L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2931 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 11/16/2010 5:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have this in shade C1. I use it to mix with cover girl creamy natural. The cover girl is a little orange and mixed together they are my perfect color. The coolness and light shade in l'oreal seems to kill the orange and helps the product be less heavy on my skin. It's not dirt cheap but you can get it on sale then it's a good buy. The only thing I'd like better is a squeeze top like the maybelline mineral liquid foundation but I doubt anyone else uses this foundation to just mix.



on 11/16/2010 5:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got the lightest shade since my skin is extremely fair. I used this foundation for about a year, because I couldn't find anything better.. but once I did, I realized just how much better it was in comparison to this one. The color isn't exactly right on this product, it has a bit too much yellow tone to it. It also feels like you're wearing a mask when it's on, and I found it only looks good when you cake it on and use a bunch. In all, it really isn't a bad product for the money and availability of it, though there are better liquid foundations out there for more money.


on 11/16/2010 5:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I don't think i will repurchase this anytime soon, with all the available options on the market. However, if you're strapped for cash this is quite a good option.

First off, i don't like the packaging. I have the pump bottle version and i still dislike it. The glass is too thick and you can't see how much product is left; you can't take the pump off (who does that, anyways...), it squirts a bit too much product and the cap isn't all that (gets dirty, is small, etc, looks cheap, etc etc).

I do like the coverage and the fact that i can't feel a specific scent to it. It does cover enough and i find that i almost never need concealer when i'm using this (undereye circles is my problem, not pimples or acne scars etc). They also have quite a wide range of shades (i don't understand the complaints regarding this aspect, they DO have a ton of colors) that are not 100% realistic, but i've seen worse. I am currently using W3 Golden Beige and it isn't as yellow as other reviews mention it to be. It's not orange at all, just on the beige-light yellow side.

The pigmentation of this foundation is excellent- you've got to dig into the more expensive ones (Chanel, Dior, Clinique, etc) to understand this properly. After spending many many $ and cursing at many many crappy foundations, i realized L'Oreal did make this foundation rival with high-end brands. It blends in beautifully, covers everything i've got to cover, sits nicely on the face...for a certain amount of time.

As for what i really dislike- the liquid consistency, VERY runny and uneconomic to use with a sponge, but perfect with a dense foundation brush, and the feeling it gives- dry, then oily. My face feels very tight right after i've applied this (i don't settle it with powder right away), and gets oily in about 3-4 hours.

Then i have to powder my face and it still doesn't look nice, i mean it's visible i've tried to rescue a 'do' with powder instead of reapplying the foundation...but who can do that when you already have bronzer and blush on, not to mention highlighter, contouring powder, etc?? Beats me whenever i read the girls talking about applying it during daytime-...uhmmm!!!


so yep. it does fade off quite quickly, i'd say 5 hours maximum, if you're not doing anything industrial-strength (jogging, clubbing, kissing, etc). That's what i dislike about this product in the first place, this and the dry feeling. I have combination skin and always use oilier foundations because i'd rather have a greasy face than a dry, flaky aspect; ever since i started using this product again (used it a couple of years ago, it was my staple) i find myself putting on a ton of moisturizer before, and going around with a powder and a brush in my purse...for touch ups. Yikes. Not good.

So i guess i'll mix it with 'dewier' foundations (Nivea Beauty Lift, i heart you!) and keep going through my powder stash...i've got to finish it anyway.

Bottom line- one of the best choices available on the market (from this price range and not only), coverage, pigmentation and price-wise. It doesn't irritate the skin, doesn't smell, doesn't break you out. Lasts quite a long time with everyday use and if you've got oilier skin, that's gonna work for you since i personally think you won't need (as much) powder afterwards (we're all different so...).

However, don't get your expectations too high with regards to staying power and 'perfect matching' of the skintone. Yes they did it quite well, but you surely have to test and test all those bottles to finally find your 'true match'.

So yep. If i ever run out of anything else (Estee Lauder Double Wear my HG, Nivea Beauty Lift my 2nd HG), i will definitely use this. But i'm not sure about repurchasing it since a tiny drop is enough the way i'm using it (combined with other foundations for a dewier look), for its wonderful coverage and pigmentation.

