Max Factor • Colour Adapt • Foundations

rated 3.6(237 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyaub on 6/7/2005 3:08:00 PM more reviews by amyaub

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first tried this on my hand, I didn't think I was going to like the texture. However, after wearing it, I love it! It gives a nice matte look that has lasted sll day so far on my combo-oily skin. The color match is excellent as well. I use creamy ivory and then bronzer over it to match the rest of me. Love the pump style container as well. A nice, affordable foundation that looks expensive (I usually have horrible luck with drugstore foundations-bad texture, wrong color, etc but not now!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 necro_nymph on 6/6/2005 5:18:00 PM more reviews by necro_nymph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I should really know better than to believe hype. Being a try anything once kind of girl, i decided to swap my lasting performance for the lightest shade of this. I hated everything about it. Gritty, horrible texture and wears quickly. Not for me i'm afraid. But hey, it did give me a rather amusing bright orange shade to my face ! Hmmm okay ... if you like that sort of thing !!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AcidCandy on 5/27/2005 1:01:00 PM more reviews by AcidCandy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Nice, sheer coverage - I love the light mousse-like texture and it was easy to blend but it tended to emphasise the dry patches on my skin. It also turned greasy after a few hours on. I thought it was quite expensive for a drugstore foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucky7597 on 5/17/2005 7:03:00 PM more reviews by lucky7597

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent product. Price is great for the product. It goes on so silky smooth! It also has good coverage; does not break out the skin; covers brown spots. I use the Ivory and it matches my skin perfectly! The packaging is excellent - love the pump! I will purchase this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 4/18/2005 12:35:00 PM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this, my HG now. I have been using it for over 3 months now. It sinks into your skin and there is never any tell-tale line of demarkation. It's so silky, light and blendable. It's a very light coverage - just enough to give a porcelain doll glow to your skin. Comes in a convenient and sanitary pump. It does not accentuate lines, dryness, etc. Perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iamlloyd on 4/17/2005 6:04:00 PM more reviews by iamlloyd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Available in seven fabulous shades, this sheer coverage foundation literally adapts to your skin tone. Its color-adapting particles match skin tone flawlessly, leaving no makeup line or the "mask" appearance that I abhor. For those care-free days, it is quite fabulous.

Overall grade: B

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lilacstar on 4/3/2005 6:29:00 AM more reviews by Lilacstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a bit of a make-up addict, so after seeing all the fantastic hype about this foundation, had to try it!
Very disappointed with it. Colour matched me okay I guess but the finish of the foundation was, I found, very powdery and dried too quickly. Left an un-natural look which I don't like. Threw nearly a full bottle of this stuff away as really don't like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tweetpea44 on 4/2/2005 1:38:00 AM more reviews by tweetpea44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a complete foundation snob. Just the THOUGHT of buying a new foundation scares me as nothing ever seems to work for me ..and I HATE the feel of foundation on my face (yuck!). Just recently however, after running out of my Mary Kay foundation (that i've been loyal to for the past 5 years as I use to be a MK consultant) I decided to hit up Walmart for new foundation since I needed some immediately. After searching thru everything, I hesitantly bought this product ($10.00 is a lot for me to blow on a new foundation Im unsure of and cant even test).

However I can't say enough about how much I love this product! For one, the 2nd to lightest shade is actually perfect for me (and the undertones actually matches my skin). I've always been a fan of mousse foundations - and this one is a great texture. I dont need much (2 small blobs on my fingertip usually covers my face). It glides on VERY smoothly and I can't even feel it on my face afterwards! (a BIG plus in my books).. It has an extremly "fresh" feeling to it - and I catch myself running my fingers over my cheeks after applying it because of how much I love the way it makes my skin feel. Plus my skin tone is uneven - and it blends the tone together wonderfully!

However - the only thing I would suggest is that if you need "thick" full coverage this really wont do it. Its more just for "evening out" things. I have semidark undereye circles, and I get moderate acne break outs once a month - therefore I have to use a little extra concealer or otherwise the redness and blueness shows right thru.

For me, however, this is my "holy grail" foundation.. I absolutely love it and plan on sticking with it as long as they continue making it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Spendydoo on 3/31/2005 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Spendydoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like colour adapt by max factor. It's a shame the colors are mostly pink based, because they apply so smoothly and beautifully. I have combination skin, with blemishes here and there, and this stuff just glides over them. Granted I need to use a concealer as it doesn't cover them completely, but this stuff just feels so nice to put on your skin, and it looks fabulous; it gives you a nice dewy color. The sad thing about this product, yet again, is the staying power. It really does not look good after several hours on your skin. Touching up with powder seems to make it worse, turning cakey. This product is definately worth trying though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akane on 3/23/2005 7:48:00 AM more reviews by akane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The texture is mousse like and gives you semi matte and smooth powdery finish. Since the coverage is sheer, you still need to use concealer if you want to cover redness. I find that Tinted Moisturizer works better in covering than this. This fdn spreads really easy and smooth but DRY skin beware - you need to blend this fdn very fast otherwise it's harder when it turns matte. This will accentuate your dry flakes so remember to use moisturizer under this and i don't think using a PRIMER will be a good idea with this foundation. WHY? Because there's too many silicone's in this product.


Unfortunately, i have to stop using this after 3 applications because it cause me breakouts and irritation. I also find that the mousse consistency turn to liquid after a while. So the mousse texture does not last long!


Max Factor claims that this foundation will *adapt* into your natural skintone yet i am very confused! If this will adapt into your skintone why don't they just produce shade range like Light, Medium, Dark(similar to most of tinted moisturize) instead of all the shades available. I tested most of the colors and yes, it sink into my skintone a bit because the coverage is very SHEER.
The color choices are very limited and most of them are either tooo ORANGE, too YELLOW or too PINK. SAND blends pretty well on my LSF#6, but it slightly pinky on me.


Overall, i recommend this foundation (1) If the shade match you perfectly (2) Love sheer coverage (3) HAVE GOOD SKIN to begin with!


Packaging: It comes in hygenic pump bottle which is easier to carry/pack and of course less messier(love the fact that i dont need to dig my fingers/use spatula to use this foundation) Cons: I really think they need to improve their pump thingy. A lot of products will come out with one pump. I think One pump is like 3 pump. This reminds me of my Boots Illuminating TM

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Max Factor products

More Foundations products