L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2948 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 1/21/2011 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using Revlon Colorstay FOREVER (I mix medium beige & early tan together in combo/oily). I've tried just about every foundation out there, even the more expensive ones (I worked at Ulta)..but always stuck w/ Revlon Colorstay no matter what!! I am sooo picky about the coverage ..I have red spots & some freckles so I like a medium-full coverage foundation that stays on throughout the day. One day I ran out of my Colorstay so I decided to use my sister's foundation.. Loreal True Match. I LOVEDDDD it. I never thought I would like another foundation but I seriously loved the coverage and the color matched perfectly (Sand Beige W5). I used it for a couple weeks and got so many compliments on my skin (it makes the skin appear more dewy/"fresh" and has more of a yellow tint than the Revlon Colorstay which helped hide redness/scars better). It definitely appeared blotchy at the end of the day but it leaves sort of an oily finish on your face so it's easy to blend more on w/o it looking even more blotchy. Unfortunately about a couple weeks in, I started breaking out like crazy all over my chin & nose area which never ever happens. I decided to stop using it & switch back to Revlon Colorstay & all my pimples have cleared up since I stopped using True Match. I do recommend this foundation- but if you notice yourself starting to breakout when you normally don't.. it's most likely the foundation!! :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/21/2011 5:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this product. There is a huge color selection, mixes with different shades/blends well and looks good in photos. I have a make up artist friend that uses this for her brides and it looks fabulous, almost like skin. I shake the bottle then use a small amount on my fingers to apply, and it is full coverage. I always set with Covergirl powder. I have always gotten compliments when I wear it. My only issue is that it can/will break out those acne-prone/sensitive skin in as little as an hour, which is why i stopped wearing it. It messed up my skin really bad, but if you're not sensitive, a finger and some powder makes this foundation a go-to product.


on 1/20/2011 11:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

With my aging skin, I wanted to try a liquid instead of BE to see if it would settle less into the lines and help my overall finish. This isn't bad. I'm sure it's not the best stuff ever, but for cheap drugstore foundation, it works well. It's easy to apply. I have used a brush but it's easier with my fingers. I do the trick of rubbing my hands together and putting my warm palms on my face, which seems to help it settle down after applied. Sometimes I'll lightly dust with BE if I'm going to be in the heat and sun and want a little more staying power. It lasts most of the day, the color is pretty close to the bottle. It's a bit more yellow than I'd like, but again, for cheapie drugstore foundation, it's ok.


on 1/20/2011 5:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Before I was using Revlon Custom Color and it was great, but pointless since it waisted a lot of product. Then I switched to this and it really gives me a flawless finish, but the packaging is bad it should have a pump or something because I always pour too much out. I will probably buy again, but I'll test a few others out along the way.


on 1/19/2011 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I tried and tried to like this product. It just didn't work for me. The colors were always off (yes there are so many but I have pale olive skin) and it caked. It was always so awful obvious that I was wearing foundation with this. I can understand why others might like this but for me it just doesn't work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2011 9:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like a little luminosity to my skin but this foundation makes my skin pretty matte. Overall, I do like it since it provides good coverage and still manage to look natural. The packaging, without a pump on top of the runny formula, is really messy but for me is totally


on 1/17/2011 8:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I finally got over my irrational fear of silicones in skincare products and cosmetics. Or actually, I got over my fear of foundation, which Iíve been avoiding for a while now fearing that it coats my skin and ends up clogging my pores. My skin is in pretty good condition, and I donít need significant coverage. Just a little something to even out my skin tone. But the most important reason why I started using foundation again, is to protect my Łber-sensitive skin from harsh winter climate. And I think it actually works for that purpose :)


I apply a very thin layer with my fingers, and it feels silky, blends perfectly, and leaves a semi-matte finish providing light, translucent coverage. Just the way I like it. However, itís not super-efficient in keeping oil at bay; I still need powder and blotting paper throughout the day. I have the foundation in C1, which is ideal for my pale, pink-undertoned skin.


Note: the version Iím using (i.e. the one sold in Finland) doesnít contain sunscreen. Itís also in a pump container, which is very handy and hygienic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2011 9:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very oily shortly after application, and it turned very orange, which was a new one on me. I did like the little bottle though I guess.


on 1/16/2011 8:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

L'Oreal, in my opinion, made a wonderful foundation when they conceived of the True Match line: it blends wonderfully, gives a beautiful finish with a soft glow, and complements a wide variety of skin shades.

Unlike Revlon's ColorStay, the True Match foundation (I wore C8 - Cocoa) felt light, and I could hardly tell that I was wearing makeup, except when it smeared everywhere as it slid off my face, which became an oil slick within an hour of application. It gave my skin a beautifully smooth finish (again, for the one hour before I became oily :( )for a few days, and then it started making me break out. I really loved the product, but it didn't do much for my skin, which is why I took away one lippie.

The other lippie was taken away because the packaging is awful. Given what L'Oreal charges for their drugstore foundation, I'd think they could include a pump.


on 1/16/2011 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

Some days, this foundation looked great on me, and other days not so great, I don't know why though. I mixed this with my moisturiser because I have dry skin and on its own, it was awful. I liked the finished effect, good coverage (even on my dark circles) and not too oily. I put powder over it even though I don't think I really needed it but I preferred it with a powder.

This would've got a higher rating if it wasn't for the fact that it was making me breakout. I guessed it was the foundation causing me spots because when I stopped using it, my skin got better and when I decided to try it again, the spots returned. I wish I didn't have to stop using it because I actually quite liked it and it wasn't so pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Orťal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top