MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(381 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Xexuxa on 3/21/2013 12:42:00 AM more reviews by Xexuxa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I think this is one of the better foundations the brand has to offer. I got a sample in shade 1.5 and I'm typically an NC20; it was a good match. It goes on very nicely and provides decent coverage. The only issue I have found with the product is that it accentuates flaky skin if you don't exfoliate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DonDiva on 3/17/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by DonDiva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love the glass bottle, the pump Im in love with and the locking feature is wonderful. The product Im not so crazy about. The closest shade was 9.0 but Matchmaster failed to find my match. its thick, easy to cake ( not a good thing ) and easy to rub off!!!! all day i see "samples" on my paper work and clothing, and walls and doors... It encourages oil on my face.
The pro is its full coverage... but it covers everything.. blankets, seats, who ever I hug etc.... had to mix with drug store brand to cancel some of the orange and concoct what I call MatchMaker lol. Over-all I love my MAC products but this Matchmaster and I are not a match made in makeup heaven. :(
wont waste more money on another bottle of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aimeerose on 3/17/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by Aimeerose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. It was easy to apply and blend. The color match was ok, I bought the 7.5 because the MUA insisted darker was better. I knew that was a mistake because after about 2 months the product oxidized about 1 shade deeper in the bottle!!! Is that even possible???? Anyway. I can't wear it alone anymore. It's way too dark for me what a waste! The bottle is still pretty full. I'm on the fence about purchasing the 7.0 shade. I'll prob get a sample first.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessmichellexo on 3/17/2013 4:38:00 PM more reviews by jessmichellexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first purchased this, I loved it so much! But now after wearing it for a while it seems to always come off in the middle of the day, i'm not sure if it has oils in it, or what, but i'm very indifferent towards this product now, before it was my HG... but I think I could settle for something a little bit better. It is great at matching my skin color.. for 3 or 4 hours before some of it comes off! Maybe i'm just not doing something right? I want this to be my number 1 foundation because of the price I paid for it, but it's kind of hard to do that when it comes off in the middle of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ParanoydAndroyd on 3/16/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by ParanoydAndroyd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation! For daytime at least, since there is SPF in it I wouldn't want to take flash photography pictures in it but I haven't had to cross that bridge quite yet. I also on MUFE HD which I would tend to use if I know pictures will be taken, but that's almost the only reason I even still have that foundation anymore.

The only other MAC skin product I own is moisturecover concealer in NW15 - on my skin, it looks orangey. On my under eyes though, it blends really well (likely because my undereyes are slightly blue so it evens out.) So I'd venture to say that NW15 is generally too dark for me, but shade 1.0 in Matchmaster, though it goes on a little pale, adjusts to my skin perfectly!

The coverage is medium, but I can build this foundation over my blemishes to achieve full coverage which is something I haven't found myself able to do with a foundation before. I do have to generally exfoliate and moisturize very well, as well as add a touch of moisturizer to the foundation before I apply it, but having dry skin this is how it's worked with pretty much every foundation I've ever used, so I'm used to it by now. The finish is a demi-matte which I think still looks natural on me because I'm so dry skinned anyway.

What really has me sold on this foundation though - it DOES NOT COME OFF unless I tell it to. Since I don't really combat oily skin, this stuff just doesn't budge. I've tested it through drinking, dancing, sweat, tears, sleeping - and my foundation will still look perfect 16 hours later. That's why this is my HG. I don't even use setting powder with it (hello dryness) I just use setting spray and honestly I don't even know that I need that over this foundation.

I haven't yet had any issues removing it off with soap, water, and a washcloth either. I love this foundation! It was worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smrti205 on 3/15/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by smrti205

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

To my brown skinned sisters: Stay away if you have yellow or golden undertones! An hour after application, my face took on this reddish hue. Shame because the finish is so natural :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shakeyhound on 3/12/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by Shakeyhound

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This honestly matches my skin perfectly. It's so incredible the way it blends. I didn't think it would, but damn it impressed me.
I have oily skin so this, being matte, worked great for me. I wouldn't, however, recommend this for dry skin as it's thick and matte and would accentuate any flakes very easily
This helped to keep me oil free for several hours longer than anything else i have tried, left my skin looking very natural too. It's also one of the few things that hasn't broken me out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ferrery on 3/11/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by ferrery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i reach for my matchmster 5.0 when i feel i need slightly more coverage than other days however i don't recommend this for going out with flash photography going on. this has given me that dreadful white cast on my face in pictures and i have learned to stay away from spf foundations since then. my skin is normal, combination/oily and for long days matchmaster is great bc i rarely have to touch up or mattify my face with my powder that i carry with me throughout the day. i've even been complimented with this foundation by a mac artist who said it looks great on my skin. what i don't like about matchmaster however is the smell of it. it has quite a strong odour that almost smells like paint that lingers the first couple hours u have it on. it transfers easily, so be careful. the bigger points of matchmaster go to its oil control qualities and great coverage if u want a medium-full coverage foundation. i wouldn't buy it again, i'd prob stick to my face and body foundation or search for another one offering similar qualities of matchmaster

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suripopje on 3/6/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by suripopje

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Loves it. I'm listed on MUA as combination type skin but in fact I'm more oily skintype, This means that everything with even a hint of dewyness is the enemy . This foundation finishes matte, very matte. If you have any type of dry patch on your skin it will emphasize this. For me it's perfect because dryness isn't an issue for me. Secondly the coverage is good and buildable without looking cakey. Also after having worn it for approximately three months my skin hasn't had any reactions to it (no break-outs etc.). The only thing I notice sometimes is that this foundation tends to oxydice and turn orange a bit. But since I set with a powder this balances the colour out and for me it's something I can work around. So thumbs up for this one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 simplyashleyj on 3/5/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by simplyashleyj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for about 6 months now and just recently I've not been impressed. I've found that all it does is highlight my dry patches no matter how much I moisturize which is a major no no. When it comes to keeping you shine free, I have more of combination skin so there's some oil, it needs an amazing primer AND setting power just to stay matte for an hour. The color was another issue. It doesn't match my skin like it says. It's way too light and there's no adjustment. Plus it's just not enough to cover scars. It's a good foundation if your skin looks good and is in great shape but I wouldn't recommend it for problem skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products