Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(136 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tdhx0 on 9/2/2012 12:42:00 AM more reviews by tdhx0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've already finished my big bottle of this. I absolutely love it! I get compliments on it EVERY time I wear it. Definitely not a long wearing perfume, but it stays on me for quite some time during my day. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rena10 on 8/28/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by rena10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

love this....great warm sweet sexy scent! if you love flowerbomb, this is for u! love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hesperia on 8/28/2012 10:04:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: Ok, tested this again yesterday. Must knock off a couple of lippies. Did I say the initial whiff was a bit harsh? Make that, toxic. I sprayed some on my wrist at Sephora and I couldn't wait to scrub it off. And you're getting this from someone who is NOT afraid of strong scents. If you can wait for the dry-down, you might like this. For me, the initial harshness just took too long to go away. Not for me. .


I sprayed some of this stuff at Sephora today and I liked it. It is sweet, but not in a cotton candy way (like the horrid Acquolina Pink Sugar). More of a gourmand sweet. Unlike others, it's the dry-down I liked. The initial whiff was a bit harsh, but later it turned into a soft, sweet, powdery scent. I love iris, so no problem for me there. This would make a yummy cold weather scent, although I'm one of those people who wears anything anytime.


Would I buy it? I'm not sure. I need to get a sample and wear it for a couple of days before I decide. But the first impression was a good one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 8/23/2012 2:36:00 AM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

La Vie est Belle flaunts loads of powdery iris on top, with jasmine and orange blossom, a generous helping of praline, vanilla, and is anchored with subtle patchouli in the base. Very feminine, extremely sweet, very pretty in the later drydown but a bit overwhelming for me with iris, sweet praline and vanilla in the opening and early in the drydown. Reminds me of a mix of Coco Mademoiselle, Flowerbomb, and Prada Candy. I get several hours of longevity from La Vie Est Belle, and it's around even the next morning. The final drydown the next day is much like Shalimar Initial with the iris, jasmine, vanilla and patchouli.

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleo777 on 8/22/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, here's my two cents on this. Loved it at first since I am a big fan of fruity gourmands, or just regular gourmands, but didn't like the drydown. Of course the nice fruity part disappears (sigh...as par usual) and you're left with the heavy-duty I'M A PERFUME smell that just makes you want to yock. I don't know much about "notes" but it was pretty darn strong. So no.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 8/22/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's very sweet, very cotton candy-like. It reminds me of Flowerbomb by Victor&Rolf. Another perfume that smell's a bit like this is Black XS by Paco Rabanne (but XS is even sweeter). I guess, if you have one of those, you don't really need this one.
.
This smells like all of the sweet things in a bakery. This is so sugary that I can't really detect much else in this fragrance, which makes it pretty boring to me. Generally, I would say this smells like something one would eat/it smells gourmand. I'm not a fan of such sweet and cloying smells. The description says:
"This gourmand yet elegant composition is developed by perfumers Olivier Polge, Dominique Ropion and Anne Flipo. The final formula is the result achieved after three years of probation and 5000 versions."
So, after 3 years, 3 of France's leading perfumers came up with THIS...?
.
BTW, I don't consider this an 'elegant' smell - it smells like something a typical teenage girl would wear, and therefore, to me it doesn't smell particularly expensive. The other type of person this reminds me of is a plus-sized super happy lady that loves to bake.
.
Not work-environment friendly, I would say. Both my boyfriend and I, who both has sensitive noses can't handle this - it's so strong!
.
The staying power is good - I wish all of the perfumes I love had such staying power. You should be VERY careful about how much you put on - only a few drops is what it takes to fill a small room with the smell of this.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabulyss on 8/21/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by fabulyss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

If you like Flowerbomb or Coco Mademoiselle, you'll like this. It's sweet, girly and romantic. It's a lovely introduction to perfumes for a teenage girl. Not so perfect for an adult woman (I'm 28).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 8/17/2012 12:57:00 PM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm extremely particular and sensitive when it comes to scents. There's maybe 3-4 that I really liked enough to ever purchase. I like this a lot. Got this as a sample when I bought another product at Lancome and tested it on one arm. Hmm, nice!... So I gave myself a good spritz and enjoyed it more the longer I wore it as the middle and end notes emerged. Thinking I might just have to buy a bottle of this!.... Turns out my husband (likes the scent too) but is severely allergic to something in it..... this we discovered about 2 minutes after snuggling while watching TV when he started to sneeze nonstop and his throat and sinuses swelled. Maybe be the iris? :(

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VikiLyn on 8/16/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by VikiLyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this. I don't know why but lately I have been really into the sweeter, vanilla sugar scents. I've never liked them before! But for the past year or so, I am drawn to them, particularly Lancome scents - Hypnose, Tresor Midnight Rose, and now La Vie Est Belle.
I smell mainly vanilla and some chocolate in this - I guess I do get some powdery iris. I can't really smell any patchouli, which is a good thing since its not my favorite. I am really going to love this in the fall - it just smells so warm on me. I don't think it smells too young, although my daughter does love it and is "sharing" my bottle! Midnight Rose smells younger, with its fruity, raspberry notes. This just smells GOOD. And it does make me happy - like life IS beautiful! It lasts a long time (all day) on me, but stays pretty unobtrusive - its not something you can smell across the room. I like the bottle too - its pretty without being too frou-frou. Overall, yeah, I would buy this again unless I get sick of these scents and move on to something else :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glassofwater on 8/16/2012 5:16:00 PM more reviews by glassofwater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Shrill and stomach turning.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products