Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(175 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lilkitty on 8/9/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by lilkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Really unhappy with this. I've used the 'Even better' in ivory before, and really liked the shade on my skin, but it did little to control my oil. I had heard of stay matte from a friend, and was passing through the airport last week, so stopped by the Clinique counter to have a look. They didn't have a tester of the 'ivory' in the stay matte, but the sales assistant assured/guaranteed/promised me it was EXACTLY the same shade. IT IS NOT. It's much darker, and looks just awful on me. Added to that, it's difficult to apply, and broke me out after just one day. Really dislike, and I'll be travelling through the same airport in 2 weeks time, and am planning to go in search of the sales assistant, give her a piece of my mind and get my money back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kriselise84 on 8/8/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by kriselise84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have combination skin and read reviews on this product and felt with my skin type I had found the holy grail...Fast forward into three hours of wearing this skin wrecker and an oil slick unlike any I had ever experienced. I applied a small amount of the foundation with a foundation brush onto freshly scrubbed skin along with a combo skin moisturizer (tiny amt.) and even topped it off with a clinique setting powder. Three hours later after only being in the heat for a 10 min. car ride and a temp controlled work environment the foundation had failed me. It was oily everywhere and was visually grossing me out. By the time I returned home after 8 hrs. I had at least 3 new pimples...whew glad I got a free ten day supply at the Macy's counter. In my opinion with my crazy skin this was the worst foundation experience ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loula624 on 8/8/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by loula624

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately, Im really not a fan of this. My skin is combo-oily, more oily in the summertime. I understand this foundation is supposed to be mattifying and is designed for oily skins but even at my oiliest (which is fairly oily) this formula is WAY too drying. I wore this foundation in southeast asia in the summer, walking around new york city, and at the beach, and it still manages to leave me with dry flakes all over my skin. I never have this problem with other foundations, or even powders which are the driest of all. luckily i only have this in a couple samples so i didn't waste my money but if your skin is combo oily in the summer heat, i can't recommend this. however, I'm giving it two stars because i believe it would be great if your face in an oil slick.

edit: I'm bumping it down to 1 star because it has also started to break me out in places i never get breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 erichh on 7/29/2012 7:21:00 PM more reviews by erichh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is WAY too dark for me. I use the lightest shade and still looks gross orange. The good thing about this is it controls my oil even if just for a few more hours. Instead of having to blot every hour, I can change that to every 3 hours. This makeup looks AMAZING in pictures, but I'm still looking for my HG.
I'd recommend this for darker skinned people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigergirly on 7/23/2012 5:59:00 AM more reviews by tigergirly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Grrr, bismuth oxychloride! Why? I'm surprised companies are adding ingredients well-known to cause irritation (like Stila adding at least two comedogenic level 5 ingredients to their new oil-free foundation, then advertizing how it reduces blemishes). This causes cysts on my cheeks, as does everything else with bismuth o. Sorry for the rant, MUA members! If the product creators/chemists are knowledgeable enough to have a product approved for mass market, they should be aware of comedogenic or irritating ingredients in products targeted for acne-prone skin. If you're not sensitive to bismuth oxychloride, this could be okay for you. If you are, avoid! I now have red scars on my clear cheeks. On the bright side, Linen is lighter than most Clinique foundations and the packaging is convenient.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeMeUp19 on 7/22/2012 10:53:00 PM more reviews by MakeMeUp19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree that this foundation may not be as good as it's original "Stay True" but the ingredients are much better! If you google "clinique stay true makeup ingredients" you should get an article from the UK about how it has arsenic and lead along with other things. So I am happy that they took all of those things out (hopefully)! I will gladly accept a few blotting needs throughout the day. BUT I have found that if I use the cover FX clarifying and mattifying primer then I get NO OIL! It's amazing! I love having makeup that stays all day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Monseter on 7/20/2012 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Monseter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I realy liked this foundation at first, I even got compliments about how good it looked but only because the one i was using before was complete crap. Anyway, I went to the store and got matched by a consultant and she gave me the color "sand beige", now I'm an NC40 in MAC meaning I have crazy yellow undertones but the girl still gave me the sand beige color. Everything was fine for a while, even though it didn't match me I still wore it because it didn't break me out and the powder she gave me made the product a little lighter so it wasn't a big deal. Anyway after about a month the color turned COMPLETELY orange and I'd swatch it on my hand and you could tell that there was no way this could have possibly matched my face, I felt horrible wearing it. I had to wash off my face before leaving the house a few times because the color was so bad. At first it was easy to blend and put on but then it just became this horrible liquidy mess that wouldn't blend onto your skin no matter how hard you tried. Like the other reviewer said, it would just stay on top of the skin, not to mention that whatever came near your face ended up covered in the foundation. I tried to talk to a representative online and her best advice was to "put the makeup on your face and not your hand". That was pretty much the last straw, never again, clinique.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 evesinkiewicz on 7/19/2012 3:43:00 AM more reviews by evesinkiewicz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is okay at best. I got color matched 3 times and all 3 were incorrect. Everything in Clinique is too pink for my neutral skin. But that's not a deal breaker for me because I was just setting it with a yellow undertoned powder. What really made me dislike this foundation is how dry this made my skin while allowing it to still look like an oily mess. Foundations that make my face so dry it burns to touch my face are not keepers. And neither are ones that make my face just as oily as moisturizing foundations. Ones that do BOTH go back to the store and that's exactly what happened with this one.

But it didn't cause any breakouts and coverage was okay. So that's why I still give it a 3.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 7/14/2012 6:28:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This foundation did not work for me at all. No matter how hard I tried, I could not get the foundation to blend into my skin. I tried my BeautyBlender sponge and several foundation brushes. Nothing worked. The foundation settled into my pores and stayed on top of my skin no matter how much I tried to blend it in. I never got beyond my bathroom since I had to wash the foundation off and start over whenever I tried to wear it so I can't say anything about the finish or if it truly does stay matte throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anjamanninen on 7/5/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by anjamanninen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This product claims it is a sheer to moderate coverage, which it is, but with the Elf flat-top powder brush, it gives me perfect coverage. I bought it in 6, Ivory, and it is my exact shade in the summer. It blends very easily, and doesn't dry quickly like the Revlon CS. It evens out my skin tone, keeps my super oily skin matte for about 5-7 hours, and stays fresh looking all day. I use a moisturizer, a primer, this foundation, a concealer, and a translucent powder to set it all, and it looks flawless. I have mild acne, so it covers the redness. It is a cheap price ($24ish) for a high end foundation, but for me being a drugstore buyer, this was the most money I've ever spent on makeup. I'm glad I invested in it! I am really impressed. The only cons are that it can be a bit drying, the coverage is sheer, there is no SPF, and there is a small smell. Not too bad, though. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. I recommend this for my oily-skinned girls, that have minor to no acne. However, this is not my holy grail foundation, because of the (somewhat) expensive price. I found a drugstore foundation that I love even more. (Check out my review for the revlon colorstay whipped creme foundation.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products