John Frieda Precision Foam Color

3.3

360 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/4/2012 11:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used this color last night in 7NBG (Dark Caramel Blonde). I was drawn to the claim that this color would be even, since stylist's can usually look at my hair and say "so you color this yourself!" since underneath there's a little unevenness. My hair was medium blonde, but hadn't been colored all summer since my hair lightens in the summer and even root touch ups aren't necessary to maintain the color. Upon opening the box, I was kind of excited to see how the directions are clear & concise and the gloves are professional quality, plus it only takes 20 minutes which beats the 25-30 of most other boxed colors I have used. I followed the directions and application was easy-peasy and while I know it isn't formulated with the best ingredients, I didn't have to step out of my bathroom (window & door open, vent on) to take a breather like I normally do, it didn't seem as harsh.
After 20 minutes, I rinsed the color out & then applied the delicious smelling conditioner & let it sit for 5 minutes as directed. My hair was SUPER soft after this. I then gave myself a blowout since it looked ultra-dark. It's definitely darker than the box had said (which, I know not to expect those results, but this is a little much), but it came out a really nice dark ash blonde shade so I don't have any complaints.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/1/2012 7:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My natural hair is a light brown and now has some gray in it. I've been blonde for many years. I decided I wanted a slight change and thought a caramel blonde would be fun for the winter.
I bought the John Frieda because I've used their light blondes for a while and was happy with it. Not this time! It turned my blonde hair a dark brown. It was so dark that it looked like black shoe polish before washing it out. It's many shades darker than the pictures on the side of the box that shows the color over medium brown hair, and probably 4 or 5 levels darker than it shows the color over blonde hair.
I've washed it several times with Dawn and it pulled a little bit of the color out but I am still left with medium brown hair...nothing blonde about it! I'm really upset and all I got from John Frieda was a coupon for a free box of color.
I've colored my hair for many years and never had it turn out differently than expected. This has been quite a shock. I don't want to bleach it or use Color Oops to remove the color. I'm just afraid they will be too harsh on my fine hair.
I just tried Marc Anthony Easy-Lites and even that product is barely effecting the brown. Not sure what that product has done to my hair but it's not good.
I would highly recommend anyone considering using this product to do a strand test first, something I've never needed to do in the past. My real recommendation is just to stay away from it entirely.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2012 2:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have always used Loreal but love John Frieda shampoos so decided to be brave and give it a go. The color wad the same quality as Loreal and it was much less stinky. I used "light ash blonde" which is exactly what i used with Loreal. But the foam is much more difficul to apply, especially with a root touch up. Other hair dyes stay on your hair where you put it, whereas this foam expands and goes beyond your roots. Also other hair dyes have a tipped bottle that you can use to part your hair and this does not. Not a big deal, but ease of use is important to me. Since the oolor quality is the same, I will just be using Loreal in the future.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2012 12:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was the last straw in deciding to use only salon colour! Not only is box dye harsh but it has many chemicals that salon dyes don't! This dye smelt awful and although the foam is easy to use, it definitely damages hair WAY more than it should! If I were John Freida I would be ashamed to have my name on this. Got me off of his products forever.


on 9/10/2012 7:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I assumed this stuff was ammonia free, but I learned it wasn't the hard way. My recovering hair is now strawlike all over again.


on 9/7/2012 8:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

No, no, no! Do not waste your money on this product! I used dark golden blonde on virgin hair. It came out an awful, muddy, murky, reddish brown. Disgusting. One dimensional. Flat. When it finally started to fade (the color just stuck and stuck) it had a brassy, orange tinge. Just, no.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2012 2:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is an overall very good product. I chose the colour Medium Chocolate Brown (5B). The colour was medium/dark brown with red tones into it. I like the colour but i think it would have been nicer with less red tones.

The best part of this product is the conditioner; it leaves the hair in an amazing texture better than the way it started.

Next time, I would purchase the Dark Chocolate Brown because I want a darker brown colour ( with less red tones) .

Overall, this is a recommended product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this in shade 5A - Medium Ash Brown and it was perfect! Dyed my hair from a light gingery, red brown and wanted to get rid of the red tones so I chose an ashy colour to counteract them. Had read reviews on here which said that the colours go much darker than on the box so I was a bit scared but it turned out perfect! My hair was soft, shiny and the colour was very even. I am so happy Iíve found this great colour, will be using it from now on!


on 8/28/2012 3:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have medium brown hair and I used the color deep red brown. The color came out an even darker brown and no real hint of red unless i was under a certain light...even in the sun you can hardly even see any hint of red. The foam application is really easy, but it didnt foam up as much as the instructions said it would. The gloves were a nice quality and there was not a strong smell to the dye itself. It didn't damage my hair much at all, so the fact that the color didnt show up wasnt too much disappointment, just a waste of money. I wished the color would have shown up more.


on 8/22/2012 6:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this colour! I got 10B (extra light beige blonde) and i put it over my bleached hair and it turned out sooo even!! Even my dark roots were covered!!!

I sugguest only Using this on already light hair!!! :)

Love this color!! The foam is so easy to use as well!!!
Thr price is a bit much though, $12!!! But sooo worth it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top