John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(351 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 stimm1993 on 8/22/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by stimm1993

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this colour! I got 10B (extra light beige blonde) and i put it over my bleached hair and it turned out sooo even!! Even my dark roots were covered!!!

I sugguest only Using this on already light hair!!! :)

Love this color!! The foam is so easy to use as well!!!
Thr price is a bit much though, $12!!! But sooo worth it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 commercesd on 8/18/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by commercesd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is very fine and slightly wavy. Even in my 50s, I have very little gray. I usually like to lighten it a shade or two and use a bronze type of brown. The Feria bronze browns are my favorite, and I really should have stuck with that.

I colored my hair with a foam product by John Frieda -- a medium golden brown that looked beautiful on the box. I've been coloring my hair myself for years. I was shocked to see that my hair came out nearly black.

I tried all the tricks to lighten it -- Prell, dish soap. It lightened very little. I thought perhaps I could manage and let it fade over time, but every time I saw myself in the mirror I just got depressed. The color was just way too dark for someone my age and skin tone.

I had to use Color Oops to remove the way too dark color. Thankfully, it worked such that I didn't need to dye my hair again immediately. No more John Frieda coloring products for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cortneyrozell on 8/11/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by cortneyrozell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Had a coupon for a FREE box of this stuff, so decided why not try it. I just want to start out by saying I have been dying my own hair for 10+ years and know the process and techniques very well...so well that people think I get my hair colored professionally. I've mostly used professional hair dye (dye + developer - different volumes based on the level of lift I need). So when I first opened the package it was nice to see professional gloves...I have always had to buy my own whenever using drugstore hair dye. I thought the foam mixing process was very different and interesting. It didn't go on very easily for me, it didn't really foam up at all at first and I was worried there wouldn't be enough to cover my whole head. After massaging it in for what seemed like a half an hour (and my arms were tired) it finally started foaming like the directions say it should. It felt nice, no burning, no intense smell, no dripping. However, it left my hair SUPER DRY, and the color was just blah. I used Light Ash Blonde and it came out very dull, flat, nothing great at all..and the worst of it, NO LIFT! I don't know if this color is deposit only, but my hair now looks terrible and I will need to go pick up my tried and true Wella dye with some 30 volume developer to get it back to the color I want it at. This is just not good at all, and if I had actually paid the ridiculous $13 for this i'd be super mad that I have to go and buy more dye to fix it. If you're in need of a good drugstore hair dye, go for L'Oreal Preference - it's a no-brainer...always good coverage, color, and leaves hair soft and shiny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roxyylovee on 8/10/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by roxyylovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the 9N Light Natural Blonde. I bought this as an alternative to my Revlon Colorsilk Sun Blonde dye. I'm naturally a medium blonde, and the Revlon was my tried and true. But, it did tend to leave me a bit brassy. So I tried the John Frieda one, and all I can say is WOW! I am very impressed. This got me the light blonde color I wanted without any brassiness!! I was a little skeptical, because within the first 10 minutes I did not see a difference. I left it on the additional 20 minutes and voila! A nice light blonde with a neutral tone! It doesn't get your roots as light as some other dyes, but I think it looks more natural that way. The packaging is very professional, and comes with gloves and a travel size conditioner. Just be sure to read the directions entirely before coloring . All in all it's a little overpriced ($12.99 from Rite Aid) but I am very glad I decided to try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rjtoronto on 7/29/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by rjtoronto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

8G GOLDEN BLONDE used on DARK BLONDE/LIGHT BROWN HAIR

I just used this tonight. It is the second time I have dyed my hair at home during 25 years of having salon hi-lights. The first time (Herbatint) was a disaster that cost $300 to repair (Herbatint Blonde on my hair = "Hooker with a Heart of Gold" Orange).

JF Precision Foam, however, is AMAZING!!! I will use point form to keep this review more readable.

RESULTS
-gorgeous colour: a bit *too* gold (no red, but getting awfully close, although NO brassiness) for my taste, but it looks beautiful - next time I will use either 8N (natural) or 9N (a shade lighter)
-100% completely even application, with my ends lighter than roots (as they should be, for a natural blonde look)
-hair is even softer and silkier than usual (my hair was already in superb condition)

PROCESS
-super-easy: it was actually quite fun mushing all that foam around
-the foam dripped just a bit, but I think that is because there was so much of it (see below). It did not stain anything that I got it on: my face, ears, neck, arm, and counter.
-the colourant smell was really strong for the first few minutes, but then disappeared
-the rubber gloves are good quality -- I put some powder on my hands first to make it easier to get them on and off


OTHER COMMENTS
-my hair is shoulder-length, and the amount of product might have been enough for two applications.
-the product was somewhat over-packaged, as it came in a plastic-wrapped box with a bonus full-sized tube of shampoo.
-the included conditioner was lovely, and my hair smells wonderful.

