Estee Lauder Sumptuous

4.0

288 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Stearic Acid, Carnauba Wax, Polyisobutene, Glyceryl Stearate, Paraffin, Silica, Isostearic Acid, Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Olive Oil, Olive Oil Unsaponifiables, Pantethine, Polyamide 6, Kaolin, Capryl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Polytetrafluoroethylene, Hexylene Glycol, Simethicone, Chlorphenesin, Mica, Iron Oxide, Manganese Violet, Chromium Oxide Green, Titanium Dioxide, Prussian Blue, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Carmine, Bismuth Oxychloride, Ultramarines, Aminomethyl Propanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Polyvinyl Acetate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate / Sodium Acryloyl Dimethyl Taurate Copolymer, VP / Eicosene Copolymer, Panthenol.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The formula of this mascara is great. It isn't too thick and it isn't too thin. It's the perfect in-between. Also seemed very wet (most likely because it's new) and coated my top and bottom lashes without having to go for a second dip in the tube. It didn't take long to dry and didn't transfer all over my lids or under eyes. I was able to go back shortly to add another coat. It seems to build volume well - without looking clumpy (Like L'Oreal Voluminous or YSL Faux Cils might). One thing I noticed right away was the richness of the black. It is definitely the blackest black and has a glossy finish - love that!! Although this mascara doesn't necessarily lengthen and the main focus is on the volumizing.. I do feel that my lashes look the slightest longer. Nothing dramatic though. If you prefer a more natural look... you can still use this mascara, but you only need a few swipes. The claims are true that my lashes do feel very lightweight while wearing this mascara. I really like the brush. It is larger at the base and then gets smaller toward the end so you can get extra close to your lashes and get into the small corners of your eyes. The only downside to this mascara was that after a couple hours of wear, I would get black transfer under my eyes. *sigh* This is the main reason I never purchase new mascaras.. because the only one that has never transferred is Covergirl Lash Blast. If you don't have a problem with your mascara transferring, this is a great mascara to check out! Otherwise, if you're like me... you may want to stick with mascaras that claim to be smudgeproof.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/4/2011 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have a free sample of this and I love it! It really volumises my lashes without the spidery lash effect that say Givenchy Phenomen'eyes had and isn't clumpy at all. That said the price is pretty steep for a mascara so I don't know whether I will buy this when my sample runs out. For me this is more of a "going out" mascara, I will stick with my Clinique High Impact during the day time.


on 2/25/2011 5:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It gave my lashes a more volumized thicker appearance. I got it as a gwp but was impressed with it, i like the lash comb because its the kind that gives a more full effect due to the style of the wand. the wand has a lot to do with how the mascara itself applies. It smells like mascara, nothing bad at all. I like the navy and gold tube. It was good and I would try another one. Not sure i have to have it as I would like to try it again months later to see if my feeling are the same towards it but i would be happy to have another gwp to use to finalize my decision!


on 2/25/2011 4:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I got this in sample size (as part of an offer from a magazine), and although I was initially pleasantly suprised by the effects of this mascara, it being the first Estee Lauder mascara i've ever tried, I just feel it still doesn't match-up to my regular favourite mascaras.
I like the fact this mascara does exactly what it says its supposed to, as a 'Bold Volume Lifting Mascara', it gives a very clean and non-clumpy result of beautifully separated lashes and decent lifting effect (I don't have the steadiest of hands but when I applied it to my mum's lashes it went on perfectly-where as with most mascaras I ususally I get it smudged allover her eyelid, lol), and this mascara is suitable to wear for pretty much any occasion whether it be office, casual daytime or an evening out.
However, the thing I really dislike about this mascara is the chemical cosmetic smell it gives off when you use it. Its quite noticeable and unpleasant (especially when you compare it to the lovely fragranced smell of my GA Eyes to Kill Excess Mascara), and for a luxury product, from a long standing luxury brand, I feel Estee Lauder should really know better and at least be able to diguise the smell! Kinda feel that they created a drugstore style mascara with a high-end price tag!
I like my mascaras to be pretty high impact and although this one delivers what it claims, it lacks the intense and sultry eye look. And it didn't look as classy on my mum as her usual (Chanel Inimitable). There are sooo many mascaras on the market and i'm simply not blown away by this one.


on 2/25/2011 2:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Can be lifting if used properly!! It's a nice mascara and can create a nice look. The cons of this product are that you need multiple coats to achieve the dense lifted look and the product dried up quickly (like within a month).


on 2/18/2011 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Didn't do much for me. I suppose Estee Lauder is a good brand. But somehow I feel like this is a drug store quality mascara for a department store price. Maybe it's because of it's smell (smells moldy...-_-")
It thicken your lashes a little bit but doesn't do much for the lengthening or lifting. It starts to smudge after 3 to 4 hours. Try to wipe off the smudges? Sorry, you have to RUB!
Btw it dried out my lashes. I actually regret buying this.


on 1/28/2011 4:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I decided to try this because of all of the great reviews.

I found this really dried out my lashes and made them look clumpy and spider like...No good!

I recently just got Geisha Ink's mascara (because of the amazing reviews as well) and so far it has been the best!


on 1/28/2011 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this mascara in the States on advice at Sephora, being from Europe, it's much cheaper to buy US stuff while there ;-)
This mascara did not disappoint, it makes my lashes thicker, curled up, and more visible.
I do have to wear a primar though, to get the desired maximum look, and still then, I have the feeling I could find a better product to lengthen and get more volume.
No clogs, no spider look, it looks clean, and well defined, which I like.
To make a long story short, I will stick to this one until I find something better!


on 1/20/2011 12:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

love this mascara!
- very easy to apply
- provides BOTH good volume and length
- looks quite natural and soft
- not brittle/stiff
- does not flake
- does not clump
- easy to remove at the end of the day

the only downside to this mascara is that it smudges horribly on me. maybe the waterproof formula wouldn't smudge as badly but i've yet to try that one out. and of course, this mascara is not as cheap as drugstore brands.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this free when purchasing another product. This mascara is one of the best I've ever used, it volumizes and really lengthens and opens lashes. The ONLY problem was the smell, which is probably because it was old (which is probably why it was free). A dang shame, this is a really good mascara :(




Back to Top