Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick (All Shades)

4.3

284 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Ozokerite, Polybutene, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, C10 30 Cholesterol/Lanesterol Esters, Bis Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate 2, Cera Microcristallina (Microcrystalline Wax), Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Paraffin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Retinyl Palmitate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Serica Poudre de Soie (Silk Powder), Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2 Hexanediol, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 49020), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Carmine (CI 75470)


on 11/24/2009 12:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This weekend I found a Nude Velvet lippie at Big Lots on sale for $2. I could not resist the price and the color. I tried it on this morning and was impressed with the finish as well as the color. My lips are dark for my complexion and I have numerous problems with finding drugstore lipstick that are accurate representations of the tube color when I use them. Nude Velvet fell into this category but the result was a very pleasant light pinkish beige that I *admired* on me (for once). I am averse to pink since my lips run on the darker side but this one turned out very well. I am expecting to use it with the smoky eye look.



on 11/13/2009 3:57:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

OMFG! i have one of these in "Roses are Red" which was "LE" or so it says on the tube. Niiiiice. It is the perfect red for me. Feels very dry on its own, but when i put chapstick underneath it's great. Fades down evenly, like others have mentioned.
I am really starting to love Revlon. I don't know why I didn't give them cred earlier. I never pay retail price though. I buy online or at CCOs or the like.
Also these are like 25 bucks in Australia so i kinda just refuse to pay full price :P
Will buy superlustrous again! Definitely!
In the creme formulation that is.

also really nice packaging - looks sleek, has a distinct click when it closes - so you're sure that lid ain't going nowhere! love it!


on 9/23/2009 12:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Like so many others, I think that Revlon makes the BEST drugstore lipsticks out there. Why do I think this?

-They have an outstanding range of colours, from purples to pinks to nudes to corals to reds. Every colour under the sun is available.

-They go on pigmented and true to colour

-They feel like an absolute delight on your lips, so smooth and creamy

-They are quite long lasting, yet I do not find them drying at all.

-They are only 8.00, less if you can get them on sale

-The packaging is divine. Black and round, with a little gold strip with the brand name. The colour is on the bottom and the top is clear so you can easily see the shade in your makeup drawer.

-They have awesome names! I would much rather wear "Cha Cha Cherry" on my lips then "Hot Red"


So BUY THESE LIPSTICKS.


on 8/17/2009 10:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a hard time finding a red that works with my pale skin tone. Reds usually make me look like a hooker or a little girl playing dress up. I was getting my hair done at a salon and read that Revlon's Super Lustrous in Fire and Ice was a great red for pale skin. CVS had it for around $8.00 so I bought it. When I got home, I tried it on and it not only looked fantastic, but it felt really wonderful on my lips. It lasted for a long time and didn't dry my lips out. They actually felt more hydrated. When I went out on Saturday night, I got compliments from all of my friends, male and female. I think I FINALLY found my HG red lipstick! It took long enough!


on 8/1/2009 4:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this super lustrous lipstick in pink in the afternoon from revlon All I can say is this product was really not for me. It's chalky and cakey on my lips. I needed to reapply gloss over it every 30mins. Wanna love it because of the price, but sorry I really can't!!!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this lipstick. Revlon is the only company that ever has shades that work for me. Anything red or pink looks garish and awful on me. I was afraid of color for a long time because none of the ones I picked ever seemed to look right. But finally I decided to take the plunge and get the lipstick that everyone is always talking about.


For starters, the application is smooth and creamy. If applied to bare lips, the color comes out perfectly with one swipe, and there is no need to add more to get the full color payoff. I have Copper Chrome, which looks exactly as it sounds. It has small shimmers in it, but they're not big enough to look strange. It's slightly frosty, but not enough to look trashy. The color is rich and gorgeous, and looks just like a new penny, with nice orange and yellow undertones to it that show more as the day goes on. Good for a summer/fall look.


