Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(360 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 KHD on 10/9/2009 3:27:00 AM more reviews by KHD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Naturally my lashes are blonde so it's blatantly obvious when mascara clumps or flakes off me, but I don't have this problem at all with Great Lash.
The wand delivers the right amount of product for a subtle look and you can reapply several coats with minimum drama to enhance volume, but not much can be done for creating length or curl.
It's a solid staple for anyones makeup bag- it's nothing too fancy but at under $10 you'll definitely get your moneys worth and it won't hurt as much as throwing away DiorShow after the allotted 3 months shelf-life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristineybobeeny on 10/5/2009 12:46:00 AM more reviews by kristineybobeeny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this product. It can hold a curl pretty well and it doesn't volumize my lashes bu it does lenghthen them for me. It's pink packaging is really cute in my opinion. It's not hard to remove with makeup remover. The brush is small which I don't like very much but it does the job the way I want it to.

It's definitely not the best mascara but not the worst mascara out there. I will repurchase this if I'm broke and just need some mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NaturalLook on 9/19/2009 2:53:00 PM more reviews by NaturalLook

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first mascara that I've used as a teenager. I have straight eyelashes that I curl before applying mascara. I bought the waterproof version of this mascara as it doesn't straighten out my curled eyelashes. The small brush makes it easy to apply mascara on my bottom lashes. I use "Very Black" color and must apply 3 coats to make my light black eyelashes look darker and a little bit longer. It doesn't build volume or add much length. The mascara flakes and clumps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 niamhh on 9/7/2009 5:13:00 PM more reviews by niamhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really don't see what all the fuss is about.
The product only makes my already black lashes a little more black, but no thicker or longer, and the packaging is gaudy and cheap looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 8/28/2009 10:30:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used the iconic pink tube (original formula) years ago, while in high school and it smudged like crazy on me. I have oily eyelids/face and I generally have to use waterproof mascaras to avoid raccoon eyes. I loved lancome, but it is extremely hard to remove without losing some lashes here and there. Anyway, this product not only stays put when applied, never clumps, doesn't smudge, can easily be removed AND is cheap! I tried "very black" and it is awsome. I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 izawa on 8/24/2009 3:05:00 AM more reviews by izawa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

pro: I used the non waterproof one a few years back and i loved it. After trying out a few "expensive" mascaras... I just came back to this one. This really gives volume and a natural look. Not much lengthening (if you're looking for length, try fiberwig)

con: Its REALLY hard to remove

overall, great mascara for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 razorbladeshoes on 8/14/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by razorbladeshoes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The thing I like about this mascara is the brush. It's small, so it's easy to get in to the inner corner and outer lashes without clumping. The formula is nothing special, however, just subtle length and definition. I've tried this in brownish black, which is nice for a natural look, but the black colors look more gray than a true black.

I've tried this a few times, but won't repurchase in the future. Right now I like Lash Discovery or Full 'n Soft better for the "natural" look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jsellers on 8/11/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by jsellers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I know this mascara has received a lot of negative attention, but I think it has some admirable qualities. The best thing about this mascara is that it absolutely does not produce clumps. I'm guessing this is because of the small brush. Also, this mascara does lengthen my lashes, and it is actually waterproof.

However, Great Lash really doesn't offer any drama. I have to apply several coats until I can even tell that it's there. It doesn't seem to thicken lashes or coat them with intensely dark color.

I said that I would repurchase because this is a cheap mascara to use when I want a natural makeup look. It takes a little more effort to achieve the result I want, but it does separate my lashes beautifully. It's not my go-to mascara, but it can come in handy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hikari on 7/29/2009 2:17:00 AM more reviews by Hikari

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Bought it because I was in a hurry and needed a cheap mascara. It didn't smudge a lot, that's a plus, it stayed even on my lower lashes the whole day. But I didn't like the brush and it gave me a spider look. And it was very hard to get off with makeup remover too. I'll find a better mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alicatgirl93 on 7/18/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by alicatgirl93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I remember using this mascara when I was in middle school and a newbie at makeup. I found it clumpy, unmanageable, flaky, and smudgy. I definitely am not a fan.... I love waterproof mascaras, mainly out of necessity because of my watery, contact-wearing eyes and oily skin. So what WOULD I recommend? Try out Cover Girl Lash Exact waterproof mascara, which is truly waterproof and long lasting. I've never had issues with clumping or smudging with it. I used to have issues removing it, but now with Sonia Kashuk makeup remover (pick it up sometime at Target), I no longer have any problems with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products