John Frieda Precision Foam Color

3.3

358 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/29/2012 2:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have always used Loreal but love John Frieda shampoos so decided to be brave and give it a go. The color wad the same quality as Loreal and it was much less stinky. I used "light ash blonde" which is exactly what i used with Loreal. But the foam is much more difficul to apply, especially with a root touch up. Other hair dyes stay on your hair where you put it, whereas this foam expands and goes beyond your roots. Also other hair dyes have a tipped bottle that you can use to part your hair and this does not. Not a big deal, but ease of use is important to me. Since the oolor quality is the same, I will just be using Loreal in the future.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 9/10/2012 12:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was the last straw in deciding to use only salon colour! Not only is box dye harsh but it has many chemicals that salon dyes don't! This dye smelt awful and although the foam is easy to use, it definitely damages hair WAY more than it should! If I were John Freida I would be ashamed to have my name on this. Got me off of his products forever.


on 9/10/2012 7:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I assumed this stuff was ammonia free, but I learned it wasn't the hard way. My recovering hair is now strawlike all over again.


on 9/7/2012 8:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

No, no, no! Do not waste your money on this product! I used dark golden blonde on virgin hair. It came out an awful, muddy, murky, reddish brown. Disgusting. One dimensional. Flat. When it finally started to fade (the color just stuck and stuck) it had a brassy, orange tinge. Just, no.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2012 2:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is an overall very good product. I chose the colour Medium Chocolate Brown (5B). The colour was medium/dark brown with red tones into it. I like the colour but i think it would have been nicer with less red tones.

The best part of this product is the conditioner; it leaves the hair in an amazing texture better than the way it started.

Next time, I would purchase the Dark Chocolate Brown because I want a darker brown colour ( with less red tones) .

Overall, this is a recommended product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this in shade 5A - Medium Ash Brown and it was perfect! Dyed my hair from a light gingery, red brown and wanted to get rid of the red tones so I chose an ashy colour to counteract them. Had read reviews on here which said that the colours go much darker than on the box so I was a bit scared but it turned out perfect! My hair was soft, shiny and the colour was very even. I am so happy Iíve found this great colour, will be using it from now on!


on 8/28/2012 3:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have medium brown hair and I used the color deep red brown. The color came out an even darker brown and no real hint of red unless i was under a certain light...even in the sun you can hardly even see any hint of red. The foam application is really easy, but it didnt foam up as much as the instructions said it would. The gloves were a nice quality and there was not a strong smell to the dye itself. It didn't damage my hair much at all, so the fact that the color didnt show up wasnt too much disappointment, just a waste of money. I wished the color would have shown up more.


on 8/22/2012 6:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this colour! I got 10B (extra light beige blonde) and i put it over my bleached hair and it turned out sooo even!! Even my dark roots were covered!!!

I sugguest only Using this on already light hair!!! :)

Love this color!! The foam is so easy to use as well!!!
Thr price is a bit much though, $12!!! But sooo worth it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2012 4:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My hair is very fine and slightly wavy. Even in my 50s, I have very little gray. I usually like to lighten it a shade or two and use a bronze type of brown. The Feria bronze browns are my favorite, and I really should have stuck with that.

I colored my hair with a foam product by John Frieda -- a medium golden brown that looked beautiful on the box. I've been coloring my hair myself for years. I was shocked to see that my hair came out nearly black.

I tried all the tricks to lighten it -- Prell, dish soap. It lightened very little. I thought perhaps I could manage and let it fade over time, but every time I saw myself in the mirror I just got depressed. The color was just way too dark for someone my age and skin tone.

I had to use Color Oops to remove the way too dark color. Thankfully, it worked such that I didn't need to dye my hair again immediately. No more John Frieda coloring products for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Had a coupon for a FREE box of this stuff, so decided why not try it. I just want to start out by saying I have been dying my own hair for 10+ years and know the process and techniques very well...so well that people think I get my hair colored professionally. I've mostly used professional hair dye (dye + developer - different volumes based on the level of lift I need). So when I first opened the package it was nice to see professional gloves...I have always had to buy my own whenever using drugstore hair dye. I thought the foam mixing process was very different and interesting. It didn't go on very easily for me, it didn't really foam up at all at first and I was worried there wouldn't be enough to cover my whole head. After massaging it in for what seemed like a half an hour (and my arms were tired) it finally started foaming like the directions say it should. It felt nice, no burning, no intense smell, no dripping. However, it left my hair SUPER DRY, and the color was just blah. I used Light Ash Blonde and it came out very dull, flat, nothing great at all..and the worst of it, NO LIFT! I don't know if this color is deposit only, but my hair now looks terrible and I will need to go pick up my tried and true Wella dye with some 30 volume developer to get it back to the color I want it at. This is just not good at all, and if I had actually paid the ridiculous $13 for this i'd be super mad that I have to go and buy more dye to fix it. If you're in need of a good drugstore hair dye, go for L'Oreal Preference - it's a no-brainer...always good coverage, color, and leaves hair soft and shiny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
368 Reviews
Colorsilk
710 Reviews
Back to Top