L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2644 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 dandiberta on 1/13/2010 1:40:00 PM more reviews by dandiberta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

meeee.
this foundation has like glitter in it.
didnt like the finish, too cakey. and the texture is weird like powder
packaging sucks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 martiangurll on 1/13/2010 9:39:00 AM more reviews by martiangurll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I received this as a swap, so I wasn't put out by the price, which is pretty low anyway, so I was less disappointed than usual when it didn't work out.

If you need to get a foundation in a pinch and just need something inexpensive from the drugstore, you could do a lot worse. But this isn't HG material for me. I would not buy it again, unless I had limited choices, and I think Revlon has better options at the drugstore, although they are a little pricier.

This covers the basics. It is a fairly good color match for me at N1 (I range from NC15 to 20 depending on how much sun I am missing, esp. in the Winter) and this was not too dark or too yellow. I think the color choices are pretty good for this. With a primer (I use Smashbox) it went on very smoothly and evenly. I would describe the coverage as medium with a semi-matte finish. Not mask like at all. Did not last very long for me.

I am a spoiled girl, I want foundations that can go the distance and not need touch ups all day. So I really prefer the Colorstay or Photoready by Revlon.

I did not have a problem with this breaking me out or settling in my pores, and my skin is sensitive, but not especially break out prone.

So, this is a decent, basic medium coverage drug store foundation with semi-matte finish that doesn't really last very long, esp. in my oily areas. For the price, I can't really knock it. But there are better options out there, even in drug store land.

I do not like the bottle, it should have a pump. But, I already mentioned I am a spoiled girl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 velvetbuurns on 1/13/2010 12:53:00 AM more reviews by velvetbuurns

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! I'm Dita Von Teese pale; I'd give Casper a run for his money. I don't have pink undertones, and it's been nearly impossible for me to find a foundation that's doesn't make me pink or orange.

I tried this stuff originally in C1 and I stopped using it because I was pink. Tried it again in N1, once again, too dark, stopped using it. Finally, I found W1. Surprisingly, it's the palest shade and no nasty undertones.

It can be thick and cakey if you don't apply it correctly; I'd recommend using your fingers instead of a brush and applying in small amounts until you get the desired amount of coverage.

With this, I've been getting comments on my "beautiful porcelain skin" rather than my skin disease, or makeup. It's been great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katetdang on 1/12/2010 10:36:00 PM more reviews by katetdang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to foundation. True to its name, it really is "super blendable." I use 5W and it only takes some light blending for the foundation to disappear into my skin. I don't mind that the bottle does not have a pump. I apply it by covering my finger over the entire opening of the bottle then tip the bottle over and dab the amount that gets onto my fingers on. That is usually enough. My skin is normal-to-oily in summer and normal-to-dry in winter. Nonetheless, this foundation works for me all year. I also love that it has sunscreen (SPF 17).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smurfkitten on 1/10/2010 2:57:00 AM more reviews by smurfkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Packaging sucks; this foundation could sure use a pump. Texture seems to be runny at first; upon application, this is thick stuff indeed. The one good thing I can say about True Match foundation is the wide range of colours and the warm/neutral/cool undertone choices. I've tried applying this numerous ways (fingers, stippling brush, foundation brush, sponge) with different powders, but nothing gives the result I really want. This stuff looks too cakey/fake and makes my face oiler somehow. (I typically don't have oily skin.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 onarainbow on 1/9/2010 11:57:00 PM more reviews by onarainbow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently tried this foundation in C2. I'm very pale and I find it hard to find foundations that aren't too white or that aren't dark. This, though, is perfect! The colour matches with my skin tone perfectly without making me look more pale than I already am. It looks super natural, but still manages to cover the redness I have around my nose and the subtle acne scars on my forehead.

I don't like the packaging much...It comes in a little bottle with a screw on cap. I'd much prefer if it had a pump top, as it's very messy just pouring it out of the bottle.

Also, it doesn't do much for my already dry skin. It becomes very flaky and dry if it's put on dry skin. Moisturizing a lot before application is a must if you're dry! However, it hasn't caused me to breakout...And I definitely have sensitive skin!

