Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(122 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Xiriah on 12/22/2008 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Xiriah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I'm just a little bit disappointed in this product. It's not as moisturizing as I thought it was going to be, but the good news is that it doesn't dry my lips up either. I have fairly pigmented lips and medium-tan skin and my main concern was that this was going to look slightly magenta on my lips as most tints do. Clinique's Black Honey looks like an unflattering wine-brown color on my lips, while Medieval looks more cherry-ish, though leaning towards the slight magenta side. I partially don't like the way it looks on my lips since it looks as though I had red lipstick on and then drank something, so it's like a wash of color left over. One other good thing about it is that it's unscented and tasteless. I love the cute, simple, red and gold-lettered packaging. It looks like lipstick in the tube, but once applied, it is a sheer wash of color. I do think that the price is a bit much for what you get ($20.) I think this would look better on someone with lighter/fairer skin. I must also add that the color is slightly buildable, but the color tends to migrate to areas of your lips (like mainly the corners and inner lip area.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Twizler on 12/20/2008 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Twizler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE this product. It imparts a subtle, very moisturizing wine/pinky red stain. The packaging is divine - a brushed wine case and super funky illustrations on the outside packaging that you'll want to hand onto. To me this is what Benetint ought to be.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 12/12/2008 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE the texture of this balm/lipstick. It's extremely smooth, soft and moisturizing, thanks to the soothing vitamin E base. If I hadn't looked at my tube of Medieval (and seen the rich, candy apple red color) before slicking it on, I would have guessed that it was a very posh lipbalm. It leaves my chronically dry lips feeling smooth and happy, not tight or flaky the way they can with traditional lipsticks. It also seems that the ultra-moisturizing formula keeps the dry spots on my lips a little more camouflaged. No matter how much I exfoliate my lips, it seems like traditional lipstick draws attention to those spots, which is frustrating and not very attractive.



Color-wise, Medieval falls a little short of my expectations, but only because I was hoping for a true (but very sheer) red shade. On my medium-pigmented rosy lips, I get a sheer deepish rose shade from Medieval, not the cherry/blood red I was anticipating. It's still beautiful, don't get me wrong. It's just not quite what I expected.



I'm very impressed with the packaging on Medieval. It's my first Lipstick Queen product and from what I can gather, they're all as beautifully packaged as this is. Medieval comes in a satin finish, deep cherry red metal tube with elegant script on the outside and a small logo on the inner tube under the cap. It not only looks pretty but seems very sturdy (a good thing for someone like me who's hard on things).



PROS: (1) very smooth, moisturizing formula; (2) sheer finish makes this a red(dish) shade that's non-threatening and easy to wear; (3) classy, solid packaging; (4) all the comfort of a lipbalm with a sheer wash of color.



CONS: (1) not the true (sheer) red shade I was hoping for; (2) a little expensive for a tinted lipbalm.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pineappleaftermath on 12/1/2008 2:20:00 PM more reviews by pineappleaftermath

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is *perfect!* The colour is a beautiful sheer reddish shade that is really natural. It gives a nice flush to your lips without being garishly bright and obvious.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stanzi on 11/30/2008 12:26:00 PM more reviews by stanzi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Medieval, and I hope it's a permanent addition to the Lipstick Queen line. If you were to close your eyes and apply it, you'd think you were using a vitamin-E lip balm; it really does feel moisturizing, without being waxy. The color is a true, candy-apple red in the tube. However, on the lips, it's a much sheerer red, somewhere between a gloss and a stain. I apply one coat for just a tint of red, and two coats for more coverage. I'm a PPP with soft features, and this is one of the very few red-toned lip products that don't look garish on me. (Another one is Korres Wild Rose lip butter.) Beautiful matte red tube, competitive high-end pricing; high marks all around!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iphigeneia on 11/21/2008 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Iphigeneia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick is terrific. It gives you glossy lips with the "bitten" light red look. It is also the most moisturizing lipstick or lip gloss I have ever used. Perfect for days when I am wearing little or no makeup!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MizLiz211 on 11/20/2008 9:21:00 AM more reviews by MizLiz211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Medieval is quite similar to Clinique's wildly-popular Black Honey Almost Lipstick. They both look like very dark reds in the tube, but are actually sheer. I would call Medieval, too, an almost-lipstick. It's only about 5% pigment (by contrast, Lipstick Queen's Saint lipsticks are 10% pigment). On me, Medieval is a reddish-pink (rather similar to the line's Rose shade, actually) that packs a surprising amount of color for such a sheer lipstick. It shows up very well on me, and I am not light-skinned. The Vitamin-E-rich formula works wonders for my winter-dry lips!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beffie001 on 11/19/2008 4:03:00 PM more reviews by beffie001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this color. If you have ever used Dr.Pepper lipsmacker, you will recognize the shade as virtually identical, but in a better packaged, more impressively hydrating form. It is sheer enough to be used for daytime, and bright enough to make a statement. Other reviewers have commented on this color being neither warm nor cool, but I find it to be on the cooler side, turning a subtle but still vibrant pink on my lips. Since I have a yellow undertone this color is in truth, not an ideal match for my coloring - but it's still beautiful and natural-looking. If you are a redhead (like my sister), then run to the nearest Barney's and purchase it - it's the perfect pout for you.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trendoid on 11/11/2008 4:53:00 PM more reviews by trendoid

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a gorgeous product in perfect packaging. I honestly plan to save the card it comes packaged with as it is a piece of art. Medieval is a very buildable, sheer color so I think it would be suitable for any skin tone. It really can give you those gorgeous rosy and full lips. I wouldn't classify it as a stain because the staying power isn't great, but it doesn't rub off on a drink. Also, it is very moisturizing and contains Vitamin E.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Querida on 11/5/2008 7:16:00 AM more reviews by Querida

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this! They don't deliver to the country where I live so I had to wait a month before I got my hands on it! Anyway, I really like the look of healthy red tinted lips and this gives you just that.

It is scentless and applies smoothly. The intensity can be built up if you apply more than one layer. The red is neutral, no visible warm or cool tones. Lovely. Lasts quite long, too and isn't drying.

The tube is a gorgeous matte red. I feel so posh when I take this out to reapply. I will definitely repurchase!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products