Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(254 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CarolynBe on 5/21/2008 7:44:00 PM more reviews by CarolynBe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have fine, thin, and thinning chin length hair. This is the best volumizing product I have ever used. I am 43 and have tried tons of mouses, root boosters, volumizers/body boosters. I use it when I blow dry and it makes my hair grab the brush and hold the shape so much better than if I don't use anything. It does not make my hair feel crunchy or weigh it down. It does not dry it out either. Also, my hair holds its style for the next day (with a little water spritz to tame bed head) if I skip a day of shampooing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zlisaz1 on 5/7/2008 5:59:00 PM more reviews by zlisaz1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Another overpriced bumble and bumble product. It does nothing more than Avedas root lifting spray/tonic and costs an arm and a leg at 25 bucks???
Who are they fooling?
I wrote to Bumble and Bumble and tehy justify their sick prices by stating that they have to pay for shipping, distribution and purchase the best ingredients for their products. Theres like 7 ingredients in the thickening spray one of them being honey. Cheaper products contain the same ingredients and cost so much less. Bumble and Bumble is a rip off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skhinz on 4/18/2008 5:51:00 PM more reviews by skhinz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'll tell you a little story about this product..........My husband and I work together in the same office every day. He very very rarely says anything about the way I look (he's very unobservant). Well, the first day I used this product I walked in our office and he looked at me and said "your hair looks really good today". Wow - I about fell off my chair.

Guess it works for my fine, limp, somewhat damaged hair. I know it's a little expensive, but I think that the bottle will last a really long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glossy78 on 4/1/2008 6:22:00 PM more reviews by glossy78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

this stuff works, it really thickens and adds volume more than almost anything i have tried. definitely worth the money. just be careful because if you apply too much your hair will be too thick and parallel to the ground.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vvlindsvv on 4/1/2008 10:48:00 AM more reviews by vvlindsvv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product smells great, but does absolutely nothing to my short, fine, and limp hair. It does not leave it gunky, as some people said, it just doesn't do anything at all. My hair-thickening quest continues...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 karlanee on 3/17/2008 1:12:00 PM more reviews by karlanee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I HATE this stuff. I love how it smells, love that it's high quality, love that it's easy to use, but hate how it leaves my fine, thin hair feeling. I've tried using it twice now and been disappointed both times. I know I"m using it exactly how it's supposed to be used, and it leaves my roots feeling like I gunked it up with hairspray and then blowdried it. I'm sure this is a great product, just not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 stonewin82 on 3/10/2008 4:12:00 PM more reviews by stonewin82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so bad to love this. I've tried literally everything for my fine, medium-length straight hair. Salon brands, drugstore brands, you name it...I have a friend who swears by Prep, so I decided to give this a try. I tried it with the Thickening Shampoo, Conditioner and Styling Lotion. I agree with the reviewer who said it made her hair "sleeker" - that's exactly what it did for me. Absolutely nothing for volume, thickness, or bounce though. I may even venture to say my hair felt even limper after using the Bb products. I have no problem spending $$ on products that actually work...this didn't do it for me. I'll go back to Frederic Fekkai's line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shrixer78 on 3/4/2008 3:05:00 PM more reviews by shrixer78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So far this is the best root lifter I have tried. The key is to blow-dry AGAINST the way the hair will fall. I have THE worst cowlicks in my ultra-fine, limp, shoulder-length hair, but this DOES work at giving me movement and bounce I have never before experienced.

As someone else said below...YOU MUST BLOWDRY or this product won't actually "work" and do its job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nilty007 on 3/2/2008 3:43:00 PM more reviews by nilty007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm shocked that so many people had bad experiences with this product. But, it is just like makeup/skin care - everyone is different. I have long, thick, wavy/poufy hair. Now you may be like, why does a girl with a ton of hair need thickening spray? Well, I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. Because what happens with me is, I can't just blow dry my hair, it just never looks right to me. I have to then use a straightener from mid-shaft down. Even leaving the roots alone, I felt like my hair looked TOO straight and limp. When I use the thickening spray, even with my Gentle shampoo (you don't have to use the thickening shampoo with it, but if you do, it definitely increases the volume factor) i have great volume at my roots and overall, my hair looks even thicker, despite the straightening. When my hair gets longer, it tends to look more limp, and I like a lot of thickness/texture to long hair. This product does the trick. Be careful not to use too much though, because anything in excess will weigh down your hair. Like I said, use this with the Thickening shampoo & conditioner and you will see a difference even more. My mom has very fine, thin hair and she even told me that she noticed a difference after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristenleigh3 on 3/1/2008 10:24:00 AM more reviews by kristenleigh3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this about a week ago just to try something new. I have fine, thin hair and am always on the lookout for something that will thicken/give me some more volume without being sticky like a lot of mousses are. I gave this spray a try, using B&B Prep underneath, and the results were...interesting. My hair looked great, but not thicker, as this product promises. I read the reviews on here yesterday and found that some people we saying they they thought it made their hair even flatter (probably not a good quality in a thickening spray!), which I agree with (I might use the work "sleeker" instead of "flatter" though, it wasn't the bad kind of flat). So today I did a little experimenting and used B&B Prep alone, without the thickening spray. The results are the same, if not better. I definately, without a doubt have more voulume without it. It's not an awful product, and may give some people results they are happy with, but for almost 30 bucks, it won't be hanging out in my bathroom. I'm glad my CVS has such a liberal return policy...it's going back next time I get a day off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products