Clinique Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

3.6

202 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ingredients: water\aqua\eau [] methyl trimethicone [] butylene glycol [] neopentyl glycol diheptanoate [] dimethicone [] trimethylsiloxysilicate [] nylon-12 [] silica [] laminaria saccharina extract [] salix alba (willow) bark extract [] aloe barbadensis leaf extract [] cholesterol [] glycerin [] zinc stearate [] peg-10 dimethicone [] caffeine [] lauryl peg-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone [] lecithin [] disteardimonium hectorite [] dimethicone/peg-10/15 crosspolymer [] tocopheryl acetate [] phenyl trimethicone [] triethoxycaprylylsilane [] laureth-7 [] magnesium aluminum silicate [] potassium sorbate [] sorbic acid [] sodium dehydroacetate [] triethyl citrate [] hydroxyapatite [] xanthan gum [] sodium chloride [] alcohol [] dipropylene glycol [] disodium edta [] sodium citrate [] sodium hyaluronate [] nylon-6 [] chlorphenesin [] phenoxyethanol [] [+/- titanium dioxide (ci 77891) [] iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499) [] bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) [] mica]v


on 11/28/2012 12:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like it, it stays pretty matte throughout the day and the color is a good match. But I wouldn't wear it for pictures because it does give a little bit of a whitecast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/21/2012 10:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have tried nearly every foundation on the market from drug store brands to the most expensive brands available. I got a sample of Clinique's Stay Matte Foundation today, and I will definitely be purchasing this makeup in the near future. It's the best I've ever used. It evened out my skin tone, gave great coverage, and didn't budge. It gave my skin an airbrushed look, and I love how great it blended. I think I'm done searching for the perfect foundation! Yay!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2012 7:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This seems to work (and look) well with my oily skin. I wear Golden (MAC NC45, for reference). I couple this with the Stay Matte pressed powder (loosely applied) in Stay Suede and I'm good to go!

*****UPDATE (4/20/13)*****
The shade Golden oxidized on me more than I needed. It made me look a bit darker after a couple of hours. So I switched to Cream Caramel and it's perfect!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2012 8:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have mixed feelings about this liquid foundation, but to date, it is the best foundation in regard to a color match for me. I would wear Mac NC45 for reference, which tends to encompass a large range of brown complexions. Stay Matte foundation has a nice range of colors for women of color. I purchased Ginger during the summer when my skin was deeper. The foundation goes on rather matte at first, but there's little glow there.

I went back and got color matched recently since I lost my tan - I'm wearing Caramel now. Now that the weather changed there's also less oiliness. To control the oil, I lightly brush on Clinique's Matte Suede powder.

Update***********************************************
Dewy coverage during the summer, but it's staying on nicely now that it's almost winter. Nice smooth even look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2012 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

AWFUL!!! Oily faces STAY AWAY!



They really should change the name of this product because my face looked ANYTHING but matte after a couple hours wear. I bought No. 7 Cream Chamois from Macy's for $23. The color seemed to blend well. I found when I put it on myself at home is was a bit too orange-y. First applying it looked OK at best. Definitely a sheer-med. coverage. After a few hours at work I went to the bathroom and was shocked at how bad it looked in the mirror! My face literally look like it ate the foundation. It was so oily and patchy looking! Gross! I do have oily skin but I've never experienced something THAT bad. I wanted to try Clinique because I have such sensitive skin but yikes never again! The only good thing about this was the squeeze bottle which I like.



Also... my mom tried their foundation for redness. Did nothing for her and made her usual dry-normal skin look like a greasy mess!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a few weeks ago. I really like this foundation. I have very oily skin/sensitive and I gotta say this worked very well and didn't feel heavy at all. I have tried a lot of foundations and so far my faves are Mac studio fix, Revlon colorstay and this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2012 7:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Stay Matte Oil-Free Liquid Foundation is easy to apply, sets quickly to a matte finish, and is comfortable to wear throughout the day. Clinique claims that this foundation was tested in 88°F/80% humidity conditions and while the weather conditions where I live exceed that (95°F–105°F in the summer), this foundation—without a matte setting powder—fares better than other foundations and BB creams by the end of the day. The coverage is medium but because this has a matte finish and dries quickly, it's easily buildable to full coverage, which is great because I don't have to reach for a separate concealer to cover things like dark under-eye circles, acne scars, and other dark spots.

In my current residency's slightly hotter climates, however, this foundation could not control shine all day on its own as I had hoped. By itself, it controlled shine for about 5–6 hours before I had to blot. With a matte setting powder over it, I had a more significantly impressive shine control time at around 8–10 hours. Those in cooler climates are likely to have longer shine control time.

Despite varying lengths of shine control wear time, the staying power of this foundation's pigment is true to its all-day claim. I have not noticed oxidation or fading by the end of the day. While I tested this foundation in climates hotter than Clinique had tested, this foundation is probably an excellent choice for those in the tested 88°F-climate range or cooler, with combo-oily or oily skin. I also recommend that it be set with a matte powder for extra insurance especially in humid weather.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I tried this foundation in vanilla (which is a perfect match for me in superbalanced but just a tad orangey in this) as I get shiny areas around my nose and forehead, but it the consistency felt very heavy as if it were a mousse, and I found it didn't help my shine at all. Also, I could see all my peach fuzz around my hairline, it didn't blend well and it seemed as if it made my pores look more defined--which is a bad thing. Then again, I'm partial to 'runnier' foundations as I feel they blend better and feel natural afterwards, the heavier ones like stay-matte kind of sit on the skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I Really love this product, i bought this and was a bit unsure weather i would like it because the sales lady told me it was sheer coverage. But i must say i do like the texture of the foundation the matte finish and it really lasts as long as it says it does i went out in the heat for about 7 hours and when i got home it was still on my face and didnt look daggy it still looked fresh!?!?!
Im very impressed by this prouct! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

with my primer this make up stayed with no problem all day it was good for my skin and by my suprise it did not make me break out as almost every thing does. this liquid is great the coverage is buildable and does not look cakey at all such as other brands do. i really liked but it was a bit on the pink side for my skin. and i had touse a owder to set it and give it a soft look

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top