L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2988 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 1/28/2011 1:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When a foundation has done its job, it's usually around the time people compliment on your complexion, and not your makeup.

L'Oreal's True Match foundation has done just that - medium coverage, blends fairly well and there's an endless amount of shades to suit your skintone. But don't be fooled by the oil-free formula advertised on the bottom of the transparent sticker. I have had oily skin and this product will not do justice on stopping the shininess across your t-zone. That said, I'm on a acne medication and my skin has been drying up for the past month and oiliness is no longer a problem for myself. With a moisturizer for a base, this foundation looks like my own skin, just perfected.

I think the price for an drug-store brand, L'Oreal's True Match foundation is a little bit more expensive than some and considering how much your getting in a bottle (30 ml) with no pump (why do they ought to make things more difficult?), the price at best is okay. It's the formula that I keep going back to.



on 1/28/2011 8:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using BE since it came out..then comes the recession. I bought a bottle of N2 Classic Ivory from the dollar store for 9$ which seemed expensive at the time but I've found it is worth at least that. I wear this foundation over very light moisturizer and don't use powder to set it and it lasts on me 8 hours at least. I do use blotting papers then powder after about 8 hours and then it lasts until I take it off. The color is a good match for my skin and is easy to blend. One application with a damp sponge covered all the redness around my nose and camouflaged (sp?) the few red spots I have.It didn't settly into fine lines or make my pores look hyper-visible like some foundations. I really like it but I will wait for warmer weather to see if it still looks decent after being somewhat sweaty! This is definitely my winter foundation HG. Nothing else matches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2011 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like the color selection and how they break it down into cool, neutral, and warm. I also like how they have corresponding blushes and concealers. The formula blends well and covers moderately. I find it lasts more of the day. The cons are: the bottle makes it difficult at times to get the foundation out, and I tend to get pretty oily with it by the end of the day, although that's not entirely the foundation's fault. I've recently switched to powder foundations, but if I ever switch back to liquid, I would consider repurchasing this.


on 1/26/2011 4:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i've used it on and off and i like that it's super blendable and the color selection is very broad. I dont know if it's the bronzer that i wear with it sometimes, but it makes me look kinda orange and by the end of the day, my skin is oily.. although if i wear a translucent powder to suck in the oil, my skin does look dewy. I don't think i will repurchase this foundation again. i've tried better ones.


on 1/26/2011 3:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This foundation is the only drugstore foundation that comes close to matching my pale skin, though it is still orange on me and I have to blend down my neck. I will continue to buy it until I can afford a white foundation to mix with something else, but until then I will use this. Pron and cons:

Pro:

-Matches my skin better than anything else
-Cheaper than most foundations

Cons:

-Very, very, very, cakey, powdery
-Thin, liquidy texture
-Dries fast and slow at same time
-Difficult to apply because it is so thin
-Although it is buildable, it will cake and look patchy if you do
-Feels sticky on skin even if your skin is dry
-Packaging makes it impossible to use all of the product

Overall, this foundation may work if you have slightly oily skin if you use it with a good powder. I kind of hate it though, because it is so cakey and gross. If you are not pale or dark skinned I would suggest using something else!


on 1/25/2011 7:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using this since 2004 and it is my go to foundation!
Perfect coverage and texture! It also gives a lovely matte finish to my skin. It stays put all day and it does not feel like I'm wearing foundation.
Also I have never experienced any breakouts or spots and I have very sensitive skin and used to have severe eczema. The glass bottle is fab and has never broken from being dropped/packed in suitcase etc!
Cannot say enough good things about this foundation!
A little goes a long way and one bottle lasts be agesssssssss! Amazing value for money!


on 1/25/2011 6:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I tried and tried to like this product. It just didn't work for me. The colors were always off (yes there are so many but I have pale olive skin) and it caked. It was always so awful obvious that I was wearing foundation with this. I can understand why others might like this but for me it just doesn't work.


on 1/22/2011 5:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It was my first foundation ever (both liquid and compact, I have combination skin and some parts need to be powdered) and at first it did its job well... until I started looking like an oompa-loompa. Even with new foundations. I switched to other foundations since then!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have finally found a foundation that I will use for awhile! The color selection is awesome, you can tell by the color in the bottle if it's going to have pink or yellow undertones.. thank goodness! I found the perfect match for my skin. You only need the smallest amount to get medium-full coverage. Unfortunately the bottle will force you to pour out a boatload if you're not careful. I apply small dots all over my face, smooth it out with my fingers and buff with a flat-top kabuki.. it looks flawless and covers the redness on my cheeks! The lasting power is mediocre, but a few touch ups with the True Match powder you're good to go!


on 1/22/2011 12:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

If you have combo/oily skin then don't waste your time. This stuff has too many CONS and so very little PROS.

So this was a waste of money.

If you are one of those people who tend to fix their makeup perfectly in the morning and then leave your face the way it is thinking a quick blot is all you need. This is not for you. Be prepared for your bronzer, highlighter, blush and regular powder to mix and melt together.

This stuff doesn't last long and it takes too much time to maintain. I found myself looking at my mirror constantly. That alone is bad. A quick mirror check and blot is usually it for me. Pssh, not with this foundation. I've done multiple tests with this foundation only to hate it more and more each time. I had to even change my routine for this foundation just to make it work. Alas! No dice.

I went to my martial arts class one time and noticed that the perfectly seamless color half an hour ago had... well, you know... turned orange on me. That was embarrassing. Who am I kidding? I'm sure everyone noticed! Because I noticed! Haha! It did rub off onto the collar of my uniform. An unsavory sight to behold. The results were the same for me regardless of face primer or even changing the foundation shade.

This is a product that I can safely pass in the aisle and not look back on. I've dealt with a better foundation at a cheaper price that has resulted much better in the end. Invest in something different or at least return the product if you're not satisfied.

Pros:
+blends well
+easy to find skin color
+medium coverage
+Hides miner imperfections/redness

Cons:
-Doesn't control oil
-Fades
-Transfers (Pssh, that's an understatement!)
-White clumps in bottle (Wtfudge?)
-Oxidizes
-stains (Amen!)
-Too runny
-wasted my money (Mm-hmm! Preach!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top