Maybelline • The Rocket Volum Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(705 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 itsnatalie7 on 4/18/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by itsnatalie7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was extremely disappointed with this mascara, especially because of all the hype behind it. This mascara did nothing for my lashes, it sat heavily on my eyelashes and could not hold my curls. For someone with asian lashes, this was particularly annoying because my eyelashes were already straight enough, and the heaviness of the Rocket mascara made it even more difficult for my eyelashes to hold a curl.

I did notice that it did give a little more volume than the Falsies mascara (which I love!), but it was lacking in the lengthening department.

Overall, I thought this mascara was completely not worth the hype, and did not live up to my expectations at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JaylaMichelle on 4/13/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by JaylaMichelle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love it, I thought it would only be good for people that already have long lashes and just want volume, but I have short lashes and this mascara actually lifted them up and gave length as well as volume so they look really good and it usually stays up all day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karlaleila on 4/11/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by karlaleila

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

good volume lengthens makes lashes look thicker no smudges no clumps holds a curl really black best mascara ever

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honestopinions on 4/11/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by honestopinions

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best mascara I've tried. Really good volume. Thick lashes. Lengthens. Generally not clumpy. Would def recommend, high quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yadei on 4/11/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by yadei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Omg! I love this mascara so much! The volume that it gives to your lashes is unbelievable. It clumps just a bit but i use lash-brow groomer to get rid of the clumps. This is my holly grail drugstore mascara. Totally recommend it to anyone who wants big voluminous lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mmmaggie on 4/6/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by mmmaggie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I think I am allergic to this mascara which is really saddening. Even if I wasn't allergic to it, the Rocket would not replace my favourite Urban Decay Supercurl but it would be my favourite drugstore mascara without a doubt. The Rocket burns my eyes if any of it slips in while washing it off which isn't a typical problem for me. I also noticed my eyes would be irritated during the day which I can only really attribute to wearing the Rocket. I loved the brush and how it would thicken and coat my lashes with ease. I will be buying another, maybe in waterproof, to see if it was a fluke but so far this is a no go for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beautylover1331 on 4/5/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Beautylover1331

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy this mascara! It gives great volume with a good amount of lengthening! It really is an all in one mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettyfuschia on 4/4/2014 5:02:00 AM more reviews by prettyfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to like this mascara since so many people raved about it, but I can't. I'm disappointed, it clumps, felt heavy and sticky, and the most important thing is flaky. For references, I live in tropical land, and have oily skin so it's important to have non-smudges/flakey mascara. Besides, not a fan of clumpy lashes, I prefer curls natural looking one. In my opinion, the falsies mascara much better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Madisonnyoka on 4/2/2014 7:58:00 AM more reviews by Madisonnyoka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best mascara over vet owned, hands down. It gives so much volume, and it lengthens them too! Everything good you could ever want in a mascara is in this one. The only problem I have with it is that the mascara started to clump on the top of the bottle, making it extremely hard to open and close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swtlilqtk on 4/1/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by swtlilqtk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So, this formula is very wet and there is A LOT of it on the brush. That being said I cant and wont wear this mascara alone. I wear it layered over a defining and lengthening mascara (my go to is MAC Extended Play lash). My lashes are very long BUT very thin, this would make them one big clumpy mess! What I do is apply one coat of my lengthening mascara, let it dry and them apply one coat of The Rocket overtop. I just put this under my lashes and pull it straight through. The "wiggle" from root to tip motion I can do with some other mascara does NOT work with this....again you WILL get a big clumpy mess if your lashes are thin. So just pull straight through. I allow my first coat of this to dry...and go through with a second and INSTANT FALSE LASHES! Literally it looks like I have falsies on. This is probably too much work for every day for most people...but I don't mind! This mascara is very hard to get off by the way! I would NOT recommend the waterproof version unless you never want it to come off! I have to use remover, wash my face and then use remover AGAIN to get this all off! To me this is similar to Benefit's They're Real...in formula....the brush on They're Real is a little more spikey and this more flat bristles. I actually prefer The Rocket to They're Real. With the layer technique I do I feel like there is less clumping and it looks more natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products