Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments

rated 3.7(253 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jrichardson on 7/3/2008 7:20:00 AM more reviews by jrichardson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the only skincare products out there that I think really makes a difference. I've resigned myself to the fact that you need a serum -- and not expensive creams -- to get a result. This is very reasonably priced, provides good protection from photo aging, and makes a difference to the overall appearance of your skin in the long run. A keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pelikandaughter on 6/30/2008 11:13:00 PM more reviews by pelikandaughter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Another SC hit for me. I got this in May and now I use this every day on my face, throat, and the backs of my hands. It's hard to review what is mainly a preventative and not a reparative, but the backs of my hands are what convinced me that this product works - the skin tone there is much more even since I started using this, and I'm not using the retinol or anything else besides sunscreen and hand lotion on my hands. Anyway, MUA-ers and dermatologists have convinced me that an antioxidant serum is a solid investment, and since you need so little the cost is not so bad. I don't notice the hot dog smell any more, but even when I did notice it, the smell went away very quickly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeeSF on 6/28/2008 6:49:00 PM more reviews by DeeSF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using La Prairie products so long it almost feels like heresy to try another brand. I've developed age spots recently and have been considering laser treatments. My new facialist suggested I try this first.
This stuff is really, really, great. I've been applying it after my toner for about a month and my skin feels smoother and I swear my age spots and freckles have lightened.
It doesn't smell great, but I kind of like that because there are obviously no smelly chemical additives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loulou7 on 6/15/2008 12:06:00 PM more reviews by loulou7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this for about 2 years and love it. I have dry skin so the addition of vitamin E is beneficial. My skin has never looks more even in color and radiant. I'm excited to see the results of their newest product, Phloretin CF. It's supposed to be a step up from CE Ferulic. It has the C and Ferulic acid and also Phloretin, which is derived from apples. It has a broader anti-oxidant spectrum. I've been using it for about a week and love it. I'll probably go back and forth with the two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rjohnson on 6/14/2008 5:39:00 PM more reviews by rjohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this product and don't mind the smell...it goes away after a few minutes anyway. As to where it can be legitimately purchased now (as Limpy noted Skinceuticals tells callers that anyone selling it online now is simply getting rid of old inventory):

If that's correct then why is skinstore the top advertiser on this very page in the google section? Doesn't that cost a lot of money? I don't understand why they would do this if they simply were getting rid of some old products. Also they still have the entire line of Skinceuticals and it's a featured brand on their homepage...I agree with Limpy, something's fishy. If anyone orders from them please post the lot number on this page so we can call Skinceuticals to find out if its old or not. I would love to order it again with a coupon code but not without knowing its fresh stock.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 foxeskier on 5/29/2008 10:46:00 PM more reviews by foxeskier

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product did do some nice things to my skin as I was showing signs of aging. However, it is not meant for oily skin. I broke out badly with usage of it. I believe the E in the 'CE' is what cause the problem for me (vit E)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chinkywinky on 5/23/2008 3:28:00 PM more reviews by chinkywinky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried three other topical vitamin Cs (SK-II, DHC, & SkinMedica) but this one is my favorite one. A bottle lasts about 6 months (on my second one) and my first bottle did oxidize around month 4 or 5. It does have a weird smell but it goes away after a few minutes.

I put the vit C on every morning after putting on SK-II Essence. I wait a few minutes for the vit C to soak in so that the stickiness goes away before applying sunscreen. I do not use moisturizer after the vit C and before the sunscreen since the vit C provides enough moisture for me.

Skinceuticals no longer allows online sales of their products except on its own website, which is too bad because I was able to use discount codes on the other websites.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mochi on 5/19/2008 3:46:00 PM more reviews by Mochi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best products I've ever used. I am lucky and have skin that's really good genetically, and I'm pale, so I've been using sunscreen religiously since I was a teenager. So to be fair, it's not like it turned me from the Elephant Man to Linda Evangelista overnight.

But this stuff makes my skin glow like I'm lit by candles. Seriously -- glow. People ask me all the time if I'm wearing foundation (I don't) because my skin looks so nice. It's even started helping to fade some driver's side sun damage that's bugged me for at least 10 years. I also use Avene's Eluage/Ystheal, but I've been using them for years. The new extra glowiness is due entirely to the Skinceuticals.

I've only been using it for about 3 months. I can't wait to see how well I age if I stick with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hiddencat on 5/8/2008 4:07:00 PM more reviews by hiddencat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my second time trying this out. The first time, I thought it irritated my skin, broke me out, and gave my orange blackheads. My routine was influx at that time though, so I think other factors contributed to my bad initial experience.

I bought a sample pack of 6 on ebay recently, and really like it. It doesn't sting, the smell doesn't bother me as much as I remembered (it's gross, but I don't notice it anymore), and no more breakouts than I normally have. I like that it's moisturizing but that it doesn't leave a film that interferes with other products. My skin seems to have a more even tone and is less red- I know C serums aren't supposed to really do anything immediate, so I'm guessing that it's just a soothing formula.

I apply two drops on my forehead and rub it in, two drops on my right cheek and rub it in over my cheek, nose, chin, under eye area, and then repeat that with my left cheek. I also apply some to my neck but it's hard to see how much I'm putting on because I drop it directly on my skin- I find it dries to quickly and doesn't spread as well if I put it on my fingers and THEN apply it.

It's expensive, even from ebay, and the packaging is stupid and does nothing to prevent the product from oxidizing. I'm going to try out skinmedica's serum after I'm done with this, but predict that I will like the skinceuticals better because of the lack of silicones to interfere with other products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 limpy on 5/8/2008 11:45:00 AM more reviews by limpy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok, Guys:

I just called Skinceuticals directly and asked them why do some websites sell their products at such a huge discount.
I was told that Skinceuticals suspended working with other web retailers 1 year ago. The only way to purchase an authentic product is from skinceuticals.com or from your local authorized dermatologist.

It seems suspicious to me that these websites even have "travel-size" samples for sale, even though the manufacturer does not sell these vials on its website.

Something is fishy.

Do you guys trust that the product you buy is correctly formulated? How do you know?
I don't want to spend $135.

Update: I just called Skinstore.com.
I used to purchase CE Ferulic from them last year.
I asked them why they sell Skinceuticals on their website, if Skinceuticals no longer sells their products through intermediaries. I was told that Skinceuticals did not renew a contract with them and they are selling whatever remained from their last year's stock.
Be warned.

18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments products