Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(572 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mysticradiance on 9/24/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by mysticradiance

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great mascara, does exactly what it's meant to. Gives a full, volumized natural look, without smudging or flaking. Perfect for everyday looks. Holds a curl well, and the waterproof version is very resistant. Only thing I didn't like was the flexible wand. The wand was just to bendy and weak, making it hard to control and to grip the lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 melissamberry on 9/24/2013 5:33:00 PM more reviews by melissamberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

The brush is weird and bends, which means it can't really grip my lashes like I'm used to. The results are below average, I have to put a lot of time + effort into putting on this mascara if I want long, fluttery lashes. This mascara separates but doesn't do much in terms of length or volume.
Pros: doesn't clump, doesn't smudge or move (it's actually kinda hard to get off, I have the non WP version)
Cons: doesn't do much for me in terms of length or volume, takes a long time to achieve a result I'm satisfied with.

Have short, asian lashes. I would recommend the Jordana mascara if youre on the hunt for a good one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* postmoderngirl on 9/24/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by postmoderngirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is just average for me. I mostly wanted to try it because of the packaging.. hah. I think this is supposed to be "natural" and it definitely is. It doesn't clump, but it also doesn't give me any volume, either. It gives a bit of length but overall my lashes don't look a whole lot different. It's fine if you want to layer it with another mascara, but on its own I'm not a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Inayah on 9/24/2013 3:15:00 AM more reviews by Inayah

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The packaging is pretty cute not gonna lie lol but the mascara is definitely not my favorite. The formula is kinda more to the watery side. It's interesting.When I first put the mascara on I put about 2 coats and it looked pretty nice, not to much length but an good amount of volume. After the fourth hour of wearing this I noticed that it smudged a lot. My under eyes were black because of the mascara. Not long wearing. I decided to give it another chance but it smudged again. Not buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fcollins on 9/23/2013 9:50:00 PM more reviews by fcollins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so I will be honest no matter what the reviews said I was going to buy this mascara purely because of the packaging and just try to make it work! When I first applied this mascara my eyes looked like those amazingly long and expensive extensions- INCREDIBLE! However, only 5-10 minutes later the curl had gone and my lashes looked tiny, compared to their average length without mascara. I decided to wear two coats one day and after an hour of having it on I asked my friend who knows how much of a mascara junkie I am how my lashes looked, she said "WOW, I have never seen you without mascara before!" and then I told her, on closer inspection when I checked out my eyes in the mirror at the end of the day, the mascara had smudged all over my eyelid! I will be honest I really enjoy the brush and formula, the bendable brush is something you can really work to get a great fluttering look in your lashes, the formula is impossibly light and very, very black. I love wet mascaras but also thick mascaras and this was very thin, it literally is a gel mousse.
This mascara exceeded my expectations by far at initial reaction but after a while, the disappointment in Maybelline starts to really kick in.

MUST READ:
In the start of the review I mentioned that I was going to find a purpose for this mascara and I realised that it is a great primer! When you put it on and work quickly whilst it is wet and you apply another mascara (Rimmel scandalise, orange tube, Maybelline falsies) over the top it adds a bit of spark to your usual mascara routine. Also beware that the mascara brush hits your lids easily during application so do mascara before any eyeshadow, liner etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 9/22/2013 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I did not like this mascara because of the brush. I also felt the formula odd and off (sticky and wet). However, I've discovered switching it w/ the "One by One" wand / brush works, and I've also learned to just love the brush as it does provide me with volume. It makes my eye lids feel light. I cannot stand heavy on the lids and / or dry brittle crunchy lashes. I feel I can keep on coating without clumping. Also, I find that Mega Plush does NOT flake or smudge on me, even in light rain fall -- that comes at a cost tho, I take one lippie down as I find it sort of a longer process to remove. Lastly, I just love that the "Blackest Black" is INDEED extremely black. Infact, it's the blackest mascara I think I've ever tried from the drug-store & my lashes are black to begin w/. If and when they ever dis-continue this mascara I'd probably stock up like crazy and try to find other gel mascaras. I've RE-purchased it 3 times over the course of a year & also bought one for my friend. I wish it lasted until the 3 month mark but I find it's more like 2, but @least it's often on sale for under $10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mikomarie on 9/19/2013 5:21:00 PM more reviews by mikomarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara so much! For an Asian, my lashes are relatively long but this mascara makes them even longer! There isn't a smell and I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS!!!! http://galspop.jp/blog/ejimamariko/ Read my blog! I use this mascara in some of my tutorials! (in Japanese)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mediagirl95 on 9/18/2013 5:35:00 PM more reviews by Mediagirl95

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of the worst - feels dry and didn't lift my lashes whatsoever. Was really let down by this one and I've tried a lot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lorena88 on 9/16/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by lorena88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This mascara was ok. Not bad but not great either. It didn't make my lashes as thick as I hoped. I have used other maybelline mascara that has made my lashes alot thicker and longer looking. The one good thing I like about this was the fact that my lashes felt alot more natural. Not hard and rigid, but nice and soft. It just didn't make my lashes that thick and it didn't last all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missmaria79 on 9/15/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by missmaria79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So I've never been reviewed a product before after only one use, but this one deserves it! So I have recently been on a hunt for a drug store mascara that can give results close to those more pricy ones (I love mally volumizing mascara and estee lauder voluminous). I think I've found it with this one! I already have long lashes, I'm mostly looking for the volume and separation effect. My lashes are fine, so I need a mascara and brush that separates and plumps. This does exactly that with a nice fluttery soft effect. I didn't experience the smudging that other reviewers are talking about, but I'll post an update if I DO experience it. Until then...I'm totally happy with this $6 mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products