Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sugahxpops on 2/27/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by sugahxpops

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

After waiting for this to arrive in Australia for months, I finally purchased it, hoping to get a lipstick which would give the effect of my lips looking "bitten/blood stained" in a subtle, sheer way.

I have to say I'm quite disappointed. The consistency is very smooth, like a tinted lip balm, but rubs off almost immediately without a tint at all, and it seems to mingle with my naturally pigmented pink lips so it's all too flushed as opposed to a pop of colour. I payed around $40 AU for it but I have to say it did not deliver, too pinky for me!

I will praise the packaging though, so lovely but I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 colleenh86 on 2/13/2009 9:07:00 PM more reviews by colleenh86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a PPP with incredibly pale lips, and if I don't wear at least SOME color on them, I look sickly.

I've spent years trying out countless tinted lip balms, glosses, stains, and supposedly moisturizing lipsticks, but never found that My Lips But Better formula I was looking for, until now. This is Holy Grail material.

If you want that natural, just-bitten color, Lipstick Queen in Medieval is as good as it gets.

It's essentially a tinted lip balm + stain with lipstick consistency. The formula is really smooth, not sticky; even after it wears off, it leaves the lips slightly stained, making me look as if I were blessed with pigmented lips. The color is perfect (a pinky-red), and I believe it would look good on just about any skin tone. It looks dark in the tube, but don't let that fool you; it's actually very sheer. Never drying: it contains shea and mango butters and vitamin E, amongst other moisturizing, lip-healthy ingredients. I find it as moisturizing as most balms, and have started wearing it as a base for other lipsticks (I swear it makes them last longer!). Even the packaging is gorgeous.

My only real complaints are that I wish it were cheaper, and paraben-free/organic. But for the quality of the product, it is so worth it, and the ingredients are pretty safe. I think I'm going to buy about 3 more, so I will always have a tube of Medieval within reach.

Ingredients: RICINUS COMMUNIS (CASTOR) SEED OIL CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE VEGETABLE OIL EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX BEESWAX (CERA ALBA) ETHYHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE OZOKERITE BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER) TOCOPHERYL ACETATE HYROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL LIMANANTHES ALBA (MEADOWFOAM) SEED OIL MANGIFERA INDICA (MANGO) SEED BUTTER HYDROGENEATED OLIVE OIL BENZOPHONONE-3 ISOPROPYLPARABEN ISIBUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN IRON OXIDES 77491 IRON OXIDES 77492 IRON OXIDES 77499 RED 7 LAKE 15850 RED 33 LAKE 17200 YELLOW 5 LAKE 19140


6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abbe4 on 2/8/2009 2:08:00 PM more reviews by abbe4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is great ! I am self-conscious about getting older looking, and how "mask-like" some lipsticks can me look now: what can look lovely on a younger woman can be so seriously off-putting when one gets older, and this lipstick is nourishing, with a natural stain: it is so much nicer to see "lips" not lipstick: a fresher and lighter appearance. I'd rather concentrate on eyes and good skin with great foundation as I get older, than continually trying to find a lipstick that "lasts", or isn't "drying", or a variety of colors that never really do it for me....btw I am extremely fair skinned, and this is still soft looking, even though red/blushed. The big thing for me is: I still miss Bobbi Brown original lip stains, or whatever they were called: Medieval reminds me of these ! The newer ones are just slippery lipsticks with little of a "stain".

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kateyed on 1/18/2009 10:15:00 AM more reviews by Kateyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I hooked on lipstick queen products and I only have started using them for a month. I received Medieval in my x-mas stocking and shortly followed with Saint Berry. Poppy's lipsticks are nothing short of divine- never dries out my lips like other lip products, and stains them a lovely but natural shade, each one is a true MLBB! I'm a PPP (the palest I know) with medium brown hair and blue eyes. Medieval is the appealing color your lips turned in the summer as a kid when you had a cherry popsicle. It was intended to mimic the color women in Medieval times achieved by applying lemons to their lips. It truly does have the innocently sexy appeal of popsicle-tints and virginal ladies tempting the courting knights.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shesparkles on 1/18/2009 1:24:00 AM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is single handedly getting me through a very cold DRY New York winter without letting go of glamour completely. I wear it at least 3x a week. It is a wonderfully comfortable, vitamin-E-rich tinted balm, but it's got far more pigment-oomph than, say, the Tendertones by MAC. I have fairly pigmented lips and when I apply this it goes from a candy-apple-red in the tube to a sheer, almost coral color when it combines with my natural shade. I was very disappointed with the level of pigmentation in Clinique's Black Honey almost l/s and much prefer this. Highly wearable, and its moisture is greatly appreciated in these dry winter months. I took off one point on packaging because the (gorgeous, classy) burgundy brushed metal tube picks up scratches from other things in your purse too easily but I love everything about this otherwise.

