Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(132 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleo777 on 8/22/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, here's my two cents on this. Loved it at first since I am a big fan of fruity gourmands, or just regular gourmands, but didn't like the drydown. Of course the nice fruity part disappears (sigh...as par usual) and you're left with the heavy-duty I'M A PERFUME smell that just makes you want to yock. I don't know much about "notes" but it was pretty darn strong. So no.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 8/22/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's very sweet, very cotton candy-like. It reminds me of Flowerbomb by Victor&Rolf. Another perfume that smell's a bit like this is Black XS by Paco Rabanne (but XS is even sweeter). I guess, if you have one of those, you don't really need this one.
.
This smells like all of the sweet things in a bakery. This is so sugary that I can't really detect much else in this fragrance, which makes it pretty boring to me. Generally, I would say this smells like something one would eat/it smells gourmand. I'm not a fan of such sweet and cloying smells. The description says:
"This gourmand yet elegant composition is developed by perfumers Olivier Polge, Dominique Ropion and Anne Flipo. The final formula is the result achieved after three years of probation and 5000 versions."
So, after 3 years, 3 of France's leading perfumers came up with THIS...?
.
BTW, I don't consider this an 'elegant' smell - it smells like something a typical teenage girl would wear, and therefore, to me it doesn't smell particularly expensive. The other type of person this reminds me of is a plus-sized super happy lady that loves to bake.
.
Not work-environment friendly, I would say. Both my boyfriend and I, who both has sensitive noses can't handle this - it's so strong!
.
The staying power is good - I wish all of the perfumes I love had such staying power. You should be VERY careful about how much you put on - only a few drops is what it takes to fill a small room with the smell of this.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabulyss on 8/21/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by fabulyss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

If you like Flowerbomb or Coco Mademoiselle, you'll like this. It's sweet, girly and romantic. It's a lovely introduction to perfumes for a teenage girl. Not so perfect for an adult woman (I'm 28).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 8/17/2012 12:57:00 PM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm extremely particular and sensitive when it comes to scents. There's maybe 3-4 that I really liked enough to ever purchase. I like this a lot. Got this as a sample when I bought another product at Lancome and tested it on one arm. Hmm, nice!... So I gave myself a good spritz and enjoyed it more the longer I wore it as the middle and end notes emerged. Thinking I might just have to buy a bottle of this!.... Turns out my husband (likes the scent too) but is severely allergic to something in it..... this we discovered about 2 minutes after snuggling while watching TV when he started to sneeze nonstop and his throat and sinuses swelled. Maybe be the iris? :(

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VikiLyn on 8/16/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by VikiLyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this. I don't know why but lately I have been really into the sweeter, vanilla sugar scents. I've never liked them before! But for the past year or so, I am drawn to them, particularly Lancome scents - Hypnose, Tresor Midnight Rose, and now La Vie Est Belle.
I smell mainly vanilla and some chocolate in this - I guess I do get some powdery iris. I can't really smell any patchouli, which is a good thing since its not my favorite. I am really going to love this in the fall - it just smells so warm on me. I don't think it smells too young, although my daughter does love it and is "sharing" my bottle! Midnight Rose smells younger, with its fruity, raspberry notes. This just smells GOOD. And it does make me happy - like life IS beautiful! It lasts a long time (all day) on me, but stays pretty unobtrusive - its not something you can smell across the room. I like the bottle too - its pretty without being too frou-frou. Overall, yeah, I would buy this again unless I get sick of these scents and move on to something else :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glassofwater on 8/16/2012 5:16:00 PM more reviews by glassofwater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Shrill and stomach turning.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nathaliez on 8/14/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by nathaliez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautifully crafted perfume! Although I can see the comparison with Flowerbomb in the very top notes, La Vie est Belle is so much more complex, better overall
Flowerbomb is sweet throughout, with not much change. LVEB is more dimensional with notes that are so well crafted, and blend in to create a great scent, a modern chypre with class and sophistication.
The patchouli is present but high quality also, so it isn't overwelming
It is a bold rich scent that will work great in cool weather. In warm weather it can be a bit much.
I will add the lasting power is fantastic!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sk0046 on 8/14/2012 1:59:00 AM more reviews by sk0046

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a big fan of sweet perfumes, and working for Lancôme wanting to wear the fragrances I sell, I was extremely thrilled about this new scent "La Vie Est Belle" - Life is Beautiful. I used to wear Trésor Midnight Rose because it was the only sweet perfume we had. Trésor In Love is also a very beautiful perfume that we have and sell a lot of. I'm very happy to say that LVEB is a wonderful perfume if you like sweet scents. It really is similar to Flower Bomb, but a lot cheaper and I think LVEB smells a little better (: enjoy!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 libbynan on 8/12/2012 11:13:00 AM more reviews by libbynan

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this scent. I tried it on as a sample yesterday and it still lingers. It reminds me of Angel but not as heavy. Lately it seems like every perfume I try just doesn't last very long. You have to reapply. Not this one. It has a nice chocolate undertone to its scent. Love it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shwets on 8/11/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Shwets

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is flowerbombs twin. On my cardi flowerbomb on one arm and la vie on the other, neither me or my friend could tell the difference. On my skin la vie is slightly sweeter and refined. I prefer this to flowerbomb which is slightly masculine on me. Both last just as long. But just not my kind of scent too synthetic smelling and sharp. But flowerbomb lovers need to try as a potential replacement. No need to purchase this if you already own flowerbomb unless you wished flowerbomb was sweeter.

Update 22.08.12 - SA sprayed on me and lasts on my skin like a leech!! It just is too sharp for my liking and irritates me so downgraded from 3 to 2. That same effect that flowerbomb has.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products