MAC • Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack • Eyeliner

rated 3.2(235 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 misha519 on 1/23/2010 10:43:00 PM more reviews by misha519

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Really like this eyeliner. Will definitely buy it again. It does dry fast so I have to be quick about fixing any outliners. It lasts the whole day and stays defined. I only wish they would make it more colors, especially a dark brown.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 perkie on 1/23/2010 12:41:00 PM more reviews by perkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I am disappointed in this product. I usually use drugstore pen eyeliner, but I am always looking for better. I thought MAC would offer a lot more with this product, but it's worse than any drugstore liner I have used........It's very dry, i feel like i'm writing with a ballpoint pen. there's no intensity or liquid as I expected. also, the liner doesn't stay on--it gets greasy and verryy messy by the end of the day!!!!!!(not even at the end..........before that) will never buy this product again............this is going back to the department store!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kikicece on 1/17/2010 3:22:00 PM more reviews by kikicece

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm disappointed with this product. It's quite sheer which was not what I have expected. I have to draw the lines several time to get the intensity of regular liquid eyeliner. It doesn't have much staying power and it's not really black...more charcoal black. I expect more from MAC. On the plus size, the fine tip felt brush is really precise and it's easy to use. There are other brand like Armani that are launching this form of eyeliner, I'm gonna try those. Can't say I love this Penultimate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JanineG on 1/9/2010 3:33:00 PM more reviews by JanineG

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this product.

I have been using blacktrack gel liner and the precision eye liner brush for two years or more, and I am seriously considering swapping them for the penultimate liner. The amount of precision is incredible, the colour is true, and it comes off easy when you want it to! I hope this product doesn't dry out as fast as the gel liners, but only time will tell. Regardless, I will be picking up another one of these babies!

Now, if only they would bring out more colours....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pooschook on 1/7/2010 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Pooschook

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I genuinely enjoy this eyeliner. It's true that after a couple weeks of use, the liner now requires that I press the tip to reload the liner. However, the great control and ability to create thin, fat and all other line sizes in between is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 frowne on 1/6/2010 4:33:00 PM more reviews by frowne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am not good with free-hand liquid liners, so I thought I would give this one a try. At first, I was impressed by how easy it was to apply my liner, but then after about a week of not using it at all, I went back to line my eyes again and it seems like there really isn't much product left. It seems very sheer or like there is absolutely no makeup coming out.

For the price, I would say I am quite disappointed. I have bought pen liners previously from Japanese brands that were much cheaper and looked pretty much the same - I expected a bit more from MAC.

I think I will just stick with cream liners or train my hand not to suck with free-hand liners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 89prettyinpink on 1/6/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by 89prettyinpink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I thought this was great - so easy to use! HOWEVER, after only a few weeks it dried up and was finished or something.. nothing comes out anymore!!! (Despite having stored it the way the MA showed me)... So dissapointing!!! I wanted to love this but I feel I wasted me money... I guess I just have to B2M it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RandomFlopsy on 1/6/2010 11:16:00 AM more reviews by RandomFlopsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not bad at all. I bought this to replace Bourjois Liner Feutre, but I find it's also dry (my main reason for buying another brand). It doesn't drag as much, and the tip is veryvery fine. Perfect for flicked corners. I didn't need to go over it again to deepen the colour, although I can see why some people would choose to do so. It's not the richest black colour I've used, but this seems to be a characteristic of pen-style liners. Smudge-proof and long-lasting, this seems worth the extra expense compared to cheaper brands. Still: if you're looking for perfection, use a gel liner and brush instead.

Edit: this has dried up now, after two months of occasional usage. I will switch to gel liner and a brush now, as this will last longer. I probably will repurchase however as it's very practical for travelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 since2009 on 12/30/2009 9:57:00 AM more reviews by since2009

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever MAC liquid eyeliner, and quite frankly I didn't really know why I bought it......since I already have similar eyeliners at home.

It's a pen shaped eyeliner, with a felt-tip applicator, delivers an intense black line when it works properly! Yes, when it works properly, the tip of mine is somehow on the dry side, it's like the "ink" doesn't seeps to the tip of the applicator so it doesn't draw very well......very very disappointed with this liner.

Another thing is, for those of you that are after a smudge proof, stay-put liner note that this liner is not waterproof or water-resistant at all.....(again, I didn't know what I was doing when I bought this)

Overall, the packing is very convenient to use, however mine is not working properly (let's just hope that I was unlucky to have gotten a faulty one) but because it is not water proof and that I got a faulty one it's obvious that it leaves me with a bad impression and so I will pass this in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Thea123 on 12/22/2009 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Thea123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

After my friend purchased this liner, i was really excited and wanted to buy it to. She had recommended it and i know she has more experience with make up than i do. Before purchasing this product, I also looked at Nyx felt tip liner and notice that they are quite similar.
The price of the liner in canada is around 20$ which is quite expensive in my opinion. I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that i am quite disappointed in the sheerness of the color. However, it is quite water resistent. At the moment i have a very hard time of applying a thick line and can only do thin sheer lines which is disappointing. I would have to say that this liner is not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products