Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(357 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 niamhh on 9/7/2009 5:13:00 PM more reviews by niamhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really don't see what all the fuss is about.
The product only makes my already black lashes a little more black, but no thicker or longer, and the packaging is gaudy and cheap looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 8/28/2009 10:30:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used the iconic pink tube (original formula) years ago, while in high school and it smudged like crazy on me. I have oily eyelids/face and I generally have to use waterproof mascaras to avoid raccoon eyes. I loved lancome, but it is extremely hard to remove without losing some lashes here and there. Anyway, this product not only stays put when applied, never clumps, doesn't smudge, can easily be removed AND is cheap! I tried "very black" and it is awsome. I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 izawa on 8/24/2009 3:05:00 AM more reviews by izawa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

pro: I used the non waterproof one a few years back and i loved it. After trying out a few "expensive" mascaras... I just came back to this one. This really gives volume and a natural look. Not much lengthening (if you're looking for length, try fiberwig)

con: Its REALLY hard to remove

overall, great mascara for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 razorbladeshoes on 8/14/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by razorbladeshoes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The thing I like about this mascara is the brush. It's small, so it's easy to get in to the inner corner and outer lashes without clumping. The formula is nothing special, however, just subtle length and definition. I've tried this in brownish black, which is nice for a natural look, but the black colors look more gray than a true black.

I've tried this a few times, but won't repurchase in the future. Right now I like Lash Discovery or Full 'n Soft better for the "natural" look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jsellers on 8/11/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by jsellers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I know this mascara has received a lot of negative attention, but I think it has some admirable qualities. The best thing about this mascara is that it absolutely does not produce clumps. I'm guessing this is because of the small brush. Also, this mascara does lengthen my lashes, and it is actually waterproof.

However, Great Lash really doesn't offer any drama. I have to apply several coats until I can even tell that it's there. It doesn't seem to thicken lashes or coat them with intensely dark color.

I said that I would repurchase because this is a cheap mascara to use when I want a natural makeup look. It takes a little more effort to achieve the result I want, but it does separate my lashes beautifully. It's not my go-to mascara, but it can come in handy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hikari on 7/29/2009 2:17:00 AM more reviews by Hikari

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Bought it because I was in a hurry and needed a cheap mascara. It didn't smudge a lot, that's a plus, it stayed even on my lower lashes the whole day. But I didn't like the brush and it gave me a spider look. And it was very hard to get off with makeup remover too. I'll find a better mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alicatgirl93 on 7/18/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by alicatgirl93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I remember using this mascara when I was in middle school and a newbie at makeup. I found it clumpy, unmanageable, flaky, and smudgy. I definitely am not a fan.... I love waterproof mascaras, mainly out of necessity because of my watery, contact-wearing eyes and oily skin. So what WOULD I recommend? Try out Cover Girl Lash Exact waterproof mascara, which is truly waterproof and long lasting. I've never had issues with clumping or smudging with it. I used to have issues removing it, but now with Sonia Kashuk makeup remover (pick it up sometime at Target), I no longer have any problems with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 7/15/2009 8:29:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was in search of a great waterproof mascara so I tried this one first. It has its pros and cons but I don't think I will be purchasing this again and will try something else next time. I wore it swimming last weekend, and it lasted all day. No smudging, running or anything! I also love the length it gives my lashes and how it keeps the curl. But I hate the application of the mascara. With one swipe its barely noticeable so I usually have to apply 3 coats to get it to look the way I want it to (comparing this to my favorite mascara Loreal Telescopic that only requires 1 swipe). After the 2nd coat, it starts to get clumpy and by the 3rd I look like I have spider legs for eye lashes. I do not recommend this product for someone looking for a bold, noticeable waterproof mascara that only requires one coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MacAtFirstSight on 7/14/2009 6:09:00 PM more reviews by MacAtFirstSight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product because it separates my lashes and holds the curl. However, it's a pain in the ass to remove... omg i never had such a hard time removing mascara, let alone a waterproof mascara.

however, i think it's a fairly good product for the buck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haleyhay on 7/14/2009 4:48:00 PM more reviews by haleyhay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why everyone likes to complain so much about this mascara, it is not "the worst mascara ever". It is actually pretty good, it does a good job at lengthening and a decent job at thickening. I personally like the waterproof much better though, I find that the regular version flakes a bit more and smudges a bit. The waterproof is truly waterproof and does not flake a bit. The more I use it the more I like it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products