EDIT: Ugh...This isn't as good as I said. My skin has reacted badly to it and I get red, irritated, itchy splotches that burn whenever I wear it. I'm going to try and find out what ingredient I'm allergic to and will avoid it from now on. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RicanBeauty on 1/9/2010 1:25:00 PM more reviews by RicanBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to foundation when I'm in a rush and don't have time to put on my Bare Escentuals. I've been using this foundation for years and have never had to worry about not having enough coverage or looking like I have globs of foundation on. It blends nicely and doesn't feel heavy on the face. I highly recommend this if you can't afford the pricier foundations because it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 springabout on 1/9/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by springabout

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've only used two different foundations with any regularity - clinique, and bare escentuals. after reading reivews of true match i thought i'd try it. i like it more than i thought i would. it's has light to medium coverage and is perfect for evening our the redness around my nose and the darkness around my eyes. i just put a small amount in these areas and blend out to the perimeter of my face. there's no visible line and it looks very natural.

i like that the finish is dewier than bare escentuals, and i think the coverage is better than clinique super-balanced foundation. the bottle is also much easier to use than the clinique bottle (talk about poor packaging!) since the opening is wider. like another reivewer noted, i put some product on the back of my hand and apply with a clinique foundation brush. i've not noticed any streakiness. easy to blend.

tons of color choices - i'm a cool toned pale and C2 was a great match for me. very pleasant (and inexpensive) find in the drugstore. $10.95 at riteaid and all l'oreal was on sale for 40% off. well worth the money in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristikitten29 on 1/8/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by kristikitten29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I seem to remember trying this when it first came out and not liking it. But since I had already tried Revlon, Cover Girl and Maybelline varieties without success (and I don't like Almay or Neutrogena) I thought I would give this a whirl before going department store. I really can't afford department store so that isn't an option I was looking forward to but now I don't have to! This foundation is amazing!! I don't know what happened the first time I tried it, if they changed the formula or I was just crazy. Or it could be I wasn't using liquids regularly so I wasn't used to them. The formula of this is a nice liquid, not goopy and pasty because it is too thick and not runny and wet because it is too thin. I have fair skin with a little of a warm undertone and W2 is perfect!! It might be the first time I have ever not had even a slight makeup line on my jaw before. And it really does blend well and I love that is has SPF. It gives pretty good coverage, especially for looking so natural. Usually to get this much coverage, I look like I have makeup on and with this I really don't or at least not nearly as much. I have combination/oily skin so I do set this with powder and haven't had any problems with excess oil. I think this lasts pretty well... maybe not ALL day, but personally I don't need my foundation to last 16 hours or more. Price is pretty average for a drugstore makeup and I can often find it on sale or on BOGO. Like others, I don't love the packaging... the little glass bottle with silver lid is cute but I can't figure out why anyone manufactures a makeup that is conducive to knocking it over, and whoops there goes half of it. I deal with it though, I pour a little blob on my the back of my hand and use a foundation brush and find that works well. But even the pain in the butt bottle wasn't enough to drag down my rating... Five stars, I LOVE this foundation and wish I'd re-tried it sooner. Will definitely repurchase.

**I am editing this to take off one "lippie" because of the cakey look of this foundation when more than one layer is applied. I need to apply more than one layer as I have acne prone skin that needs more coverage and unfortunately, this creates a very unnatural, caked on appearance. I am leaving that I would repurchase, but with the stipulation that only if my skin was clearer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bisco on 1/8/2010 1:30:00 PM more reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I totally forgot about trying this, it's been that long... But, I have not forgotten my experience. My mother and I were in our local grocery store, trying to figure out our tone/shade with an advertisement swatch. Needless to say, that swatch was no help at all.

She, made out well shade wise, but hated how cakey and dry it was for her aged skin. It showed every line possible. I, could barely find a shade that didn't make me look Casper white or yellow. Being VERY fair, I have a hard time trying to find shades that aren't neither. The formula was a mess, I had the bottle with the lid at the time. Always had to wipe off the rim! It was very hard to blend, it's almost like paint for texture, in my opinion. It got to be a pain when getting dressed for school. It didn't last long, and it doesn't matter if you're well moisturized or not, it shows every dry/blemish flaw. I don't have acne, but I do have combination skin that will occasionally experience a breakout. I gave the foundation three weeks, until it permanently found a home on my shelf. Which, eventually got gutted. In the end, it was one messy mask!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products