MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(368 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 redcometdust on 2/28/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by redcometdust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I loved everything about this foundation. I got the 1.0, which was a PERFECT match for my skin. I was thrilled that I had finally got a foundation that matched my skin. However, I broke out in cystic acne after a couple of days of wearing this product. I love it so much--it blended really well on my skin and wore very long. (The liquid foundation applied with the MAC 190 brush is just flawless.) The foundation doesn't love me back, so I had to return it. The search for the perfect foundation continues... :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LishWilliams on 2/22/2013 5:02:00 AM more reviews by LishWilliams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I normally use MAC studio fix fluid or studio sculpt (which I love) so I decided to try some thing new. The colour range is fantastic. I went to different MACs and was given different colour match's 1 said 8 and 3 said 7.5 (I wasn't testing MAC I just happened to be buying stuff in other counters and just asked) I got a sample of 7.5 and 8.....

I'm an NC50. I only have cool tones in my skin, so 8 was horrible and after waiting for it to oxidize my face looked red and the foundation looked really flat on the skin.

I tried the 7.5, that was much better, but again the foundation just looks really flat on the skin. I feel you have to really work to give the foundation life buy doing contouring, highlighting and concealing.

As time goes on and other makeup brands are bringing out new fantastic formula's, I feel That some of MAC foundations are so out dated! More companies are doing better colour ranges for woc, so MAC need to really up there game. Matchmaster is there newest foundation and its pretty much like studio fix fluid in a different bottle (mainly a pump you don't have to buy separately)

If you buy this product you will get a medium coverage, with a satin finish. The bottle comes with a built in pump, so you don't have to buy one, and it comes with quite a bit of product so it will last a while.

I'm not crazy about this foundation, but I can see why people like it. It's just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annkelly on 2/21/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by annkelly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this last summer on the recommendation of a salesperson at MAC after telling her I had very oily skin and wanted lots of coverage.

Used it on an off for a few months and then decided I didn't like it at all. It was so hard to blend and just seemed to sit on top of my skin. It also got stuck in the dry patches and highlighted them like crazy. It went to the bottom of my makeup bag, where it's been since September.

In the meantime, I've been using Bourjois Healthy Mix, which I love beyond words. Makes my skin so dewy and fresh and is so easy to apply with fingers, a brush, whatever. But over the last few weeks the weather where I live (Asia) has started to become warm and really humid and the Healthy Mix is leaving my oily skin waaaay too dewy, even with a mattifier underneath.

So I pulled out the Matchmaster and decided to revisit it--and I'm finding it amazing. The difference? My skin is in ten times better condition than it was last summer.

My skin is now totally clear of blemishes (thanks to nightly use of Benzac) and super exfoliated (thanks to prescription retinol twice a week and weekly use of a lactic acid exfoliating mask). It's also much more hydrated. I'm also really, really, really working the foundation into my skin with a flat foundation brush, which makes a huge difference, and creates a beautiful satin finish.

So, I'd say if your skin is in good condition (pretty clear and well exfoliated), this is a great foundation. It's definitely not suitable for dry skin or skin with flaky or dry patches. It seems best for oily or combination skin and does keep the shine under control. I'll probably revert to Healthy Mix next fall, but looking forward to using the Matchmaster as weather gets warmer.



4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lipstickjunkie87 on 2/11/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by lipstickjunkie87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great foundation. Went to MAC this past weekend, got my makeup done and the artist used this foundation and I was hooked! We found my color, was is 7.5 and it looks so good on me and my skin!! I don't like cake face makeup so it cover me pretty well. I think I have pretty nice skin so I don't use alot literally like one squirt on my stiffle brush and I am good to go!!
I have oily skin and I must say this foundation controls my oil!!! I am really amazed, I usually blot throughout the day if I look oily and I find myself not really blotting. Again I give this 5 lipsticks!!! I am hooked!! Yess kind of expensive, but its MAC of course they are over priced for somethings (but we as women we still buy them) lol ..and I think this bottle will last me forever cause I don't use alot of it at all. Overall my experience with this product has been good so far!!

xoxo #lipstickjunkie87

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AgeJ on 2/6/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by AgeJ

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After hearing so many good things about this product, and Mac Foundations in general, I really wanted to like this product...Really.
But it just didn't live up to my expectations.
And no offence to some reviewers, but some of the most deceiving stuff written about this product is the coverage (which I'll explain in the 'Cons' section).

The Pros:
- Has a nice moisturising finish that I'd describe as semi-matte, perfect for many skin types, although I'd probably say the formulation would better suit dryer ladies.

- The shade range is IMPECCABLE! I got the lightest shade (1.0) and it probably matches me better than any single foundation/concealer I've ever owned. It truly lives up to it's 'Matchmaster' title in that sense.

