Lancome La Vie Est Belle

3.7

156 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/6/2012 12:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I think I just found my HG!! Who knew I would fall in love with a sweet gourmand?? After a frustrating hour in Nordstrom's trying to find a fragrance to bring home with me, I spotted LVEB and tried a tiny spritz. It was love at first sniff!! I accused my poor saleslady of holding out on me, but to her defense, she also had no idea I would suddenly decide I loved sweet gourmands. Before that time, I mainly wanted Orientals and Chypres. But LVEB lifted me up to fragrance nirvana. Being a little skeptical about sinking my teetlh into a brand new fragrance-I purchased the small bottle. It is now empty and I have already purchased the biggest bottle they had. I just love love love this fragrance. I don't care about reviews, generally, but I see some people have really hated this fragrance. It is NOT for everyone as the sweetness can be a bit cloying. But on my perfume-eating skin, it's just right! Plus-my husband loves it!! What more could I want?? Do yourself a favor and give it a try!

12-11-2013 Almost a year since I wrote the above and I'm still loving this fragrance! I'm on my third large bottle and have been through a few smaller ones as well! This is still a HG for me and I have yet to tire of it.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm very picky with my perfumes and this one is beautiful. very girly and perfect for Australian summer. it last forever on the skin. Men love it, ladies love it.

Other perfumes I like;
Dior Addict
YSL Cinema
Elizabeth Arden Irresistable Woman
Dyptique Eu Duelle


on 11/3/2012 9:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm quite surprised that Julia Roberts is the face of this fragrance, as I find her maybe the last celebrity on earth it would remind me of. I would expect a bubblier and younger celebrity to advertise this. I don't mean to offend at all by saying younger, I'm no teenager myself, it's just that this fragrance is so sugary, overwhelmingly girly and sweet. Nothing elegant or sophisticated about it whatsoever, it's not very far from Pink Sugar.
It starts off with an aggressive, in your face, syrupy sugar note, but once it settles there's a somewhat bitter, burnt note underneath. Maybe it's about my skin chemistry? Anyway, I would have given it a lower rating, but if I'm being honest I have an unbecoming weakness for sweet, tacky scents (yes, Pink Sugar too) so this is not entirely awful to me.
However: if you want a sweet scent that is sophisticated and elegant at the same time, go for Prada Candy instead. Then if, like me, you are willing to give up sophistication for sex appeal, go for Flowerbomb. Both are favorites of mine and sweet, candy gourmands done much better than this fragrance here.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2012 11:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was quite disappointed in this, not because it's a bad fragrance, but because it was so similar to Flowerbomb on me. The opening notes were like Coco Mademoiselle for a while, then almost identical to Flowerbomb through to the dry down. Do try it on yourself, as scents often smell different on different people. It has good sillage and good lasting power. There is no way I'd buy this personally, as I already own Flowerbomb and it's pretty much a dupe on me.


on 11/2/2012 3:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this fragrance! Normally I am not a big fan of Lancome fragrances, but they hit the mark on this one! Saw the whole "spiel" on HSN not long ago about it and they described it as a gourmand + fruity smell and it really is very YUMMY!

I agree with others that it's got a "sugary" scent, but it's not sickeningly sweet and it definitely is a more sophisticated fragrance than Pink Sugar, which I loved for a while and even bought more and realized I didn't love it anymore!

I bought La Vie Est Belle at Ulta. The 1 oz was $55 and the packaging is adorable with a little gray ribbon around the neck of the bottle and the pretty pink-ish color of the juice. On HSN, the Lancome rep said that the bottle design was created back in the 1949 and has been re-designed from the classic Lancome fragrances. I found that intriguing as well.

As for whether or not it's similar to Flowerbomb...I guess I can *see* that, but it's not so similar that I feel like I have duplicate fragrances. This is more "sugary" than Flowerbomb and Flowerbomb seems to have more vanilla in it than La Vie Est Belle.

Overall, I love this fragrance and I can imagine running out quite quickly and will re-purchase the largest size when I do.


on 10/21/2012 9:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is the longest lasting perfume I have found in ages. The only thing comparable is Must by Cartier. This seems like more of a perfume for women not girls. Does not remind me of Flowerbomb at all. The notes are lovely and it is ultimately a creamy soft oriental on me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Vile.


on 10/13/2012 1:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

The pear is the strongest fruit note on me - well, I say strongest, but it is still pretty soft and doesn't leave me with a lasting impression. There is soft vanilla present through all of the fragrance too, with adds a creamy sweetness and warmth to the fragrance. The patchouli is also quick to develop, so whilst everything is sweet, it's not cloyingly so.


The floral notes used are powdery and just provide a background for the iris. It's quite startling how, after around two hours, the fragrance suddenly changes from a soft gourmand to present the wearer with a rich iris note. I don't have much experience with iris in perfumes, so LA VIE EST BELLE is unique to me.


After another few hours the fragrance turns slightly nutty and even creamier as the rest of the base notes develop. Whilst the iris note dies down, the combined powderiness of the floral notes remain and softly fade away with the base notes after around nine hours on my skin.




Official scent notes: Iris, orange blossoms, jasmine, black currant, pear, tonka bean, praline, patchouli and vanilla

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2012 6:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Why i like it. it's light, it's sweet, it's caramel-y, it's really girly, but not too much. Boyfriend loves it. The price is like any other high end perfume, and well yeah. I love lancome for their frangrances..


on 9/30/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This smells great, very close to Flowerbomb. I used to wear Flowerbomb a lot and this scent is very similar, I tend to like more vanilla based purfumes, but this is still good value for money overall. :)




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1357 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1405 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top