Make Up For Ever • Duo Mat Powder foundation • Powder

rated 3.9(293 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kennymoron on 2/10/2011 2:18:00 PM more reviews by kennymoron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my 2nd experience in powder foundation (my 1st one is MAC lightful which is quite good) and I have to say I like it. I was pretty satisfied with my new MAC lightful until I dropped it and the powder shattered. I can only use it at home now because the powder will go everywhere if I put it on my bag.

I decided to purchase another powder foundation to-go. The review of this product is quite okay in MUA so I decided to just buy it. I use NC40 for MAC Lightful and shade 205 suits me quite good. For me, the texture of this powder is better than MAC, it makes your face looks smooth and more natural looking. Oil control is okay, I do need to blot but it's normal. It doesn't break me out and the coverage is good.

The packaging is not as bad as I thought (I thought it'll look very cheap), although I hate the fact that you cannot refill it. You have to buy another case+powder everytime you need a new one. And the other downside is that it doesn't have any SPF (while Lightful has SPF25). But I guess there can't be a perfect product. Price is quite reasonable, I bought it for HKD 330 (or around USD 43).

I might not repurchase because I think I still wanna try powder foundation from different brands, hahahaha

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hillsk8 on 2/3/2011 6:32:00 PM more reviews by Hillsk8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for about 2 years now. Shade 202. I have to say, I LOVE it. I am 31 with skin that can be dry, but still breaks out. This product doesn't cause any irritation or break out for me, which is a huge plus. It also doesn't get greasy or shiny. I do use about one oil blotting sheet a day, but I have to do that with anything, so I don't count that as a downside. I was introduced to this foundation when I lived in Nashville, TN - talk about hot and humid central! I asked for something that wouldn't get nasty during the summer time and Sephora sold me this. On a hot and humid day, this stuff performs pretty well. It stays in place well and doesn't make you look like an oil slick. That being said, you'll probably need to blot a time or two if it's 96 degrees out with comparable humidity. I live back in NY now and I still love this stuff. I put it on with a powder brush most days for a lighter, yet still covered look. I apply it with the sponge it comes with for evenings when I want a more "made up" look. As far as price goes, I'm fine with it. The product lasts forever. I barely go through two of these a year. I'd say each compact lasts about 8 or 9 months and I use it every single day. So, when you break the cost down on a daily basis, it's not much at all! Try it! You won't regret it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinay_babae on 1/5/2011 8:36:00 AM more reviews by pinay_babae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a new foundation and had my cousin recommend Make Up Forever.

I went to Sephora to sample it. The MUA applied it and it felt light..not heavy at all. I went ahead and made my purchase. The MUA also recommended I use a velour puff not the sponge it comes with.

I like how my skin isn't oily by day end. That's what I was looking for...a foundation that wouldn't make my skin oily after a few minutes.

Overall a good product. I've used it for 2 weeks now. I wish it was on the cheaper end but between this and using L'oreal and MAC...so far this has done the trick for controlling my shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RazorBladeKiss on 12/5/2010 4:15:00 PM more reviews by RazorBladeKiss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to use as a touch up powder. If you use this over liquid foundation, you get a really flawless finish. But it can be too much for everyday. As a powder foundation, I find that it has really good coverage. It can be drying though. This is definitely better than studio fix powder but doesn't have a good selection of shades. It is also more pricey for less product. I would continue to buy this because it is the only powder foundation that works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Makeyamona on 11/30/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Makeyamona

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I'm a huge ingredient freak nowadays and muf duo powder has no harsh chemicals and I really like that! The coverage is great BUT the colors suck :( I'm an olive skin tone and I was matched with 209...no good! Then I went on my own and tried both 207 and 201 (I think) and 207 seemed right...wrong! The colors all turn out pink/orange an looks super unnatural :(
overall I really like this powder but color matching is no good for me. I did notice however that it made my face pretty duey which is a change since I have dryskin for the most part so I had to touch up with a loose powder twice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 11/28/2010 2:15:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent powder for all day staying powder. I used to need to touch up when I would use Bobbi Brown or MAC. However, I wanted something that would keep my combo skin looking refined through all of 10 hour workdays. This does the trick.