I have been paying $150 for high-lights for years and years and years, but am about to move (if I get the job -- fingers crossed!) to a remote area where a trip to the nearest salon will require a very expensive plane ticket, so wanted to see if I could keep myself blonde(r) at home. Even if I don't move (but fingers stil crossed!), I will be using this product from now on.

HGHGHGHGHG.

***********UPDATE************
Six weeks later: I have received many positive comments on my hair, but most included a comment about it being "almost red". I know that my hair really does "pull" to red naturally. Red is great, it's just still new to me, since it just started happening a few years ago. I will report back on the second application, but am still very, very happy with this product after six weeks.

**********FURTHER UPDATE*************
For my second application, I used 10N, which is Ultra Light Natural Blonde. I am just as happy with the product as I was the first time. I am still pulling a bit reddish, so will try the 10B (beige) next time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosenylund on 7/27/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rosenylund

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have only used this product one time so after a few more uses if my opinions evolves in any way I will update in the future. That said, I've been using boxed dyes from the drugstore for years and ever since foam dyes came out I've been really loving them for the ease of application. Out of the three I have tried so far this is the best yet. The packaging is much nicer (it is more expensive than the other drugstore brands) and what stood out to me the most is that this is the only foam dye I've used that has separate instructions for a root touch up. All the other dyes only have one set of instructions meant for a first time all over dying process. After years of that, if you have long hair it would likely really damage your length. To offset this, I always applied oil to the length and ends prior to dying. The best aspects of this dye for me: did not stain my scalp at all, the foam really was thick and spread very nicely, the color was amazing (really rich and even and multidimensional; it was rich and black without looking obviously dyed and fake). But the best part of all for me was that every time I dye my hair my hair gets really relaxed from the process: very flat and straight. I know people may love this because it makes it glossy and silky but I hate it because I have to deal with flat hair with no body for a week or so. With this dye I had no issues with flat, super straight hair. My texture remained the same after dying. I couldn't be happier. For reference I have straight hair with a slight wave that is coarse.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mshungryhippo on 7/27/2012 7:41:00 AM more reviews by Mshungryhippo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Saw this new product on shelf whilst out grocery shopping. Thought I'll give it a go since its been 7 weeks since I last saw my hairdresser and the greys were coming thru'! Picked deep cherry brown and was very pleased with the end result. Easy to apply and remove from skin, did not dry out hair even before applying conditioner, and the color was a perfect match for my black hair with some lovely red tones which blended in really well. However, grey coverage was not 100% (this may be more to do with my resilient Asian hair) but i was still happy with the result. at AU$16 a pop ( think it was a special intro offer but if I remember right the full price was not much more than $20), this may be my new hair fix in between salon appointments 😊

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cyeatman87 on 7/25/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by cyeatman87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've bought this product multiple times and usually am happy with the results. I am a darker brunette and love the dark red to add some depth and color to my natural hair. The foam is easy to mix and use and there is plenty of foam to cover my waist length hair. Although this time, I am very upset. Everytime my hair has gotten wet after this dye job, even after shampooing and conditioning, my hair smells similar to a wet dog. Obviously this is suboptimal. I'm hoping it may have been a fluke, but am not willing to try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zissel on 7/19/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by zissel

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Fredrik Fekkai haircolor and I just loved it. Pricey but well worth it. Someone recommended this product in the Dark Brown which is my natural color. I have gray at the temples and at the roots. This product did not cover the gray and the color was flat not attractive at all. After I color my hair it usually gives me a lift. I was disappointed and had to recolor in a few weeks. Amazing the gray at the temples was untouched. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linerfreakxx7 on 7/17/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by linerfreakxx7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the purple/red color (I forget what the name is) and my mother and I were scared to do this because my mom didn't want me to have purple hair (haha). My natural color is brown (very dark) but I dye it reddish-brown. I used this dye over it and the color turned out so beautiful!! I love the redness it gives and the purple tint to it makes it dark so it fits nicely with my light skin. I'm going to dye my hair back to natural for senior portrait, but after that, this color will be my go-to !!! It takes forever to use all the foam, but the end result is fabulous!

UPDATE: Um this stuff kind of fades really badly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products