Paula's Choice • Super Antioxidant Concentrate • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.5(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rthusia on 9/11/2005 10:59:00 PM more reviews by rthusia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Like IndiaTree already said it does little to moisturize by its self so don't go in expecting that. I like to apply it after I wash my face in the AM and PM and with a touch of the Skin Balancing Moisture Gel. I think it's silly to expect anything to be a miracle makeover in a bottle. I don't mind spending a little to keep the apples from turning brown though. This does a great job of not being irritating or causing any blemish problems while offering a decent, cost efficient anti-oxidizing formula. Works well under make ups, but a fair enough warning is given if used in conjunction with super matifying foundations (ColorStay.) I give mine a 15-20 minute absorb time before application of makeups. I too would like a better air tight pump/dispenser, and of course I wouldn't cry if a higher percentage of antioxidants were added.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 orbitz01 on 9/6/2005 12:17:00 AM more reviews by orbitz01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Yes, we've all wanted it to work, but the formulations defies human resistance to wanting to "belive" in something. I looked at my cabinet drawer and saw nothing but cheap skincare that didn't work and only caused residual skin problems. I've thrown them out and or returned them and I've promised myself I won't use cheap skincare again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilH on 8/22/2005 1:58:00 PM more reviews by AprilH

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I generally mix a couple of drops of this with my moisturizer instead of using it on its own. I like to mix it with Clinique's Moisture Surge Extra which gives the MSE a really silky texture and makes it more hydrating. I've also noticed that when I mix this with Paula's Skin Balancing Gel I don't experience the burning or stinging of the eyes that I get when I use it alone. Not sure why, but at least I can now use up my tube of that. I already have pretty good skin thanks to Paula's other products, so I can't say I've seen amazing results from this, but it does make me feel like I'm doing something good for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gbaysa on 8/22/2005 12:58:00 PM more reviews by gbaysa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love to use this at night around my eyes! I have extremely oily skin so I don't really need any kind of moisturization but I love the fact that this product is chock full of potent anti-oxidants and I can tell a difference in skin around the delicate eye area since I've been using it, seems to be smoother and plumper. One tiny drop is enough for both eyes. Be careful not to overuse though. It can seem greasy if you use too much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 orbitz01 on 8/14/2005 2:39:00 AM more reviews by orbitz01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Indiatree posted that she was told that Customer Service said it had 4% vitamin C and there is a reason why it's so cheap!! I've always been suspicious that even though it has a wide variety of antioxidants, it's all relative, meaning that the ingredients at the top have low concentrations, and the middle and bottom ones, have even less concentrations. Therefore, it seems like it's jammed with lots of good stuff, but the percentages are low, therefore, the efficacy is questionable, even without water and using a silicon base.

Paula always blasts other companies for scamming consumers, with low concentrations of active ingredients, but she's no different either!! When I finish up using what I've got, I'm not ordering again, because realistically I haven't seen a dramatic difference in my skin, unlike some of the other brands I've used, perhaps now I know the reason why!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 indiatree on 8/10/2005 12:11:00 AM more reviews by indiatree

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

APPLICATION: The specific type of silicone used as the base in this product is a little too thick in my opinion. It is somewhat difficult to blend over the skin. I find it is better to combine some of this and my moisturizer or sunscreen in my hand and then apply the mixture to my face. Works fabulously for me when used in this fashion. I use more than a couple of drops; more like a dime sized dollop; since it doesn't contribute any oiliness, I figure I might as well make the most of the whole antioxidant thing. I generally only use it during the day.

INGREDIENTS: According to Paula's customer service, this product contains 4% vitamin C. The other antioxidants are in lesser amounts; since the product is completely colorless and odorless, the amounts of tocotrienols, lycopene, etc must be relatively small. Otherwise the product would have some color and or odor. Still, I think it is very comparable with other serums of this type, and there is a wide variety of antioxidants included.

FORMULATION: the most important point here is that this serum is completely waterless. Water contributes to the degradation of antioxidants in any product. So even though brands like SkinCeuticals, etc have serums with higher percentages of vitamin C, many of those products have a water base, and therefore we don't know how stable the antioxidants remain in those products. This is a big point in favor of Paula's product.

PACKAGING: store the bottle upside down. Much easier to dispense the product, and since the product will be near the tip, you won't have so much air sucking in and out. It would be better if this were in an airtight pump container.

FEEL/LOOK ON SKIN: I have incredibly oily skin. This dries with absolutely no shine or residue. NONE. However, the flipside is that it will not moisturize on its own.

FINAL COMMENT: I would like a higher percentage of antioxidants, an airtight pump container, and a slightly lighter silicone base. But I have not found something really better, especially with this sort of price. I continue to use it and am happy with it.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovermac on 7/12/2005 2:09:00 PM more reviews by lovermac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great serum at a great price. It has wonderful antioxidants and in the summer I use this alone without a moisturizer. It seems to be enough. My favourite extra emollient moisturizer from Paula has been discontinued, so I don't know what I am going to use in the winter, but this is great when its hot, or under moisturizer in the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clara_48047 on 7/5/2005 7:35:00 PM more reviews by clara_48047

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i bought this cause i was curious about what it would do for my skin. i used to use it all over my face, but really couldn't see or feel anything it was doing for me, except of the dry areas it helped increase moisture retention. so now i use it only on dry areas before i apply a moisturizer. it has a very nice texure tho and wasn't oily or greasy at all. it doesn't make me break out either. if it wasn't so expensive i'd repurchase it but i get plenty of antioxidants from my moisturizers and foundations and it's really expensive for the small bottle u get. tho it will last a lifetime i think, i've had it for nearly 9 months now and i doubt its even half empty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harrup on 6/29/2005 12:44:00 PM more reviews by harrup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

It's a nice enough product but I think it's entirely superfluous. Paula Begoun could have put those antioxidants in her moisturizers, why develop a separate product??

The silicone feels nice and silky but who knows what the other ingredients do, if anything. For anyone with dry skin this is too lightweight to use on it's own but for anyone who likes to layer products - or use an extra dose of antioxidants - this is a perfectly decent choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jackrabbitjre on 5/24/2005 1:31:00 AM more reviews by jackrabbitjre

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this. At first I didn't think that I would like it on my oily skin because it is such a thick serum but it actually absorbs very well. The tiny bottle lasts me sooooo long; I use it every night around my eyes and only need one tiny drop and when I use it on my face I only need two tiny drops :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products