Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Waterproof

2.8

364 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 12/17/2009 11:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried this product a few years ago and thought it was good but when I purchased it again last week, it will be the last time I buy it. It gives my lashes length, but no volume whatsoever. The brush is so small and skinny, it doesn't do alot for my lashes. The formula is not thick so it doesn't create any clumps but again, no volume. After an hour, it smudges like crazy. I look like a raccoon after wearing this. It's also hard to wash off. I use the Almay oil free wipes and it's a pain to remove.

For those that think this is good because it holds a curl, any waterproof mascara will hold a curl. People need to stop rating waterproof mascaras on their ability to hold a curl!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/5/2009 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love the regular great lash and decided to try the waterproof formula. Super black, but a tad bit too liquidy. Also once this dries, its a beyotch to get off!! It takes waterproof to a different level, really. I tried everything, oils included, and this stuff barely budged. Just not worth the hassle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2009 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'll never understand the appeal and cult following of Great Lash. It barely makes a difference in my lashes and smudges all over the place. Ick!!!


on 10/29/2009 11:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand why this mascara was voted as Best Mascara for so many years. There's nothing special about it. It's not bad, it's just I can find a much better mascara and I would be willing to pay more for it too. I would recommend Lash Blast by CoverGirl if you like waterproof mascaras. I think that's the best waterproof drugstore brand I've ever used. This for the price isn't too shabby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2009 3:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Naturally my lashes are blonde so it's blatantly obvious when mascara clumps or flakes off me, but I don't have this problem at all with Great Lash.
The wand delivers the right amount of product for a subtle look and you can reapply several coats with minimum drama to enhance volume, but not much can be done for creating length or curl.
It's a solid staple for anyones makeup bag- it's nothing too fancy but at under $10 you'll definitely get your moneys worth and it won't hurt as much as throwing away DiorShow after the allotted 3 months shelf-life.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do like this product. It can hold a curl pretty well and it doesn't volumize my lashes bu it does lenghthen them for me. It's pink packaging is really cute in my opinion. It's not hard to remove with makeup remover. The brush is small which I don't like very much but it does the job the way I want it to.

It's definitely not the best mascara but not the worst mascara out there. I will repurchase this if I'm broke and just need some mascara.


on 9/19/2009 2:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was my first mascara that I've used as a teenager. I have straight eyelashes that I curl before applying mascara. I bought the waterproof version of this mascara as it doesn't straighten out my curled eyelashes. The small brush makes it easy to apply mascara on my bottom lashes. I use "Very Black" color and must apply 3 coats to make my light black eyelashes look darker and a little bit longer. It doesn't build volume or add much length. The mascara flakes and clumps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2009 5:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really don't see what all the fuss is about.
The product only makes my already black lashes a little more black, but no thicker or longer, and the packaging is gaudy and cheap looking.


on 8/28/2009 10:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used the iconic pink tube (original formula) years ago, while in high school and it smudged like crazy on me. I have oily eyelids/face and I generally have to use waterproof mascaras to avoid raccoon eyes. I loved lancome, but it is extremely hard to remove without losing some lashes here and there. Anyway, this product not only stays put when applied, never clumps, doesn't smudge, can easily be removed AND is cheap! I tried "very black" and it is awsome. I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2009 3:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

pro: I used the non waterproof one a few years back and i loved it. After trying out a few "expensive" mascaras... I just came back to this one. This really gives volume and a natural look. Not much lengthening (if you're looking for length, try fiberwig)

con: Its REALLY hard to remove

overall, great mascara for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top