L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2896 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 9/30/2010 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love it, I bought this one along with the Rimmel 25 hours and I returned the Rimmel. It's light coverage so I doesnt cover all my acne scars but gives me the dewy and fresh looking. I set with chanel translucent powder and my skin looks perfect. Now I dont need to spend money on expensive foundation anymore.
Edit: I love it for a week, i think it dried out my skin. The last time I put it on it looked chalky and shows all my flake. I felt so embarrassed and had to go home to wash it off. I thought it was a cheap HG to me but it's not.
Update: I try to put it on top of my MUFE F&B and it works perfectly. So i give it 4 stars now



on 9/30/2010 7:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use W6 and am usually an NC40 however, this foundation is a little too dark for me (I can sense it is a shade dark) but nothing a little light powder wont fix. I bought a W5 and will see if that colour suits me better once it arrives.

For the price, I would have to say this foundation is worth it for every shortcoming it has. The biggest being that it can cake really badly if you should put as much as a drop too much on your face. This thing creases in my laugh lines and I'm only in my early 20s :( But then again, I live near the equator (humidity is a huge problem) so that was probably a factor as well.

Though it doesn't look as flawless as my mufe f&b fdn, I love it mainly because it covers up my dark circles flawlessly even without concealer. Packaging is pumpless but the hole is small and fits the width of my sponge nicely tho it applies best with the elf flat top powder brush ESP when i stipple it on.

I love that I bought it online without being matched prior and it suited me quite well. Then again, it isn't the foundation I reach for when I have a bad skin day (emphasizes all the wrong parts of my face)


on 9/28/2010 12:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The coverage is EXTREMELY light. I apply it with a sponge or foundation brush. i find that the application process is very tricky because if you are not careful it can get streaky. I also feel that after you apply this product it has almost a wet feeling/look, like "god forbid, if i touch my face, it will get on my hands and wipe off" Therefore its even tricky to apply any loose powder over it because it will smudge and look uneven. i will only recommend this product to anyone who is looking for BARLEY there coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2010 4:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's always one of my go to foundations... I am a makeup junkie though, I usually stick with Clinique foundation. But sometimes I'm feeling a little cheap. I do like this product for how long it lasts, the consistancy, and the coverage it gives. I find you want to have your face moisturized with this product with a nice gel moisturizer. Lotion moisturizure before my application makes it slightly greasy, wrinkles show, and just not flattering to my skin. Either way, don't knock it til you try it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Color match: I used the card thing which has all colors on it, and that never works btw. It made me a cool tone, which has way too much pink undertone as I always fall in the beige family. Maybe I should have gone with the warm tones, although it doesnt make sense. I need yellow undertones.
Coverage: None-Medium 1/5 while it did even out my complexion and got rid of red areas, it actually accentuated my pores and acne
Finish: Natural 5/5 I did like the finish, very natural. Perfect for day wear
Blends: Very well 5/5 It's thin and very very blendable. I like to use my hands with this.
Moisturizing/Hydrating: Didnt notice 2/5 I always look for this in a foundation as I have dry skin
Lasts: Half day 2/5 unless set with powder, and some powders will make this look cakey.
Packaging: I like it, reminds me of a big nailpolish 4/5 wish it had a pump tho!

I liked that it didn't feel like I had much on, but the coverage and lasting time is really bad. I will not re-purchase.


on 9/22/2010 1:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

True Match was a FALSE match for me. My skin tone is dark/deep, and I tried the shade for deep skin tones, and it left my face looking powdery and ashy--just awful!! I immediately took it back to the store for a refund. Will NEVER purchase this again!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

N3 is my shade. Dead on for my NC 25-30 skintone. Glides over my skin with my sephora stippling brush. It leaves a matte finish along with shimmers to give the "dewey" look. I always set with a matte translucent powder and it photographs perfectly! :D I set with a translucent powder and that helps take away some of the shimmer. I like that its oil free and dosent contain talc. Now I can save my estee lauder double wear for nights out and special occasion and use this during the day. Will repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2010 4:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Where I live there is no True Match, but its brother/cousin/relative Accord Parfait, but from my understanding they are the same thing.

I bought this on a sale offer together with its correspondent compact powder, which has been my HG compact powder for years. I LOVE that powder so I thought why not try the foundation too. Big mistake.

First thing first - application. It's very liquid, so it applies smoothly and it blends very well into the skin. Which helps me with absolutely nothing since the coverage is next to non-existent. The literary word would be 'sheer', but even that means heavy coverage for the coverage this foundation gives. My skin looks pretty good, no pimples, scars or spots to hide, just some redness around the nose and on the chin. It failed to cover those. Actually, my face with fdtn on looked pretty much the same as w/o fdtn. I set it with my favorite powder and off I went.

Two hours later - first shock! I had actual beads of sebum on my nose which I hadn't got since high-school with all the hormones running wild and little knowledge of skincare and make-up routine. I blotted the T-zone with the said powder and carried on.

Half through the day - second shock! The foundation was almost gone, my face looked and felt greasy and sticky somehow, despite the numerous applications of compact powder. And it changed its color mildly, but still noticeable. Blotted with powder again, which I knew would last exactly 10 minutes and continued my work day.

In the evening - things looked the same as they did at midday. Numerous applications of powder didn't do anything. The only good thing was in the evening when the fdtn came off very easily using grapeseed oil.

In conclusion: it is such a big disappointment! I don't know what I thinking buying L'Oreal when my HG foundation, Revlon Colorstay was just on the next aisle. Even with the big discount, L'Oreal still isn't worth the money. Now I'm stuck with a foundation I'm never going to use and re-purchase. I don't know for whom this foundation is targeted at, but I'm guessing those people don't really need make-up in the first place - like children, for example.

If you want any type of coverage, be it sheer or light or medium, if you want foundation that stays on for more than 2 hours, that doesn't accelerate oiliness, that doesn't change color, then this isn't the foundation for you. The only good things about it are the pump, the variety of shades and easiness in application. Which are equal to zero if none of the other criteria is met.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2010 11:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

overall a good foundation
the coverage isn't as much as I'd really prefer but it's super easy to blend and the color range is pretty good and easy to understand bc it's sorted by undertones
this has never really caused me to break out, but tbh I wouldn't wear it during a rough skin spell bc the coverage isn't as much as I would need
would LOVE if it came with a pump OF COURSE but that is asking too much I think at the price point, it is constantly going on special in drugstores so that is nice overall very good for the money and when paired with a great concealer it's good!


on 9/17/2010 10:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

True Match has a great color range for a drugstore product, especially for girls with yellow/olive undertones. I think that is the best feature of this product. However, it doesn't seem to do well with my very oily skin. It makes me super duper shiny after just an hour. It also seems to accentuate large pores and it definitely clogs. I know you can't expect a drugstore brand to be the cat's meow - especially for foundation. I think a good policy is to spend as much as you can on foundation because 1) you use it every day, 2) it is super noticeable if it isn't flawless, and 3) high quality ingredients are important because the makeup will seep into your skin and potentially cause breakouts, etc.

I stick with Laura Mercier foundations (powder foundation for me because my skin is oily and temperamental).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc

Back to Top