Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(182 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 smellthecoffee on 9/2/2012 1:43:00 AM more reviews by smellthecoffee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, let me start off by saying I have REALLY oily skin. After washing my face, I will get shiny and oily before the hour is up. Anyway, I tried Stay-Matte and was so ecstatic with the results! I went for over 7 hours of no shine! Throughout the day, I used to constantly blot or add powder to my face, which was SUCH a hassle, but now I am confident that my skin is going to stay matte for hours and hours! This product is absolutely amazing! If you have oily skin, give Stay-Matte a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cindahBEAR on 9/2/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by cindahBEAR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm new to liquid foundations... so I don't have much to compare this to, but here goes...
I bought this in 05Fair...which was actually too dark if I tried to build. It goes on fine and it has sheer coverage that just kind of evens skin tone but doesn't cover blemishes at all. And for my skin at least, it does not live up to the 'stay matte' claims. I'm definitely shiney by mid-day, if not sooner.
It's an ok product... but I just wasn't terribly impressed by it and would try something else before buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 8/31/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this foundation so much, in the store, the color matched perfectly. After going home, it really oxidized and became orangey. Also I did not see any oil control at all especially since I have acne prone and oily skin. After a week of using this product, I began to get really dry and crusty around the outer rims of my mouth. I ended up going to the doctor and the doctor asked me if I was using any new products on my face. So this was basically the culprit. Something in this formula is not gentle for my sensitive skin.....

Anyways I also use the Acne-Solutions foundation, although I do not like the oxidation that occurs, its ten times better than this at controlling oil and keeping my face healthy..


DO NOT BUY

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jorates on 8/31/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by jorates

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is gel-based and has an impressive covering. To an oily skin it goes very well over a serum, otherwise too drying. No transfering and quite long lasting: I travelled with it on and by morning it was flawless except from the front which was oily, asking for blotting.
No creasing or fine lines marking (with a moisturiser under). The formula might cause occasional breakouts.
However, my complaint is about the ever-so-pink tones that Clinique turns itself to. The only yellow toned one is way too dark. MAC NW20-25, MUFE HD 120 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 genaphil on 8/17/2012 10:53:00 AM more reviews by genaphil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin and live in the Midwest. This foundation works great on my skin. Doesn't break out my skin or clog my pores, buildable coverage and stays matte most of the day for me. Also, does not oxidize on my skin. The packaging is a nice tube. I shake up the foundation and squeeze a little plop in my hand. I tap, tap, tap my fingertips in my hand to dry out the foundation a little. Then I tap into my skin and pores. The foundation builds up and dries nicely while tapping. I follow with loose powder. Color selection is not that great. I am using a lighter shade than I would like, but I think it will really look good this winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rastacutie on 8/14/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by rastacutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product. Its very comparable to the revlon colorstay. Im in the sade Sienna. It works very well for me. My skin is combination oily and I really don't have any blemishes or anything. I work in hot conditions and it holds up very well. This has become my favorite high end foundation. I have some MAC and it does well but to me Clinique doesnt give me that made up look and it looks so natural. I set this foundation with my perfectly real compact in 148(n). The key to to keep from have the drying. flaky look is to moisturize your face with a good moisturizer. And a little goes a long way :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dudeewtfzoe on 8/9/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by dudeewtfzoe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation really works for me. I had someone match a color for me, and it matches perfectly. I like the airbrushed look that it gives my face. It doesn't give a matte finish, rather a dewy, natural looking one. It's easily build-able. I think it's a little expensive, but if you have combination skin, and are looking for a foundation that looks good in photos, doesn't break you out, and that has a dewy finish, this is the foundation for you. I wouldn't recommend this for extremely oily skinned people, though, even though i think that's who it's targeted towards.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilkitty on 8/9/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by lilkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Really unhappy with this. I've used the 'Even better' in ivory before, and really liked the shade on my skin, but it did little to control my oil. I had heard of stay matte from a friend, and was passing through the airport last week, so stopped by the Clinique counter to have a look. They didn't have a tester of the 'ivory' in the stay matte, but the sales assistant assured/guaranteed/promised me it was EXACTLY the same shade. IT IS NOT. It's much darker, and looks just awful on me. Added to that, it's difficult to apply, and broke me out after just one day. Really dislike, and I'll be travelling through the same airport in 2 weeks time, and am planning to go in search of the sales assistant, give her a piece of my mind and get my money back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kriselise84 on 8/8/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by kriselise84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have combination skin and read reviews on this product and felt with my skin type I had found the holy grail...Fast forward into three hours of wearing this skin wrecker and an oil slick unlike any I had ever experienced. I applied a small amount of the foundation with a foundation brush onto freshly scrubbed skin along with a combo skin moisturizer (tiny amt.) and even topped it off with a clinique setting powder. Three hours later after only being in the heat for a 10 min. car ride and a temp controlled work environment the foundation had failed me. It was oily everywhere and was visually grossing me out. By the time I returned home after 8 hrs. I had at least 3 new pimples...whew glad I got a free ten day supply at the Macy's counter. In my opinion with my crazy skin this was the worst foundation experience ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loula624 on 8/8/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by loula624

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately, Im really not a fan of this. My skin is combo-oily, more oily in the summertime. I understand this foundation is supposed to be mattifying and is designed for oily skins but even at my oiliest (which is fairly oily) this formula is WAY too drying. I wore this foundation in southeast asia in the summer, walking around new york city, and at the beach, and it still manages to leave me with dry flakes all over my skin. I never have this problem with other foundations, or even powders which are the driest of all. luckily i only have this in a couple samples so i didn't waste my money but if your skin is combo oily in the summer heat, i can't recommend this. however, I'm giving it two stars because i believe it would be great if your face in an oil slick.

edit: I'm bumping it down to 1 star because it has also started to break me out in places i never get breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products