Make Up For Ever Duo Mat Powder foundation Powder

3.9

298 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Dimethicone, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Zinc Stearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Aqua (Water), Dimethiconol, Chlorphenesin, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Tetrasodium EDTA, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Glycerin, Dicaprylyl Ether, Phenoxyethanol, Cassia Angustifolia Extract (Cassia Angustifolia Seed Polysaccharide), Parfum (Fragrance), Gellan Gum, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Ethylparaben. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/15/2011 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product in 202-tanslucent beige becauuse my MAC studio fix powder was breaking me out with horrible pimples! And my skin never breaks out! This powder has less than MUFE which sucks, and is also more money. I am NC 20 in MAC. I love MACs packaginig way better!!! And the powder is more pressed together, rather the MUFE the powder flys everywhere! MUFE controlls oily soo much better tham MAC! The color doesn't go darker through out unlike MAC. I'm never going back to studio fix I'm in love with MUFE. I also wear it with Lancome Teint Idole Ultra foundation in 6 Buff.



on 3/14/2011 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

If you have dry or combo skin I do not recommend this foundation. It highlights even dry patch, and enlarged pore on your skin.

It does have good coverage, and a mat finish.

I have combination skin and on parts of my face it clearly outlines the dry areas. Also, the powder doesn't settle into the skin well, and it tends to make me look like I have to much makeup on.


on 2/23/2011 10:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Despite the horrible quality of the compact itself (with a tiny semi-circle mirror), the product is quite good. It covers evenly (although you must be careful with the amount of powder you pick up to put on your face because it could look REALLY heavy) and stays put for a long time without major issues of flaking or rubbing off. As well, it absorbed excess oil on my face well so I don't become shiny after several hours.


on 2/20/2011 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My all time favorite powder foundation. It gives you such an amazing coverage, it doesn't make your skin looks orange. It actually gives you this natural look. I love how this foundation doesn't make me break out like some does. The texture of this is silky and smooth. No matter how much you put this on, it will never make you look cakey. I can say it's a bit quite pricey ($32) but it's well worth the $32:-)


on 2/13/2011 2:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green


I really love this foundation. It covers well and I don't require many touch ups with it. I use shade 201 and it blends in with my skin tone pretty well. It even looks okay in bright lights, lol. The main con about this to me is the packaging. I DO like the magnet that helps seal it shut. I do not like the sponge that has to go under the makeup. The reason for that is I have nicked the product with my thumb many times and I paid a lot for it. I don't want to lose unnecessary amounts of product, lol. But I will keep repurchasing! It doesn't cause me to break out. Unlike another popular brand that will go unmentioned. *COUGH*MAC*COUGH* :\


on 2/11/2011 2:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite foundation. This looks so natural and does nothing bad to my skin. The only downside is that you would probably need a more moisturizing foundation in the winter as it can kind of look patchy if your skin is too dry.

I bought the HD kabuki brush to apply this with and it is heaven.


on 2/10/2011 2:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is my 2nd experience in powder foundation (my 1st one is MAC lightful which is quite good) and I have to say I like it. I was pretty satisfied with my new MAC lightful until I dropped it and the powder shattered. I can only use it at home now because the powder will go everywhere if I put it on my bag.

I decided to purchase another powder foundation to-go. The review of this product is quite okay in MUA so I decided to just buy it. I use NC40 for MAC Lightful and shade 205 suits me quite good. For me, the texture of this powder is better than MAC, it makes your face looks smooth and more natural looking. Oil control is okay, I do need to blot but it's normal. It doesn't break me out and the coverage is good.

The packaging is not as bad as I thought (I thought it'll look very cheap), although I hate the fact that you cannot refill it. You have to buy another case+powder everytime you need a new one. And the other downside is that it doesn't have any SPF (while Lightful has SPF25). But I guess there can't be a perfect product. Price is quite reasonable, I bought it for HKD 330 (or around USD 43).

I might not repurchase because I think I still wanna try powder foundation from different brands, hahahaha


on 2/3/2011 6:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this product for about 2 years now. Shade 202. I have to say, I LOVE it. I am 31 with skin that can be dry, but still breaks out. This product doesn't cause any irritation or break out for me, which is a huge plus. It also doesn't get greasy or shiny. I do use about one oil blotting sheet a day, but I have to do that with anything, so I don't count that as a downside. I was introduced to this foundation when I lived in Nashville, TN - talk about hot and humid central! I asked for something that wouldn't get nasty during the summer time and Sephora sold me this. On a hot and humid day, this stuff performs pretty well. It stays in place well and doesn't make you look like an oil slick. That being said, you'll probably need to blot a time or two if it's 96 degrees out with comparable humidity. I live back in NY now and I still love this stuff. I put it on with a powder brush most days for a lighter, yet still covered look. I apply it with the sponge it comes with for evenings when I want a more "made up" look. As far as price goes, I'm fine with it. The product lasts forever. I barely go through two of these a year. I'd say each compact lasts about 8 or 9 months and I use it every single day. So, when you break the cost down on a daily basis, it's not much at all! Try it! You won't regret it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2011 8:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a new foundation and had my cousin recommend Make Up Forever.

I went to Sephora to sample it. The MUA applied it and it felt light..not heavy at all. I went ahead and made my purchase. The MUA also recommended I use a velour puff not the sponge it comes with.

I like how my skin isn't oily by day end. That's what I was looking for...a foundation that wouldn't make my skin oily after a few minutes.

Overall a good product. I've used it for 2 weeks now. I wish it was on the cheaper end but between this and using L'oreal and MAC...so far this has done the trick for controlling my shine.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this to use as a touch up powder. If you use this over liquid foundation, you get a really flawless finish. But it can be too much for everyday. As a powder foundation, I find that it has really good coverage. It can be drying though. This is definitely better than studio fix powder but doesn't have a good selection of shades. It is also more pricey for less product. I would continue to buy this because it is the only powder foundation that works for me.


Back to Top