Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lzphill on 9/21/2012 1:16:00 AM more reviews by lzphill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product. It is easy to apply and there is a wide range of colors to make sure you get a perfect match. Coverage is great and the finish is very natural and youthful overall. You also get a good amount of product in the tube, since you don't have to apply much. Now for the downside..... At first I was pleased with the product. I have extremely oily areas to my skin (T-zone, areas to right and left of nose, and chin) and this doesn't get rid of shine totally if its really hot outside but the oil will dry up once one cools off if you do tend to sweat a lot. All was well and I had switched from the only other foundation that has ever worked for my EXTREMELY acne prone skin (adult hormonal acne that also flares up with products it doesn't like), the Clinique City Base compact foundation. That was until I started getting pimples and blackheads all over my face, particularly in the chin, forehead, and between my nose and cheeks areas. Now, I have little blackheads and bumps all over and several painful cysts that aren't too visible but only because they are still under the skin. Guess I will be ditching what I have left of this product and going back to the City Base and use of oil blotting sheets. A light sheen and the need to blot beats massive breakouts consisting of bumps and painful cysts any day! I caution against the use of this product to anyone who has extremely acne prone skin!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 9/18/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Maybe it's because of my primer, or maybe because it's my weird combination skin, but this foundation just...isn't matte. I know matte, and this isn't it. If anything, it has a cross between a luminous and a satin finish.
But, you know, it's weird, because even though it's not matte, it really does control oil. I was running a mile under 85-degree heat, direct sunshine, and by the time I was done, I did have a little bit of a sheen, but I wasn't completely oily like I would expect.
It really doesn't make sense to me how a non-matte foundation can control oil, but who cares as long as it works, right?
The coverage is great as well. It has a medium buildable coverage that is really nice--it's enough to even out my skintone and cover up some blemishes. I still need a concealer for some dark spots, but that's fine with me.
The shade Beige is a pretty good match for me. I'm NC35 in MAC, and Beige is a little too neutral for me, but it's not too noticeable as long as I avoid direct sunlight lol. Anywho, I can just fix that problem by setting it with a powder with yellow undertones or mixing it with a foundation with yellow undertones.
I also love how it's oil-free, and the price (only TWENTY THREE fricken dollars! How cheap is that?!) makes it a definite steal.
Would I repurchase? No, because I already have way way way way too many foundations.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 istyleit on 9/6/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by istyleit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a week. I love love the color of it (im a 7) it looks great on my skin....does not in any way make me oily. But I have to admit the staying power is average. MUF HD stays on way better but after using MUF for a year I think its breaking me out. I dont mind reapplying a little at the end of my day before evening because it doesnt break me out. Anyways yes i would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 9/5/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin and this has been my savior!! I've never used Clinique foundations before since I always thought expensive foundations were the way to go. I've used all MAC, MUFE HD and matte velvet, Chanel perfection lumier, Lancome Teinte ido 24 hr and these foundations don't hold a candle to this. for ref i'm nc42 and sand was perfect match, I use no powder on top, easy to blend, medium to buildable coverage and literally last over 12 hours on me in hot ass Texas!! I can't rave enough about this product because I seriously believed I'd never find one for my oily skin. what I really love about the product even more is the color sand is the best color match I've every gotten from any foundation. I will forever repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cliniquerox on 9/2/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by cliniquerox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! Have extremely oily skin & don't have to touch up at all throughout the day. New favorite product!! Will repurchase again & again :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 malloryh13 on 9/2/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by malloryh13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I live in Alberta so we have a super dry climate and my skin is super oily. I usually have to blot my face 5 times a day to keep the shine off but with this foundation I don't have to. I don't have to use a powder over top all i use is my Lise Watier primer underneath and it works wonderfully. The only problem I have with it is I find the foundation kind of clumps up on your face, like your forehead, where you tend to secrete more oil. I've only noticed this a couple times but it's easy to blend out. I wish it gave just a hint more coverage but other then that I really like this product. I've tried other clinique products before and didn't like them at all and was really skeptical about this one but it works wonderfully!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 4flomote on 9/2/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by 4flomote

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I obtained a sample of this foundation at the Clinique counter @ the mall. I was matched as "beige" which was a good match. Sadly after using it for 3 days I was very underwhelmed with this foundation. After 2 hours of wear, I was shiny and needed to blot. I even used an oil free primer under this and finishing powder! It just didn't hold up to Florida's hot, humid summer!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smellthecoffee on 9/2/2012 1:43:00 AM more reviews by smellthecoffee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, let me start off by saying I have REALLY oily skin. After washing my face, I will get shiny and oily before the hour is up. Anyway, I tried Stay-Matte and was so ecstatic with the results! I went for over 7 hours of no shine! Throughout the day, I used to constantly blot or add powder to my face, which was SUCH a hassle, but now I am confident that my skin is going to stay matte for hours and hours! This product is absolutely amazing! If you have oily skin, give Stay-Matte a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cindahBEAR on 9/2/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by cindahBEAR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm new to liquid foundations... so I don't have much to compare this to, but here goes...
I bought this in 05Fair...which was actually too dark if I tried to build. It goes on fine and it has sheer coverage that just kind of evens skin tone but doesn't cover blemishes at all. And for my skin at least, it does not live up to the 'stay matte' claims. I'm definitely shiney by mid-day, if not sooner.
It's an ok product... but I just wasn't terribly impressed by it and would try something else before buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 8/31/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this foundation so much, in the store, the color matched perfectly. After going home, it really oxidized and became orangey. Also I did not see any oil control at all especially since I have acne prone and oily skin. After a week of using this product, I began to get really dry and crusty around the outer rims of my mouth. I ended up going to the doctor and the doctor asked me if I was using any new products on my face. So this was basically the culprit. Something in this formula is not gentle for my sensitive skin.....

Anyways I also use the Acne-Solutions foundation, although I do not like the oxidation that occurs, its ten times better than this at controlling oil and keeping my face healthy..


DO NOT BUY

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products