Maybelline • Dream Matte Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.1(1379 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 fade2blue on 10/15/2007 7:03:00 PM more reviews by fade2blue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So far I am impressed with this product.I decided to try it after the reviews I read on here. CVS was having a sale so I got it for $5. I bought this product in dark 2-3 and it matches me perfectly. It gives me a nice matte finish. My skin is usually dry so I moisturize before putting it on. The reason I like this product because it makes my morning makeup regimen so much easier. A downside to this is that it wears off during the day but I don't have a problem reapplying. I was a little confused when I first bought it. My first question was "How the heck do I open this?" But after 5 minutes I got the hang of it. From the reviews I read, I gather that people don't care for the packaging. However, I like it. It's something new and once you get used to it, it's not really a problem. Also I usually have a problem with getting powder on the mirror and the packaging puts an end to that. I would totally buy this again

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xprincessxamandax on 10/13/2007 11:04:00 AM more reviews by xprincessxamandax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i loved this product the case is so cool and the colours are amazing i will continue to buy this i just wish it controlled oil a lil bit more

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FiridaiMcKnight on 10/12/2007 11:29:00 PM more reviews by FiridaiMcKnight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Me: Makeup artist, Asian, Oily Skin, 19 Yrs old, Golden undertone, About a C30-40 in MAC's studio fix,

I found out about this product watching a commercial on TV, thought it sound interesting so i went to go get it at a local drug store, I have tried dream matte mousse and other maybelline products before so i trust their products, its hard for me to actually use the samething everyday,,,i have SOO much stuff im constantly switching, but i seem to be pretty consistant with this one

Product: i do love the color of the powder, it has a great yellow undertone to it, which blends lovely on to my asian skintone, texture of the powder is perfectly fine, great velvet texture, it does give you a matte finish initially, but i guess because of my uncontrollable oily skin, i do shin up after a little while, BUT its a great retouching powder too,,, it does not oxidize and go dark on you either, so if you dont have oily skin boom back like me you should be OK

Price :very affordable, lasts you quite a while too

Packaging,,,i thought it was very new and interesting,,,i threw away the little sponge it came with,just somthing i do, i hate those things, i like how you swap the mirror open,,you could use the mirror and the powder at the same time,,unlike some other ones you gotta switch back and forth, and the golden color is interesting too

i hope this product does not go discontinue,,,i really like it

Complaint: why so little shades

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IvoryLady on 10/12/2007 2:35:00 PM more reviews by IvoryLady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First, a little about me: I have very fair, oily skin that is acne prone. My face is mostly clear lately, but I still have issues with large pores and dark marks from previous breakouts.

Getting right to the point, Dream Matte Powder is my new favorite and beats out all others I've tried, including the popular MAC Blot powder. I don't normally get excited about powders, because they seem to make only a minimal difference in how my makeup lasts. But wow, this one is different!

I purchased the lightest shade - called "Fair (Light 0-1)". It's seriously one of the best matches I've found for my ultra pale skin. It leans slightly yellow, but really this goes on so sheer that I doubt it'd be an issue for most people. The finish is smooth and velvety, and very sheer. It goes over my foundation almost imperceptibly and actually keeps my face matte-- not dry or powdery, just not shiny-- practically all day. This isn't a miracle product of course, but after many weeks of use it's still keeping me matte without drying my skin out or causing breakouts.

I'm not fond of the swing out mirror/puff compartment packaging because it doesn't work very well in reality, but it was a neat idea anyway. I paid about $7 and I definitely feel it's worth the money. Will I repurchase? Sure!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blubellcows on 10/11/2007 8:40:00 PM more reviews by blubellcows

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I read all the rave reviews about it on P'ville. This really is not expensive at all, $7.99 at Walgreens (I got mine in a BOGOF sale). The colors are somewhat limited, and I got mine in Medium 0-1, Sand. The packaging is a bit inconvenient, with the a mirror that swivels under the powder (does that make sense?). The pad they provide you with isn't as terrible as some that I have seen, but I'd recommend that you use a powder brush, because it will work better.


Packaging aside, the product is amazing. That is, if you have the right skin type for it. This does not provide heavy coverage, so if you want a foundation that makes all your flaws disappear without having to use a concealer, look to cream foundations instead. This is for those of you who have relatively good skin, maybe with slight flaws, uneven skin tone, and slight oilyness. If you fit those requirements, a single application will even out your skin and make you look matte and airbrushed.


I, however, do not fit those requirements. On my cheeks, I am extremely dry and on my nose, I am a oil well. This powder did not last long on my nose, and I had to constantly reapply during the day. On my cheeks, this only accented my dry flakes. I guess it was my application skills, but it seemed to me that during the day, this powder wore off somewhat.


What I like about this product is its blendability. You can brush this on, blend, and it will look good. I also like using this as a primer/eyeshadow. I apply a layer of this powder on my eyes, line with any eyeliner, apply another layer over the eyeliner, and my liner will last and last until I take it off. I even did a test by sleeping with my eyeliner on and taking a shower without removing any of the makeup. When I got out of the shower, I looked in the mirror, and to my surprise, the line that I drew hours earlier had not budged at all. I think I'll repurchase this product just for its eyeliner-fixing properties.

