Cover Girl CG Smoothers Concealer

3.7

288 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Squalane, PPG 2 Myristyl Ether Propionate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Triisocetyl Citrate, Trimethicone, Euphorbia Cerifera Wax (Candelilla), Ozokerite, Chamomilla Recutita Extract (Matricaria), Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, C10 18 Triglycerides, Propylparaben, Copernicia Cerifera Wax (Carnauba), Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, May Contain ( /-): Mica 6/2/09


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this. This has been my go-to concealer for awhile now. The neutralizer color works best for my skin tone. To cover blemishes, I dab it on my skin. To cover dark circles, I swipe it under each eye then blend with a finger. This seems to work best. It is very creamy so it never looks cakey, just make sure to set it with a powder so it doesn't slide.



on 4/24/2010 1:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

May work great for those with dry skin, but on my oily combination skin just melts off mid-day. Didn't work for under eye circles or blemishes. Color selection's also limited.

I find use for it for mixing with another drier concealer to match my skintone, but I probably won't repurchase.


on 4/16/2010 1:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to have this at all times! It does wonders for my dark circles! the only thing is, is that it smears right below my eye. other than that I love it!


on 4/13/2010 11:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

poor coverage, didn't last, doesn't work well. in it's defense, however,
i tried it after l'ancome effacernes water proof undereye concealer.
that's a hard act to follow!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I currently use the translucent complact powder # 710 and Stick form neutralizer. Both are excellent. I use the powder to set my blush and the neutralizer for under my eyes. I've found out by mistake that the stick neutralizer is the BEST acne healer! I use it at night on my blemishes and in a few days they are gone. I've had acne all my life and have tried several acne washes, creams, skin systems and nothing has healed my acne as fast as the stick neutralizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this concealer in Light. It did absolutely NOTHING for me! Did not cover my dark circles or my pimples. It has no lasting power and flaked when I applied it. This is a below average drugstore product.


on 4/3/2010 6:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

The only concealer that conceals my dark circles! =) Unfortunately, my shade isn't available. =(
I have medium Asian skin with WARM/NEUTRAL undertones. So what I do is I go over my dark circles with this and then I use Almay's sheer concealer in medium, which matches my skin tone perfectly, over it. And whoo-hoo! Dark circles concealed for the rest of the day. It's still pretty time-consuming and I really don't like how I have to use two products so I'm still looking for my HG concealer.
Pros:
- Lasts all day
- Buildable
- Opaque
Cons:
- Doesn't match my skintone!! =( It's way too pink-y for me. If you have pink undertones, this is the concealer for you!
EDIT (May 2010): Ever since discovering Revlon's Age Defying Concealer, I no longer use this as a concealer. Instead, I use it as a highlighter since it doesn't match my skin tone. I spread a bit in my cupid's bow, along the tops of my cheeks, under my brows, and in the inner corners of my eyes. It's also matte, which is not really what I'd like a highlighter to be, so on top of it I use Boots No7 Beauty Fluid, which is too shimmery to be a highlighter. Together, they give me the highlightened look I want without having to throw out any products. :)


on 4/1/2010 8:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

You can get this concealer for less than $10.it's so great I usally go for a sephora
concealer...but now I know then don't work so well on my
combo skin.I bought this in a hurry on my way to a Xmas party for work and wow I love this stuff since then I bought like 10(just to make sure I don't run out.but I'm on my second one.)

I think this product is great for all skin types even oily!try it out!!!!

UPDATE:
I find that if you rub your finger on the concealer then apply the concealer with your finger you can get better coverage !


on 3/31/2010 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the neutralizer.

I have red hair, fair skin with freckles.

I picked this up on a whim cause the Kevyn Aucoin sensual skin enhancer i was using as concealer was breaking me out. I choose this one due to the ingredients and because I needed a cheap concealer. Generally I do not buy drugstore concealer because the color ranges just don't work for me.

For my fair skin, this seems to be perfect. It does help to neutralize my spots and dark circles. It does leave the areas a bit lighter in color than the rest of my skin, but this works just fine for under my eyes - it brightens them and makes me look not quite as tired. This is not a long lasting formula. If you touch or wipe the area, it will "disappear". It's creamy enough to blend once it's warmed to your skin. I apply it under my Bare Escentuals mineral foundation.

Edited - After I wrote this review, I became more critical of this. On occasion, I use primer. This concealer just slides off my skin if I use a primer. It is creamy. It does blend well. It does cover somewhat on me. But it's just meh. There's no wow factor to it. And I am beginning to notice that it's not covering my dark circles all that well anymore. So I had to downgrade my review.


on 3/13/2010 5:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I found that this concealer ran out REALLY fast and the coverage just wasn't there. I would apply this under my nose area and when I can home, there was literally only an obvious streak left under my nose. I found this really sparkly and all my friends noticed. It did not last throughout my school hours and the cap and tube became dirty VERY quickly, I treat my products with the greatest care, yet this always seems to get dirty. It's just not a very good product at all. It didn't damage my skin or anything but I just wish there was more that came from this product. Will never repurchase,


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review: Maybelline Coverstick vs. Covergirl CG Smoothers by ginabinawina



Back to Top