BeneFit Cosmetics • You Rebel • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 2.8(236 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eva16 on 6/26/2008 5:09:00 AM more reviews by Eva16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am not a fan of foundation, so tinted moisturiser is always the way to go for me. You Rebel promises to give you coverage, SPF15 protection and moisture in one easy to apply product. Tall order!


The fact that it is a tube means that you can squeeze right down to the last dregs of the tinted moisturiser, and I suppose if really desperate, you could actually cut the tube open to extract the last bits.


Squeeze the tube and the moisturiser is a light brown shade, delicately fragranced, but not overpowering, so no need to fear that it will clash will any other lotions, potions and perfume. When applied, it is nicely moisturising and soaks easily into the skin. Simple really… all you do is apply evenly. I do this with my fingers so I don't even need to bother with a brush or any other bits and pieces.


This costs £19.50 for a 50ml tube, which can seem a bit more expensive than other tinted foundations, but as I said before, a little goes a long way and it lasts ages (I've had mine for 2 years now, still have about 1/2 left).



For everyday effective, gentle and moisturising coverage, I would recommend this. It's great for people who don't want thick coverage all over their face, and who prefer a more natural look. I like the fact that I don't have to worry about whether the colour "matches" my skin tone, and can just buy a tube and go. I have olive skin that is tan all year round (think J-Lo's colour)....the colour on me suits perfectly -- it doesn't make me look orange, but gives me a SLIGHT tint that looks natural!


I haven't tested its SPF skills, but I suppose it must be offering some protection if it says so. It is very easy to apply, glides easily onto the skin, and really does feel as though it is offering some extra moisture.
Also, the lasting power is great too. When I wear this to Uni, I go through a 7-8 hour day without You Rebel wearing off. Even if you DO want to apply more, you can do so without feeling as though you're completely clogging my skin like with foundation.


The colour doesn't seem to make your skin look shades different, it just makes your skin tone look brighter and more even. This may not suit anyone who wants a more matte coverage or who wants their skin tone to look dramatically different, because it certainly does not do this. A lot of fair people seem to think this comes out orange on them...so perhaps this would be suited for us girls with darker skin tones (e.g tan, olive)


For me, this is an excellent all rounder and one which I would recommend & repurchase for the rest of my life!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redfox3655 on 6/22/2008 6:56:00 PM more reviews by redfox3655

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Benefit You Rebel tinted moisturizer is kind of worth the money. Firstly, it's great for you skin, because a) it has some spf built into it and b) since it's tinted its a bit forgivng and you don't have to run around finding your perfect shade because it'll automatically blend in with your skin- well sort of. It definitely made me look a bit tanner than I really am- although i like my natural color better- it made me look somewhat darker. This moisuturizer is pretty lightweight to the point that you forget you ever put iton- even during high heat, although you'll feel like your face is melting its really not. So it's a pretty smart investment, but i would definitely compare this with other brands because you could probably find something better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hautelyodd on 6/10/2008 12:16:00 PM more reviews by hautelyodd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing stuff. I haven't used this product for a long time but I'm glad I rediscovered it! My face is always much lighter than the rest of my body because I ride a lot in the summer, which entails a riding hat, blocking the sun from my face while my arms get supertanned. You Rebel is the perfect shade for my skin, it does get orangey if you put too much on, so you got to be careful. But once you got it right it's simply amazing. It's light and doesn't take a lot of fuss to put on, and it's got enough coverage to conceal my pores and little imperfections. It's a plus I got this as a gift, but I would definitely repurchase if I use this up (not anytime soon though, the tube's huge!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Fashion_Hottie on 6/7/2008 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Fashion_Hottie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I didn't buy this - I won it in a BeneFit pack in a charity auction. I think this is not one for people with light skin tones as it made my friend with fair skin go a bit orange. However, I have medium/tanned skin & it doesn't make me go orange at all. It makes me look slightly more tanned & does hide some small imperfections on my skin. I only wear it in the sun because foundations too heavy & this has SPF in too.

The flaws I found were that it's slightly too thick & is hard to blend in evenly, quickly. You must also apply it in bright light to check it hasn't left streaks etc!! It can get a little oily, but that's my skin anyway unless I use powder. The heaviness can bring out a few spots though, which is a shame.

My better alternative is to mix a small amount of my minerals powder with my daily face moisturiser (with SPF). However, when I'm in a hurry or travelling that just isn't feesible, so tinted moisturiser is a great idea. This ones okay, not bad, until I find better. I'm not sure I'd pay the retail price for it though...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sparky17 on 6/1/2008 3:16:00 PM more reviews by sparky17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Too orange for my complexion but it photographs beautifully. Alas, I do not get photographed for a living so I can't go walking around looking like an oompa-loompah. Texture is good and it rubs in nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rupertlilly on 5/27/2008 8:49:00 AM more reviews by rupertlilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a sample from my most recent Benefit order. I must say I was not impressed at all. As far as I’m concerned why waste your time even applying this product? There is no coverage, it smells bad and your face remains shiny. I understand that this is merely a tinted moisturizer therefore won’t offer a ton of coverage but I say nothing when I used this product. I think the only people who would “Benefit” from this product are those with completely perfect skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ginta on 4/8/2008 4:23:00 AM more reviews by ginta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Holy crap, this stuff made me look a greasy oompa loompa!

Before i had bought it, I tried a bit on the back of my hand and it absorbed great, looked fine but on my face, which is combo skin and with the summer weather, I became a grease slick.

It has practically no coverage at all (super sheer) and the tone is very unnatural and is more orangey than bronze and it just makes me look so damn oily. No, no, no...

I have only used this twice and still have the entire tube left. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hanhan123 on 4/5/2008 11:25:00 PM more reviews by hanhan123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For yur record, i have sensitive dry & red skin (skins like crap at this moment), and i bought this when my skin was perfect and now that its like crap i still use it and it HIDES MOST of my redness on my cheeks, i LOVE the smell of it too! i am only 12, @_@ yeah(: and i nearly wear this to school everyday, blends heavenly! @________@<3 worth EVERY penny i saved up[:
the only i have problems with is how when i twist the thingy open the moisturizer comes out without me sqeezing it, but i can live with that(;

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tsunamino on 3/29/2008 3:17:00 AM more reviews by tsunamino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this first since I never really wore makeup before. You Rebel gives a light coverage when I don't want to wear anything too heavy, but it makes me shine a bit. Since I bought Some Kind-a Gorgeous, I don't think I'll go back to You Rebel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucialatina on 3/25/2008 5:34:00 PM more reviews by lucialatina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

blended well with my latina skin tone, so i would say for us with darker/tanned skin tones ( asians, latinas, light skinned african-americans etc), it is perfect, covers small blemishes/discolouration. Not oily or shiny, looked like i was not wearing anything, did not cause any breakout, but did make some small blackheads on my nose a bit worse, although not really a major issue, kinda expensive, but it does last a long time! so it probably works out ok in the end!
it is easy to apply and can be applied with fingers, brush or make-up sponge and still looks good!
BUT DEFINATELY not for the pale, as they have now brought out a you rebel lite, which i hear is very good and from what i read does exactly the same job as this product!
all in all a very good product and worth the money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Tinted Moisturizer products