No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Castor Oil • Brows

rated 4.4(351 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aksharad on 12/1/2012 10:07:00 AM more reviews by aksharad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using castor oil on my lashes every night for almost a month.. and my lashes are way longer and thicker and MORE of them! And I'm definitely not imagining it since they almost touch my eyebrows (they weren't even halfway there when I started) and I can see small baby lashes in the space between lashes every now and then.. A lot of people have complimented my lashes.. So its a good way to get longer, fuller lashes in a natural and inexpensive way.


HOWEVER, it is important to note that castor oil is naturally drying in nature so it might make the skin around your eyes a bit dry, so use it accordingly and make sure you keep your eye area well hydrated!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oudette on 11/26/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by oudette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use Castor Oil as my cleanser every night and I will never use anything else but this. I have oily skin and therefore was prone to clog my pores all the time which results to adult acne:(

True CO is really thick and that is why I mix it with sunflower oil. I mix 70% SO and 30% CO for my oily skin.

1 - gently massage on face every night for 10 minutes.
2 - cover face with warm washcloth (until the cloth cools down)
3 - wipe oil gently using washcloth.
4 - repeat steps 2 and 3 (2x).

Works wonders!!! Good luck

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nirita on 11/8/2012 3:13:00 AM more reviews by Nirita

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ever since I found out about the Multi Purposes of Castor Oil, I couldn't wait to experiment with it, took me a while to find a trusted brand and organic version of Castor Oil that I'd be pleased with, eventually I settled with a 16oz bottle from GNC - Now Solutions brand for 12 bucks. I did get my hands on the pharmacy version, however the size was way too small and I was not willing to pay almost 5 bucks for a tiny bottle that was refined anyway!
I saw about an inch or more of growth after a month of using and massaging this oil into my scalp RELIGIOUSLY.
My naturally sparse eyebrows have instilled so much insecurities within me over the years, I've tinted them with pencils and mascaras which in turn only pulled my eyebrow hairs out even more! I almost had no eyebrows, seriously. I saw results within days. But because my eyebrows were so sparse to begin with, I have been consistently using it day and night for about almost 2 months, and I'm happy to say that I'm getting there!
For my eyelashes, definitely reaped benefits with this oil! Saw results after days, initially my eyelashes fell out and looked very sparse, however I wasn't concerned because my eyelashes tend to grow pretty decently and they already are pretty long. I stopped using it for a bit then tried it again one night and woke up with thicker, longer eyelashes, eyelashes that were long enough to reach my eyelids. I still use Castor Oil on my lashes occasionally but at times it irritates my sensitive eyes, so I make sure I apply light amounts to my lash line.

I will never give up on this oil!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sexyglam on 11/4/2012 10:18:00 PM more reviews by sexyglam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ovarian cysts anyone?? this might interest you....

Most reviews about castor oil seem to be about lash/eyebrow growth. Although I have tried it for that purpose I can't really give a rating because I didn't use it consistently enough to really rate it fairly. I did, however, want to let you ladies know that castor oil is also used for many other skin and medical issues.

About two months ago an ultrasound showed that I had a hemorrhagic cysts about 2.8cm in one of my ovaries. I was having dull aches on my side, feeling bloated and full, which are symptoms of cysts. The doctor told me to just watch and wait as they can resolve on their own within a few months. I didn't want to take on such a "passive approach" so I did some research and found out that one of the uses for castor oil is to dissolve cysts. That night a made a castor oil pack, and put heating pad over it for about an hour, the next day I still had symptoms. I did it again the next night but left it on for about 2 hours. The next day, I felt a slight burning sensation in my tummy area( a sign of hemorrhagic cyst dissolving) and by the next day all my symptoms of pain, bloating, feeling full COMPLETELY DISAPPEARED! after having it for more than a month. I'm not saying this will work for all that have cysts but if you do a search you'll find this remedy on many sites. I'm no doctor but I wanted to share this with you as I know cysts can affect many women of child bearing age. I'm so sick of overpriced products not doing even half of what they claim to do, so I'm ecstatic that something so cheap and natural actually worked for me, I hope this helps!

49 out of 58 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahLynn21 on 10/24/2012 6:43:00 AM more reviews by SarahLynn21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

When I was younger I made the mistake of "attempting" to style my eyebrows into a desirable shape. This over the period of three years led to the rather disastrous result of my eyebrows consisting of more pencil then hair.

When I'd finally had enough of my fake eyebrows and needing to pencil them in everyday I decided to quit cold turkey and bare the embarrassment of what I'd done. When hair growth proved slow I retreated to the internet and fortunately was able to read about the many benefits of castor oil.