- The packaging is sleek and practical, the sturdy glass bottle feels like it could survive my clumsy moments (i.e. a fall to the floor), and the pump is a great way to control the amount of product dispensed and do so in a hygienic fashion.

The Cons:
- The coverage is really poor! I really don't understand how it could be so lackluster, so many people wrote 'medium to full coverage'. Horseplop! It's medium - at best. And I truly mean that.
If you have some serious things to cover up (acne/acne scarring, like myself), you'll really need to step up your concealing when you apply this.

- The staying power isn't what I'd expect from Mac, at all. I was really disappointed that this started to have that flakey-and-wearing look after only 4 - 6 hours, and this is despite using a primer and setting with a setting spray.


I really want to like this, and I'll definitely keep trying it out in conjuction with different concealers and primers. Maybe I need to apply this with a sponge as opposed to a brush, or with my fingers? I'm not sure. But I nominated 'no' for repurchasing because at this point I don't have enough motivation to repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tehryn on 1/25/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by tehryn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

ABSOLOUTLEY LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!! It's definitely the best MAC foundation by far. It's more of a medium-full coverage, and stays on for a long period of time. I have combination skin and get very oily on my T-zone and this foundation is matte in all the right places without looking "cakey." It looks very natural and not too heavy, I rarely have to use powder with it to set it. It's just the best, definitely worth the money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 1/24/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I wonder if the "magic" in all this color-matching is the mere fact that it comes out light and simply oxidizes darker. Because after 3 hours, it turned almost brown on me. Granted, I am extremely oily and I don't use a primer (I don't believe in primers, don't get me started).

This smells like Studio Fix Fluid, which initially had me worried it would perform like Studio Fix (cakey, not long-lasting). Coverage with this was medium-full, but not as much as SFF. Finish is matte. Come on, let's cut it out with all these ambiguous terms like semi-matte, demi-matte, natural, radiant matte. It's just matte, okay?

Face got shiney within 4 hours, which is average for most foundations on my face. So I'm not mad at that.

Now on to the main point: the color. I'm a neutral leaning NC/NW20-25. I've usually gone for the NW20 shades from MAC. In this, I chose 1.5 but could've gone for 2.0 I noticed both seemed very yellow. This went on initially as a pale yellow color, probably a tad lighter than my real skin. About 2-3 hours later, using no primer and no powder, I noticed this had oxidized 2-3 shades darker. Granted, it was not totally noticeable from my neck but it was definitely darker. It looked as if it had oxidized from NC20 to NC25-30. Once again, still very yellow so I wonder if a cooler-toned person would be able to use this. I am not that yellow, I am neutral, so don't tell me "it was just working it's magic and adapting to your skintone."

The main selling point of this was the pigmentation and that failed to impress me, so I will not buy it again. Performance wise, this is the same as any other baisc foundation. Probably very similar to SFF except less coverage.

If you really wanna get a kick out it, go test this in the store. Swatch the same shade on a paler area of your skin and a slightly darker area of your skin. If it is the same on both areas and doesn't truly adapt as it promises...that means MAC is full of crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sistahmaybelline on 1/21/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by sistahmaybelline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good foundation. It's creamy with a natural satin finish. The coverage is medium to full. It is perfect for my combination skin and isn't greasy nor drying. My only problem is the color. Unfortunately I didn't have enough courage to disagree with the MAC salesperson regarding the shade. I bought it in 7.5 and that color is fantastically wrong and oxides to a shade I have never seen before in real life. The 7.0 shade is terrifying pale and does not match either. Bummer. It way too late to take it back now. I really like this foundation, but unless I mix it with white foundation or my skin gets darker, this ain't gonna work. Three and 1/2 lippies for almost getting it right.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 1/19/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only MAC foundation i have ever liked. I find that this stays, has a satin finish and the colour doesn't oxidise. Its actually not a heavy coverage foundation but l like the fact that it dries down quickly. Primer optional and doesn't pool in my oily parts in the PM. This is by far their best foundation but still not as good as Shiseido but pretty good for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xaephan on 1/12/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! I bought this as my very first MAC product ever, and I gotta say that I'm very impressed. Great coverage with one pump all over my face, and doesn't make me look cakey or too fake. With primer and setting spray (which I use for all foundation due to my super oily skin), lasts all day without transferring. I love that it's a neutral undertone but doesn't look out of place on my Asian skin (I'm pretty yellow for an Asian as well). Easy to blend and doesn't dry too fast so I can work with it without rushing.

I usually use a very dense, flat brush to blend this. Doesn't accentuate pores, covers well--what more could I ask for? Other than lower prices, I suppose, but I'd say it's worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products