Maybelline • The Rocket Volum Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(688 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jinxybells on 3/10/2014 8:06:00 PM more reviews by jinxybells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do not like this mascara at all. It clumps and bleeds very easily. I'm always having to check my eyes for run offs when I use this, and honestly, no one wants to walk around constantly worried that if they blink too hard, their mascara will transfer to their cheeks.

I have short, straight lashes, and I've always had to curl my lashes before using mascara. This mascara just pulls them down after about 2 hours of wear, causing my lashes to lose their curl somewhat. Perhaps it might work better with someone who has naturally curly and fuller lashes? On Asian eyes it's just horrid.

The mascara wand itself is problematic. It ends with a stumpy top which has a tendency to accumulate product. It's just so difficult to get into the tiny lashes right at the inner corner of the eyes without smearing your skin with black mascara. Not an ergonomic design at all.

The only benefit I can think of is that it really does add some volume. It adds length for about the first hour or so, then my lashes go back to being really stumpy again. It may be related to the loss of curl in my lashes.

I've stuck with this mascara for quite some weeks now, in hopes that maybe I'd get the hang of it, but nope, this just will not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 polenta on 3/6/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by polenta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very disappointing. First off, the brush is too big and makes it hard to distribute the mascara evenly. It holds a curl, the waterproof version does, but theres not enough length for me. It clumps when you try to build it up. I can see little fibers. Strange. Taking it off is a chore and I feel like I am damaging my lashes. Not worth the price. Also dont understand why so many people on youtube were raving about it. Covergirl Lash Blast is better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babygirl24 on 3/6/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by babygirl24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this mascara! The brush is to die for and leaves your lashes looking ah-mazing! Definitely loving Maybelline's mascaras!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alyssadk on 3/2/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by alyssadk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mascara for about a week before I had to buy a new one. It was a big disappointment. The formula is runny and it smudges like crazy. My lashes clumped together and I had some bad spider eyes. I tried this mascara again today after not having used it for over a month and it's dried a little and thickened, which helped it, but not by much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeupbyfarrah on 3/2/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Makeupbyfarrah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is really good. Although I have long and kinda thick lashes it works for keeping the curl of my lashes. Favorite mascara. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VerniePie on 3/1/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by VerniePie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ok ever since L'Oreal discontinued my favorite Lash Out mascara and I got sick of my usual L'Oreal Voluminous clumping I have been on a quest to find the perfect mascara and I think I may have found it with The Rocket!!!! Lately I have been using Maybelline Full 'N Soft as my new HG mascara and I really do love it because it lengthens and separates my lashes and still offers volume with zero clumps but it is more of a natural look which I do prefer for daytime but I have been looking for a mascara that delivers a more dramatic look for evening and The Rocket really offers that and has replaced L'Oreal Voluminous in my book.

I have tried Falsies by Maybelline and I actually think this mascara is far superior! This mascara really offers dramatic volume as well as length but it does not get too clumpy, finally a volumizing mascara that does not completely clump up and actually separates my lashes as it volumizes!!!! The formula is just about right it is not too wet (like most other volumizing mascaras) but obviously not too dry either so I do get a coat on my lashes and I can build them up into voluminous dramatic lashes! This mascara really offers everything because it gives you pretty dramatic volume, it lengthens, and it separates all without ever getting super clumpy which is a plus because I hate clumps! Plus because this formula isn't too wet it also holds a curl which is great considering most volumizing mascaras cause my curl too droop! Love it!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maeshiil on 2/28/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start out saying that I have naturally nice lashes-- long, fairly voluminous and pretty curly. I don't have to curl my lashes on a regular basis so I can't speak for the curl-holding ability of this mascara. However, I'd say that this is a nice mascara. It lengthens my lashes, gives nice volume and NEVER clumps or gives me spider-lashes and it never flakes. It's not difficult to remove and it doesn't run or smudge.

Is it my favorite mascara ever? No (I've been spoiled by high-end ones such as Lancome Doll Lashes (my all-time favorite) and Chanel.) But it's a good drugstore mascara. Probably one of the best.

I'd also like to add that I like to layer this with Maybelline's Volume Plush or whatever it's called (the teal one.) I apply Plush first (thinly because it has a tendency to go to spider-lashes territory) and then The Rocket and bam, flirty, volumized lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 2/27/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are good and bad things about this mascara, but honestly I've purchased this at least 3 times so it's not that horrible. The good is it keeps my lashes curled and they look good. The bad is I hate these rubber brushes, they hurt my eyes when I use them. The other problem is this is very hard to take off. I always feel like I got waterproof by mistake, it is that hard. So this is a mascara I use when I have a long day or somewhere special. I cannot use this everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SanFranGirl on 2/23/2014 2:27:00 AM more reviews by SanFranGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

On a bad note:

I was curious about this mascara for quite a time. I really liked Maybelline's "Falsies" and this Rocket mascara had quite promising claims to it: to volumize, separate and all that jazz.

As soon as I opened my mascara - I noticed that the brush bristles are damaged in some parts of the wand. The mascara tube that I got was already with the brush inside of the product (not the one where you put the brush inside of mascara yourself).

The texture of this mascara is quite wet and the brush never helped with clumps. On the contrary it was always terribly clumping my lashes even with thin first coat strokes. To make it work for me - I was going through my lashes with the eyelash comb brush to minimize the mess.

Yet the brush of this - is a total disaster. And it might take some time to take this product off (I used a non-waterproof version).

On a good note:
1. This mascara lasted me quite a long time, considering I tried to use it together with my comb brush nearly every day for several months
2. The pigmentation is great and I haven't had any fall out
3. I have a non waterproof version - yet I happened to cry couple of times with this on and it didn't smudge all over my face (luckily)
4. Once the mascara was opened for couple of weeks - it started having a less wet texture which I fund made the application and result better

Result: Rocket mascara could be a better product if it had a different wand and slightly less wet texture. It is an okay product for a drugstore.
For more candid in-depth reviews on other beauty/makeup products head here: http://thepartyparrot.wix.com/partyparrotblog

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tam94 on 2/22/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Tam94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Its so far the best mascara i have tried, it volumises and make my lashes look really nice . It doesn't not lengthens so still on the hunt for a good mascara that lengthens my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products