Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(248 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 stonewin82 on 3/10/2008 4:12:00 PM more reviews by stonewin82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so bad to love this. I've tried literally everything for my fine, medium-length straight hair. Salon brands, drugstore brands, you name it...I have a friend who swears by Prep, so I decided to give this a try. I tried it with the Thickening Shampoo, Conditioner and Styling Lotion. I agree with the reviewer who said it made her hair "sleeker" - that's exactly what it did for me. Absolutely nothing for volume, thickness, or bounce though. I may even venture to say my hair felt even limper after using the Bb products. I have no problem spending $$ on products that actually work...this didn't do it for me. I'll go back to Frederic Fekkai's line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shrixer78 on 3/4/2008 3:05:00 PM more reviews by shrixer78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So far this is the best root lifter I have tried. The key is to blow-dry AGAINST the way the hair will fall. I have THE worst cowlicks in my ultra-fine, limp, shoulder-length hair, but this DOES work at giving me movement and bounce I have never before experienced.

As someone else said below...YOU MUST BLOWDRY or this product won't actually "work" and do its job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nilty007 on 3/2/2008 3:43:00 PM more reviews by nilty007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm shocked that so many people had bad experiences with this product. But, it is just like makeup/skin care - everyone is different. I have long, thick, wavy/poufy hair. Now you may be like, why does a girl with a ton of hair need thickening spray? Well, I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. Because what happens with me is, I can't just blow dry my hair, it just never looks right to me. I have to then use a straightener from mid-shaft down. Even leaving the roots alone, I felt like my hair looked TOO straight and limp. When I use the thickening spray, even with my Gentle shampoo (you don't have to use the thickening shampoo with it, but if you do, it definitely increases the volume factor) i have great volume at my roots and overall, my hair looks even thicker, despite the straightening. When my hair gets longer, it tends to look more limp, and I like a lot of thickness/texture to long hair. This product does the trick. Be careful not to use too much though, because anything in excess will weigh down your hair. Like I said, use this with the Thickening shampoo & conditioner and you will see a difference even more. My mom has very fine, thin hair and she even told me that she noticed a difference after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristenleigh3 on 3/1/2008 10:24:00 AM more reviews by kristenleigh3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this about a week ago just to try something new. I have fine, thin hair and am always on the lookout for something that will thicken/give me some more volume without being sticky like a lot of mousses are. I gave this spray a try, using B&B Prep underneath, and the results were...interesting. My hair looked great, but not thicker, as this product promises. I read the reviews on here yesterday and found that some people we saying they they thought it made their hair even flatter (probably not a good quality in a thickening spray!), which I agree with (I might use the work "sleeker" instead of "flatter" though, it wasn't the bad kind of flat). So today I did a little experimenting and used B&B Prep alone, without the thickening spray. The results are the same, if not better. I definately, without a doubt have more voulume without it. It's not an awful product, and may give some people results they are happy with, but for almost 30 bucks, it won't be hanging out in my bathroom. I'm glad my CVS has such a liberal return policy...it's going back next time I get a day off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwywmn76 on 3/1/2008 12:31:00 AM more reviews by hwywmn76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Some you win, some you lose.

This product isn't a total loser, just not at all doing it for me. I find that it really does NOT give me long lasting body, and that I MUST wash it on the second day ( I usually like to shampoo every other, and rarely have trouble with the greasies) My hair becomes very greasy with the Thickening, no matter how sparingly I apply it. So I have tried it many times now & just don't see me persuing this particular product, Additionally I feel that it dulls my color somewhat. (yikes!) . I have long, layered, wavy color treated (heallthy as it can be) hair, and it doesn't really respond to this B&B product.

Glad I tried the little one first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kayemarie on 2/23/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by kayemarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot live without this product. After using it for a long time, when I ran out I thought it probably wasn't making that much of a difference anyway. Boy was I wrong! I have very fine, thin, flat hair and this product definitely makes a difference. I mist it all over my damp hair before blow drying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Britannia8 on 2/8/2008 7:31:00 AM more reviews by Britannia8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This made my hair greasy and dull and sticky. I only used a little bit but my hair has way more volume without it. Luckily I was able to return it. I liked phytovolume much better for the volume, and it made my hair shiny too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 malickl04 on 2/6/2008 6:29:00 PM more reviews by malickl04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product along with the Styling Lotion every time I style my hair to go out at night. My thin-medium bodied hair really look and feel much thicker after I blowdry it. Normally my hair doesn't hold a style for any length of time but with this my hair looks good until last call!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 handis on 1/27/2008 8:24:00 AM more reviews by handis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, I really love this! My long hair gets wonderful volume when I use it. I don`t even have to blow-dry my hair for a great result. My husband and parents commented on my hair the first time I used it; they said it looked so thick and kind of curly (my hair is usually straight, but I look much better with more volume in it). And friends have also given me a lot of positive comments after I started using it. I really love this product, and it is a new "must-have" for me:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ViciRose on 1/5/2008 10:58:00 PM more reviews by ViciRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product... but it does NOTHING if you don't use a blow dryer. My stylist gave it to me for my new bangs. Spray, maybe 10 shots... thats a lot, it will soak dry hair... then blow dray according to his brilliant technique. That was my first experience. Now, I use it for anywhere that needs a little volume.. Around the crown of my head for updos or high sides when I'm a little limp. but like I said, If you just spray and go its as if you did nothing at all. You must spray and blow dry.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products