Cover FX COVER FX

3.7

267 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Actives: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octocrylene 5%, Oxybenzone 2% Ingredients: Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Synthetic Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Magnesium Silicate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprate, Tricontanyl PVP, Tocopherol, Bisabolol, Cholesteryl Hydroxystearate, Triethoxycaprylyl Silane, Dehydroacetic Acid, BHT May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288).


on 6/15/2010 8:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i just bought this yesterday after having spent two hours inside of sephora trying to find a foundation that matches my pale skin tone (what a pain). when i found this, i didn't really read much about it because the lady just brought it to me, put it on, and it matched so i went with it and bought it. when i got home, i did some researching on it and found that many people have broken out from it. today is the first time i've really worn it, so i don't know yet how my skin is going to react.

here's how it is though:
- it's very thick. i had some extreme trouble just getting some of the cream on my mac 187 brush because this stuff is so thick and dense. i had to spray some fix + on my brush and the foundation, and i had to use a less airy brush to get the product out and on my skin. after i got some on my skin, then i stippled it with my mac 187.
- it covers a LOT. now, i don't use a lot because i have many freckles and if i completely cover them it looks very unnatural. so i use a very thin layer, but i know that if i used even a little bit more i'd be completely one tone. if you have any skin conditions, this is going to be perfect for you because it really does erase everything.

i'm going to do a follow up review on how this foundation has done in about a week - if it causes acne, etc. i'm also going to see how it holds up in heat; i live in arizona, and it's summer, so it's a real test if it stays up out here. i really hope it all works out, because if it does i think i might have found my hg.

EDIT:
alright well i'm here back again to re-review on this product, because it's been a little over a week and i wanted to report what it's done. it did cause me to break out a little - but nothing extremely drastic. i used tea tre oil on the spots where i have acne and it's clearing up. my only big complaint with this product is that is melts in the heat. i did my normal layer of it in the morning, and after i got off of work (which takes place about half of the time outside - 100+ degree weather) it had melted off of my nose and my upper lip. other than those two things, i love this product. i'm going to continue to use it unless it does something drastic to my skin.



on 6/11/2010 10:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

God, I wanted this foundation to work for me so badly, but unfortunately it gave me huge painful cystic pimples which I haven't had since I was a teenager. The coverage is great, although it is very hard to spread since it's so thick in consistency. I was color matched to M50, perfect match in my opinion (MAC NC30). I am returning this, I could use it as a concealer I guess but I am afraid of getting more pimples.


on 6/5/2010 2:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Great product.Covers pretty well acne scars and other imperfection. Pricy but worth it.


on 6/4/2010 1:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love this product, but i Use as a spot concealer only-- covers everything, blends well, lasts if set with powder.


on 5/30/2010 11:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

*M80 is in between NC42 & NC45 * the color range is awesome! And it doesn't oxidize!!! Yay for that!


I have had a love/hate relationship with this foundation for about 5 years. The coverage is unbelievable! I have found applying it with MAC's 130 mini stippling brush works the best, it gives the perfect coverage. The sponge made it look and feel like I put icing all over a cake lol, it just sat on top of my skin. I usually set it with the powder fx in the same shade and the 2 are flawless! The hate part is that it breaks me out, so I use with caution. Only when I feel the need to have a flawless face for a night out etc...and also it tends to migrate into fine lines and creases as the day goes on so it needs touching up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a replacement to my MAC concealer (full coverage) and I got this. I wasn't really using it for my face (I get backne, gross I know) While this works well and is pretty heavy duty their yellow tones are just a bit TOO yellow and much $$ than MAC which matches my color much better also. Besides that it is fine, didn't get any further break outs or much need for reapplication. just a little too oily in texture for my taste.


on 5/7/2010 3:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I agree with some, this is a little challenging to blend. I stiple it on. My face looks flawless and matches my skin perfect. Way impressed! It gives my skin a dewy look. I am glad I found this!!! E10 looks good on my pale skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2010 5:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am an avid user of Cover FX Cream Foundation, color E40. But PLEASE listen up....

Before you apply foundation, a Cover FX primer MUST be applied. Otherwise it will not blend, and as other people have mentioned it will have the consistency of a rock and it will appear cakey once applied.

I apply Dr. Brandt's Pores no More (which is a god send!), then I apply the Clearprep FX Matte Foundation Primer and Anti Acne Treatment, let it sit a minute or two, and THEN I apply the foundation. I really find that it goes on best when applied with a sponge. The coverage is fantastic. I have minor redness and dark eye circles and this foundation covers and evens EVERYTHING out.

To top it off, I definitely definitely definitely would recommend Bare Minerals face powder in Mineral Veil. I like a semi-bronzed look so I use the tinted one.

As another person mentioned, this stays on well all day. The only time a touch up is needed is nightime.

I just went to Sephora last week and picked up another compact. I love it!


on 4/23/2010 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this "creme" foundation is anything but creme- it is like a friggin' rock! i've tried so many different ways to get this to work (different primers, wetting the sponge, tons of different brushes, even my fingers) and it just does not soften up for me. maybe it provides full coverage and can cover tattoos, but it is of little use if you cant even get it on your face!


on 4/18/2010 10:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I would repurchase if I needed it but there is enough in the compact for my needs.

In my quest for perfect skin, I have been using various skin lighteners (Lancome is the best so far). But, in order not to get any more spotting I needed a good cover up suitable for my face and not just any concealer... so I tested this out for two weeks. The consistency is heavier than my concealers -- well maybe less so than LM Secret Camo, but it glides onto the skin and it stays put. It is not greasy or creamy (which is something I don't want on my face -- different from what one may want under eyes).

I use the M20 color only on my melasma on top of my chosen foundation (on top and well blended) and it works with several brands. I then use my loose powder and spritz with MAC fix or Avene. It does not look heavy or cakey and it does disguise the brownish spots left on my skin while helping to prevent any further damage.

The price is not cheap -- but then for foundations, cheap can be very damaging. This is a good cover up for those who have little boo boo's to cover up on their faces and even those sagging tatoos!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top