Estee Lauder Sumptuous

4.0

287 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/25/2011 5:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It gave my lashes a more volumized thicker appearance. I got it as a gwp but was impressed with it, i like the lash comb because its the kind that gives a more full effect due to the style of the wand. the wand has a lot to do with how the mascara itself applies. It smells like mascara, nothing bad at all. I like the navy and gold tube. It was good and I would try another one. Not sure i have to have it as I would like to try it again months later to see if my feeling are the same towards it but i would be happy to have another gwp to use to finalize my decision!



on 2/25/2011 4:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I got this in sample size (as part of an offer from a magazine), and although I was initially pleasantly suprised by the effects of this mascara, it being the first Estee Lauder mascara i've ever tried, I just feel it still doesn't match-up to my regular favourite mascaras.
I like the fact this mascara does exactly what it says its supposed to, as a 'Bold Volume Lifting Mascara', it gives a very clean and non-clumpy result of beautifully separated lashes and decent lifting effect (I don't have the steadiest of hands but when I applied it to my mum's lashes it went on perfectly-where as with most mascaras I ususally I get it smudged allover her eyelid, lol), and this mascara is suitable to wear for pretty much any occasion whether it be office, casual daytime or an evening out.
However, the thing I really dislike about this mascara is the chemical cosmetic smell it gives off when you use it. Its quite noticeable and unpleasant (especially when you compare it to the lovely fragranced smell of my GA Eyes to Kill Excess Mascara), and for a luxury product, from a long standing luxury brand, I feel Estee Lauder should really know better and at least be able to diguise the smell! Kinda feel that they created a drugstore style mascara with a high-end price tag!
I like my mascaras to be pretty high impact and although this one delivers what it claims, it lacks the intense and sultry eye look. And it didn't look as classy on my mum as her usual (Chanel Inimitable). There are sooo many mascaras on the market and i'm simply not blown away by this one.


on 2/25/2011 2:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Can be lifting if used properly!! It's a nice mascara and can create a nice look. The cons of this product are that you need multiple coats to achieve the dense lifted look and the product dried up quickly (like within a month).


on 2/18/2011 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Didn't do much for me. I suppose Estee Lauder is a good brand. But somehow I feel like this is a drug store quality mascara for a department store price. Maybe it's because of it's smell (smells moldy...-_-")
It thicken your lashes a little bit but doesn't do much for the lengthening or lifting. It starts to smudge after 3 to 4 hours. Try to wipe off the smudges? Sorry, you have to RUB!
Btw it dried out my lashes. I actually regret buying this.


on 1/28/2011 4:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I decided to try this because of all of the great reviews.

I found this really dried out my lashes and made them look clumpy and spider like...No good!

I recently just got Geisha Ink's mascara (because of the amazing reviews as well) and so far it has been the best!


on 1/28/2011 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this mascara in the States on advice at Sephora, being from Europe, it's much cheaper to buy US stuff while there ;-)
This mascara did not disappoint, it makes my lashes thicker, curled up, and more visible.
I do have to wear a primar though, to get the desired maximum look, and still then, I have the feeling I could find a better product to lengthen and get more volume.
No clogs, no spider look, it looks clean, and well defined, which I like.
To make a long story short, I will stick to this one until I find something better!


on 1/20/2011 12:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

love this mascara!
- very easy to apply
- provides BOTH good volume and length
- looks quite natural and soft
- not brittle/stiff
- does not flake
- does not clump
- easy to remove at the end of the day

the only downside to this mascara is that it smudges horribly on me. maybe the waterproof formula wouldn't smudge as badly but i've yet to try that one out. and of course, this mascara is not as cheap as drugstore brands.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this free when purchasing another product. This mascara is one of the best I've ever used, it volumizes and really lengthens and opens lashes. The ONLY problem was the smell, which is probably because it was old (which is probably why it was free). A dang shame, this is a really good mascara :(


on 1/1/2011 9:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as a freebie at Nordstrom. Other posters are correct: this stuff is fabulous. I got full, lengthened lashes with no clumping, flaking or smudging. This also looks natural, which I prefer. This mascara is indeed sumptuous...but the performance of Clinique High Impact is close enough for me at a much better price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2010 5:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this mascara and I am impressed. I use my Shu eye lash curler and put one coat of this mascara. It separates my lashes, it opens up my eyes and adds nice volume (my lashes do not look fake or spidery, a look that I do not like). It does not clump and the lashes look thicker and more defined. It lasts all day without smudging and flaking (I tested it in the gym and after cardio and workout it was still perfect - and I use the normal version, not the waterproof one). Easy to take off in the evening with a normal eye make up remover. I may consider buying the full size. However, I prefer GA Eyes to Kill, the original version of that mascara is truly amazing (but far more expensive). There is a special edition of the sumptuous mascara with eye cream and eye make up removal, that would be good value.
** EDIT: I bought the full version of this mascara and it is terrible, it looks like it is another product compared to the sample. It is very dry, does not add that much volume and my lashes look spidery. Not good. I will stick to GA from now on.


Back to Top