L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2988 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 2/18/2011 10:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to try a new foundation. So I was looking around Rite Aid and this was the first foundation I grabbed.

It is somewhat expensive, for a drug store foundation. The first time I used this product, I fell in love with it, immediately! It has AMAZING coverage, it covers my red spots quite well that sometimes I don't need concealer, and its super blendable!

One thing I don't like about this product though is the packaging. I love to apply foundation by pouring a little on the top of my hand and blending it with my fingers. And with this foundation, you only need a little bit to cover a large part of your face.



on 2/13/2011 9:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I always go back to this foundation ...it's great for my combination skin, it does not change colors throughout the day. It's light. It's a true color match! (I use n3 in natural buff, just like Milla Jovovich, lol) It blends perfectly and makes your skin look REAL and not all powdery and fake. I love the size of the bottle and that it is glass. SPF of 17 is great , and there's no smell. I also love the matching powder. (I can't remember how exactly I found the right color....they never have testers...I think it was Walgreens and the lady at the counter had opened one she thought would match me and used a Q-tip to test it , it was perfect...and I bought it!)


on 2/11/2011 9:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!! IT IS ONE OF THE BEST FOUNDATIONS IVE TRIED!!!! It makes me skin really super soft and gives it a nautural look..im the color ivory and it makes my skin look fantastic!!! i will buy this again!


on 2/11/2011 9:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the worst foundation I have tried in years. The color match was surprisingly decent for my NW10 skin however the finish is unreal. It appears blotchy, chalky and unblended on the skin. I would blame my oily skin as the root cause of the problem, but honestly the finish is horrid from initial application onward. It is absolutely not wearable.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have olive skin with warm golden yellow and obvious green undertones with NO RED at all except for acne and post acne hyperpigmentation marks. If you see red on my face it is either acne, post acne marks, or a sunburn (it should not be there). This makes finding any matching foundation very difficult, as other Olives have mentioned.


Anyways, I dont wear foundation often, it at all. Mostly for special occasions, and going out or when I know there will be a lot of photos taken. I was drawn to this line because they promised to match 98% of skin tones. They have matched my skin tone the best so far. I was AMAZED and pleased to find the "warm" line had almost no pink in any of the choices at all, as it should be.

I use a mix of W4 and W5 during the winter when I am pale. I actualy apply W5 first, it evens me out but leaves me a bit flat. I then use a light layer of W4 to bring a bit more warmth back to my face. Why W4 is warmer and tanner than W5? I dont know. It seems to work like that for me.

I dont use a foundation during the summer. Its to hot and Im tan then, so dont need as much coverage. Im sure if I needed summer foundation I could grab the W6 or W7 and mix with my W4 & W5 to create a darker color perfectly tuned to my skin color & tone.

Coverage is great and very buildable. Not to heavy but will cover blemishes and redness easily. Most times I dont need concealer for anything but my undereye circles and the occasional monster blemish. I apply with a brush, it gives me the most natural looking coverage and blends really well. Blending with fingers just sound disgusting and I have always avoided it. This does not break me out. I also dont wear it often or multiple days every week, but I went to vegas for a weekend and wore it 3 evenings in a row for 6+ hrs and even then I didnt have any new breakouts.

I have not found better color choices/matching or easier blendability. I will keep buying this foundation till they stop making it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2011 9:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It definitely matches your skin texture and color well, but that's not what you want from a foundation! You want something that looks like flawless skin, not something that will match your imperfections too and make it look like you're not wearing anything. Not a good look. I normally finish them anyway, but I couldn't with this one, I had to give it away


on 2/8/2011 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation was one of the best foundations i had ever tried! unfortunately they discontinued my shade (N7) which is why i've given it 3 lippys :( .i can't repurchase in any other shade as they are either too light or too pink for my skin..it was the first foundation i had ever tried and turned alot of heads whenever i wore it! i've been on a quest ever since to find a foundation similar to this and the closest one so far has got to be nars (sheer glow) bt still not as good as this! please l'oreal bring back my shade!!!!!


on 2/7/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the only foundations that I've been able to find that match my skin absolutely perfectly. This foundation comes in so many colors, and I love that the shade W2 matches my very, very pale, warmly toned skin. It makes my skin look natural and evens out the redness in my cheeks without making me look too washed out. I have very dry skin and I have to moisturize very well before I use this, or else it clings to my dry spots, but this is true for almost every foundation I have used, so it's not particular to True Match. Otherwise I apply this with a stippling brush and it blends so well. It also has pretty good coverage without feeling like you're wearing a mask--I'd say it's medium coverage, but it is definitely buildable. I can't say much about the lasting power because my dry skin clings on to my makeup for dear life!! That being said, it lasts me sufficiently long, and I don't even use a foundation primer.

The one thing that I would change is the packaging. It comes in a small glass bottle with a screw-off top, so I have to dump part of it out onto the back of my hand so I can use my brush to apply, and it's really easy to pour too much out. If this product came with a pump it would be perfect!

Otherwise this foundation is amazing and I highly recommend it, especially for people that have a difficult time finding a match for their skin tone. I also love the corresponding True Match powder, which complements the foundation color perfectly. It saves me so much effort in color matching amongst different brands and products!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2011 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Updated true rating: 4.4/5.0

Now that I've faded my tan with dedicated staying out of the sun, repeated sunscreen application I am finding it hard to find a foundation shade that matches. The problem is that the pigments, even in the W warm shades, are very beige y. That might not be a hindrance to you but as a "complex" shaded Asian, LOL, its hard to find a foundation shade. I think that is why a lot of people are saying this foundation turns orange, it doesn't the beige tones just come out more throughout the day. Maybe the pigments aren't great quality?

I've switched to Revlon's Colorstay which is amazing but I'm waiting a full month before I do a review.

Overall this true match foundation is smooth, really blendable, and has great ingredients in it from the company website info. It is a shame that I can't find a shade that matches my winter skin. I think I will try again sometime in the future.

I decided to try this product on a whim. I saw it at Walmart for 7.50 and I had a 2.00 coupon so for 5.50 why not right?

For reference I am Asian with combo skin. I have a tendency to break out so I always go oil free which this product is. I have been strictly using Bare Escentuals for the past two years but I was fed up with that because it wasn't a good color match even with mixing etc. I have tried Shishedo, Covergirl, Bare Escentuals, Sue Divett, Becca, Lorac and I think that's it.

I like this foundation a lot. For an oil free foundation it has great coverage, and isn't runny. I personally like the finish. Its powdery without being dry. I didn't find that it changed color through the normal day. It might have darkened a little but that's after running on the treadmill for an hour, which you shouldn't do with makeup on anyways. The staying power isn't perfect so you might have to put a setting powder (which I have to do most of the time because of the oilies.) It's cold where I am right now so this might be my winter time foundation.

To sum up: It stays very decently, blends nicely, color matches very very nicely, might need a concealer depending on what you are covering, didn't break me out, is not 100% stay proof but doesn't say it is and the bottle isn't too much of a pain without a pump.


on 1/30/2011 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The only thing I love about this foundation is the awesome color selection it has. There is a match for every skin tone, even my pale NW20 complexion. I don't like this foundation because it clings on to dry patches, which makes my skin look terrible, and it rubs off onto other people's clothes when you hug them, which is really embarassing.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top