MAC • Veluxe Pearl - Twinks • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(137 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amarock on 11/17/2005 9:43:00 AM more reviews by amarock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When the new Veluxe Pearls came out, this was one of the ones that caught my eye. A few people mentioned that this is similar to Mulch, and since I don't own Mulch, I wanted to buy Twinks because of the VP finish. As with all VP finishes, the quality of this e/s is superb. Intially I wore this paired with Expensive Pink or Woodwinked, but it wasn't enough of a contrast to make them stand out. On my lids, Twinks doesn't show up very well for some reason - in my MAC pan, this sits side by side with my Milani Java Bean and they look very similar. I tested a swipe of Twinks and Milani Java Bean and I liked Java Bean better - I didn't like the red undertones of Twinks, and on my lids JB is much more pigmented (I'm NC30). I swapped this away, but I might check out Mulch in the future.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starchild1166 on 11/1/2005 1:04:00 PM more reviews by starchild1166

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's a gorgeous color; maybe it's my lighting but it resembles another favorite of mine called 'Mulch'. Still, there is a hint of plum in there that adds a little something to is. I use this with Dazzlelight (which reminds me a little of Nylon, but I digress) and the two look good together.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aperfectegg on 10/24/2005 12:17:00 PM more reviews by aperfectegg

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was at Nordies a couple of days ago to see the new Holiday offerings and tried on Twinks because I like browns especially on the plummy side. I thought it looked pretty ho hum in the pot and a lot like another brown I have from MAC but when I got in my car and looked in the mirror there is all this subtle but wonderful golden sparkle and when I got home and looked in my BR mirror I really fell in love. It truly is unique and is not brown but more plum and that golden shimmer/sparkle really added depth to my eyes! I am a GGG with hazel eyes and as we speak am ordering this from MAC!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Canary on 10/23/2005 1:44:00 AM more reviews by Canary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I can't really add anything new to what people have already said. This is a nice shadow, but there are tons like it so I knocked one lippie off for that. It's pretty and really makes my green eyes pop. I use it as a lid color or a liner.



Here is a picture of me with twinks on the lid. The rest of the eye is MAC Bare Canvas paint as a base, Stila e/s in Cassia as a wash, Stila e/s in Urchin in crease with a little bit of Stila e/s in Charm dusted over it. MAC seedy pearl to highlight and MAC e/l in Prunella to line.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* muakitten on 10/14/2005 11:09:00 AM more reviews by muakitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful shimmery reddish-brown shade! Looks great paired with All That Glitters on my blue-green eyes. I have to disagree with the reviewer below who says that Twinks is a deadringer for Coco Beach Pigment. I have them both and compared swatches on my hand side-by-side. Coco Beach is much more shimmery, like most pigments are. It's truly one-of-a-kind. That said, Twinks is actually much more close to one of my all-time-fave MAC e/s: Sable. The Veluxe Pearl formula of Twinks is smooth and easy to blend. This is NOT an LE shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 10/14/2005 9:48:00 AM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is part of the new Idol Eyes collection released the end of September 2005. This new line of 12 additional Veluxe pearl shadows are permanent and therefore available in pro pans or standard flip top pot. I love it when I can neatly arrange my shadows in palettes. The veluxe pearls are very shimmery, nicely pigmented, very smooth top quality shadows. Go on like a dream. I find the color easy to build and they arent chalky. Twinks is a shimmery dark chocolate brown. This isnt as dark as it looks in the pan but the color can be darkened easily. Great for a smoky eye. Retails for $10 for the pro pan. I really like this shade but cant say its super unique. You may have similiar existing shades but I love this new formula so I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 10/13/2005 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For those of you that miss Coco Beach pigment,This is a deadringer..Did a side by side swatch and I really couldn't tell the difference..Gorgeous bronzey brown with rose reflects.MAC needs to do all their shadows veluxe pearl:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products