L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2988 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 3/21/2011 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After being so frustrated of constantly being matched with the wrong high-end foundation and wrong color at Sephora and various makeup counters, I decided to try this drugstore foundation. InStyle Magazine has rated this the best drugstore foundation for the past 5 years, so I figured it couldn't be that bad.

I have only been wearing this a couple days, and I love it! I matched myself to the shade W3, and it blends in with my skin flawlessly. I do start with Smashbox's oil-free photo primer and set with Clinique's transparent powder to give the foundation extra staying power. I do get a little shiny throughout the day so I have to blot, but that is normal for my combination skin.



on 3/21/2011 1:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oily, will make you break out, will leave you looking orange. It is a wonderful product in theory but not in practice.


on 3/21/2011 1:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The color that "matches" my skin tone is too light and makes me look paler than I already am. It feels really greasy and oily when i'm applying it--I use my fingers, but wash them first--but after using primer, concealer, and powder with the foundation, it looks nice. But it does not cover acne well at all...and literally an HOUR after applying it, my skin gets oily and it just melts off. Seriously, wipes right off. I went to scratch my nose today and it was all over my finger. It just melts! Ughhhh sooo disappointed. My skin is already oily, but even other cheap foundations like cover girl and almay don't do the same thing. This product is awful, and I would absolutely not buy it if I were you.
Thanks a lot Loreal.


on 3/21/2011 11:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: I originally raved about how I loved this foundation, but my opinion has greatly changed after longer use. The color does not match my skin. It is an odd shade where it is too light, and gives a great pink color. I have the lightest shade in warm. I will not try other colors simply because this foundation has an icky feel to it. It reminds me of Almay TLC where it just is on my face, feels like grease, and rubs off when using a tissue or just touching my face lightly. It also made my face get really oily, and settled into my pores making me look older.


on 3/20/2011 10:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't really like this at all. It showed dry patches and creases on my skin, made me look pale even though it was my color, and overall comes out very cakey. I use it as a concealer if i really need to cover something up.


on 3/18/2011 11:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Meh! Pros = Looks great when first applied, has great colour range to choose from.
Cons = I have oily skin, within an hour or two I look like an oil slick. Consistency very watery and thin, meaning poor coverage. Will not hide acne scars or problems areas.

Will not repurchase. This is only good if you're going out for an hour, but then, who on this planet puts on foundation only to go out for an hour of the day? No point repurchasing.


on 3/17/2011 10:26:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't wear much make-up but I always keep some foundation handy and use it as concealer because I don't like concealer. lol Concealers are usually greasy or pastey and never match my skin. They don't usually blend in well and need to be covered with foundation or powder. So I used foundation by shaking up the bottle and dipping a q-tip into the foundation that is in the lid and spot apply as needed. Then I blend with my finger and everybody thinks my skin is flawless when it's not. :-P For ther record my skin is dry but oily and very prone to breakouts which leave little red or brown marks on my skin. I use foundation to cover the old pimple marks and sometimes under my eyes to cover my dark circles.


Now that I shared how I use it, I'll review the product. I currently use True Match in W4(Natural Beige). For the color I could give it a 5. It matches my skin almost perfectly and has yellow undertones instead of the usual orange or pink. My skin has NO orange or pink to it at all so it's hard to find something that matches. The other drugstore foundations I've used that were close were another L'oreal foundation in Buff Beige(I think that line was discontinued) and Neutrogena's Healthy Skin foundation in True Beige(don't think they make that color anymore?). Anyway, I apply with a q-tip as I said before which leads me to why I gave this foundation a 3.


First, it doesn't blend that well. I can usually tap at the makeup I use with my finger to blend it into my skin. But with this it often comes right off even with very light tapping. So I sometimes have to apply it again. Second, it rubs off very easily on everything. I've lightly rested my face on my arm over an hour after applying this make-up and found it on my shirt sleeve instead of my face. Third, what does stay on my face often melts off within a few hours. It doesn't last very long. Did I mention it rubs or melts off easily and quickly?


Personally, I think this makeup is better for those with normal to slightly dry skin who have nothing to cover up and just want a dewy look.


