MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(355 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 shalineko on 1/1/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by shalineko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite foundation so far! Although the coverage is light-medium depending on method of application, I feel like this foundation really does a lot to match my skin tone, which is not an easy feat (I'm of east indian descent, but much lighter than most other indians). One tip: when applying this foundation in layers, wait a few seconds in between to allow it to dry and oxidize. Like all my foundations, I apply this with a stippling brush. As long as you properly remove this foundation, it should not cause break outs. I mix mine with bb cream to get my desired color and consistency.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hiiixox3 on 12/27/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by hiiixox3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For quite a while I have been wanting to try a MAC foundation. I have been wanting to try a name brand and reliable foundation. I have one MAC blush and love it so much since it's so pigmented, so I was hoping that a MAC foundation would cover my acne scars. I do have sensitive, dry skin so I tested this foundation at a MAC counter and was matched as a 5.0 (this foundation goes from 1.0 to, I believe, 10.0. As for what this shade is around? I'm an NC35). Anyway, I loved it! It was pigmented and didn't dry my skin! Plus, it did not break me out! It has a twist and pump style dispenser and you only need one pump (even that can be too much!). Now, as much as I like this foundation, I also found that I don't LOVE this foundation. It tends to oxidize and become quite dry/cakey looking throughout the day (even though it did not feel like it). You need to bring this foundation down the neck because once it oxidizes, you can tell where your foundation is. With that being said, I was satified enough with this foundation; however, I am thinking of trying other MAC foundations and seeing what my thoughts are of them. So, I will be repurchasing another MAC foundation; I just won't be repurchasing a MatchMaster foundation any time soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doris98 on 12/22/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this some time ago and have been using this regularly. I like that it looks natural, and covers most un-evenness pretty well. However, it doesn't last that long on me with my oily, rosacea-prone face. Which is why I probably won't buy it again with the myriad of other formulas out there. I do love though that someone commented that I didn't look like I had anything on when I wore this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovejessa on 12/19/2012 6:42:00 AM more reviews by lovejessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

I love this foundation, mostly because it doesn't break me out! And I think it looks really natural on the skin. I blend it in a lot and get a really nice finish, this is also good mixed in with moisturiser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jesuislesoleil on 11/28/2012 3:23:00 AM more reviews by jesuislesoleil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love how well the foundation matches my skin, love how easy it is to blend with my foundation brush (or fingers) and its never made me break out like many of the other foundations i have tried over the years. The only reason i didn't give it a 5 is because it doesn't last as long as id like it to id say about 7-8 hrs into my day it starts to really kind of wear off. I don't use a primer though. I use my mineralize pressed finishing powder which leaved my skin looking super smooth with a matte finish ( just the way i like it!) i gave the packaging a 4 because i like it... but its kind of bulky. Would reccomend to someone who is looking for medium coverage ( it is buildable though!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dlrainer on 11/25/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by Dlrainer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first MAC foundation and it did not disappoint! Doesn't break me out and lasts all day. No funny smell either. I love the pump applicator too. One pump does my whole face, and I've had it a year and still have half the bottle left. So even though it might seem expensive, it has lasted me a long time. Granted I don't wear a full face of makeup every day, but I'd say at least 3-4 data a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NouraElhuzayel on 11/25/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by NouraElhuzayel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Really ladies? I'm sorry to say that this product is not amazing, at ALL. I really really wanted to love this.

First off, one of my girlfriends brought it with her to Vegas & I forgot my foundation so I ended up using hers..at that time, I fell in love. I wore it both days that weekend and it was great..I thought. Maybe it was just the alcohol..

SO I came back to Cali (Vegas was even hotter than Cali at the time) and decided to buy the foundation..oh my god, AWFUL. I tried it numerous times with every kind of application. Primer & no primer, fingers, beauty blender, stippling brush, everything..At first, the foundation does look flawless and gives you nice coverage but a few hours in, I was a hot oily mess and it oxidizes like crazy! Keep in mind, I have combination skin..a little bit dryer than oily and I was an oil slick!! It felt like i was wearing a pound of makeup on my face by the end of the day and I HATE the feeling of makeup on my skin..to top it all off, it did break me out! I had such high hopes!

I'm currently using MAC Prolong Wear Foundation & I truly am in love! doesn't feel like anything is on my face and it keeps me oil free! Flawless! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cynseer21 on 11/23/2012 11:47:00 AM more reviews by Cynseer21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really sad to say i had to let this foundation go.......because i really do love its finish and texture and mos defiantly its coverage....

pros: awesome packaging , full coverage,last allllll day with caking up etc

cons:makes my dry flaky skin look and dryer and peeling textured
breaks me out after an hour of being on

Even though ive had problems with this foundation ive went back to it over and over again but its time to burry it because its not worth harming my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iLoveLife15 on 11/23/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by iLoveLife15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive skin and I'm very pale, so I've always had trouble finding foundations suited for me. They were either too dark for my skin, or I broke out from using them. For me, personally, Matchmaster is the best foundation ever. I'm shade 1, and it matches my skin tone exactly. I have mild acne to begin with, but this product has not made it any worse. In fact, I've noticed that my face has been clearing up a little bit since using Matchmaster so I don't know if there's something in the ingredients that my skin is have a good reaction to or what, but that's a plus. Aside from that, it also has very decent coverage. It doesn't cause any blemishes to stand out more and in fact, it covers them up. I'm very impressed with this product and it's my new go-to foundation. My only complaint is that yes, the price is a little steep (at least for me, because I usually use drugstore brands) at $33.00, but to me, with the luck I've had with it, it's worth it. I definitely recommend giving this product a try!

UPDATE: I was reading other reviews on this product and noticed that a lot of people with dry skin had problems with this product. I do not have dry skin, and not every product is great for every skin type. However if you have combination - oily skin, this product is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monkeysss on 11/21/2012 1:52:00 PM more reviews by monkeysss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A MAC artist tried this on me yesterday when I stopped by my local MAC store. I find it to be of better quality than most drugstore foundations but not as lovely as my Lancome Teint Ultra Idole. It has medium, buildable coverage; I would need a concealer to help cover up my acne scars if I wanted my skin to look flawless. The finish of this foundation is pretty matte, but it wasn't obvious that I had it on (unless you looked at me up close). I usually wear either NW15 or NW20 in MAC foundations and found shade 1.0 of this foundation to be a little too light for me (the shades of this foundation run from 1.0 - 10 with some half shades included). If you're in my shade range you might benefit from trying 1.5. This product has good lasting power when set with a power, but it did dry me out a bit (and I have oily skin). I did not purchase this foundation and probably never will. Lancome still makes my HG foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products