EDIT: This caused me to break out in little skin colored bumps (barely visible, but still pimples).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ccope4 on 10/10/2007 11:27:00 AM more reviews by ccope4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So far I am very impressed with this powder...I got the medium color in "cream" and it matches perfectly. I have tried all of the "matte" powders from Clinique, BE, MUFF, Shu Uemura,and this one from Maybelline is REALLY great. I like the little compact design and how it swivvels out, I think it's new and fun.

I love how sheer it is or you can add more for more coverage, and it really does hold the oilies away for a lot longer than the more expensive brands. I love this powder for touch-ups throughout the day, and I live in the hot Arizona heat so nothing is going to magically stop oillies, but this helps a lot! I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kjo86 on 10/4/2007 8:14:00 PM more reviews by kjo86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Wanted to add this review. I have yet to try the product...but several people have mentioned wanting to know the ingredients. It isn't printed on the product wrapping,etc. It was on a little white tear off flyer attached to the display. Here is a listing of the ingredients-
TALC, NYLON-12, ISODECYL NEOPENTANOATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, DIMETHICONE, PHENOXYETHANOL, CETYL DIMETHICONE, TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, METHYLPARABEN, TRIISOCETYL CITRATE, ETHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, ISOBUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN,
(+/-MAY CONTAIN: MICA, CI 77499, CI77491, CI 77492 / IRON OXIDES, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE) F.I.L. D26541/1 U.S. PATENT PENDING
http://www.maybelline.com/Product/Face/Powder/dream-matte-powder.htm

Hope that helps someone! :)

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 la18la on 10/4/2007 2:16:00 AM more reviews by la18la

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

the powder gives you a velvety finish and really controls shine! i have such a problem with my forehead looking greasy that nothing will control it, but this surprisingly did. my skin didn't look powdery either. there isn't that much of a color selection but the colors i saw (and the one i got) were nice and natural looking. usually everything slides off my face but this stayed put. this doesn't give heavy coverage, it lets your natural beautiful skin shine through. i love it. it was under $7, the package isn't that great but i don't care about that (it's not terrible). i have acne prone skin but this didn't make me break out, maybe because it's oil free. (i had the mousse foundation version of this which was ok but gave me acne). you may need a bit of moisture underneath this though.
let me sum this product up in a few phrases... things i've never said about a pressed powder before...

Velvet Finish* Shine Controlling* Doesn't Cause Acne*

will repurchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skagirl on 10/2/2007 6:43:00 PM more reviews by skagirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this powder. First of all the packaging sucks! It has a weird turning action to access the mirror and puff. But worst of all, the mirror gets powder on it because the puff is directly stored on it. So the mirror is almost useless cause all i see is powder smears all over it. Its horrible packaging! Another problem i have is that Maybelline doesnt have the best color selection. I tried two shades that seemed to fit me, Beige and Honey. Beige was too light and Honey was a weird color, kinda like milk mixed with chocolate, but when i applied it on my skin, it looked more white. It was really weird. I dont know who would have this skin tone. Anyway, as for the results of the product, it was okay. it gave my skin a matte finish, which i like. it was really sheer, so its more for blotting shine after applying foundation. To me, its just an okay product. i think i would feel better about the powder if they made one that matched my skin tone more. Im disappointed in Maybelline's color selection, they tend to have a lot of light and medium shades and deep dark shades, but NOTHING in between.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AntsInMyPants on 10/1/2007 12:26:00 PM more reviews by AntsInMyPants

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Ok! I'm impressed. I've never used Maybelline products, and in all honesty (not trying to sound like a cosmetics snob because by no means do I use only high end stuff) I never thought I would. I never really thought of Maybelline as quality stuff.

However, I was at Shopper's Drug Mart looking for an AHA lotion for my oily skin, and when I asked the cosmetics counter woman for a suggestion on a nice pressed powder for oily skin, she beelined it straight to the Maybelline display. I must have looked skeptical, because she then turned to me and said that ALL of the women that work in the cosmetics dept' of that particular SDM use this pressed powder. They gave it absolutely rave reviews, and I do have to say that the girl who helped me...her skin was beautiful, and she did say that she was currently wearing the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Powder.

Ok - now to my experience. Today is my 2nd day using it, and I really like it. I mean, I really REALLY like it, in a Sally Field just won another Oscar kind of way. My skin looks really fresh and even, it's nicely matte and it stays matte for much longer than it normally does. I don't have to touch up at 10am anymore - I can make it until at least lunch hour before blotting the oils and patting this powder on - and even then - i'm not THAT oily looking. So this powder does what it says it does. I will definitely repurchase it - and contrary to a few of the other reviewers here, I really like the nifty packaging. :D

The only reason that I took off a lippie was for the price. It's 15 bucks CAD for this little gem, (and it IS little) and for a Maybelline product, I find that steep. But then again, the price isn't stopping me from believing that i'll purchase this again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Pressed Powders products