L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17


3020 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$


Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)

on 4/23/2011 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used this in 8th grade and I liked it, but I started using it again and it showed all of my dry patches, but I like their color selection.

on 4/23/2011 12:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this and keep using it, but unfortunately it made my acne worse. Also the packaging is not sanitary (a pump would be better) and it is designed so that you can end up putting too much on the brush. I will say that I loved how well the make up blended with my skin, the color I bought was honey beige and it matched my skin PERFECTLY. In fact it is the only foundation to date that has matched so closely with my skin tone. It also provides great coverage. If L'Oreal could reformulate it to make it more acne friendly, I would be first in line to purchase it.

on 4/22/2011 12:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I spent much time researching the best foundation, both drugstore and department store. I was between four, Maybelline Dream Mousse, L'Oreal True Match, MAC Studio Fix Liquid and Clinique Superbalanced. I tried maybelline and did not like the shade, undertone and how it felt on my face (very heavy). I then went for L'Oreal and at first I got a shade that was too light so I exchanged it for one that's a shade darker. The match was perfect, (I got a W1 and exchanged it for a W2) I thought this one would be too light at first too but once I applied it, it blended really well. It gives a very natural finish (my freckles show through, and they look great with this foundation). It also gives me good coverage but feels light at the same time. I have weird skin that starts out dry and goes to oily. When I first applied it, I could see some dry spots when looking closely but they disappeared later. The foundation stayed on even through my one hour exercise routine. I didn't go for the Clinique cause I decided to try the MAC next. I ended up keeping both the MAC and the L'oreal. The only fault with the L'oreal one is that it has small reflective particles, they're not visible unless you tilt the bottle or look at your face in direct sunlight. Not too visible. I also wish the bottle had a pump. Overall ok, but I don't think I will purchase again because of the shimmer in it.

on 4/21/2011 5:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this a couple of weeks ago. I have really fair skin with cool undertones. I did the color match thing that they have there under the foundations and I was Alabaster C1 (which is the lightest of all the cool tones).

The color is just a touch off. Even though it's cool, it still gives me this orange tone. Maybe I was just expecting it to completely match but I don't know. I like it besides that.

on 4/21/2011 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the first time I've ever purchased foundation; I'm not a huge makeup wearer because whenever I've let someone do my makeup in the past, I've never liked the way it looked. But I decided to start experimenting a bit. I bought the concealer and powder in the same shade, and I've liked all the products so far. I have good and bad days. If I don't moisturize enough, dry spots will show through the foundation a bit, and once it dries, I have a hard time blending it more (I always just use my fingers, though). But I have found that using less helps, and it still covers nice. However, the bottle is a little annoying because you have to pour it out, and I'm constantly pouring out way too much. I love the consistency of this foundation, though, because it spreads really easily, and even a small amount covers a lot of area. I probably would have given this a higher rating (and said I'd buy it again), but because this is still my first time, I want to see what else is out there. Overall, I'm satisfied with the quality considering what I paid for this.

Edit: Up-ed the rating from a 3 to a 4 and said I'd buy again. I've been using this for quite a while now (in between experimenting with other foundations), and this one is still my "go to" foundation. I've started using an actual flat-tipped foundation brush instead of my fingers to apply it, and what a difference that has made! This foundation is flawless, and it matches my skin tone PERFECTLY.

on 4/20/2011 4:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Loreal True Match foundation (on average around £9.99)

Because your worth it? (for the price, hell yes!)

Now I was very dubious about this. Mostly as any product boasting the line
'super-blendable perfecting foundation MATCHES the colour and TEXTURE (?) of your skin'
is going to make me think:

1. Colour Match? i should be so lucky!

2. I don't want anything to mimic the texture of my skin EVER. I want to cover it up! damn you loreal!

In reality it is actually a very good foundation for the price tag and i find myself wearing it far more than any foundation i have bought from MAC, Chanel or any other high end brand.
The colour was very good for my pretty pale skin (W1 golden ivoy is my shade of preference)
I find it blends well over my moisturiser and gives excellent coverage. I had many compliments on how flawless my skin was when i wore this.

