Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(357 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 blotto on 2/4/2010 4:06:00 PM more reviews by blotto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara serves one specific purpose in my makeup arsenal: to darken my lashes if I feel I really need to look sexy at the beach or pool. Well, okay it also works well on my lower lashes which tend to smudge easily. It does a good job of going on easily without clumps, but doesn't lengthen or thicken. It does tend to flake during the day, but overall it looks pretty and just enhances my eyes. Again, I only wear this for certain occasions, and have other mascaras I prefer far more. But if you're going on a cruise, maybe this is the one for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mysticachai on 1/31/2010 2:05:00 AM more reviews by mysticachai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very average product. The only good thing about it is that the brush is relatively small, so I can get more lashes. It smudges on the bottom of my lids after a day. Since I have small lashes, I could use some extra length, which this doesn't do.
It's a simple product, but why would I buy this again if for $2 more I can get vavoom lashes (Maybelline XXL)?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 daleysl on 1/4/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by daleysl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is awful. Clumped badly when applied, and made my eyes unbearably, horribly scratchy. It felt like I had tons of tiny fibers all thru my eyes. That may be true, because when I looked in the mirror a few hours later, I had alot of black fiber-looking things laying under my lower lashes. Very hard to remove too, I used an oily eyemakeup remover (Maybelline) and it did not work. I had to use Purpose facewash on a cloth and scrub my eyelids. I lost alot of eyelashes trying to get this crap off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JuicyGlam on 12/17/2009 11:37:00 AM more reviews by JuicyGlam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried this product a few years ago and thought it was good but when I purchased it again last week, it will be the last time I buy it. It gives my lashes length, but no volume whatsoever. The brush is so small and skinny, it doesn't do alot for my lashes. The formula is not thick so it doesn't create any clumps but again, no volume. After an hour, it smudges like crazy. I look like a raccoon after wearing this. It's also hard to wash off. I use the Almay oil free wipes and it's a pain to remove.

For those that think this is good because it holds a curl, any waterproof mascara will hold a curl. People need to stop rating waterproof mascaras on their ability to hold a curl!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 11/5/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love the regular great lash and decided to try the waterproof formula. Super black, but a tad bit too liquidy. Also once this dries, its a beyotch to get off!! It takes waterproof to a different level, really. I tried everything, oils included, and this stuff barely budged. Just not worth the hassle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 falovalo on 11/3/2009 2:46:00 PM more reviews by falovalo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'll never understand the appeal and cult following of Great Lash. It barely makes a difference in my lashes and smudges all over the place. Ick!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jadejiang on 10/29/2009 11:11:00 PM more reviews by jadejiang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand why this mascara was voted as Best Mascara for so many years. There's nothing special about it. It's not bad, it's just I can find a much better mascara and I would be willing to pay more for it too. I would recommend Lash Blast by CoverGirl if you like waterproof mascaras. I think that's the best waterproof drugstore brand I've ever used. This for the price isn't too shabby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KHD on 10/9/2009 3:27:00 AM more reviews by KHD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Naturally my lashes are blonde so it's blatantly obvious when mascara clumps or flakes off me, but I don't have this problem at all with Great Lash.
The wand delivers the right amount of product for a subtle look and you can reapply several coats with minimum drama to enhance volume, but not much can be done for creating length or curl.
It's a solid staple for anyones makeup bag- it's nothing too fancy but at under $10 you'll definitely get your moneys worth and it won't hurt as much as throwing away DiorShow after the allotted 3 months shelf-life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristineybobeeny on 10/5/2009 12:46:00 AM more reviews by kristineybobeeny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this product. It can hold a curl pretty well and it doesn't volumize my lashes bu it does lenghthen them for me. It's pink packaging is really cute in my opinion. It's not hard to remove with makeup remover. The brush is small which I don't like very much but it does the job the way I want it to.

It's definitely not the best mascara but not the worst mascara out there. I will repurchase this if I'm broke and just need some mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NaturalLook on 9/19/2009 2:53:00 PM more reviews by NaturalLook

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first mascara that I've used as a teenager. I have straight eyelashes that I curl before applying mascara. I bought the waterproof version of this mascara as it doesn't straighten out my curled eyelashes. The small brush makes it easy to apply mascara on my bottom lashes. I use "Very Black" color and must apply 3 coats to make my light black eyelashes look darker and a little bit longer. It doesn't build volume or add much length. The mascara flakes and clumps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products