The greatest part has to be how easy it is to find and not to mention the price. I purchased the bottle and applied it every night over my eyebrows and within a few weeks I noticed significant hair growth and within two months I no longer needed to apply it at all. I'd definitely recommend this to someone trying to regrow hair but perhaps not to someone thinking of applying it to their eyelashes, do to it's extremely oily texture.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiffanieJean on 10/8/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by TiffanieJean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Castor oil is one of my favorite oils. It's dirt cheap, versitile, natural and works very well. I have been using it once a month in hair masks for about 8 months now. I have noticed improvements in my hair in a couple areas. I started to go into a shedding cycle about a week or so before I first tried it, and the shedding immediately decreased. Overall, my shedding has been very minimal now, and it was reduced from the first use. I had quite a few little hairs grow in around the crown of my head, and after I do a hair mask my hair feels very strong. The strands actually feel like they are thicker and breakage/split ends have decreased which means thatís not just in my mind! The shine is off the charts too (not in a bad way).


I have noticed that it has darkened my hair a tiny bit over time. THIS IS NOT A TYPICAL RESULT. If you have blonde or red hair naturally, just be a little cautious. If you want to naturally darken your hair, Castor Oil could be a good option. I have very fair hair (naturally a golden toned red) and after using Castor Oil every other week for the first 4 months my hair slowly got a more coppery tone that would have been typical, had it been during winter. It wasnít anything that other people would have noticed, but I cut down the use to once a month and I no longer see any color changes.


However, this brings me to the secondary use of castor Oil in my beauty routine. I put it on my eyelashes and under eye area every night. I noticed that my eyelashes darkened after just 1 week! After a few months they are noticeably darker and longer. I have dark spots on the inner corners of my eyes and after 2 months those have faded by about 75% as well.

 
Background -
Castor Oil (Ricinus communis) is a vegetable oil extracted from the castor bean (actually a seed). It is very thick and has a slightly sticky texture. It appears as a clear to pale yellow liquid depending on the level of refinement (colorless being the most refined). Castor Oil is very useful for dry, brittle, damaged hair and particularly for hair loss because of the verity of beneficial Acids it naturally contains.


For the Scalp -
Castor Oil has strong antimicrobial and anti inflammatory properties because of itĎs high level of Ricinoleic Acid which inhibits the growth of bacteria, mold, viruses and yeasts. This is an acid rarely found and makes Castor Oil especially good for treating dandruff and other scalp ailments.


The small molecular size of Castor Oil allows it to penetrate deep into the scalp and roots quickly along with any other ingredients it is mixed with. At the same time Castor Oil clarifies your scalp and roots by dissolving any material that is causing clogged follicles and built up (accumulation of products, bacteria, dirt, hard water or excess sebum) while leaving behind vital nutrients and long lasting moisture.


It naturally contains Oleic, Palmitic, Linoleic and Linolenic Acidís which are commonly used in many hair loss products. Oleic acid is used to strengthen and make hair thicker as it grows. Palmitic Acid helps to prevent hair loss and is very good for nourishing, repairing, and protecting hair. Itís used in many conditioners and other conventional products. Linoleic and Linolenic Acidís block DHT (Dihydrotestosterone)which is a common cause of hair loss. High levels of DHT can be caused by stress or male/female pattern baldness as it increases in your follicles over time. This is why using Castor Oil decreases shedding and strengthens your hair follicles while stimulating your hair to grow faster, thicker and stronger over time. These properties of Castor Oil also make it ideal for preventing post natal hair loss.


For the Hair -
Many of the same reasons Castor Oil restores the health of your scalp and hair follicles apply to your hair as well. Itís ability to sink deep into the hair shafts can help to reverse damage done by heat styling, weather, products corrosion and stripping of moisture.The lasting moisture protects further damage, prevents frizz, makes your hair softer and appear healthier overall (unfortunately, there is no way to truly repair damaged hair other than letting it grow out). The added strength prevents split ends and breakage.


Where To Buy and How To Use Castor Oil -
If you have a whole or Natural Foods type store in your area, you should be able to find Castor Oil there. If you want to get Castor Oil, make sure it says Hexane Free and either Cold or Expeller Pressed ON THE BOTTLE. The brand of Castor Oil I buy is Heritage Products which is $6.40 for 16fl oz. (or $3.85 for 8fl oz.).


Because of the thickness of Castor Oil, I mix it with other oils for hair masks. It can be used on it own as well, but I find that itís easier to wash out when mixed. Allow the oil to soak into your hair and scalp for at least an hour or two. The longer the better. Always test new oils on a small section of your skin before you apply it to a large area. Just in case. If you experience any irritation it could be because of the concentration of the oil. Mix a higher proportion of another oil for the next use. It could also be an allergic reaction. If you are pregnant donít use Castor Oil without talking to your doctor first.