I have used alone with moisturizer, with the MUFE Full Cover Concealer on spots with blemishes, and over a primer. Each time, I get the same results, long lasting coverage without oil slicks that get through.

I have found that the key to staying power and finish is in the method of application. If you use a brush - like the Bare Minerals Brush you get great all over coverage. Also a kabuki brush is good to use. If you use a powder brush, it will be lighter, and not so heavy. If you use the powder puff that comes in the compact, I think it goes on too heavy, and looks a little ashy.

All in all, a great product, I would highly recommend for others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phatsjunx on 11/17/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by phatsjunx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This stuff goes on like buttah! I've been using MAC Studio Fix's NC 40 and C4 for about a year now but decided to try this one out. I got a 205 - Medium Beige which matches my skin tone well but I think I could get away with 207 - Golden Beige. I feel that this foundation stays on longer than the MACs, have better coverage, and looks less cakey. I recommend this for people with oily skin. I used to be Normal to Dry but now I'm Normal to Oily which explains why MAC's powders were too dry for me. I'm also happy to learn that MUFE do not test on animals. I wish they would have that stamped on their packages though...Unless I'm wrong and they do test on animals?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 courtneymbridge on 11/16/2010 4:44:00 AM more reviews by courtneymbridge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Decided to buy some nice powder foundation to seal the liquid foundation i use. I went with makeup forever's duo tone, and love it so far. It seals the liquid in and lasts all day just as i had hoped. And if i do chose to re apply it at night time, it doesn't look heavy and doesn't feel heavy either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebemdee on 11/12/2010 1:20:00 PM more reviews by rebemdee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence if I would get this again. I was in Sephora, wanted a powder to use for touchups during the day, because I use BE mineral and it's a fricking mess, even in their special compact, to use for touchups. She recommended this. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but thought I'd try it. I've since learned the kind of powder I was looking for, mostly for shiny midday face, is at MAC.

If I apply this with the sponge it looks way too thick and cakey. Using a brush works much better for me. As long as I use moisturizer and primer, I get a smooth texture and consistant coverage. It does seem to settle harshly around my eyes, but honestly, what doesn't these days? Old age is setting in.

So is it terrible? No. Is it great? No. It does work for the midday touch up, but perhaps so would a touch up powder, not a powder foundation. I'll probably try something else before buying this again. However, I may also dump BE because I'm tired of the mess, and if I do, I know that this is a decent foundation powder.

Well, crap. I dropped it and the entire pan broke apart and had to be thrown away. Disaster! It did lead me to try sephora's brand of mattifying powder which is much less expensive and I like it better. So not an entire waste!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elwoods17 on 11/11/2010 12:48:00 PM more reviews by elwoods17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

update: This is so not worth the money. The compact is flimsy and actually broke. The part that hold the powder just broke off when I opened it. The mirror that comes with it is a little half moon shape. Can't even see whole face. The sponge is awful and just soaks up the powder. And as for the actual powder I will say the color match is excellent but it gives the coverage of a pressed powder and can look very chalky! Also...it doesnt last at all!!! See my review for Too Faced Amazing Face Powder Foundation. Soooo much better and worth the money. I have oily skin and olive skin tone fyi. I wore this in 203 and Too Faced in Honey Beige.

I know I gave this a "mediocre" rating and yet I will still buy it again! Alas, after my HG powder foundation by Anna Sui was discontinued (and I bought up all the ones on ebay remaining!) I had to find a new powder foundation. For reference I have oily skin, minimal breakouts, am 27, with olive Latina skin tone. So, I tried several powder fdts before I bought this one. I tried: Stila IPF and mark Buff Skin. Did not like either bc hardly gave any coverage. The Stila looked chalky.

So, I like this powder foundation because it gives excellent coverage. I apply with the sponge if I want more coverage. It does look so powdery though after applied so I have to spritz with spring water in a bottle (or can use Mac Fixx) to get rid of that powdery look after applied. I do like this also because for yellow undertones/olive skin it is the best I have found for complementing those yellow undertones. It is a very good match in color and makes the face look nice and even toned. It also seems to last awhile and I do not need to reapply at all! I just use an oil blotter and dab my oily areas like powder maybe once a day.

So, I do not like the packaging bc it is a flip compact with the sponge under it.

All in all, it will do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Powder products