Lancome La Vie Est Belle

3.7

160 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/13/2012 6:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This smells delicious. It's very, very sweet smelling, but just smells so enchantingly delicious that I couldn't help smelling my fragrance card I picked up at the mall all day. After a day of sitting on my coffee table, the fragrance was still there and radiating through the room. This perfume definitely fills a room and isn't a perfume that sits close to the skin, so it's a long lasting, strong fragrance. It smells lovely. I picked up a bottle. It's more expensive than a lot of other perfumes and it's harder to find a cheaper bottle on Amazon or cheaper online retailers, but I think it's worth it. Lasts a very long time and smells delicious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/6/2012 5:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ugh! Heavy and spicy. This gave me a headache within two minutes. Made me nauseated, and then I saw it has patchouli and I realized why. Gives me flashbacks of my evil kindergarten teacher.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 1:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Fragrance preferences are very personal... To me, this has a strong kick of patchouli - the same one that Coco Mademoiselle has - which gives me an instant gag reaction and sometimes triggers a migraine. Boo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has taken the place of JS Fancy as my go-to fragrance now. The top layer smells a lot like Flowerbomb but this scent is actually a little sweeter on me which I could see some people not liking but I happen to love. I got the gift set and fyi the lotion is horrid. They overdid the iris in it and I can't even use it. So I'll be happy to swap if someone wants it.
6/28/14 Edit: This fragrance is sooo strong. I can spray my wrists once in the morning and still smell it when I get home. So it can be completely overbearing. I now just spray my ankles and this helps some. And now only wear it when its cold cause wearing in the summer would make me gag.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 12:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I think I just found my HG!! Who knew I would fall in love with a sweet gourmand?? After a frustrating hour in Nordstrom's trying to find a fragrance to bring home with me, I spotted LVEB and tried a tiny spritz. It was love at first sniff!! I accused my poor saleslady of holding out on me, but to her defense, she also had no idea I would suddenly decide I loved sweet gourmands. Before that time, I mainly wanted Orientals and Chypres. But LVEB lifted me up to fragrance nirvana. Being a little skeptical about sinking my teetlh into a brand new fragrance-I purchased the small bottle. It is now empty and I have already purchased the biggest bottle they had. I just love love love this fragrance. I don't care about reviews, generally, but I see some people have really hated this fragrance. It is NOT for everyone as the sweetness can be a bit cloying. But on my perfume-eating skin, it's just right! Plus-my husband loves it!! What more could I want?? Do yourself a favor and give it a try!

12-11-2013 Almost a year since I wrote the above and I'm still loving this fragrance! I'm on my third large bottle and have been through a few smaller ones as well! This is still a HG for me and I have yet to tire of it.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm very picky with my perfumes and this one is beautiful. very girly and perfect for Australian summer. it last forever on the skin. Men love it, ladies love it.

Other perfumes I like;
Dior Addict
YSL Cinema
Elizabeth Arden Irresistable Woman
Dyptique Eu Duelle


on 11/3/2012 9:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm quite surprised that Julia Roberts is the face of this fragrance, as I find her maybe the last celebrity on earth it would remind me of. I would expect a bubblier and younger celebrity to advertise this. I don't mean to offend at all by saying younger, I'm no teenager myself, it's just that this fragrance is so sugary, overwhelmingly girly and sweet. Nothing elegant or sophisticated about it whatsoever, it's not very far from Pink Sugar.
It starts off with an aggressive, in your face, syrupy sugar note, but once it settles there's a somewhat bitter, burnt note underneath. Maybe it's about my skin chemistry? Anyway, I would have given it a lower rating, but if I'm being honest I have an unbecoming weakness for sweet, tacky scents (yes, Pink Sugar too) so this is not entirely awful to me.
However: if you want a sweet scent that is sophisticated and elegant at the same time, go for Prada Candy instead. Then if, like me, you are willing to give up sophistication for sex appeal, go for Flowerbomb. Both are favorites of mine and sweet, candy gourmands done much better than this fragrance here.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2012 11:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was quite disappointed in this, not because it's a bad fragrance, but because it was so similar to Flowerbomb on me. The opening notes were like Coco Mademoiselle for a while, then almost identical to Flowerbomb through to the dry down. Do try it on yourself, as scents often smell different on different people. It has good sillage and good lasting power. There is no way I'd buy this personally, as I already own Flowerbomb and it's pretty much a dupe on me.


on 11/2/2012 3:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this fragrance! Normally I am not a big fan of Lancome fragrances, but they hit the mark on this one! Saw the whole "spiel" on HSN not long ago about it and they described it as a gourmand + fruity smell and it really is very YUMMY!

I agree with others that it's got a "sugary" scent, but it's not sickeningly sweet and it definitely is a more sophisticated fragrance than Pink Sugar, which I loved for a while and even bought more and realized I didn't love it anymore!

I bought La Vie Est Belle at Ulta. The 1 oz was $55 and the packaging is adorable with a little gray ribbon around the neck of the bottle and the pretty pink-ish color of the juice. On HSN, the Lancome rep said that the bottle design was created back in the 1949 and has been re-designed from the classic Lancome fragrances. I found that intriguing as well.

As for whether or not it's similar to Flowerbomb...I guess I can *see* that, but it's not so similar that I feel like I have duplicate fragrances. This is more "sugary" than Flowerbomb and Flowerbomb seems to have more vanilla in it than La Vie Est Belle.

Overall, I love this fragrance and I can imagine running out quite quickly and will re-purchase the largest size when I do.


on 10/21/2012 9:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is the longest lasting perfume I have found in ages. The only thing comparable is Must by Cartier. This seems like more of a perfume for women not girls. Does not remind me of Flowerbomb at all. The notes are lovely and it is ultimately a creamy soft oriental on me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Top Rated Lancome Products

image

Foundation Brush

150 reviews
image

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top