John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(347 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rjtoronto on 7/29/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by rjtoronto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

8G GOLDEN BLONDE used on DARK BLONDE/LIGHT BROWN HAIR

I just used this tonight. It is the second time I have dyed my hair at home during 25 years of having salon hi-lights. The first time (Herbatint) was a disaster that cost $300 to repair (Herbatint Blonde on my hair = "Hooker with a Heart of Gold" Orange).

JF Precision Foam, however, is AMAZING!!! I will use point form to keep this review more readable.

RESULTS
-gorgeous colour: a bit *too* gold (no red, but getting awfully close, although NO brassiness) for my taste, but it looks beautiful - next time I will use either 8N (natural) or 9N (a shade lighter)
-100% completely even application, with my ends lighter than roots (as they should be, for a natural blonde look)
-hair is even softer and silkier than usual (my hair was already in superb condition)

PROCESS
-super-easy: it was actually quite fun mushing all that foam around
-the foam dripped just a bit, but I think that is because there was so much of it (see below). It did not stain anything that I got it on: my face, ears, neck, arm, and counter.
-the colourant smell was really strong for the first few minutes, but then disappeared
-the rubber gloves are good quality -- I put some powder on my hands first to make it easier to get them on and off


OTHER COMMENTS
-my hair is shoulder-length, and the amount of product might have been enough for two applications.
-the product was somewhat over-packaged, as it came in a plastic-wrapped box with a bonus full-sized tube of shampoo.
-the included conditioner was lovely, and my hair smells wonderful.

I have been paying $150 for high-lights for years and years and years, but am about to move (if I get the job -- fingers crossed!) to a remote area where a trip to the nearest salon will require a very expensive plane ticket, so wanted to see if I could keep myself blonde(r) at home. Even if I don't move (but fingers stil crossed!), I will be using this product from now on.

HGHGHGHGHG.

***********UPDATE************
Six weeks later: I have received many positive comments on my hair, but most included a comment about it being "almost red". I know that my hair really does "pull" to red naturally. Red is great, it's just still new to me, since it just started happening a few years ago. I will report back on the second application, but am still very, very happy with this product after six weeks.

**********FURTHER UPDATE*************
For my second application, I used 10N, which is Ultra Light Natural Blonde. I am just as happy with the product as I was the first time. I am still pulling a bit reddish, so will try the 10B (beige) next time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosenylund on 7/27/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rosenylund

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have only used this product one time so after a few more uses if my opinions evolves in any way I will update in the future. That said, I've been using boxed dyes from the drugstore for years and ever since foam dyes came out I've been really loving them for the ease of application. Out of the three I have tried so far this is the best yet. The packaging is much nicer (it is more expensive than the other drugstore brands) and what stood out to me the most is that this is the only foam dye I've used that has separate instructions for a root touch up. All the other dyes only have one set of instructions meant for a first time all over dying process. After years of that, if you have long hair it would likely really damage your length. To offset this, I always applied oil to the length and ends prior to dying. The best aspects of this dye for me: did not stain my scalp at all, the foam really was thick and spread very nicely, the color was amazing (really rich and even and multidimensional; it was rich and black without looking obviously dyed and fake). But the best part of all for me was that every time I dye my hair my hair gets really relaxed from the process: very flat and straight. I know people may love this because it makes it glossy and silky but I hate it because I have to deal with flat hair with no body for a week or so. With this dye I had no issues with flat, super straight hair. My texture remained the same after dying. I couldn't be happier. For reference I have straight hair with a slight wave that is coarse.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mshungryhippo on 7/27/2012 7:41:00 AM more reviews by Mshungryhippo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Saw this new product on shelf whilst out grocery shopping. Thought I'll give it a go since its been 7 weeks since I last saw my hairdresser and the greys were coming thru'! Picked deep cherry brown and was very pleased with the end result. Easy to apply and remove from skin, did not dry out hair even before applying conditioner, and the color was a perfect match for my black hair with some lovely red tones which blended in really well. However, grey coverage was not 100% (this may be more to do with my resilient Asian hair) but i was still happy with the result. at AU$16 a pop ( think it was a special intro offer but if I remember right the full price was not much more than $20), this may be my new hair fix in between salon appointments 😊

