Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LittleLawLady on 9/11/2008 2:05:00 PM more reviews by LittleLawLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Miracle in a bottle!! For the longest time, my skin has been super dull and ruddy...I would never have considered leaving my house without makeup. I read so much about the benefits of using vitamins E and C I figured I had nothing to lose by trying. So glad I did! I have been using a mini-dropper full a day, smoothing all over my face and after a month my skin really does glow! It has not caused me to break out even though my skin is naturally oily. My pores actually seem to appear smaller! I use after washing my face in the AM but before using MAC P&P spf 50. My skin absorbs the liquid quickly, and it is not sticky or greasy at all. Using this has fit right in to my routine of using AHA and retinol products at night...no weird effects. I will concede that there is a light smell and the price is $$$ but I can get over both for the results!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smarie22 on 9/2/2008 4:00:00 PM more reviews by smarie22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS STUFF!!! Let me start by saying that I first tried SkinMedica Vit. C Complex--which totally broke me out. I had little white bumps on my cheekbones and temples (eek!) I think it was the cones in it that didn't mix well.

So I ordered the samples from e-bay--and I love this stuff! No breakouts, no irritation. Before, with the Skinmedica, I would wash my face at the end of the day and find more bumps and irritation (and my skin felt itchy and coated). This stuff absorbs easily--I spread it with a slightly damp hand, and only use 4 drops for my face and neck. Then I let it dry for a few minutes and follow it w/Skinceuticals Phyto Corrective gel and moisturizer + Sofina Perfect UV sunblock. The sunblock goes on nicely over these products with or m/o moisturizer. And at the end of the day, my skin looks great when I remove my makeup--no new "surprises."

If oil based products and cones don't work well for you, I would recommend this as a great Vit C product. My skin is really (finally) starting to look good (also using Skinceuticals 0.5 retinol rotated with TRUE cosmetic blemish treatment and just started glycolic acid peels too). The combo is really helping!

UPDATE 3/30/09: OK. I lied. Well, I didn't lie but I got a little carried away. My skin got better and then worse and worse. I stopped using this product--I don't know that this stuff broke me out, but I have really simplified my routine. I neither love nor hate this stuff, but I don't think it did much for me. Perhaps I'll revisit this at a later date...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandadoll77 on 8/8/2008 1:32:00 PM more reviews by pandadoll77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE IT!! I have used them ALL. Le Mer serums to Mama Lotion to Dr. Perricone, etc... And I have also have eye creams ranging from shiseido benefiance to Relastin to Kinerase to La Mer Eye Concentrate.

Anyhow, when I turned 30 years old I noticed I began getting fine lines around my eyes each time I smiled. Sure, they are called 'smile lines' but I never had them before I hit this monumental birthday. Desperate, I tried everything on the market - or just about.

Then my facialist told me to use this serum with Skincueticals. I am hooked! It took 2 months to really notice the difference but now I am back to normal - no crowsfeet forming and those fine lines gone.

I highly recommend it. Best thing, I don't even use eye creams. I also use this at night (though it directs only for day-use)... when I wake up, my face glows.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 onestarrynight on 7/27/2008 10:51:00 PM more reviews by onestarrynight

