John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(344 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 cyeatman87 on 7/25/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by cyeatman87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've bought this product multiple times and usually am happy with the results. I am a darker brunette and love the dark red to add some depth and color to my natural hair. The foam is easy to mix and use and there is plenty of foam to cover my waist length hair. Although this time, I am very upset. Everytime my hair has gotten wet after this dye job, even after shampooing and conditioning, my hair smells similar to a wet dog. Obviously this is suboptimal. I'm hoping it may have been a fluke, but am not willing to try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zissel on 7/19/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by zissel

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Fredrik Fekkai haircolor and I just loved it. Pricey but well worth it. Someone recommended this product in the Dark Brown which is my natural color. I have gray at the temples and at the roots. This product did not cover the gray and the color was flat not attractive at all. After I color my hair it usually gives me a lift. I was disappointed and had to recolor in a few weeks. Amazing the gray at the temples was untouched. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linerfreakxx7 on 7/17/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by linerfreakxx7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the purple/red color (I forget what the name is) and my mother and I were scared to do this because my mom didn't want me to have purple hair (haha). My natural color is brown (very dark) but I dye it reddish-brown. I used this dye over it and the color turned out so beautiful!! I love the redness it gives and the purple tint to it makes it dark so it fits nicely with my light skin. I'm going to dye my hair back to natural for senior portrait, but after that, this color will be my go-to !!! It takes forever to use all the foam, but the end result is fabulous!

UPDATE: Um this stuff kind of fades really badly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janjan111 on 7/16/2012 6:04:00 PM more reviews by janjan111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I absolutely love this product, I just had to sign up to write on this as my first review. Lets start off saying this might not be the best product to lift dark natural or dyed colors more than one shade. As the box describes don't try to go any more than two shade off your current color! The only real complaint i've heard is the lack of dramatic color change. For me I am a total color at home junkie.. I have naturally light moussy brunette hair, blonde near my hairline.. I can never get that balance between a brown that doesn't make my roots too noticable and a blonde thats too brassy.. so back and forth i go.. so needless to say my hair is damaged.. it lacks sheen and lustre that virgin hair has, But for all the women who do dye their hair (probably 90% of us), hair dye is our bandage, it gives us back that shine but alot of times it makes it worse...
This is not the case for the john freida precision foam... amazing!!! I am so very happy with my results, I purchased the light natural brown, on my dried out faded and brassy uneven light - medium brown, it evened out my color tone and shade and it made it feel healthier than before my color. So happy! i say if you need a color for depth and shine and not more than two shades different than what you are now then its far worth the 12$!!!

i've always loved john frieda shampoos, conditioners and styling products and not can complete my hair regiment with the new color foam :) so happy to have my forever product line!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kathryn9 on 7/15/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Kathryn9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Really easy to use and it doesn't drip at all. It is a bit more expensive than other hair dyes though.

See my review of this product on my blog:
http://kitschsnitch.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/john-frieda-precision-foam-colour.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurentodd922 on 7/15/2012 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Laurentodd922

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product! It's so easy to use, smells amazing, and has great color payoff. I use the dark brown/black dye.The first few days the color is really strong and dark but after a couple days the color fades into its truer shade. For me, the color is really similar to my natural color so roots aren't a problem for me. I reapply after about 3-4 months and have repurchased it multiple times. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joanna931 on 7/14/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by joanna931

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all I really thought this was going to be the best hair dye since it was all nice especially since it was foam how awesome right ?? Naw!!!! Dislike it was expensive and it didn't do the job. I hadn't dyed my hair for almost an year but I got tired since my color wasn't even I used this to dye my hair black and it still looks brownish only in the night looks black but during the day still looks kinda brown only good thing is the after smell :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 7/14/2012 1:48:00 PM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been having my hair professionally coloured (dark brown) for the last 4 years, but got tired of shelling out money when really all I needed was to cover up my greys. So I decided to go back to box colour for a bit. There are so many new options on the market now. I loved how easy this was to apply, no drips at all, my bathroom counter and floor were spared! I used the Deep Dark Brown-Black (3N) for the recommended time. It came out a bit more on the black side but that's ok. Once conditioned an dried my hair was kinda dry and frizzy, not glossy and sleek like it usually is after colouring. The colour is also very one dimensional and flat. I used this 10 days ago, have washed my hair 5/6 times and it's already faded significantly, I spotted 2 old greys poking through already. I'm not ready to go back to professional colouring though, there's a lot more options out there to explore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elizabeth82 on 7/14/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Elizabeth82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this hair colour! I have used every boxed haircolour on the market in Canada and this is the only one I will ever buy again. It is super easy to use, the foam is thick and doesn't drip down your back, the colour is true to what is pictured on the box, the conditioner that comes with it is great and I've only noticed fading a slight yellowing now, 4 weeks since I've dyed it. Root touchups should be easy with the texture of the foam. Oh yeah, you also get A LOT of product - dye and conditioner. Will definitely repurchase...going to go buy another box this week! P.S. For reference, I bought the lightest neutral blonde colour and I have fine hair, no greys.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LetsSwap on 6/30/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by LetsSwap

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Went with this product (instead of my old reliables L'oreal Excellence & Feria) just to see if I could get less fading. Boy, what a mistake. I chose shade 5A Medium Ash Brown, wanting to even out some highlights & get my hair all one shade. Well, one shade I did get: ELVIRA BLACK, as someone else described it. I left it on for the 20 minutes rec'd, which was hard to do, since I did get drips down my forehead. After the mess was rinsed off, I called the 1-800 number & all I was advised to do was use a clarifying shampoo. I'm on day 4, but it's still pitch black -ugh. The drips on my forehead have taken forever to come off so I've looked like I had melasma these past few days. That, along with the terribly DARK shade this product runs + cost ($12+) = NO MORE for me. Back to my old reliables. ***If you MUST try this, go 1 (even 2) shades lighter than the color you actually want***

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products