Revlon • Super Lustrous Lipstick (All Shades) • Lipstick

rated 4.3(282 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Team6Jacobson on 9/23/2009 12:35:00 AM more reviews by Team6Jacobson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Like so many others, I think that Revlon makes the BEST drugstore lipsticks out there. Why do I think this?

-They have an outstanding range of colours, from purples to pinks to nudes to corals to reds. Every colour under the sun is available.

-They go on pigmented and true to colour

-They feel like an absolute delight on your lips, so smooth and creamy

-They are quite long lasting, yet I do not find them drying at all.

-They are only 8.00, less if you can get them on sale

-The packaging is divine. Black and round, with a little gold strip with the brand name. The colour is on the bottom and the top is clear so you can easily see the shade in your makeup drawer.

-They have awesome names! I would much rather wear "Cha Cha Cherry" on my lips then "Hot Red"


So BUY THESE LIPSTICKS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babydoll67 on 8/17/2009 10:05:00 AM more reviews by babydoll67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have a hard time finding a red that works with my pale skin tone. Reds usually make me look like a hooker or a little girl playing dress up. I was getting my hair done at a salon and read that Revlon's Super Lustrous in Fire and Ice was a great red for pale skin. CVS had it for around $8.00 so I bought it. When I got home, I tried it on and it not only looked fantastic, but it felt really wonderful on my lips. It lasted for a long time and didn't dry my lips out. They actually felt more hydrated. When I went out on Saturday night, I got compliments from all of my friends, male and female. I think I FINALLY found my HG red lipstick! It took long enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mingkwan76 on 8/1/2009 4:57:00 AM more reviews by mingkwan76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this super lustrous lipstick in pink in the afternoon from revlon All I can say is this product was really not for me. It's chalky and cakey on my lips. I needed to reapply gloss over it every 30mins. Wanna love it because of the price, but sorry I really can't!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DisneyAnimeFan92 on 8/1/2009 12:18:00 AM more reviews by DisneyAnimeFan92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this lipstick. Revlon is the only company that ever has shades that work for me. Anything red or pink looks garish and awful on me. I was afraid of color for a long time because none of the ones I picked ever seemed to look right. But finally I decided to take the plunge and get the lipstick that everyone is always talking about.


For starters, the application is smooth and creamy. If applied to bare lips, the color comes out perfectly with one swipe, and there is no need to add more to get the full color payoff. I have Copper Chrome, which looks exactly as it sounds. It has small shimmers in it, but they're not big enough to look strange. It's slightly frosty, but not enough to look trashy. The color is rich and gorgeous, and looks just like a new penny, with nice orange and yellow undertones to it that show more as the day goes on. Good for a summer/fall look.


The only downside is that this lipstick can be a little drying over time. This never bothers me though, since I make it a rule to always wear lip balm under any lip product. With lip balm on underneath, you may need to do a few extra swipes to get the color to show up perfectly. This too works out for me though, since sometimes I like to tone down the color. When the feel of the lipstick mixes with the feel of my Burt's Bees lip balm, it forms a thick, rich, wonderful coat on my lips that seems to protect them from everything. I don't lose much product while drinking, though obviously eating gets rid of a lot of it. But that's to be expected with any lipstick.


All in all, this my favorite lipstick in the world -- a color perfect for my skin that can be applied lightly for an everyday look or built up into a night look. Basically, my lips but much, much better. If they ever discontinue it, I'll just die. :) Great product, and I hope to try out the other shades.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Boha on 7/24/2009 11:03:00 AM more reviews by Boha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is great for a lipstick, not just a d/s one either. It's very smooth. It wasn't drying and it lasted a good amount of time. There is a fairly good selection of colors. And they have cream and pearl options. Very good for the money. Especially if you find a BOGO or coupon (CVS & Walgrees will let you use both)

In my area, the normal price is $8 each. With the BOGOF & $2 off coupon (found in most fashion/beauty magazines & some newspapers) I got them for $3 each.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 6/22/2009 1:08:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE these lipsticks. They are my HG product. Why?

