E.L.F. • Complexion Perfection • Pressed Powders

rated 3.6(241 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 3/7/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This powder isn't bad. I don't really love it - don't dislike it either. I'm somewhere in between. I like using my MAC 224 or Sigma E40 and swirling it into the yellow and set my under eye concealer with it. It doesn't help diminish my dark circles.. but it's nice to have a yellow toned powder for the under eyes to aid in camouflaging them. I naturally blush easily - you can't tell because I always wear medium foundations.. but I put it to the test and used the green powder when I wore a light foundation where my redness peaked through. It actually did a wonderful job zero-ing the red out. When all four colors are swirled together, it creates a white translucent powder. I don't put it all over my face... but I do put it over my t-zone to keep shine away (as well as under my eyes like I mentioned). It does a pretty good job. The powder itself is a little powdery.. and can look chalky. So you have to be careful when you apply this not to go overboard. I can imagine that this powder may accentuate dryness and would be better suited for normal/combo/oily skintones. I also noticed when I use this powder, since it neutralizes all of the redness and other tones in my skin - my face isn't left with much color. So, I need bronzer and blush to put some color back into my face. This would be great for those who don't wear foundation as well to reduce shine and color correct. Also, one more thing - since blue cancels out orange.. if you're a user of self tanner, and you wear self tanner on your face, the blue powder can help tone down any orange! ELF has sales all of the time, so before purchasing make sure to check google for any promotion codes. They have 50% off their Studio Products pretty often.. that's when I bought mine. Not bad at all for $1.50. Plus, I love the big mirror.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nefertari786 on 3/6/2011 12:28:00 PM more reviews by nefertari786

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have an acne prone combination to oily complexion and found this powder fantastic. It is definitely too sheer to be used by itself if you want coverage but it is a great foundation setter. I use it over my foundation daily and found that my face looks less oily all day. You can either use all the colours at once all over the face as a face poweder or use the specific colours on different problem areas of the face over your concealer before applying foundation. I already bought my second one! Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blndiee06 on 2/23/2011 10:25:00 PM more reviews by blndiee06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know how other people use this, but I use it as a finishing powder on my tinted moisturizer.

It keeps me oil-free as well as evening out my complexion (hence the name). You could even use the individual colors on your problem areas.

Worth every penny but it really didn't do anything spectacular.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klamont9 on 2/21/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by klamont9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was surprised to see that people were wearing this as a powder foundation, on me it makes my skin look practically translucent! I wear it as a finishing powder to give my blush, foundation, highlight, and contour a natural finish but it can be too powdery, I have to spray setting spray after applying and it's a perfect natural look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GeekMe on 2/4/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by GeekMe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This one is really not good for dry skin, and acne prone skin.
It doesnt work at all on my dry skin, it just gets everywhere, and piles up, and makes my face look even more dry..

Great packaging, huge mirror, super cheap, but not for my kind of skin

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littleshelly on 2/2/2011 2:24:00 PM more reviews by littleshelly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think of this more for ladies who want the porcelain skin look. I did, however, use a bit of bronzer after this to just warm up my face a little around the jaw and hairline. It did cover some permanent redness on my cheeks, and made my fact look smoother, pores smaller.

The only real downside is that it doesn't last but a few hours and u need to reapply. I myself wasn't wearing foundation at the time. I am having trouble finding the exact match for my skin and have almost given up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleeey69 on 2/1/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by ashleeey69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this powder! It was only $3 which makes it even better. However, I don't like applying this all over my face. I'll take the ELF complexion brush, get a little bit of powder on the brush, and set my under eye concealer. Also, I will dab a little bit of the blue and green powder on any red spots and hides them very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whiterose20 on 1/30/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by whiterose20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am in love with ELF in general, I always stock up on their products when I go to Target. Their products tend to be hits and misses though; some are absolutely amazing for the price, and others aren't amazing at all. But this one in particular has become a stand-by for me. I have a huge problem with shine on my nose, and this powder mattifies my face like a dream. Just a sweep of it over my face and my face just looks better somehow. I can't say much about the lasting powder as I have never put it to the test but it's like $3 so for the price it's pretty dang nifty. I keep this in my purse with a cute powder puff as an alternative to oil blotting sheets. I personally don't like using oil blotting sheets because for some reason to me it's embarassing when rubbing it on in a public bathroom and you can see all the oil coming off. Eeeew! So I would definately recommend this to ANYONE, cause hey it's only $3! If you don't like it than you can just keep it around for emergencies.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luverchick on 1/17/2011 2:39:00 AM more reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this product!! it goes on great before and after my foundation!!! But i honestly do my concelear than set my whole face with this powder and then put on my foundation and it works great...My face is matte!!! I only think that the powder can come off a lil too white...I am already as light as it is and if i just use this without some bronzer i look even lighter!!! But i definately love it and i hit pan!! I will definately return for more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yrie on 1/15/2011 11:36:00 AM more reviews by Yrie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The packaging is nice and sturdy, with a really big mirror.

The powder is very chalky and is very messy. When I put my brush into it, it just goes everywhere.

For setting my foundation this powder is okay, but it doesn't keep my t-zone matte all day, I definitely have to touch up!

On bare skin it evens out my skintone, but it doesn't get rid of all the discolourations. And it leaves a white-ish cast if too much powder is used.

The idea of a "coloured" powder is nice, but it can only work one way: Only if you use the green powder on skin that shows redness, the pink and yellow powder on you undereye circles, and the blue powder on yellow-ish areas of the skin, it can work, because the colour of the poweder will counteract the discolourations of the skin.
But if you mix them all together, obviously that won't do anything because the colours of the powder cancel each other out! Makes sense, right?

So - Good idea, rubbish execution.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Pressed Powders products