MAC Frost - Parfait Amour

4.0

235 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Silica, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)]


on 2/16/2008 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love, love, love this purple. It was my first MAC shadow 5 years back. I still keep a pot of this in my rotation. I wanted something pretty and more bold than my usual neutrals. I was pretty unadventurous with m/u, so Parfait Amour was a big step up for me. It's bright, bold, just plain pretty and perfect for a night out. I use Contrast with a wet angled brush as a liner with this shadow for a dramatic eye. It makes my green eyes pop and sparkle. This is a nice cool-toned purple to go with my dark hair and NW20 complexion.

I'll probably keep a pot of this shadow around for as long as I can get away with bright shadow for nostalgic purposes alone. It reminds me of skipping work and going shopping with old roommate (who is still a dear friend) on a rare warm March day in Boston. It was my gateway m/u addiction purchase and I'm glad it has such happy memories attatched to it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/31/2007 1:47:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a light skinned cool toned Asian with very dark brown eyes and this color makes my eyes POP. I think purple is so flattering for dark brown eyes, since the only shadows I keep wearing are all cool toned and have some hint of mauve or purple in them.
This color is a bright medium purple w/a pink sheen. It is similar to Prestige Pixie, but Pixie has a bluish sheen. I love wearing this on the lid from lash to crease and blended at the crease, then highlight w/ MAC Vapour. It instantly brightens my face and my eyes pop. However, this is one of those fun colors that are reserved for weekends if you are working, b/c it is not a look for work.
The texture of this shadow is not as silky as some of my other MAC shadows, but it is not bad. Becaus of the fact that it is not that silky, the color doesn't come onto the brush that easily, so I swipe it several times (3-5 times) to get the color payoff I want. Then I tap it onto my lid (or just crease) slowly and blend it out. It lasts all day on my without fading or creasing, and blends well.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2007 6:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This eyeshadow is the "Head bitch" of ALL purple eyeshadows! this is such a gorgeous color!. This puprple eyeshadow will look BEST on DARK HAIR girls with BROWN EYES. Dark hair will bring more intense to the shadow and brown eyes will POP! looks awsome with steamy eyeshadow or any torqouise eyeshadows, you can basicaly use this with any eyeshadow!. so if your a Dark hair girl with brown eyes...purchase this eyeshadow!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2007 11:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Parfait amour is a lovely shade of light cotton candy purple. The violet hue in this shade is so pretty and intense at the same time (especially if you use an eye primer!!)It looks awesome when you blend it with silver or a white frost(as a highlight) or other shades of purple. Its satin texture blends and goes on smoothly. I wear it all the time and it looks great against brown eyes! Would highly recommend!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2007 3:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Pretty in the pot, but the pigmentation is sorely lacking. I don't know what it is about MAC's purple shadows, but this seems to be a bit of a trend - first Beautiful Iris had crappy pigment, now this. Parfait Amour is good if you want a pale or subtle purple or if you want to mix a hint of purple in with another color, so it definitely has its uses, but it's not what it appears to be at all, and definitely isn't worth 14 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2007 9:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Editing my original comments:

This purple is gorgeous, but it is a pain in the butt to get to it's beauty. I decided to go with Violet pigment to get the same color, with less of a hassle.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a really pretty shade of purple. I love how it brings out my dark brown eyes, it really makes them pop! It works great over a Shadestick and doesn't fade a at all.


on 10/13/2007 1:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Like most people mentioned, its pretty in the pan but its not as pigmented as I would have liked it to be. Its not a horrible shade of purple either. Its got a greyish hue to it, and its a frost. If your a fan of purples you'd like this one.
I still use it on occasion but its no staple.


on 10/5/2007 10:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm Asian with dark brown eyes and fair skin. I'm a huge fan of MAC e/s in general, but this color really didn't work for me. It didn't seem as pigmented as other colors and I had to layer it on multiple times for the color to move beyond a vague, greyish tone.

Disappointing, but seems to have worked for a lot of other people. It's still a really pretty color, but I'm not sure if it's really worth the effort on me!


on 8/21/2007 7:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mid tone purple eye shadow. It really brings out the coloring of my hazel (green-brown) eyes. It is one of MAC's better eye shadows. The color is really lovely. It is somewhat sheer but buildable. It is finely milled and very blendable. Over my UDPP it lasted all day without creasing or fading. The price is the standard $14 for MAC eye shadow. Come in the standard eye shadow pot. I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top