NARS • All About Eve Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(265 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 11/17/2006 12:05:00 PM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, ok. Help me up onto the AAE bandwagon. I don't run to Nars when I'm shopping for new e/s because he has about a 50/50 track record with me in the past. A few Nars shadows I've owned have been silky and pigmented, and the other 1/2 have sucked royally. Worse than drugstore in some cases. Such a shame b/c he has some of the most enticing color combinations out there. What can I say, I appreciate consistency! AAE I've passed by a number of times because it looks *so* dull--almost like he made a mistake and put 2 pans of the same shade in the duo. But, if you like a wash of champagne shadow on your lids, this is for you. The combo of satin and shimmer shades adds just enough depth to save it from being too flat a wash. As I am in a bold lipstick phase, I find myself reaching for this constantly--it perks up my eyes just enough without competing. The pigment/ texture of this one is actually quite good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jkovitz on 11/12/2006 11:43:00 PM more reviews by jkovitz

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Phew! I feel compelled to defend this fabulous duo after the smashing it's received in other reviews. I own a ton of eyeshadow, way too much for a sane person. But this, alone, I took to my recent trip to NL. This did the trick, I was very happy with the way it went on, I wet my MAC brush and the more slightly-frosted side simpley GLEAMED on my lids. Nothing's ever come close to how beautiful and brightening that gleam is, wet. I wouldn't use either color dry, you wouldn't see them. Worth the price? You betcha they're beautiful. Simple and flattering.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mazikeen on 11/9/2006 3:35:00 PM more reviews by mazikeen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have what some people would call ďchampagne tastesĒ on a college studentís budget. I also grew up doing my own budgeting and being regaled with terrible stories of debt from my immigrant parents. So I guess you would say that Iím not adverse to paying good money for good product but I wonít buy a bad product simply because itís unusual or in high demand or has pretty packaging. (Chanel, Iím looking at you and your genius marketing brain-child, Black SatinÖ)

Probably the high point of the duo, other than the prestigious NARS brand name, are the colors, a nude peach and a shimmery champagne highlighter. The highlighter is one of those dime-a-dozen colors (Milani Classic Beige is a good approximation). The satin side is lovely, and if I was a rich girl, I might spend $30 just for the polished color it brings to my eye.

That being said, NARS AAE is a bit of a let down. The texture is very hard, the amount you pay for is pitiful, the packaging is liable to become filthy in a matter of days, and did I mention the price is exorbitant?

Whew.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beemer on 10/18/2006 10:37:00 AM more reviews by beemer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am really disappointed that this doesn't look so hot on me. I am a huge fan of neutrals, so I thought this would be a perfect choice, especially for wearing to work. The concept is great, and the finish of both shadows is very nice. I just think the shades are a little off for me (MAC NC 30, neutral toned). The satin side turned peachy on me, and it somehow made me look tired (I thought this duo was supposed to make one look fresh and awake!). The shimmery side is a very frosty whitish color that didn't look at all natural on my browbone. I adore my shimmery eyeshadows, but this was just frost. I did like it in the inner corners though. These shadows also didn't hold up as well on my oily lids (with UDPP) as other brands like MAC and Stila.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Retrovertigo on 10/14/2006 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Retrovertigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lately I've pared down my makeup routine to just the bare minimum: foundation, blush and AAE. I can put my face on in 15 minutes and instantly look awake and polished, and I really believe that AAE is what pulls my very simple look together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verybecca on 10/13/2006 3:33:00 PM more reviews by verybecca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love-hate relationship with Nars eyeshadows...they look so gorgeous in the pans and when applied you never know what you're gonna get. Nars AAE is different. What you see is what you get. One side is a peachy beige neutral matte/satin and the other side is the same color but with shimmer and they compliment eachother perfectly for a clean, natural, easy look. I will get a lot of use out of this and would definitely rebuy. I think it's great for medium skintones (I'm MAC NC40).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jimcha on 10/8/2006 7:11:00 AM more reviews by jimcha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this 2 years ago and it's been sitting in my drawer for at least one of those. It didn't really do much or me at first and I thought it was really boring. Well, one day I just started using it and I haven't stopped since. I use it almost everyday now. I can't believe I didn't use it when I first got it!! It's beautiful. I'll definitely re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veronique2046 on 10/6/2006 7:50:00 PM more reviews by veronique2046

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had been looking at this eyeshadow for awhile now but just couldn't get myself to buy it. It just looked so incredibly boring and at $33 I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend that kind of money on boring eyeshadow. The NARS website describes them as flesh toned neutrals. One is a more satin finish and the other has more shimmer. I was actually afraid that they wouldn't even show up real well on my skin. Well, I am SO glad I broke down and bought this. I can't believe how much I absolutely love this eyeshadow. It may look boring in the pan but it's gorgeous on the eyes. I have very dark brown eyes and this coupled with the tiniest smidge of eyeliner and a double coat of mascara really makes them stand out...in that whole "look at my pretty eyes, not at my eyeshadow" kind of way. It gives a beautiful "natural" look, a perfect day/work look. In fact I've been wearing it everyday since purchasing it last week. Plus, this can be paired with anything. The shimmer side lasts all day on me and the more satin side does fade some, but my lids are a little more on the oily side. I will definitely be repuchasing, and at the rate I'm using this it'll probably be soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 8hourcream on 10/6/2006 7:41:00 PM more reviews by 8hourcream

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most neutral eyeshadow in the world! I dont think it works on people with darker complexions really it looks a little ashy, but, I can see why this is a great basic.

The MA also showed me how the matte colour could be used to apply in the crease to add light definition (shown in the NARS make up book). Good for paring with dark lips but I can't say that its all that extraordianry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelby101 on 9/15/2006 2:38:00 PM more reviews by shelby101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this duo. it is now is something I always have in my purse because I can pair it with anything. I wear it by itself, or combine it with other shadows I have. and its great for those days where I want to wear makeup but I don't want to LOOK like I'm wearing makeup! My favorite look though is this with a little brown or black eyeliner and red lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products