Maybelline • Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles • Concealers

rated 3.7(482 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/16/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this awhile back and was convinced it worked. Sadly it does barely what it says and I have better concealer for less. The one thing that makes this rating so low is the fact I just realized it is this product that has been causing the red irritation under my eyes.

Something in it makes my eyes burn and underneath then burn right as I apply it. I noticed it before each time and figured I was just irritated in general, but no, its this. It only happens with this product. At the end of the day my under eyes are reddish and tender.

I am never that sensitive to products, so this really surprises me. I have no idea what is in it, but I am worried now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bunnylopez on 12/16/2013 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Bunnylopez

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

This is a wonderful concealer. It's very creamy and blends well. My skin is dry and this never looks cakey. I use it on my t zone and jawline. I highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 erbivore on 12/9/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by erbivore

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This concealer is weak because it has very little staying power. I have very dark circles and I find the coverage too sheer for my liking. It is, however, moisturizing. I have it in medium which is fine for NC30, but not for my purple half-moons. I also have the brightener and that might be the superior product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rsanzio on 12/8/2013 1:33:00 PM more reviews by Rsanzio

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is magic, better than anything I've found at any price for color CORRECTION. It works amazingly well with other products to achieve excellent COVERAGE but a lot of the negative reviews seem to be based on expectations that it will do things it wasn't designed for.

Things to know to make the most of Age Rewind:

1) The peach color makes it perfect for color correcting the purple of dark circles (rather than yellow). It's thin, light texture changes the COLOR of the circles without adding an extra gloopy layer under your eyes.

2). My lids are purple too so it works well above the eye for this purpose as well.

3). It may not, however, be heavy enough to CONCEAL the darkness of circles. In which case, you use a CONCEALER over it that is a shade lighter than your foundation. But if you don't color CORRECT first, the amount of CONCEALER you will need to cover your circles can make it appear cakey and thick. Ironically two thin layers together give better coverage with much less product than concealer alone. I like Marc Jacobs new concealer.

4). If you are prone to creasing you will need to set it with very fine powder. People with oily skin would do well to use Wayne Goss's tissue absorption technique first; those with dry skin will need to insure properly hydrated skin. Nothing you can do with cosmetics can make those issues go away. I use Tarte's smooth operator to set my concealer, better than any powder I've found.

5). If your makeup is disappearing in a few hours try fixing it first. I know UD has a makeup finishing spray but I haven't tried it. I use Ben Nye final seal. Cheap and works really well.

I use a Shiseido primer first but YMMV. And I always check my makeup in bright light to make sure it looks as sheer as possible. It takes some practice to get it right but it's worth the effort.

In short, if you use Age Rewind concealer properly, it will not let you down. But in many cases it can't handle the entire lift on its own.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GacktCamui on 12/7/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by GacktCamui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am surprised at how much I like this concealer. I have it in Light, which is on the yellow toned side, for my NC25/C3 skin tone. The consistency is nice, blends out well, and does a decent job of covering my undereye circles. It doesn't crease on me and lasts well enough on my oily skin. Not HG, but I'd repurchase this if I was in a pinch.

The applicator puff thingie is okay. I don't hate it, but I hear people rip if off and get better results that way. I think the puff thingie is kind of gross and not very hygienic.

The first time I tried to use it, I had to turn the pen like one billion times. It's really hard to tell when product is coming out. Once you get the product flowing then it doesn't take quite so many clicks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NightAng3l on 12/7/2013 3:53:00 AM more reviews by NightAng3l

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the consistency of this product. Light and easily spreadable. The shade (pinky one) is good for covering the blue undertone of undereye circles. I wish the packaging was better! I can't get a feel for how much product comes out in the fluffy sponge head and I have to keep dabbing my eye until the product is out (you cant see it come out, if you do it means you have winded way too much product out). This should come in a pen or a doe foot applicator instead. Nevertheless I like how it looks like I will be able to use the whole product up due to the mechanism inside the tube. I will find out when I run out :) I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bevelten on 11/29/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by bevelten

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I loved this concealer when I first bought it. However, out of 4 tubes I've used, 2 of the twist mechanisms have broken. The 1st was fine, the 2nd broke and I just thought it was a bad tube. The 3rd was fine, but 4th broke again. Fix the packaging and I'll buy again. Until then I'll try another product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brownsonana on 11/29/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by brownsonana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for about a week now and I have to say I am very impressed! I think I found my favorite drug store makeup. I love the whole idea of not having to use a makeup brush to blend in makeup, it has a sponge already on the makeup tube... So all you really have to do is twist the makeup out, apply and vola! I love how smooth the makeup itself is! Leaves my skin feeling and looking fabulous! I will be using this product over and over again. I am very impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doll107 on 11/27/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by doll107

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is probably the best drugstore concealer I've found so far. It really does erase any redness or darkness and the consistency is creamy and smooth. The only thing I don't like is the packaging. (Its not very hygienic) But over all I love this product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 11/26/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Over all I do like this product. I tend to use it as more of a highlighter under my eyes, down my nose and at the corner points of my eyes. I use the benefit erase paste (lightest shade) to conceal. I find I have a little more controll. But this product does have it;s place and I will port it with me when I'm on the go if I need a touch up.

The one thing I absolutely HATE about this product is the packaging. It by far has to be one of the most inconsistant, breakable, aggravating things I have ever dealt with. I have twice had the twist mechinisim break so it won't move and leave me with no alternative but to break open the container so I can use up my product in a little lip gloss pot with a concealer brush. Sounds simple, nope it's a mess and a headache but I'm a stickler about using something up. So Ladies beware handle with care it can be touchy. For $8-$10 I expect a little better functional packageing.

Crabbing aside I do like the results I get with this and happy to use it again. (fingers crossed when I buy the new ones!)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products