The only downside is that this lipstick can be a little drying over time. This never bothers me though, since I make it a rule to always wear lip balm under any lip product. With lip balm on underneath, you may need to do a few extra swipes to get the color to show up perfectly. This too works out for me though, since sometimes I like to tone down the color. When the feel of the lipstick mixes with the feel of my Burt's Bees lip balm, it forms a thick, rich, wonderful coat on my lips that seems to protect them from everything. I don't lose much product while drinking, though obviously eating gets rid of a lot of it. But that's to be expected with any lipstick.


All in all, this my favorite lipstick in the world -- a color perfect for my skin that can be applied lightly for an everyday look or built up into a night look. Basically, my lips but much, much better. If they ever discontinue it, I'll just die. :) Great product, and I hope to try out the other shades.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2009 11:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is great for a lipstick, not just a d/s one either. It's very smooth. It wasn't drying and it lasted a good amount of time. There is a fairly good selection of colors. And they have cream and pearl options. Very good for the money. Especially if you find a BOGO or coupon (CVS & Walgrees will let you use both)

In my area, the normal price is $8 each. With the BOGOF & $2 off coupon (found in most fashion/beauty magazines & some newspapers) I got them for $3 each.


on 6/22/2009 1:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I LOVE these lipsticks. They are my HG product. Why?

-Rich and creamy without bleeding into lip lines.

-The colour lasts well, needing touch ups after meals only.

-NO SMELL! at least in the super lustrous line, and NO TASTE either!!!!! What a relief! In contrast L'Oreal's line is moist has a great colour range, and lasts ok, but it has an appalling smell and chemical taste.

-Great colour range (good selection between warm and cool tones)

-Lots of choices with and without shimmer.

Favourite shades that work well with my pale warm (NC20) redhead colouring:

Matte shades:
In The Red & Really Red. Both discontinued but Revlon re introduced Really Red as part of its classic shade collection so it can still be found.

Cream to pearl shades:
Ginger Rose (discontinued). Peach Me & Demure both of which have a pearl shimmer even though Demure is listed as a cream.

Just Enough Buff, Blushing Mauve, Blushing Nude. Blushed.

Coralberry & Love That Pink are my 2 favourite brights in a coral & hot warm pink.

The shades that didn't work on me:
I bought Rosedew a couple of times, forgetting that it is just too much silver shimmer. There is a blue undertone to that one as well. Just didn't work but I keep absent mindedly buying it. Pretty lipstick.

And Rose Velvet ended up being a touch too cool toned brownish rose but it was a really nice cream, no shimmer. A bit too dark & cool on me.

Pink In The Afternoon. It is a gorgeous pink just not on me. It has that opaque thick solid pink look from the 60s and it is SO Audrey Hepburn but it is a touch too cool on my lips.

Now some advice: Go for the ones marked "cream" on the tube label if you prefer little to no sparkle or shimmer. Be forewarned that the ones marked "pearl" will have shimmer or frosting ranging from moderate to loads. I've learnt to avoid those.

And a small complaint: My only beef with Revlon is the round tube case. It rolls everywhere, taking nose dives off my counter and landing on the bathroom floor or worse still, launching itself straight into the toilet (being fished out and tossed into the trash)! PLEASE Revlon if you are listening, go with a square case, but don't do the stupid little peg and slot thing that L'Oreal does, that just makes it hard to close properly.

But otherwise it is a nice looking case that never loses its cap in a purse or makeup bag. It stays secure right to the end.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2009 5:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the classic packaging of this lipstick. It reminded me of glamorous times, when women would go to the powder room and apply this lipstick and gossip in front of a gilded embellished mirror. There's also a modern and helpful "window" at the top of the tube so you can see the colour.


The lipstick itself is very opaque and goes on with a creamy finish. It's not very moisturising though, and is best for people who seek a good colour payoff and moderately long lasting wear. It leaves a beautiful stain on the lips after the actual lipstick comes off.


There's also a large colour selection and comes in a variety of finishes such as creme, satin, frost and etc.


One lippie off off, just because I wish it was a little glossier, rather than having to apply a gloss on top for shine.


on 5/16/2009 6:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love this lipstick..no funny scent..lasting power is not that good though..but creamy and light texture.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews
Back to Top