I selected that I would not buy this again, but if I can't find something better in a color that matches my hard to match skin I'll buy it anyway. For the facts that it matches my skin and doesn't break me out. I'm sure there's something better out there, I just don't experiment with makeup much.


on 3/17/2011 7:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Most people giving negative reviews do so because they were confused as to WHICH TONE TO CHOOSE. Understandable--L'oreal has added to confusion with poor marketing. Some of what follows may initially sound counter-intuitive, but read on, if you're looking for corrective foundation that blends seamlessly, because this line is miraculous, if you know how to use it.


If you have a cool skin tone you should NOT purchase a C (cool), unless you want to make your skin appear more pinkish; i.e., to enhance the cool tones. Typically, women with pinkish skin want to neutralize the reds. Applying a pink-toned (cool) foundation to already reddened areas, like the capillaries around the nose and other blemishes, will make them stand out even more, and will not give you a result you want people to see.


In my case, this is the first foundation I've found, ever since I started buying foundation ten years ago, that makes my ruddy complexion look completely naturally neutral, and even flawless. After I first bought it about 4 years ago, I was getting compliments for the first time in my life on how clear, smooth, young, healthy, creamy, etc., my skin looks.


I use W2 on my forehead and nose, and W1 on the rest of my face (because of the natural variation in my skin shade in those areas). In the end, I haven't altered the natural shades of my skin (*you should never try to alter your shade with foundation, it will always look awful; you can do that with tanning, though, if you wish), but I have successfully altered (neutralized) the TONES in my face, in order to make my complexion appear smooth and balanced. No splotches around my nose, no red at the outside corners of my eyes, any blushing I do later in the day will be tamed down. And because I use a warm (yellow) correcting concealer (Physician's Formula), the area around my eyes no longer looks blue (cool).


***(Keep in mind the differences in shade and tone; shade is something you never want to alter or enhance with foundation. Enhancing, neutralizing or minimizing TONE is the key to creating a complexion that appears completely healthy and natural.) <---This is why L'oreal making a variety of tones available (each in a wide variety of shades), in drug stores for the first time, in a whole line of products, is so so so neat. I think the only reason it hasn't is caught on is L'oreal SUCKS at providing clear, simple info to use for selecting tones.


(Fyi, since I don't have a warm complexion, I'm no longer speaking from my personal experience with what follows) ~~~ If you have a warm skin tone and WANT to play up the warmth in it, then try the foundation in Warm. If you want to neutralize those olive/yellow tones, try Cool. You can even try mixing C with N or W--they are very blendable. If you want to neither neutralize nor enhance your tone, I think this isn't the foundation for you, because it is medium-coverage. You're blessed with an even-toned face, so should choose one with lighter coverage.


What I'm trying to make clear here about differing-toned foundations is what people were trying to understand about concealers in the past, when green, blue, gray, yellow, and pale pink ones became popular (they were understood MUCH more quickly because companies listed uses for the various tones right on the package. L'oreal makes the explanation as elaborate and convoluted and backwards as possible. NUTS if they think the average customer can accurately pick a foundation based on which jewelry tones and clothing colors she feels flatter her (talk about subjective! And we who have no preference for gold or silver? Or think silver flatters us even though our mother tells us gold does?). L'oreal even brings eye color into the mix to confuse us more, which has only a weak correlation with skin tone in Caucasian individuals.


In summary:

C (and N to a lesser extent) will enhance cools tones (red, pink) & neutralize warm tones (olive, golden).


W will enhance warm tones (olive, golden) & neutralize cools (ruddy, blue).


N...is called "neutral", and it's, meh... leans towards cool. But if you buy an N, you can mix it with a bit of W to make a more true neutral.

This stuff stays on your face looking fresh all day long if you blot properly.

48 out of 70 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 8:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I bought this for the premise of an ultra blendable foundation that would match my super pale skintone, and bought N1. It's a super drying formula, and half a bottle of primer is necessary to stop it accentuating fine lines. It's also not the blending dream it claims to be. Blending is a pain and it's streaky and oxidizes very orangey. However, I like the matte coverage and the velvety finish. I'm still unsure about it, but I'm willing to wear it a few more times to see if I can figure out how to get the most out of it.


on 3/15/2011 2:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation made my skin feel disgusting. I had to wash it off after a few hours. Colours are good, but the packaging is not - I much prefer a pump design like Almay TLC. Will be throwing this foundation away.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top