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cyeatman87 on 7/25/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by cyeatman87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've bought this product multiple times and usually am happy with the results. I am a darker brunette and love the dark red to add some depth and color to my natural hair. The foam is easy to mix and use and there is plenty of foam to cover my waist length hair. Although this time, I am very upset. Everytime my hair has gotten wet after this dye job, even after shampooing and conditioning, my hair smells similar to a wet dog. Obviously this is suboptimal. I'm hoping it may have been a fluke, but am not willing to try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zissel on 7/19/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by zissel

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Fredrik Fekkai haircolor and I just loved it. Pricey but well worth it. Someone recommended this product in the Dark Brown which is my natural color. I have gray at the temples and at the roots. This product did not cover the gray and the color was flat not attractive at all. After I color my hair it usually gives me a lift. I was disappointed and had to recolor in a few weeks. Amazing the gray at the temples was untouched. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linerfreakxx7 on 7/17/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by linerfreakxx7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the purple/red color (I forget what the name is) and my mother and I were scared to do this because my mom didn't want me to have purple hair (haha). My natural color is brown (very dark) but I dye it reddish-brown. I used this dye over it and the color turned out so beautiful!! I love the redness it gives and the purple tint to it makes it dark so it fits nicely with my light skin. I'm going to dye my hair back to natural for senior portrait, but after that, this color will be my go-to !!! It takes forever to use all the foam, but the end result is fabulous!

UPDATE: Um this stuff kind of fades really badly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janjan111 on 7/16/2012 6:04:00 PM more reviews by janjan111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I absolutely love this product, I just had to sign up to write on this as my first review. Lets start off saying this might not be the best product to lift dark natural or dyed colors more than one shade. As the box describes don't try to go any more than two shade off your current color! The only real complaint i've heard is the lack of dramatic color change. For me I am a total color at home junkie.. I have naturally light moussy brunette hair, blonde near my hairline.. I can never get that balance between a brown that doesn't make my roots too noticable and a blonde thats too brassy.. so back and forth i go.. so needless to say my hair is damaged.. it lacks sheen and lustre that virgin hair has, But for all the women who do dye their hair (probably 90% of us), hair dye is our bandage, it gives us back that shine but alot of times it makes it worse...
This is not the case for the john freida precision foam... amazing!!! I am so very happy with my results, I purchased the light natural brown, on my dried out faded and brassy uneven light - medium brown, it evened out my color tone and shade and it made it feel healthier than before my color. So happy! i say if you need a color for depth and shine and not more than two shades different than what you are now then its far worth the 12$!!!

i've always loved john frieda shampoos, conditioners and styling products and not can complete my hair regiment with the new color foam :) so happy to have my forever product line!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kathryn9 on 7/15/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Kathryn9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Really easy to use and it doesn't drip at all. It is a bit more expensive than other hair dyes though.

See my review of this product on my blog:
http://kitschsnitch.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/john-frieda-precision-foam-colour.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurentodd922 on 7/15/2012 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Laurentodd922

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product! It's so easy to use, smells amazing, and has great color payoff. I use the dark brown/black dye.The first few days the color is really strong and dark but after a couple days the color fades into its truer shade. For me, the color is really similar to my natural color so roots aren't a problem for me. I reapply after about 3-4 months and have repurchased it multiple times. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joanna931 on 7/14/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by joanna931

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all I really thought this was going to be the best hair dye since it was all nice especially since it was foam how awesome right ?? Naw!!!! Dislike it was expensive and it didn't do the job. I hadn't dyed my hair for almost an year but I got tired since my color wasn't even I used this to dye my hair black and it still looks brownish only in the night looks black but during the day still looks kinda brown only good thing is the after smell :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products