Will update review to post before and afters!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amykelley on 1/17/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by amykelley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm extremely pale with cool coloring and very pigmented lips. The first time I tried Medieval, I was a little disappointed because I could barely see it against my natural lip color. I finally realized its texture is so creamy and moisturizing that I don't need to wear any lip balm underneath it (which is how I had worn it the first time). Once the lip balm was out of the equation, the Medieval was much more visible. I love it! It's a wonderful color enhancement for those days when you're going for a subtle look. The texture is fantastic, too. My one minor complaint is that the color is a tiny bit warmer than my ideal shade, so I'd love to see the exact same product in a cooler rose/red.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gphibgoddess19 on 12/27/2008 10:16:00 PM more reviews by gphibgoddess19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I ordered this at the same time as Red Saint and both are my first foray into Lipstick Queen. I wanted this for several months after reading about it in Allure in the summer/early fall. When it was finally available, I had difficulty buying a $20 lip tint and paying shipping. When I saw that Barney's online site had free holiday shipping, I snapped up the opportunity to try this. The packaging is nice, I love art history and I am a high school history teacher so the name and influence was right up my alley. The tube is described well by other reviewers, but it is a substantial case that is a matte deep wine color with gold script. For reference I am NW15, neutral cool with blue/green eyes, dark brown hair (for now, lol) and non-pigmented lips. I also have a tendency to turn any lip product pink. This somewhat happened with this product. I wanted something I could swipe on and not be so pink, but this is. When I add 2 or 3 layers, it gets a deep wine/slightly red tint, but it's not really what I expected. That said, I do like it, but not for my original purpose. It is fairly moisturizing and does wear down well. It's not shiny nor matte, and it's not a stain in the sense that I am used to. Since it takes a few coats for me to be satisfied, I think I may go through this quicker than anticipated. But it is very nice, a much better color than Clinique Black Honey and not as berry as other stains I have tried. I think this would look great on just about anyone, but those with pigmented lips may not get as much payoff as those with lighter lips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Xiriah on 12/22/2008 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Xiriah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I'm just a little bit disappointed in this product. It's not as moisturizing as I thought it was going to be, but the good news is that it doesn't dry my lips up either. I have fairly pigmented lips and medium-tan skin and my main concern was that this was going to look slightly magenta on my lips as most tints do. Clinique's Black Honey looks like an unflattering wine-brown color on my lips, while Medieval looks more cherry-ish, though leaning towards the slight magenta side. I partially don't like the way it looks on my lips since it looks as though I had red lipstick on and then drank something, so it's like a wash of color left over. One other good thing about it is that it's unscented and tasteless. I love the cute, simple, red and gold-lettered packaging. It looks like lipstick in the tube, but once applied, it is a sheer wash of color. I do think that the price is a bit much for what you get ($20.) I think this would look better on someone with lighter/fairer skin. I must also add that the color is slightly buildable, but the color tends to migrate to areas of your lips (like mainly the corners and inner lip area.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Twizler on 12/20/2008 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Twizler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE this product. It imparts a subtle, very moisturizing wine/pinky red stain. The packaging is divine - a brushed wine case and super funky illustrations on the outside packaging that you'll want to hand onto. To me this is what Benetint ought to be.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 12/12/2008 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE the texture of this balm/lipstick. It's extremely smooth, soft and moisturizing, thanks to the soothing vitamin E base. If I hadn't looked at my tube of Medieval (and seen the rich, candy apple red color) before slicking it on, I would have guessed that it was a very posh lipbalm. It leaves my chronically dry lips feeling smooth and happy, not tight or flaky the way they can with traditional lipsticks. It also seems that the ultra-moisturizing formula keeps the dry spots on my lips a little more camouflaged. No matter how much I exfoliate my lips, it seems like traditional lipstick draws attention to those spots, which is frustrating and not very attractive.



Color-wise, Medieval falls a little short of my expectations, but only because I was hoping for a true (but very sheer) red shade. On my medium-pigmented rosy lips, I get a sheer deepish rose shade from Medieval, not the cherry/blood red I was anticipating. It's still beautiful, don't get me wrong. It's just not quite what I expected.



I'm very impressed with the packaging on Medieval. It's my first Lipstick Queen product and from what I can gather, they're all as beautifully packaged as this is. Medieval comes in a satin finish, deep cherry red metal tube with elegant script on the outside and a small logo on the inner tube under the cap. It not only looks pretty but seems very sturdy (a good thing for someone like me who's hard on things).



PROS: (1) very smooth, moisturizing formula; (2) sheer finish makes this a red(dish) shade that's non-threatening and easy to wear; (3) classy, solid packaging; (4) all the comfort of a lipbalm with a sheer wash of color.



CONS: (1) not the true (sheer) red shade I was hoping for; (2) a little expensive for a tinted lipbalm.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products