L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2799 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swtxos on 7/27/2010 3:23:00 AM more reviews by swtxos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I must say I'm quite impressed with this foundation. It definitely exceeded my expectations for an inexpensive drugstore foundation. It's been on the market for so long I don't understand why I haven't tried it sooner.
TM has 2 good up sides that has guaranteed it a safe spot in my foundation collection. First, this line must have the broadest colour range in the drugstore. It's smart of them to break the undertones down to Cool, Warm, and Neutral. It doesn't matter how expensive the foundation you're wearing is, if the colour doesn't match, the result is never short of awful. My colour at the moment is W5 Sand Beige and I am very pleased with the match. Second, the formula is thin and a breeze to blend. TM's application makes Revlon's Colorstay feel like work. I don't think the "thin" consistency takes away from the coverage. I feel the medium coverage that it gives is sufficient to hide redness. The overall consistency and finish is reminiscent of NARS Sheer Glow in my opinion. Albeit I never liked SG, I applaud it for the very reason why I enjoy applying TM. In essence, I feel like I'm paying 1/10th of the price for the exact same product. TM's finish is quite nice as well. I like that it is neither matte nor dewy, but more of a satin/natural finish which allows my skin's natural glow to peer through. I don't know how it stands to the heat and how long it wears, but I'll be sure to update on it tomorrow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smlrck26 on 7/24/2010 10:59:00 PM more reviews by smlrck26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the compact makeup in shade C2 which was a great match for me but the liquid version of C2 leaves me pasty for some reason. C3 was way too dark so I am considering buying one each of the bottles and mixing them together. When I wear a primer the staying power of this foundation is lengthened. The coverage is medium. I like the way the finish is, it seems to disappear on my skin whereas other foundations seem to just sit and look greasy. I gave it such a low rating because of the color, definitely not the same as the compact makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kerry1 on 7/20/2010 4:59:00 PM more reviews by Kerry1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used this foundation almost every day for several years. W1 Porcelain is the best colour match I have ever found at the drugstore for my very pale, slightly warm-toned skin. The coverage is light to medium, and I find that it blends quite well. I do need to touch up with powder or blotting papers several times throughout the day, but that's a given with any foundation on my oily skin. Unfortunately, the last few bottles of W1 that I've purchased have been off in colour, more of a funny peachy shade than the perfect, very light porcelain that it was before. I've checked at a number of drugstores and I haven't been able to find any bottles of the original colour. I even called L'Oreal to ask about this and they told me they hadn't made any changes to the formula, so who knows what is going on. I'm very disappointed that I can no longer wear this foundation which worked so well for me for years, and I guess I'll have to start looking for something new. I said that I would not buy this product again, but I definitely will if this colour issue is fixed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meganmomoney on 7/19/2010 2:24:00 AM more reviews by meganmomoney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this foundation since high school (I'm in college now) and I still love it even though I tend to reach for my high end foundations more. I think it has the best shade range that I've seen in the drugstore. I like that it comes in cool, warm, and neutral shades because it's hard to find a foundation that is pale enough for me that also has a yellow undertone but W1 is perfect for me in the Winter! It has a medium coverage but it is buildable and really easy to blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CharlieBaby on 7/19/2010 2:04:00 AM more reviews by CharlieBaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great foundation which gives me the light coverage that i want. I do wish that it will cover up those little blimishes i have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 drunkie on 7/17/2010 2:31:00 PM more reviews by drunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i had two experiences with this product,with one being exceptional while the other being ridiculously horrible. just for reference, i have extremely dry skin to the point that my skin start shedding during winter or being in air conditioner for too long, and i am fair to medium Asian, warm skin undertone. ok, so i first used this foundation few year ago, it stayed in my friends' place without bringing any makeup stuff so i used hers, including this. i was so pleasantly surprised about how easily this blended and totally changed your skin appearance--well in a good way, smooth and more fluid-like more than cream-like which is just too heavy for me, i went to the store right after to get it and continuously used it for two months. then i shifted to other brands..about half year ago i got the other one from my friend, instead of warm, i got the cool one..and the shade was not even different, but it totally made my face look red literally!!! it is not that complementing healthy glow on a red face, it is a terrifying "what happen to her face" kinda red! so with that being said, even the shades were the same, watch out the undertone which does made the biggest difference. besides, the texture is yet a bit too thick, but i guess i will still purchase it again just because of the smoothness and the glow it give