So, it is 'worth it' as far as i'm concerned. Those two lippies i took off were for the dryness and runny consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2010 9:18:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After reading the reviews, I decided to try this foundation as a much cheaper alternative to the Chanel Vitalumiere that I've worn forever. Over the years, I've tried to find a passable inexpensive substitute many times, with absolutely no success. Voila! I have now found it in True Match. There is absolutely no difference in the color, undertone, consistency or quality between Vitalumiere and True Match... except the price. The new HG for me!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2010 2:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MY SKIN: Oily-combo, with and oily t-zone, mouth, and chin area. I have lots of acne scars and sun spots on my cheeks and chin. No trouble with fine lines or wrinkles yet though, so I can't speak to this.

PACKAGING/PRICE: $7 at Ulta. Packaging is a simple bottle, no pump.

MY APPLICATION: Following cleansing and moisturizing, I prep with MAC Prep+Prime Skin Refined Zone, which I swear by. I conceal my undereye circles with Maybelline's Mineral Power concealer (another fav of mine). Then I pour True Match on a cosmetic wedge, dot all the main areas of my face (forehead, nose, chin, cheeks), and then do a criss-cross swiping and patting motion to blend it out.


MY EXPERIENCE: Perfect color match, and as the name entails, perfectly blends into my skin. At the store it's easy to color match with their pull-out swatch sheets that are attached to the displays that allow you to hold swatches up to your wrist to figure out what shade you are.


RESULT: Though I loved the color match and blending, I wasn't all that impressed. You can definitely FEEL that there is foundation on your face. It's not lightweight by any means, though it doesn't offer full coverage. Coverage is light to medium. When I tried to build it, my face started looking very cakey. Also, it doesn't really adhere to the skin, even with powder it never feels "set". I was always very aware of the product on my face and terrified of it transferring. At most, it will look good for about 5 hours, then my skin starts getting oily. On the plus side, been using it for several weeks and no breakouts or irritation.


OVERALL: I would reccomend this as a quick, everyday foundation when you want to slap something on for an errand or a casual daytime look. Also an excellent beginner's foundation for people trying to find their shade type and need to practice blending. I'll stick with this for as long as I have it, but I'm definitely still in the market for a good liquid foundation that won't break the bank.


on 11/8/2010 1:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this foundation, it fits my skin tone perfectly (C1). I have really fair skin and I always have a hard time finding a foundation that matches me, I either wind up getting foundations that are way too pink or way too orange. But with this foundation it matches me perfectly, I cant say the same thing about the liquid foundation of True Match, which I was very disappointed with it. On top of that it doesn't break me at all.
The downside is the packaging. Because the compartment for the mirror and sponge is on the opposite side of the powder, you have to keep switching sides to apply powder on the sponge and then switch to the other side to look in the mirror.


on 11/6/2010 1:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this foundation in high school when I knew nothing about makeup. From what I remember, I didn't like it very much. It had a tendency to do weird things like flake or streak, and I usually ended up with dry skin after a few hours, despite having naturally oily skin. I think it tends to fall into your pores and fine lines as well. Something about this product just... didn't sit right on my face.


On the other hand, I do love the selection of colors. My skin color actually worked well with two or three different shades, which is fantastic!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I am really starting to appreciate this foundation. It is basically the only drugstore foundation I can use due to my extremely cool, pale skin. I buy W1 to cancel out the pink undertones in my skin. The coverage is nice and buildable. It doesn't do that great with dry patches on my face from the retin a micro I am currently using, but I just make sure to really moisturize beforehand. Overall a very nice product and I very much like that if I run out of foundation, I can pop into a drugstore and find a product that matches my very pale skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2010 12:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the texture of this foundation because I have such oily skin. It dries to a matte smooth finish. I also like that there's so many shades to choose from, and it's easy to match your skin tone. The only thing I don't like is that it's very sheer; it works almost like a tinted moisturizer for me.


on 11/4/2010 11:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Although I am a bit of a foundation junkie, I have repurchased this product many times over the years. As someone with exceptionally pale skin, I love the large selection of colours and tones (they even offer shades pale enough for me, and I am paler than most people I've met who have red hair!).
The liquid blends easily and gives me medium coverage, though it is build-able (one layer covers acne scars and redness, while another will conceal undereye circles and current blemishes). I apply with my fingers if I am in a hurry or a sponge dipped in moisturizer if I know I will be having my photo taken. The application is pretty well fool-proof, as it does not cake unless you trowel it on.
I always make sure to moisturize well, as it can emphasize dry patches, but I have pretty dry skin, so that is a must whatever foundation I use.
The packaging makes it a little difficult to travel with (I have had the cap twist off in my purse from time to time, which makes quite a mess), but as I always apply my makeup with clean hands, I haven't had a problem with bacteria.
Overall, I would consider this to be one of my favourite foundations and I expect that I will continue to purchase it for years to come.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top