I would be so so careful when using this. I was very shocked at how runny the consistency is. I have lost count the number of times i have had to wipe huge amounts of excessive amounts of foundation off my hands. The bottle does have a nice little pump, to be honest if it didn't i think ease of application would diminish into 'arrrrgh' territory. Iwould definitely recommend application with a foundation brush for a very nice airbrushed look.

The lasting power is very surprising, come bed time (the few times i have actually bothered to remove my make-up) i found i still had a substantial amount on my face. As someone who recently went through a snobby 'cheap foundation is lame phase' I found myself very pleasantly surprised.In addition to this i found the foundation had a good finish. Matte but not 'oh my god i look like a crazed mannequin' good matte, which kept my nose shine free until lunch time (a rare feat).

One thing which really really bugs me about this and other loreal foundations, is that there appears to be no consistency in shades across any of there ranges. For instance i was so impressed by my true match, that i thought i would try Loreals infallible 16 hour foundation. However i couldn't find any shade that matched my true match shade, all of the shade names were different within this range. Which as you can imagine was quite frustrating. Eventually i had to settle for either a shade which was too pale or one which was too dark, which isn't a choice you want to be presented with really.

Easy to apply
good staying power for the price
nice finish
doesn't feel too heavy
good medium coverage
a little will get you a long way.
The range of shades are shameful to be honest
don't expect to be able to find the same shade in another loreal foundation

on 4/18/2011 10:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Have been using this for several years now and really love it. I dot the foundation on my forehead, nose, face, and chin and then use a damp beauty blender to sort of stipple the product on. I really like the resulting look - it looks very natural and is light coverage. I do have to use concealer for any red blemishes that pop up and also for capillaries around my nose. This makeup is probably not ideal for anyone trying to get med-full coverage but is great for those who want to just even out skin that is not problematic. The bottle is pretty small and easy to travel with, although some might find the design messy. I do often wipe around the inside of the cap and bottle to keep it from getting too crazy. A pump might be a nice consideration, but honestly, I haven't been bothered and am fine with the bottle as is. My shade is N4 pretty much year round. The clear card w/the swatches at the store is great for finding your match!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 4/18/2011 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Type of skin: combination oily skin + acne prone

Packaging: good, but would be better if there was a pump
Color: a huge variety
Price: $11.99 CAD
Coverage: 4/5, light- medium (possibly full coverage as well) does not streak, face doesn't get oily after a few hrs. (must set with powder if you have combination to oily skin) **Does not break me out :)

I've tried revlon photo ready and rimmel stay matte foundations but i always tend to get oil, and coverage is minimal. Loreal true match is my far best drugstore foundation! <3

on 4/15/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I see so many people love Revlon Colorstay. I prefer True Match. First I am an Black woman. And we can be difficult to match when it comes to foundations. Even if the makeup is geared towards women of color. I tried True Match on a whim and I LOVE it. The N7 fits me like a glove. I found that Colorstay made my skin look dull and sometimes ashy. Then again I never cared for the matte look.

I also like it because it is a light coverage. I do not like to look like I am wearing makeup. and True Match just enhances my skin tone. It doesn't cover it.

I recommend this for any woman that is looking for an everyday Foundation, that gives a light, natural coverage.

on 4/14/2011 8:10:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation for a very long time, at a time when my skin was pretty horrible. (I have hypersensitive, acne-prone, combination skin.) It suited my needs for the time and didn't make my acne any worse, but unfortunately that's all the good I can say about this foundation. The color selection is great, but oxidized terribly after a few hours and by the end of the day my face looked streaky, orange, and my acne was barely covered, despite setting with powder. I'm mad at myself for using this product for so long, but I couldn't find any better options. Now that I've done my research better, I've discovered much better foundations than this one and will not be repurchasing.

Back to Top