Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(125 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shesparkles on 1/18/2009 1:24:00 AM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is single handedly getting me through a very cold DRY New York winter without letting go of glamour completely. I wear it at least 3x a week. It is a wonderfully comfortable, vitamin-E-rich tinted balm, but it's got far more pigment-oomph than, say, the Tendertones by MAC. I have fairly pigmented lips and when I apply this it goes from a candy-apple-red in the tube to a sheer, almost coral color when it combines with my natural shade. I was very disappointed with the level of pigmentation in Clinique's Black Honey almost l/s and much prefer this. Highly wearable, and its moisture is greatly appreciated in these dry winter months. I took off one point on packaging because the (gorgeous, classy) burgundy brushed metal tube picks up scratches from other things in your purse too easily but I love everything about this otherwise.

Will update review to post before and afters!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amykelley on 1/17/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by amykelley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm extremely pale with cool coloring and very pigmented lips. The first time I tried Medieval, I was a little disappointed because I could barely see it against my natural lip color. I finally realized its texture is so creamy and moisturizing that I don't need to wear any lip balm underneath it (which is how I had worn it the first time). Once the lip balm was out of the equation, the Medieval was much more visible. I love it! It's a wonderful color enhancement for those days when you're going for a subtle look. The texture is fantastic, too. My one minor complaint is that the color is a tiny bit warmer than my ideal shade, so I'd love to see the exact same product in a cooler rose/red.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gphibgoddess19 on 12/27/2008 10:16:00 PM more reviews by gphibgoddess19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I ordered this at the same time as Red Saint and both are my first foray into Lipstick Queen. I wanted this for several months after reading about it in Allure in the summer/early fall. When it was finally available, I had difficulty buying a $20 lip tint and paying shipping. When I saw that Barney's online site had free holiday shipping, I snapped up the opportunity to try this. The packaging is nice, I love art history and I am a high school history teacher so the name and influence was right up my alley. The tube is described well by other reviewers, but it is a substantial case that is a matte deep wine color with gold script. For reference I am NW15, neutral cool with blue/green eyes, dark brown hair (for now, lol) and non-pigmented lips. I also have a tendency to turn any lip product pink. This somewhat happened with this product. I wanted something I could swipe on and not be so pink, but this is. When I add 2 or 3 layers, it gets a deep wine/slightly red tint, but it's not really what I expected. That said, I do like it, but not for my original purpose. It is fairly moisturizing and does wear down well. It's not shiny nor matte, and it's not a stain in the sense that I am used to. Since it takes a few coats for me to be satisfied, I think I may go through this quicker than anticipated. But it is very nice, a much better color than Clinique Black Honey and not as berry as other stains I have tried. I think this would look great on just about anyone, but those with pigmented lips may not get as much payoff as those with lighter lips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Xiriah on 12/22/2008 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Xiriah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I'm just a little bit disappointed in this product. It's not as moisturizing as I thought it was going to be, but the good news is that it doesn't dry my lips up either. I have fairly pigmented lips and medium-tan skin and my main concern was that this was going to look slightly magenta on my lips as most tints do. Clinique's Black Honey looks like an unflattering wine-brown color on my lips, while Medieval looks more cherry-ish, though leaning towards the slight magenta side. I partially don't like the way it looks on my lips since it looks as though I had red lipstick on and then drank something, so it's like a wash of color left over. One other good thing about it is that it's unscented and tasteless. I love the cute, simple, red and gold-lettered packaging. It looks like lipstick in the tube, but once applied, it is a sheer wash of color. I do think that the price is a bit much for what you get ($20.) I think this would look better on someone with lighter/fairer skin. I must also add that the color is slightly buildable, but the color tends to migrate to areas of your lips (like mainly the corners and inner lip area.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Twizler on 12/20/2008 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Twizler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE this product. It imparts a subtle, very moisturizing wine/pinky red stain. The packaging is divine - a brushed wine case and super funky illustrations on the outside packaging that you'll want to hand onto. To me this is what Benetint ought to be.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 12/12/2008 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE the texture of this balm/lipstick. It's extremely smooth, soft and moisturizing, thanks to the soothing vitamin E base. If I hadn't looked at my tube of Medieval (and seen the rich, candy apple red color) before slicking it on, I would have guessed that it was a very posh lipbalm. It leaves my chronically dry lips feeling smooth and happy, not tight or flaky the way they can with traditional lipsticks. It also seems that the ultra-moisturizing formula keeps the dry spots on my lips a little more camouflaged. No matter how much I exfoliate my lips, it seems like traditional lipstick draws attention to those spots, which is frustrating and not very attractive.



Color-wise, Medieval falls a little short of my expectations, but only because I was hoping for a true (but very sheer) red shade. On my medium-pigmented rosy lips, I get a sheer deepish rose shade from Medieval, not the cherry/blood red I was anticipating. It's still beautiful, don't get me wrong. It's just not quite what I expected.



I'm very impressed with the packaging on Medieval. It's my first Lipstick Queen product and from what I can gather, they're all as beautifully packaged as this is. Medieval comes in a satin finish, deep cherry red metal tube with elegant script on the outside and a small logo on the inner tube under the cap. It not only looks pretty but seems very sturdy (a good thing for someone like me who's hard on things).



PROS: (1) very smooth, moisturizing formula; (2) sheer finish makes this a red(dish) shade that's non-threatening and easy to wear; (3) classy, solid packaging; (4) all the comfort of a lipbalm with a sheer wash of color.



CONS: (1) not the true (sheer) red shade I was hoping for; (2) a little expensive for a tinted lipbalm.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pineappleaftermath on 12/1/2008 2:20:00 PM more reviews by pineappleaftermath

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is *perfect!* The colour is a beautiful sheer reddish shade that is really natural. It gives a nice flush to your lips without being garishly bright and obvious.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stanzi on 11/30/2008 12:26:00 PM more reviews by stanzi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Medieval, and I hope it's a permanent addition to the Lipstick Queen line. If you were to close your eyes and apply it, you'd think you were using a vitamin-E lip balm; it really does feel moisturizing, without being waxy. The color is a true, candy-apple red in the tube. However, on the lips, it's a much sheerer red, somewhere between a gloss and a stain. I apply one coat for just a tint of red, and two coats for more coverage. I'm a PPP with soft features, and this is one of the very few red-toned lip products that don't look garish on me. (Another one is Korres Wild Rose lip butter.) Beautiful matte red tube, competitive high-end pricing; high marks all around!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iphigeneia on 11/21/2008 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Iphigeneia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick is terrific. It gives you glossy lips with the "bitten" light red look. It is also the most moisturizing lipstick or lip gloss I have ever used. Perfect for days when I am wearing little or no makeup!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MizLiz211 on 11/20/2008 9:21:00 AM more reviews by MizLiz211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Medieval is quite similar to Clinique's wildly-popular Black Honey Almost Lipstick. They both look like very dark reds in the tube, but are actually sheer. I would call Medieval, too, an almost-lipstick. It's only about 5% pigment (by contrast, Lipstick Queen's Saint lipsticks are 10% pigment). On me, Medieval is a reddish-pink (rather similar to the line's Rose shade, actually) that packs a surprising amount of color for such a sheer lipstick. It shows up very well on me, and I am not light-skinned. The Vitamin-E-rich formula works wonders for my winter-dry lips!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products