31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anjelykah on 10/4/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by anjelykah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is NOT a miracle product, it will not promote hair growth where none existed before or if the follicles have been permanently damaged as it sometimes happens when scars form. I had naturally bushy eyebrows as a kid but after 15+ years of plucking, Castor oil helped get the fullness back. I started using castor oil for eyebrow growth by placing a drop of oil on my ring finger and massaging the eyebrow area for about a minute. Below is my personal journey, I hope it is able to help others in some way. It's worth a shot, since castor oil is relatively cheap and can be found readily. It does require a serious commitment though. It helps to incorporate it as part of your nightly routine. (ie. brush teeth, wash face, put castor oil on.)

To "clean up" the eyebrow area while in the growth stage, I used an eyebrow stencil (full arch) and an eyebrow razor to remove OBVIOUS stray hairs that grew outside of the outline created by the stencil. Absolutely NO plucking because you don't know which hairs will be part of your new eyebrow shape. Once I had my bushy eyebrows, I did a lot of research on yelp and I went to a professional to get them shaped.

* * * * * *

I noticed after 4 days that the skin covered by my eyebrows was flaking, it definitely has a drying effect. Exfoliating with small brush and moisturizer took care of that though. I'm hoping that exfoliating dead skin can help promote hair growth in dormant follicles. I've been doing this sporadically for a couple of weeks but I am committing to using it daily from now on. It gets 3 lippies because of no adverse reactions but I will update later.

EDIT: (3 weeks) My eyebrow hair has grown in considerably. I don't know if it's because I have not been plucking or because of the castor oil. No more dryness/flaking though.
* * * * * *
SECOND EDIT: (5 weeks) My eyebrows are looking really crazy right now! I'm using a stencil and an eyebrow razor to clean up the major strays from underneath the brow. I also am using a powder to fill in the sparse areas and apply concealer over the new growth to help deflect attention (seems counterproductive but it helps) However, they are so unruly that I have since cut my bangs to help cover them up. I feel really self conscious!
* * * * * *
THIRD EDIT: (6 weeks) Could not help myself anymore and I went to get them threaded but I told the eyebrow lady that I was letting them grow in and just wanted to clean them up a little. They look so much better but some hairs are still growing. There is one minor bald spot underneath my left eyebrow. It's not a big deal because it's hardly noticeable unless you stand very close to me or if I'm using a magnifying mirror. Yes, I'm my own worst brow critic.
* * * * * * *
FOURTH EDIT: Today is exactly 2 months since I put down the tweezers and I am so happy with how my eyebrows have grown back in. I went to apply the oil today and I could not see the bald spot that I had resigned myself to filling in with powder. This is officially upgraded to HG status.
* * * * * * *
FIFTH EDIT: I am allowing hairs closer to the inner brow area to grow in...and they area growing! Still a work in progress. The way I see it, it took me years to get my eyebrows in bad shape, so what's a few months of showing them love to get them back. :)

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 partelo on 10/1/2012 3:21:00 PM more reviews by partelo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't know what people are talking about, I used Castor Oil on my eyelashes for months and absolutely nothing happened. If you want something that actually works for eyelashes, get Latisse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 valenetay on 9/30/2012 1:48:00 AM more reviews by valenetay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For some unknown reason, my hair has been falling out more than normal for the past few years, and I've tried so many remedies including Nioxin shampoos. What really worked for me was, using a mixture of castor oil, coconut oil and olive oil, I massage my scalp on alternate days, leave it on for an hour, then shampoo it off. After using this method for about 3 months, I'm seeing a lot of new hair growing out, which I'm very pleased with! Highly recommend castor oil, it's so inexpensive and does not contain a bunch of synthetic substances in other commercial hair growth products.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 i8alltheBacon on 9/24/2012 5:16:00 AM more reviews by i8alltheBacon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This really does work!!...I've been using this on my brows and lashes for a few months now...my brows/lashes have never looked better. I had sorta bald parts in my brows and the hair has filled in....I'm also constantly having to trim my brows with scissors now because they grow so fast. My lashes have always been long, but they would always crease and bend in different directions. I had to pluck them out sometimes because they wouldn't go into place even when I used a curler...not anymore.*******What I do is apply the oil on my brows and lashes with a lip brush (apply it to my lids like an eye liner and kinda coat my lashes too) about a half hour/hour before bed to make sure it soaks in before getting wiped off on the pillow while I sleep. I'm using a store brand castor oil from a drug store.When the bottle is done I'll go and get a really good organic cold pressed one from a health food store because I assume it's probably better, more pure.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Brows products