Pro Activ Proactiv Repairing Lotion

3.3

284 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: benzoyl peroxide 2.5%. Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), cyclomethicone, ethoxydiglycol, propylene glycol, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, panthenol, allantoin, carbomer, ceteareth-20, xanthan gum, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand all the negative reviews. I love this stuff. I've had acne on and off since I was 13, and I've taken two courses of Accutane (in my teens and very early 20s). While I rarely get cystic acne or pimples now in my late 30s, I did have scores of blackheads on my nose and chin that just wouldn't budge. I'd also been diagnosed with mild rosacea in the last few years, mostly in my t-zone. So my dermatologist of 19 years goes off my insurance plan and I move 50 miles south of his office. What's a girl to do?

I did a little research and found that some rosacea sufferers found that Pro Activ worked. I forked over $19.99 for the starter kit which included a small tube of Refining Mask, and after nearly 2 weeks, my skin looks incredible. The rough skin on my nose and chin, the slight orange peel look and the blackheads are disappearing. Plus I can get reimbursed through my healthcare flex spending plan.

My trick to avoid the dryness that everyone complains about? I don't use the Repairing Lotion all over my face, only on the hot spots, the same way I used Rx Brevoxyl all these years. So I use it all over my nose, part of my cheeks and my chin, places I would normally get acne.

Given the price, this is a great anti-aging, anti-acne and anti-rosacea treatment, and I don't have to book an appointment then pay $$$ out of pocket.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/14/2009 10:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was okay. It leaves my skin soft and clear(this was when I first started to use it). However, after a year it made my skin super oily and greasy. And dry. sigh


on 3/12/2009 3:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The repairing lotion is wonderful. Make sure you let the Proactiv toner dry completely before applying the repairing lotion. This lotion is extremely silky and applies very easily...it also washes off of your fingers just by rinsing with water. Though it may feel like a moisturizer, it is not one. Make sure after you apply the lotion, you also apply either the green tea moisturizer or the oil free moisturizer to brighten the skin and to prevent dryness.
The repairing lotion has a cool, refreshing feel to it...I wouldnt use the 3 step system without it : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2009 11:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Works great without completely drying my skin out. Like all Pro Activ products I truly appreciate that they contain botanicals to help soothe the skin while treating the acne. This product does contain Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5% I believe) so watch out for bleaching in towels and clothes, and wear sunscreen. Works great for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2009 12:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Proactiv for almost 5 years now and still love it. This was the only acne system that didn't leave my face burning or extra dry. My skin actuallly was left feeling healthier.

I usually scar really easily from my pimples but Proactiv actually helped with healing my skin as well-- scars disappear quicker than before.

I get a lot of comments about how clear my skin is-- even from strangers! People just assume that I'm just born that way-- NOPE! I attribute it to my Precious Proactiv!!

As for value-- this definitely is the best value- I find that my Proactiv actually lasts a little longer than 2 months-- compared to many of the other systems that I've tried from boutiques/online, this is definitely a good value.


on 3/2/2009 7:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The repair lotion is the finishing touch to keeping your acne away. I love the 3 step system it really works!!!!
Proactive Solutions is the best product I have ever used for my acne. I have taken everything you can possible imagine to control my acne and the only thing that has worked for me is Proactive. Not only did it banish my acne within 4 days of using it, I was given the bonus of glowing smooth skin. It won't dry your skin like other acne products and makes your skin feel really clean.


on 2/26/2009 8:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried this as a teenager and didn't truly appreciate it. Well, I got into my twenties and finally realized I had to tackle the problem I tried it again and have never let it go. You have to wash your face with the cleanser and you have to use the toner and you have to apply the lotion; if you are not doing that in those steps everyday then you cannot truly see the magic it can perform and believe me, it's fantastic! Please don't start out washing your face more than once a day, you're tempted I totally know, but that is when the dryness starts and you get discouraged. The price...I got used to it because I figure my face is worth it. I might have too much coffee or eat something crappy and I will still get a brave pimple or two, but it goes away in a day or so and the most astonishing thing is how well and quickly my skin heals nowadays. Even the scars I had on my cheeks are slowly becoming less noticeable. I pair this with Bare Escentuals and I'm set.

UPDATE 9/2/09: I got brave and experimented with AcneFree, which is half the price and works just as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2009 3:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a Proactiv success story! Acne has been a problem throughout my mother's side of the family, and was unfortunately passed on to me. My freshman year of high school, I had a few blemishes here and there, and tried Proactiv, yet never truly stuck with it. After returning home from a Europe trip my senior year of high school, my skin seemed to completely break out all over. It wasn't just blackheads, it was boils under the skin that would hurt to the touch. I tried all sorts of products to heal my acne, yet nothing seemed tackle my problem. I finally decided to try out Proactiv again, and stick with it consistantly. I used the three step formula; cleanser- renewer-and lotion, along with the refining mask for the tough blemishes, and as well as the green tea moisterizer to keep my skin soft under make up. After a month or so of using the product, my skin was HEALING! Not only was it fighting away the small blemishes, yet was totally clearing away and fighting the deep sores under my skin. Acne was such an issue, and an embarrassing one at that. Yet Proactiv came to my rescue! By the time of my senior prom, I was ready for close up shots with my beautiful and healthy skin, thanks to Proactiv! I no longer have to battle acne, I wake up with clear skin, and I can be confident now when I walk out the door and greet the world. Proactiv CAN change lives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2009 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This did absolutely nothing to help treat my acne. I stuck with it for a while, hoping to eventually see an improvement in my skin. However, that day never came. It just made my skin dry and irritated. It was also very expensive.


on 2/11/2009 4:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

While Proactiv did help treat my acne, I can't say I was ever totally satisfied with this product. When I first started using this product a year ago, I suffered from moderatley severe acne that I just could not get rid of, even after consulting a dermatologist. A co-worker recommended Proactiv to me. I initially started using the whole treatment package, but backed off to the just the repairing lotion after I discovered acne.org. This product brought my acne down to just mild, but it never totally cleared it up. Furthermore, it made my face VERY dry, and even though I built up the recommended dosage slowly based on advice published by acne.org, I never totally got over how drying that product is.

The thing that pushed me over the edge with this product was when I read that benzoyl peroxide contributes to premature aging of the skin (futurederm.com)!!! Holy crap!!! I had been putting something on my face that will prematurely age me by increasing the producion of free radicals! NO THANK YOU! Since then I have switched over to Aveeno Clear Complexion Cleansing Bar with saliylic acid. Saliyclic acid has been shown to be just as effective at eliminating acne as benzoyl peroxide, and I have to agree. Futhermore, it facilitates the skin's absorption of other facial products (such as retinol). I am breaking out much less now and my skin is left baby soft (yeah! no more dryness). I'm not saying don't give Proactiv a try, as it did help me. Just keep you mind open to other products out there and realize that benzoyl peroxide is not good for your skin.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top