Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(265 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BlessedGirl on 6/4/2010 1:02:00 PM more reviews by BlessedGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this product, but i Use as a spot concealer only-- covers everything, blends well, lasts if set with powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tammallama on 5/30/2010 11:02:00 AM more reviews by tammallama

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

*M80 is in between NC42 & NC45 * the color range is awesome! And it doesn't oxidize!!! Yay for that!


I have had a love/hate relationship with this foundation for about 5 years. The coverage is unbelievable! I have found applying it with MAC's 130 mini stippling brush works the best, it gives the perfect coverage. The sponge made it look and feel like I put icing all over a cake lol, it just sat on top of my skin. I usually set it with the powder fx in the same shade and the 2 are flawless! The hate part is that it breaks me out, so I use with caution. Only when I feel the need to have a flawless face for a night out etc...and also it tends to migrate into fine lines and creases as the day goes on so it needs touching up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MsHolleGolightly on 5/14/2010 8:40:00 PM more reviews by MsHolleGolightly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a replacement to my MAC concealer (full coverage) and I got this. I wasn't really using it for my face (I get backne, gross I know) While this works well and is pretty heavy duty their yellow tones are just a bit TOO yellow and much $$ than MAC which matches my color much better also. Besides that it is fine, didn't get any further break outs or much need for reapplication. just a little too oily in texture for my taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisalibrary on 5/7/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by lisalibrary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with some, this is a little challenging to blend. I stiple it on. My face looks flawless and matches my skin perfect. Way impressed! It gives my skin a dewy look. I am glad I found this!!! E10 looks good on my pale skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sleigh55 on 5/5/2010 5:53:00 PM more reviews by sleigh55

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am an avid user of Cover FX Cream Foundation, color E40. But PLEASE listen up....

Before you apply foundation, a Cover FX primer MUST be applied. Otherwise it will not blend, and as other people have mentioned it will have the consistency of a rock and it will appear cakey once applied.

I apply Dr. Brandt's Pores no More (which is a god send!), then I apply the Clearprep FX Matte Foundation Primer and Anti Acne Treatment, let it sit a minute or two, and THEN I apply the foundation. I really find that it goes on best when applied with a sponge. The coverage is fantastic. I have minor redness and dark eye circles and this foundation covers and evens EVERYTHING out.

To top it off, I definitely definitely definitely would recommend Bare Minerals face powder in Mineral Veil. I like a semi-bronzed look so I use the tinted one.

As another person mentioned, this stays on well all day. The only time a touch up is needed is nightime.

I just went to Sephora last week and picked up another compact. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cksport92 on 4/23/2010 2:57:00 AM more reviews by cksport92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

this "creme" foundation is anything but creme- it is like a friggin' rock! i've tried so many different ways to get this to work (different primers, wetting the sponge, tons of different brushes, even my fingers) and it just does not soften up for me. maybe it provides full coverage and can cover tattoos, but it is of little use if you cant even get it on your face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 4/18/2010 10:40:00 AM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I would repurchase if I needed it but there is enough in the compact for my needs.

In my quest for perfect skin, I have been using various skin lighteners (Lancome is the best so far). But, in order not to get any more spotting I needed a good cover up suitable for my face and not just any concealer... so I tested this out for two weeks. The consistency is heavier than my concealers -- well maybe less so than LM Secret Camo, but it glides onto the skin and it stays put. It is not greasy or creamy (which is something I don't want on my face -- different from what one may want under eyes).

I use the M20 color only on my melasma on top of my chosen foundation (on top and well blended) and it works with several brands. I then use my loose powder and spritz with MAC fix or Avene. It does not look heavy or cakey and it does disguise the brownish spots left on my skin while helping to prevent any further damage.

The price is not cheap -- but then for foundations, cheap can be very damaging. This is a good cover up for those who have little boo boo's to cover up on their faces and even those sagging tatoos!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* confooseddesi608 on 4/16/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by confooseddesi608

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing this for its use as an under-eye concealer, because I don't use foundation and I think this is more than adequate to use as a concealer. For reference, I use E80 though I am warm-toned; for some reason the M80 looked way too yellow. (In skin tone, B is "brown," M is "yellow," E is "neutral," and C is "cool.") I also wanted to try the B shades, but I am in between B0 and B15; they have big gaps in these shades, vs. the other skin tones. I am a NC42 in MAC.

Since I don't wear foundation, it is very important to me to have my concealer shade match my skin as much as possible. This foundation has a gazillion shades (more specifically, 6 B shades, 7 C shades, 9 E shades, and 8 M shades). So naturally, it's easy for me to find a close match. Since color is my number one priority (well, number two, after coverage), this concealer fits the bill perfectly.

As for coverage--the main reason I keep going back to this--it isn't spackle, but it covers my circles extremely well. When I've had minor acne, this covers it pretty well. I imagine pigmentation issues would be likewise covered well, and skin matched well, with the plethora of shades they offer. It DOES settle into the lines under my eyes a bit, and I am currently looking for a primer that will settle that issue.

Packaging is a bit bulky, which is why I gave it a 3. I apply it with my fingers (the heat helps also to melt it a bit) and blend with a concealer brush. It's also pretty pricey. (0.4 oz for $42 plus tax). If I could find such good coverage for a lower price, I'd leave in a heartbeat. Unfortunately, concealer options for a "woman of color" are very limited, so I'm stuck to the uber-expensive brands. I wish MAC would come up with a good concealer (I've tried 'em all)!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LexyShaye on 4/5/2010 5:07:00 PM more reviews by LexyShaye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at Sephora awhile back, wanting a full coverage foundation, and this is definitely it...but not in a good way. :( I knew celeb makeup artist used this product to cover up blemishes, and tattoos (Angelina Jolie). I applied it several ways on my face as a foundation...and I looked like I took a pancake with some syrup and pasted it to my face. I was cakey, dry, flaky, just not cute. This foundation contains a lot more pigmination than other foundations, but no matter what I did, I couldn't sheer it up enough. So as a foundation? I say its a no go. HOWEVER, I have some hyper pigmentation on my cheeks and coverfx works great as a spot concealer before I apply my foundation (pur minerals). So yes! I finally found a use for this product, its a big pan, so it will last me awhile.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dufresne on 2/22/2010 4:28:00 AM more reviews by Dufresne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was originally introduced to Cover FX years ago by one of the helpers at Shoppers Drugmart. I left with the Natural FX, and used it continuously although with moderate success... the coverage was undeniable, but it was difficult to apply and was slightly too cool for my skin. Besides these downsides, it would occasionally make my skin oily. Years later, I came across reviews for the cream foundation. I've generally veered away from cream foundations opting more for liquid options, but after being disappointed by MAC (again, and again... I tried so hard to love it) and finding my winter skin too fair for my beloved Clinique, I decided it was time to take the plunge. (And quite frankly, it is a plunge, $40 for foundation is not cheap on a student's budget!). I found my match in the E0 (as in ZERO...I know, I know, I'm THAT fair) and the coverage truly is fantastic! You can build it up or apply it lightly, but regardless I love it. I'm not quite sure if it's at HG status yet, but as far as colour match, coverage and versatility is concerned I'm pleased. If my Cover FX experience continues down the road is has been, I'll be re-purchasing for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products