L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2646 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 kristikitten29 on 1/8/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by kristikitten29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I seem to remember trying this when it first came out and not liking it. But since I had already tried Revlon, Cover Girl and Maybelline varieties without success (and I don't like Almay or Neutrogena) I thought I would give this a whirl before going department store. I really can't afford department store so that isn't an option I was looking forward to but now I don't have to! This foundation is amazing!! I don't know what happened the first time I tried it, if they changed the formula or I was just crazy. Or it could be I wasn't using liquids regularly so I wasn't used to them. The formula of this is a nice liquid, not goopy and pasty because it is too thick and not runny and wet because it is too thin. I have fair skin with a little of a warm undertone and W2 is perfect!! It might be the first time I have ever not had even a slight makeup line on my jaw before. And it really does blend well and I love that is has SPF. It gives pretty good coverage, especially for looking so natural. Usually to get this much coverage, I look like I have makeup on and with this I really don't or at least not nearly as much. I have combination/oily skin so I do set this with powder and haven't had any problems with excess oil. I think this lasts pretty well... maybe not ALL day, but personally I don't need my foundation to last 16 hours or more. Price is pretty average for a drugstore makeup and I can often find it on sale or on BOGO. Like others, I don't love the packaging... the little glass bottle with silver lid is cute but I can't figure out why anyone manufactures a makeup that is conducive to knocking it over, and whoops there goes half of it. I deal with it though, I pour a little blob on my the back of my hand and use a foundation brush and find that works well. But even the pain in the butt bottle wasn't enough to drag down my rating... Five stars, I LOVE this foundation and wish I'd re-tried it sooner. Will definitely repurchase.

**I am editing this to take off one "lippie" because of the cakey look of this foundation when more than one layer is applied. I need to apply more than one layer as I have acne prone skin that needs more coverage and unfortunately, this creates a very unnatural, caked on appearance. I am leaving that I would repurchase, but with the stipulation that only if my skin was clearer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bisco on 1/8/2010 1:30:00 PM more reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I totally forgot about trying this, it's been that long... But, I have not forgotten my experience. My mother and I were in our local grocery store, trying to figure out our tone/shade with an advertisement swatch. Needless to say, that swatch was no help at all.

She, made out well shade wise, but hated how cakey and dry it was for her aged skin. It showed every line possible. I, could barely find a shade that didn't make me look Casper white or yellow. Being VERY fair, I have a hard time trying to find shades that aren't neither. The formula was a mess, I had the bottle with the lid at the time. Always had to wipe off the rim! It was very hard to blend, it's almost like paint for texture, in my opinion. It got to be a pain when getting dressed for school. It didn't last long, and it doesn't matter if you're well moisturized or not, it shows every dry/blemish flaw. I don't have acne, but I do have combination skin that will occasionally experience a breakout. I gave the foundation three weeks, until it permanently found a home on my shelf. Which, eventually got gutted. In the end, it was one messy mask!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highheeled on 1/8/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by highheeled

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually really like this foundation. I've been using it for a few weeks now (while intermittently trying other foundations, I'm on a foundation kick these days) and I'm quite pleased with how well the color (N2) matches my skin and how smoothly the foundation itself applies. More importantly, it doesn't scream "HI, I'M A FOUNDATION!" when you get up close to my face. It hasn't dried out my skin or made me break out. So I guess this is my go-to foundation for now, but I'm still on the search for my HG. On the whole, not bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 happilyme on 1/5/2010 4:01:00 PM more reviews by happilyme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

For me, this stuff is dreadful. I found the color a good match, but the formula is terrible. It goes on cakey. It is the exact opposite of smooth. I have small pores, but it made them look big. My skin looks much better without it on. I have tried this about 10 times, with different methods of application. And with different moisturizers underneath. I think this is the lowest rating I have ever given a product. I am glad that I got this on sale. I am still thinking about writing a complaint letter though. This is how disappointing this product is for me.

My skin is on the normal side.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PrettyInBlackx on 1/4/2010 8:48:00 PM more reviews by PrettyInBlackx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Seeing the range of colors and how it was based my undertones I was thrilled to know for the first time a foundation would finally match my skin. So I got an N3 but was a bit darker than my skin tone. I decided to exchange it for N2 which was the perfect color. The color was there but was it worth the use having a perfect color but not a good quality.
True Match provided light to medium coverage mostly light which was not good for me since I have zits and acne scars.
Also it wasn't long wearing it seemed to come off in 5 hours or so and ended up all my eyebrows and nose.Not pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katharinesophia on 1/2/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by katharinesophia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

All I can say is "yuck." The formula is cakey and doesn't apply evenly whether I use my fingers, a sponge or a stipple brush. Even with moisturizer underneath my skin looked and felt super dry. I chose N5 which appeared close to my skintone but came out a gross orange color. I didn't think a so-called "neutral" color is supposed to make you look like the victim of a bad spray tan, but this sure does! This is why I am hesitant to buy most drugstore foundations. Stay away from this ladies and invest in something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 swtlilkokoro on 1/1/2010 3:36:00 AM more reviews by swtlilkokoro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

it made my face a glittery mess. nearly impossible to find a good shade. the whole warm/neutral/cool thing confused me to no end. would not repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 itsmotherlymandy on 12/31/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by itsmotherlymandy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

True match is okay. Typical drugstore foundation..its not like WOW. I think it has shimmers in it..which I don't like. I don't really have a lot to say about this foundation. Sometimes when I put this on it looks like I have foundation on..something about this is off but idk what. Won't rebuy..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jennifer26 on 12/31/2009 5:48:00 PM more reviews by jennifer26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NO NO NO! DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT IT MADE ME BROKE OUT LIKE HELL!
IT TOOK ME HALF YEAR TO RECOVER!
WILL NOT TRY THIS EVER AGAIN IN MY LIFE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nani51 on 12/31/2009 5:17:00 PM more reviews by nani51

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Love, love, love this foundation. I'm a NC20-NC25 and W3 is a perfect match for me. I use a small concealer brush to dab on the foundation and blend everything with a larger, foundation brush. The coverage is pretty good, a heavy to medium depending on if you layer it. I've been neglecting my MAC concealer cause this foundation does it all. I have oily skin but this last a good 4-5 hours before I need to blot. I've been using one bottle since September and there is still product left. I did wish this came with a pump. It would make getting it out of the bottle easier. Would I buy it again? Definitely!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products