pores on my nose disappear, and that is nothing short of magic. Perhaps that was the Avon Magix? Will keep trying different combos of TM, etc. and report back. I recently purchased Lancome Renergie and for $40, it's going back. This little purchase has made me highly curious about other RCMA and Graftobian offerings....the 1/2 oz of foundation is $12 in Graftobian, and I can't wait to try more products at camerareadycosmetics.com!!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeeShee on 11/12/2009 1:18:00 PM more reviews by PeeShee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is wonderful. I have Cinema Secrets and RCMA. And I like this one MUCH better. I only gave it 4 stars because if you don't moisturize enough before using it it makes my pores look huge.
It is very creamy and makes my skin look flawless. CS and RCMA are much more drying. They cover just as well but Graftobian blend better, is easier to work with. And cheaper.
Love this foundation.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzannaelektra on 11/5/2009 2:23:00 AM more reviews by suzannaelektra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! I am surprised at how well this product covers! I ordered it online after reading reviews on it from MUA and I must say, I am so glad to did! I purchased two shades of the foundation (Enchantress Olive #4, Femme Fatale Bronze #3). It is the perfect match! For reference, I am an NC 35-40 in MAC. At first, I used my fingers and I didn't like the way it went on, so then I decided to use my Vincent Longo foundation brush, and it is super. You only need to use a little bit which is great because it will last a long time. It's very creamy and easy to blend. I've been setting it with Cover FX setting powder or Guerlain Meteorites in Mythic. I do experience a little bit of shine through out the day, but that's ok I just touch up with a little powder. It is full coverage, I feel like I don' even need any concealer. I can't wait to try playing around with it some more and try mixing it with a mattifying primer. HG material ladies! I paid $10.99 $US from Camera Ready Cosmetics. Shipping to Canada was fast.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarasotagirl on 10/25/2009 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Sarasotagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

If you have difficult-to-match skin or need medium-to-full coverage without cakiness, you owe it to yourself to sample Graftobian Hi-Def Creme. You will be stunned at the quality and thrilled with the price. The only cons: You will probably have to buy on-line (samples are available from www.camerareadycosmetics.com and www.paintandpowderstore.com) and you will need to train yourself to use FAR LESS of this product than cream lines from department store brands.

SHADES: 53:18 warm (yellow undertones), 20 neutral (yellow and pink undertones) and 15 cool (pink undertones). Palettes of five shades each are available. [EDITED to add: Graftobian has added five very light foundation colors, two cool, two neutral and one warm. You can get all five in a slim Ultra-Lites palette.] Of the pro lines I sampled (Graftobian, RCMA, Joe Blasco and Cinema Secrets), I had the easiest time finding a match for my NC10 skin in Graftobian. I mix the two lightest warm shades (Graceful Swan/Ultra Fair 1 and Ingenue/Ultra Fair 3). Graceful Swan is equivalent to C15 and Ingenue to NC15, according to Graftobian. I've never seen a C15 foundation, but I can say Graceful Swan is lighter and slightly more neutral than Ingenue.

PACKAGING: 1/2-ounce pot with a clear, screw-top lid. $11-$12. I'm guessing a pot would last close to a year. You use that little. I scoop a dab out of my two colors (using the Graftobian single-ended spatula, available separately) and blend on the stainless steel bottom of an old e.l.f. palette.

PRODUCT: This is creamier than most stick foundations but a little stiffer than some jarred mousse foundations. Graftobian is also creamier than RCMA and Joe Blasco. This is not thick stage makeup. No scent that I can detect.

APPLICATION TIPS: This is engineered to work for HDTV, where any streaking or unevenness of application is obvious and where shine is a no-no. It's also highly pigmented, far more than any department store brand I've tried (but similar to CoverFX). It is micronized pigment in a base that will allow it to spread very thinly and stay in place remarkably well. That's it. No built-in primer, no sunscreen, no antioxidants, no reflective finish, no skincare ingredients, nothing. It's pigment, period. So if you WANT sunscreen, antioxidants, etc., you'll have to add that to your routine with your moisturizer or primer. That makes Hi-Def very flexible for different skintypes, but it's worth remembering if you don't like the finish/application/wear.

Skin prep is critical. The only time I haven't liked Hi-Def is when I've been excessively flaky from Renova and I didn't take the time to use a rich enough moisturizer. You'll want to keep your skin exfoliated and hydrated. You might also discover that your skin prep routine needs a little adjustment, whether to add a moisturizer or a mattifier or whatever. That's true of any foundation -- one formula might need a different moisturizer/primer than another -- but really obvious with such a pigmented product as this.

I get a lasting matte-satin finish on my slightly dry skin. I dab tiny amounts over my melasma and other unevenness with my fingertips and then smooth outward with a makeup wedge I've dampened with Cinema Secrets moisturizing spray. I've also used just water. I can't overstate how little you need -- a small pea will cover your face. This stuff is pigmented; I sometimes add a dab more over my melasma when it's really acting up, but I need no more. When I get the amount right, this is virtually invisible on the skin, far less visible than any liquid foundation I've tried. A little care and precision really helps with application. I don't think this is a two-second, smear it on and go foundation -- but the results are worth the extra minute or two of application and buffing.

I set this with RCMA no-color setting powder; you'll want something very finely milled to avoid ruining the naturalness of the finish. Often I don't powder at all, though YMMV. I also like to spray my face with the CS moisturizing spray after I've finished my makeup -- that seems to melt the color right into my skin.

Lately, I often mix Hi-Def with my sunscreen or my primer (or both!) and apply that way for a sheer effect. I also love mixing the Hi-Def with color correctors -- it's very blendable. Graftobian makes a palette of neutralizers in the same Hi-Def cream base -- it puts the MUFE palette, which costs nearly twice as much, to shame.

In addition to www.camerareadycosmetics.com and www.paintandpowderstore, you can buy the whole line at www.graftobian.com (no samples though).

INGREDIENTS: Caprylic/Capric/Triglyceride, Octyl Palmitate, Carnauba Wax, Petrolatum, Lanolin Oil, Bees Wax, Ozokerite Wax, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, PTFE, BHA, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, N-Butylparaben. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Talc, Ultramarines.

65 out of 66 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Graftobian products

More Crème products