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LAgirl333 on 7/17/2010 1:42:00 PM more reviews by LAgirl333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have had a 5 year relationship with this foundation, as it was the first type of makeup i ever put on my face, however, i decided to end it.

a big WARNING to oily skinned girls, DO NOT TRY THIS out!! your face will look like totally oily, from the t-zone to the cheeks. I have tried this on with loose powder and matifying powder, yet it still is no use. You have to blot your face out every 30 minutes..

so overall
Pros
-easy to blend, stays on all day, somewhat good coverage

Cons
-color turns dark on skin, makes skin oily, packaging is not good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MagicMirrorOnTheWall on 7/17/2010 6:25:00 AM more reviews by MagicMirrorOnTheWall

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

To be honest, I got this product because of the tiny packaging and because it was on sale. It was so tiny so I thought it might be good for traveling. After trying it, I fell in love and now it has become my everyday foundation. However features like packaging and color selection does go under both good and bad characteristics so please read on for further detail.
THE GOOD THINGS about this foundation are the color selection, blendability, the comfort, packaging and application. This foundation has a massive range of shades. They are clearly labeled, cool, neutral or warm so you will be able to tell which is which. This foundation blends seamlessly so you don't have to worry about blending problems. It takes minimum effort for it to look good. The product is quite runny so it helps with the blendability but if you are not a fan of runny foundations, I would not recommend this product to you. By comfort, I mean how the foundation feel on your face. It is very light weight. Not to the point to where you won't feel it but it will feel almost like a tinted moisturizer. I actually went to a theme park in Florida, in late June, wearing this foundation. It did not annoy me with drippiness and yuckiness that other foundations have given me in the past. The most obvious positive thing about this product is the compact packaging. This is great for traveling. It holds as much as average foundations yet it is so much smaller. It also isn't cheap or thin packaging either. My favorite way of applying this foundation is with the MAC 187 brush. It is really easy to apply and it really looks natural on your skin. I does not look cakey at all. You can really achieve that air-brushed finish with by this application.

THE BAD THINGS about this foundation are the color selection and the coverage. The color selection is good as well as bad because you really have to know what they mean by cool, neutral, or warm. The neutral shades do have quite a bit of pink in them so if you are really yellow undertoned or have a olive-y complexion like me, you'll just look really weird with the neutral. If you go for the warm, it'll be perfect. I have not tried the cool because I know that I will never reach for a pink-undertone foundation so I'd rather not waste my money but seeing that the neutral is quite pink, the cool must be quite good for you lovely pink-undertoned ladies :) The packaging is also getting a bad characteristic mark because it does not come with a pump. Most drugstore foundations do not come with a pump so we can let it go but really, open mouthed bottles like that are really hard to control with liquid products like the l'oreal true match. It also can get very messy.

TO SUM IT UP, this product is well worth the money. This is my everyday foundation as I've said and I am so glad to have found this. I want to buy this in numerous shades, not only to fit all my color changed between seasons but also to contour and highlight as well.

I will definitely repurchase this product.

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybelle on 7/17/2010 1:10:00 AM more reviews by maybelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have 3 bottles of this in a range of colors. I can't seem to get a good color if I don't mix. I have it in W3, W4 and W5 (winter going into summer had me buying W5). I think I do better with the other lines of foundation from this company. The coverage is semi-opaque, but decent, but I've never been happy with the colors. Maybe it's oxidizing? I don't know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ValerieBrd on 7/16/2010 2:27:00 PM more reviews by ValerieBrd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this foundation because my good friend was always using it and blabbing on how amazing it is. Unfortunately, I wasn't that impressed. If applying an okay layer it doesn't cover too well, and if applying a heavy layer it gets too cakey. Luckily for me I have a pretty smooth skin, but with a little redness and this foundation does not even this out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products