Estee Lauder • Sumptuous • Mascara

rated 4.0(275 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 trulls on 12/11/2010 11:45:00 AM more reviews by trulls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Either my mascara was manufactured the same year as a Golden Girl, or Estee Lauders Sumptous is just plain bad. It's dry, matte and has lousy staying power. As the day goes by, it sort of evaporates, no smudging, but nothing else either. The brush is really stiff and uncomfortable if you waggle it against the roots, and it will not produce any volume or lenght whatsoever, no matter how much you apply. If you like those "no mascara"-mascaras, this will probably do the trick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 t_orion on 12/7/2010 5:49:00 AM more reviews by t_orion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Another Estee mascara that does not dissapoint. I got this as a sample and I am so happy with it! It doesnt clump, it looks natural while making my lashes look lush. new HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hello2belle on 12/3/2010 9:34:00 PM more reviews by hello2belle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I don't understand how this mascara got so many good reviews. It totally does not work for me. I use my Shu eyelash curler with this and even that doesn't help. Cover girl lash blast is much better. This does not give me any volume or length. It just makes my eyelashes a little darker than before.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sass86 on 12/1/2010 10:42:00 PM more reviews by sass86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use to use wear 2or 3 different types of mascaras to get the look i wanted. This does it all yes it can be expensive in the shops but i just buy samples off ebay or stock up in duty free when travelling. Makes my lashes long thick(not clumpy) with enough curl & lasts from day to night. This is the best mascara eva!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bodenhc on 11/23/2010 12:25:00 PM more reviews by bodenhc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I have a sample size of this. I'm not even sure where it came from. I just picked it up from my vanity table and slapped it on Saturday night. whoaaaaa!! SUPER IMPRESSED!! I've been wearing it everyday since. I'm getting amazing volume & length on the first coat. And what's this!?!?!...hold da phone!!! It even curled them!! My go to mascara is LashBlast but Sumptuous from Estee Lauder is definitely going on my splurge list!!! awesome...awesome...awesome......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mhollistar on 11/21/2010 10:00:00 PM more reviews by Mhollistar

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't actually buy this, but i love it. I don't think it goes on like the pictures? But thats my eyelashes, i wear this when i want thinner and out looking for school, easy thing to do. The only make-up i wear for school. Wouldn't recommend it for going out, i own tons of mascara's so i have many for different occasions. Recommended for everyday use, not too heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bimbariccia on 11/15/2010 5:06:00 PM more reviews by bimbariccia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love trying out new mascaras, so when I saw this one in a gift box with sample sizes of the Advanced night repair for eyes and the make-up remover, I thought it looked like a good opportunity to try it out, along with the sample eye cream. I was soooo impressed with this mascara. It made my lashes look long and incredibly luscious. It's extremely buildable and I found I could easily layer it to create a dramatic false lash effect without the lashes clumping together. I love the packaging, the gold tube is just so elegant, and the brush is a good size without being too big and cumbersome. I personally prefer smaller brushes to the huge fat ones which seem to be so prevalent these days. This could be my HG mascara and I will re-purchase, but I'll still be trying out others just for fun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 viikate on 11/13/2010 6:28:00 PM more reviews by viikate

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    


Agree with previous reviewers: this makes lashes crispy and flaky. I had a (brand new) sample size; the first two applications were okay (but nothing special or outstanding), and the lashes were quite brittle feeling, after that it was always flaking and clumping on top of that, so I had to threw it out after just 6 uses :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxunavailablexx on 11/11/2010 2:07:00 PM more reviews by xxunavailablexx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

It's quite expensive, but I like it. It has fine brush, application is easy and my lashes get some volume and length. It doesn't smudge around my eyes when the weather is a bit wet. My lashes are looking well, and the most important thing - it doesn't stick them together. I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jsATC on 11/8/2010 3:37:00 PM more reviews by jsATC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a free sample of this with a purchase. I'm just a drugstore mascara type of girl, I never really pay much attention to mascara, and my usual choice is L'Oreal Voluminous.

I used Diorshow Blackout for my wedding and was pretty impressed with its thickening but it was a bit clumpy and sticky looking and I would never repurchase because it is SO expensive.

I gotta say, I am far more impressed with Sumptuous and would seriously consider buying a full size. I have several freebie samples in the rotation right now and I wore this for the first time last week and actually caught myself in the mirror and thought "Whoah, my lashes look long and thick!".

I do not have long lashes, nor are they thick or dark. Sumptuous very obviously lengthens but also seems to make them curl up, causing a nice eye-opening effect. It glides on very smoothly and thickens nicely but does not look cakey or clumpy at all (I'm lookin' at you, Diorshow). At first I wasn't impressed with the applicator because there's really nothing special about it but it somehow applies this mascara without clumping up at the tip.

It washes off easily with just Cetaphil gentle daily cleanser and so far has not irritated my eyes, although I am noticing that I need to pick out a couple clumps from my tear ducts when I wake up, but this is pretty normal for me with any mascara. As long as it's not making me itchy, I can deal with it.

It's still a bit pricey, but I would actually consider buying the full size of Sumptuous because it gave me such a nice, pretty, long fringey effect and yet still looks natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Mascara products