-Rich and creamy without bleeding into lip lines.

-The colour lasts well, needing touch ups after meals only.

-NO SMELL! at least in the super lustrous line, and NO TASTE either!!!!! What a relief! In contrast L'Oreal's line is moist has a great colour range, and lasts ok, but it has an appalling smell and chemical taste.

-Great colour range (good selection between warm and cool tones)

-Lots of choices with and without shimmer.

Favourite shades that work well with my pale warm (NC20) redhead colouring:

Matte shades:
In The Red & Really Red. Both discontinued but Revlon re introduced Really Red as part of its classic shade collection so it can still be found.

Cream to pearl shades:
Ginger Rose (discontinued). Peach Me & Demure both of which have a pearl shimmer even though Demure is listed as a cream.

Just Enough Buff, Blushing Mauve, Blushing Nude. Blushed.

Coralberry & Love That Pink are my 2 favourite brights in a coral & hot warm pink.

The shades that didn't work on me:
I bought Rosedew a couple of times, forgetting that it is just too much silver shimmer. There is a blue undertone to that one as well. Just didn't work but I keep absent mindedly buying it. Pretty lipstick.

And Rose Velvet ended up being a touch too cool toned brownish rose but it was a really nice cream, no shimmer. A bit too dark & cool on me.

Pink In The Afternoon. It is a gorgeous pink just not on me. It has that opaque thick solid pink look from the 60s and it is SO Audrey Hepburn but it is a touch too cool on my lips.

Now some advice: Go for the ones marked "cream" on the tube label if you prefer little to no sparkle or shimmer. Be forewarned that the ones marked "pearl" will have shimmer or frosting ranging from moderate to loads. I've learnt to avoid those.

And a small complaint: My only beef with Revlon is the round tube case. It rolls everywhere, taking nose dives off my counter and landing on the bathroom floor or worse still, launching itself straight into the toilet (being fished out and tossed into the trash)! PLEASE Revlon if you are listening, go with a square case, but don't do the stupid little peg and slot thing that L'Oreal does, that just makes it hard to close properly.

But otherwise it is a nice looking case that never loses its cap in a purse or makeup bag. It stays secure right to the end.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 enigmaID on 5/23/2009 5:42:00 AM more reviews by enigmaID

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the classic packaging of this lipstick. It reminded me of glamorous times, when women would go to the powder room and apply this lipstick and gossip in front of a gilded embellished mirror. There's also a modern and helpful "window" at the top of the tube so you can see the colour.


The lipstick itself is very opaque and goes on with a creamy finish. It's not very moisturising though, and is best for people who seek a good colour payoff and moderately long lasting wear. It leaves a beautiful stain on the lips after the actual lipstick comes off.


There's also a large colour selection and comes in a variety of finishes such as creme, satin, frost and etc.


One lippie off off, just because I wish it was a little glossier, rather than having to apply a gloss on top for shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 r4k on 5/16/2009 6:35:00 PM more reviews by r4k

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this lipstick..no funny scent..lasting power is not that good though..but creamy and light texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chubz on 5/15/2009 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Chubz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

great pigmentation. it's moisturizing. i always use it with my revlon moon drops lip conditioner to soften my lips first. love love love. i have lipsticks from lancome and estee lauder, but i choose this one over my expensive dept. store ones...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksychan on 4/23/2009 5:34:00 AM more reviews by ksychan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My HG lipstick for the last 8 years. Have tried a variety of lipsticks (samples, gifts) but none come close. It beats the top brands hands down. I once had an Estee Lauder Signature that broke after 2 uses. Revlon Super Lustrous has wonderful coverage, lasts even while it's not colourstay and best of all, I was SO glad when Revlon was one of the few brands that didn't use lead in their lipsticks. I use 130 and 131 and have constantly gotten raves or questions about the shade that's so natural yet pretty. Will definitely recommend to my daughter when she's old enough to use lipsticks. It's THAT good!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products