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about six months now. Before that I was using the Cellex-C serum with the B5. I switched to this after reading how it was the cutting edge in antioxidant serums. In truth I'm not sure how I feel about this stuff. My skin doesn't seem as glowing as it did when I was using the Cellex-C and I think this might be giving me blackheads on my cheeks. It does have that strange hot dog smell, though it dissipates pretty quickly. It also absorbs so fast that it seems like it takes a fair amount to get it all over my face. I bought the travel size bottles on eBay and now I'm wondering if maybe those aren't legit? They were clear in color and I figured they wouldn't oxidize as fast. I just purchased a new large bottle from the Skinceuticals website, so we'll see if that's any different than the stuff I got off of eBay. I'll update after it arrives and I use it for a little while. Update: A few months later - The stuff I bought from the Skinceuticals website is a little thinner in texture than the stuff I bought off of eBay. The smell is identical. I do think the stuff on eBay is legit, but maybe just older? I have noticed that the blackheads I thought I was getting from this have gone away, so maybe the thinner formula helped. I kept one of the small bottles from eBay and use that to refill from the large bottle I keep in the fridge. This has really helped with oxidation as my big bottle is still fairly clear colored (very slight yellow tinge). I remember my small bottles used to turn brownish before I even finished them. I use it everyday and my skin does look good. I still can't say for sure it's as good as the Cellex-C serum. I think I may have to buy a small bottle of that to try again after my CE Ferulic runs out just as an experiment. These serums are all so expensive and since they are *preventative* it's not always easy to judge them. I am bumping my three lippies rating up to four since the blackhead situation is resolved.
Update one more time: I've been reading "You: Being Beautiful: The Owner's Manual" and it talks about how antioxidants like vitamin C serums should be put on at night. Apparently sunlight (UVB) inactivates the vitamin C. I've never heard that before. I've always used these in the morning. Anyway, I'm going to switch to using the CE Ferulic at night. Just thought I'd mention it here too in case anyone else is using it in the mornings.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KirieHimuro on 7/14/2008 5:46:00 AM more reviews by KirieHimuro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A really good C serum and the addition of vit E is good for my dry skin. During summer, I don't even need to moisturize after this. I just wait until it's absorbed and then I apply sunscreen. It doesn't make my skin glow at all, (philosophys hope and prayer topical vit C powder really made it glow) but I think that it has helped me even out my skintone along with ss and retinoids. The smell was atrocious the first time I used it but it goes away quickly and you get used to it because now I hardly notice the smell.

Not too keen on the packaging, it's unhygienic imo, since it lasts so long. The bottle should have been smaller to prevent oxidizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jrichardson on 7/3/2008 7:20:00 AM more reviews by jrichardson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the only skincare products out there that I think really makes a difference. I've resigned myself to the fact that you need a serum -- and not expensive creams -- to get a result. This is very reasonably priced, provides good protection from photo aging, and makes a difference to the overall appearance of your skin in the long run. A keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pelikandaughter on 6/30/2008 11:13:00 PM more reviews by pelikandaughter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Another SC hit for me. I got this in May and now I use this every day on my face, throat, and the backs of my hands. It's hard to review what is mainly a preventative and not a reparative, but the backs of my hands are what convinced me that this product works - the skin tone there is much more even since I started using this, and I'm not using the retinol or anything else besides sunscreen and hand lotion on my hands. Anyway, MUA-ers and dermatologists have convinced me that an antioxidant serum is a solid investment, and since you need so little the cost is not so bad. I don't notice the hot dog smell any more, but even when I did notice it, the smell went away very quickly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeeSF on 6/28/2008 6:49:00 PM more reviews by DeeSF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using La Prairie products so long it almost feels like heresy to try another brand. I've developed age spots recently and have been considering laser treatments. My new facialist suggested I try this first.
This stuff is really, really, great. I've been applying it after my toner for about a month and my skin feels smoother and I swear my age spots and freckles have lightened.
It doesn't smell great, but I kind of like that because there are obviously no smelly chemical additives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loulou7 on 6/15/2008 12:06:00 PM more reviews by loulou7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this for about 2 years and love it. I have dry skin so the addition of vitamin E is beneficial. My skin has never looks more even in color and radiant. I'm excited to see the results of their newest product, Phloretin CF. It's supposed to be a step up from CE Ferulic. It has the C and Ferulic acid and also Phloretin, which is derived from apples. It has a broader anti-oxidant spectrum. I've been using it for about a week and love it. I'll probably go back and forth with the two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rjohnson on 6/14/2008 5:39:00 PM more reviews by rjohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this product and don't mind the smell...it goes away after a few minutes anyway. As to where it can be legitimately purchased now (as Limpy noted Skinceuticals tells callers that anyone selling it online now is simply getting rid of old inventory):

If that's correct then why is skinstore the top advertiser on this very page in the google section? Doesn't that cost a lot of money? I don't understand why they would do this if they simply were getting rid of some old products. Also they still have the entire line of Skinceuticals and it's a featured brand on their homepage...I agree with Limpy, something's fishy. If anyone orders from them please post the lot number on this page so we can call Skinceuticals to find out if its old or not. I would love to order it again with a coupon code but not without knowing its fresh stock.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products