NARS All About Eve Duo

4.2

268 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/5/2006 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Skin: cool toned NW15

Eyes: light brown

Hair: dyed dark red


NARS AAE is a holy grail for me. I had my doubts because it looked kind of blah in the pan, but I tried it and fell in love. The champagne colors, one with shimmer and one without, brighten up my eyelids in the most fantastically subtle and spectacular way. It's possible that the color shows more intensely on my NW15 skin, but the effect is so pretty that I find myself reaching for AAE every morning. To intensify the shimmer, I use MAC Paint in Stilife as a base, then sit back and admire my eyelids.



on 11/20/2006 9:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

These are basic shades that everyone should own. The colors work as great base/highlighter shades for so many color combinations. They are decently pigmented and have tremendous lasting power. I admit I tend to favor the shimmery color (on the right) just b/c it shows up on my skintone a bit more. It is quite expensive and you could probably find a dupe pretty easily, but if you feel like splurging, this is a great item to purchase. It comes in a rubber flip-top mirrored compact.




on 11/19/2006 9:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Since I have bought this a few weeks ago,it has been the only es I have used.(and I own way too much es;)
It is a perfect yebb.
I will repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2006 12:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, ok. Help me up onto the AAE bandwagon. I don't run to Nars when I'm shopping for new e/s because he has about a 50/50 track record with me in the past. A few Nars shadows I've owned have been silky and pigmented, and the other 1/2 have sucked royally. Worse than drugstore in some cases. Such a shame b/c he has some of the most enticing color combinations out there. What can I say, I appreciate consistency! AAE I've passed by a number of times because it looks *so* dull--almost like he made a mistake and put 2 pans of the same shade in the duo. But, if you like a wash of champagne shadow on your lids, this is for you. The combo of satin and shimmer shades adds just enough depth to save it from being too flat a wash. As I am in a bold lipstick phase, I find myself reaching for this constantly--it perks up my eyes just enough without competing. The pigment/ texture of this one is actually quite good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2006 11:43:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Phew! I feel compelled to defend this fabulous duo after the smashing it's received in other reviews. I own a ton of eyeshadow, way too much for a sane person. But this, alone, I took to my recent trip to NL. This did the trick, I was very happy with the way it went on, I wet my MAC brush and the more slightly-frosted side simpley GLEAMED on my lids. Nothing's ever come close to how beautiful and brightening that gleam is, wet. I wouldn't use either color dry, you wouldn't see them. Worth the price? You betcha they're beautiful. Simple and flattering.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2006 3:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have what some people would call ďchampagne tastesĒ on a college studentís budget. I also grew up doing my own budgeting and being regaled with terrible stories of debt from my immigrant parents. So I guess you would say that Iím not adverse to paying good money for good product but I wonít buy a bad product simply because itís unusual or in high demand or has pretty packaging. (Chanel, Iím looking at you and your genius marketing brain-child, Black SatinÖ)

Probably the high point of the duo, other than the prestigious NARS brand name, are the colors, a nude peach and a shimmery champagne highlighter. The highlighter is one of those dime-a-dozen colors (Milani Classic Beige is a good approximation). The satin side is lovely, and if I was a rich girl, I might spend $30 just for the polished color it brings to my eye.

That being said, NARS AAE is a bit of a let down. The texture is very hard, the amount you pay for is pitiful, the packaging is liable to become filthy in a matter of days, and did I mention the price is exorbitant?

Whew.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2006 10:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am really disappointed that this doesn't look so hot on me. I am a huge fan of neutrals, so I thought this would be a perfect choice, especially for wearing to work. The concept is great, and the finish of both shadows is very nice. I just think the shades are a little off for me (MAC NC 30, neutral toned). The satin side turned peachy on me, and it somehow made me look tired (I thought this duo was supposed to make one look fresh and awake!). The shimmery side is a very frosty whitish color that didn't look at all natural on my browbone. I adore my shimmery eyeshadows, but this was just frost. I did like it in the inner corners though. These shadows also didn't hold up as well on my oily lids (with UDPP) as other brands like MAC and Stila.


on 10/14/2006 2:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lately I've pared down my makeup routine to just the bare minimum: foundation, blush and AAE. I can put my face on in 15 minutes and instantly look awake and polished, and I really believe that AAE is what pulls my very simple look together.


on 10/13/2006 3:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have a love-hate relationship with Nars eyeshadows...they look so gorgeous in the pans and when applied you never know what you're gonna get. Nars AAE is different. What you see is what you get. One side is a peachy beige neutral matte/satin and the other side is the same color but with shimmer and they compliment eachother perfectly for a clean, natural, easy look. I will get a lot of use out of this and would definitely rebuy. I think it's great for medium skintones (I'm MAC NC40).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2006 7:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this 2 years ago and it's been sitting in my drawer for at least one of those. It didn't really do much or me at first and I thought it was really boring. Well, one day I just started using it and I haven't stopped since. I use it almost everyday now. I can't believe I didn't use it when I first got it!! It's beautiful. I'll definitely re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top