John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.2(335 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 LetsSwap on 6/30/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by LetsSwap

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Went with this product (instead of my old reliables L'oreal Excellence & Feria) just to see if I could get less fading. Boy, what a mistake. I chose shade 5A Medium Ash Brown, wanting to even out some highlights & get my hair all one shade. Well, one shade I did get: ELVIRA BLACK, as someone else described it. I left it on for the 20 minutes rec'd, which was hard to do, since I did get drips down my forehead. After the mess was rinsed off, I called the 1-800 number & all I was advised to do was use a clarifying shampoo. I'm on day 4, but it's still pitch black -ugh. The drips on my forehead have taken forever to come off so I've looked like I had melasma these past few days. That, along with the terribly DARK shade this product runs + cost ($12+) = NO MORE for me. Back to my old reliables. ***If you MUST try this, go 1 (even 2) shades lighter than the color you actually want***

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyndsay2010 on 6/24/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by lyndsay2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been paying $200+ to get my hair dyed/highlighted light blonde professionally for 15 years, every 4-6 weeks. It's become too costly to keep up so yesterday, on a whim, I tried this as opposed to making my next hair appointment. I LOVE IT! It was easy to use, nourishing for my hair and created the exact blonde that I wanted. I used 10b, the second to lightest blonde color. I decided to go up a shade or so and I'm obsessed with how light my hair is, I can't stop looking in the mirror. I will definitely be adding this to my hair arsenal. Salon go-ers: don't fear at home color like I did, this stuff is the business!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 6/18/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used this on a whim. My hair is naturally dark brown/black. I got the Luminous Natural Black. It was easy to use and the directions were right on. I love the way it colored my hair and its perfect to use in between going to the salon. Ive tried a couple other of the at home foam dyes. This one is by far the best. Not as drippy and messy as the others. I also adore the conditioner that came with it. I will definitely be using this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meluuhknee on 6/15/2012 4:31:00 PM more reviews by meluuhknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot get over how much I love this product! I was extremely extremely skeptical on getting it at first, I thought it sounded too good to be true and I rarely ever use drugstores dyes. But one day it was on sale so I decided to pick up two boxes (because of my thick hair I normally have to use two boxes). So I searched up a bunch of reviews once I got home, I looked up how to videos, and again, everything seemed just too easy I thought I'd mess it up. I got my nerves together and decided to go to the bathroom to try it out. Long story short, I am in love with this dye! It gives full even coverage, it's quick, it's super easy, and just all around fantastic. It smells great, and I've hard barely any trouble with fading. I would highly recommend this both to pros and beginners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ronnie_Aran on 6/9/2012 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Ronnie_Aran

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

By far this is the best color kit iīve tried. Itīs super easy to apply, it smells very nice, and the color is very accurate and long lasting. It didnīt friy my hair. I used 5A.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Courtsicle on 6/8/2012 4:02:00 AM more reviews by Courtsicle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I would not recommend this hair dye for anyone with dark hair. I have dark brown hair, and used this product in the Deep Cherry colour. I followed the instructions exactly, but it was almost a waste of time and money. The only time the colour in my hair is noticeable is when I am under bright lights or direct sunlight. I am quite disappointed, since this product is very expensive in Australia. The only positive for me was how easy the foam was to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* roarwoman on 6/6/2012 2:01:00 PM more reviews by roarwoman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the Deep-Brown-Black color last night at London Drugs for $12.95. I'm always looking for an easier way to apply hair color and the foam application caught my eye. It was easy to apply and the color came out as expected, dark brown/black. The promised 100% grey coverage is totally not true. I had about half an inch of salt and pepper roots going into this dye job and my roots are still visible and still grayish in color with a bit of brown now mixed in. Brown-Grey?

My hair texture was really rough, even after applying the condition for 10 mins post procedure. I put Macadamian oil in afterwards before I styled and my hair still felt rough and I had a hard time getting my brush around my hair while styling with a blow dryer. End result did not produce any shine or softness at all.

Bottom line, product is expensive, limited color range, average results. I wouldn't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emilieb8b on 6/4/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by emilieb8b

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

i have tried over 5 box dies mostly from L'Oreal seeing that there have been lots of great reviews. i have long, thick, curly, naturally light brown hair and its taken me about a year to get it my desired color of medium blonde. the john Frieda precision foam color is quick and extremely easy to apply. my darker roots are fully covered and my hair has no patches or unevenness. I leave the conditioner that comes with it overnight and my hair is soft, lightweight and silky. the color lasts a long time if you use products from the John Frieda collection. i like the Full Repair line because it manages my frizz and leaves my hair completely restored. i use a blow dryer, curling iron and flat iron constantly and i have not had my hair trimmed in over 3 months because of the john Frieda products. my hair has never felt better! =D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chaneal on 6/4/2012 3:13:00 AM more reviews by chaneal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HATE THIS. I bought the shade #6G which is supposed to be a lighter golden brown color. My hair had already been dyed and faded to a color similar to the box so I thought I'd get the same color (roots were horrible) I left the dye on for about 30 minutes but when I did the strand testing, my hair looked completely black with a slight brown tinge in light. Left the dye on for another half hour and when I washed it out, the color was super dark! After it dried, it was at LEAST a few shades darker than the box. I wish I'd spend the few bucks more for my typical asian brands...they worked way better than this stuff! The only good thing was that the smell wasn't as bad and that the color is at least even enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elise999 on 6/1/2012 6:36:00 PM more reviews by Elise999

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have finally found the perfect hair colour for me. 9N is simply lovely, such a warm, natural nuance of blonde. I also have some highlights, and that always helps achieve a great colour. It is super easy to use, during the first day it's a bit too blonde but then it becomes the great colour I fell in love with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products