L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2933 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 2/9/2011 9:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It definitely matches your skin texture and color well, but that's not what you want from a foundation! You want something that looks like flawless skin, not something that will match your imperfections too and make it look like you're not wearing anything. Not a good look. I normally finish them anyway, but I couldn't with this one, I had to give it away



on 2/8/2011 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation was one of the best foundations i had ever tried! unfortunately they discontinued my shade (N7) which is why i've given it 3 lippys :( .i can't repurchase in any other shade as they are either too light or too pink for my skin..it was the first foundation i had ever tried and turned alot of heads whenever i wore it! i've been on a quest ever since to find a foundation similar to this and the closest one so far has got to be nars (sheer glow) bt still not as good as this! please l'oreal bring back my shade!!!!!


on 2/7/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the only foundations that I've been able to find that match my skin absolutely perfectly. This foundation comes in so many colors, and I love that the shade W2 matches my very, very pale, warmly toned skin. It makes my skin look natural and evens out the redness in my cheeks without making me look too washed out. I have very dry skin and I have to moisturize very well before I use this, or else it clings to my dry spots, but this is true for almost every foundation I have used, so it's not particular to True Match. Otherwise I apply this with a stippling brush and it blends so well. It also has pretty good coverage without feeling like you're wearing a mask--I'd say it's medium coverage, but it is definitely buildable. I can't say much about the lasting power because my dry skin clings on to my makeup for dear life!! That being said, it lasts me sufficiently long, and I don't even use a foundation primer.

The one thing that I would change is the packaging. It comes in a small glass bottle with a screw-off top, so I have to dump part of it out onto the back of my hand so I can use my brush to apply, and it's really easy to pour too much out. If this product came with a pump it would be perfect!

Otherwise this foundation is amazing and I highly recommend it, especially for people that have a difficult time finding a match for their skin tone. I also love the corresponding True Match powder, which complements the foundation color perfectly. It saves me so much effort in color matching amongst different brands and products!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2011 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Updated true rating: 4.4/5.0

Now that I've faded my tan with dedicated staying out of the sun, repeated sunscreen application I am finding it hard to find a foundation shade that matches. The problem is that the pigments, even in the W warm shades, are very beige y. That might not be a hindrance to you but as a "complex" shaded Asian, LOL, its hard to find a foundation shade. I think that is why a lot of people are saying this foundation turns orange, it doesn't the beige tones just come out more throughout the day. Maybe the pigments aren't great quality?

I've switched to Revlon's Colorstay which is amazing but I'm waiting a full month before I do a review.

Overall this true match foundation is smooth, really blendable, and has great ingredients in it from the company website info. It is a shame that I can't find a shade that matches my winter skin. I think I will try again sometime in the future.

I decided to try this product on a whim. I saw it at Walmart for 7.50 and I had a 2.00 coupon so for 5.50 why not right?

For reference I am Asian with combo skin. I have a tendency to break out so I always go oil free which this product is. I have been strictly using Bare Escentuals for the past two years but I was fed up with that because it wasn't a good color match even with mixing etc. I have tried Shishedo, Covergirl, Bare Escentuals, Sue Divett, Becca, Lorac and I think that's it.

I like this foundation a lot. For an oil free foundation it has great coverage, and isn't runny. I personally like the finish. Its powdery without being dry. I didn't find that it changed color through the normal day. It might have darkened a little but that's after running on the treadmill for an hour, which you shouldn't do with makeup on anyways. The staying power isn't perfect so you might have to put a setting powder (which I have to do most of the time because of the oilies.) It's cold where I am right now so this might be my winter time foundation.

To sum up: It stays very decently, blends nicely, color matches very very nicely, might need a concealer depending on what you are covering, didn't break me out, is not 100% stay proof but doesn't say it is and the bottle isn't too much of a pain without a pump.


on 1/30/2011 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The only thing I love about this foundation is the awesome color selection it has. There is a match for every skin tone, even my pale NW20 complexion. I don't like this foundation because it clings on to dry patches, which makes my skin look terrible, and it rubs off onto other people's clothes when you hug them, which is really embarassing.


on 1/28/2011 1:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When a foundation has done its job, it's usually around the time people compliment on your complexion, and not your makeup.

L'Oreal's True Match foundation has done just that - medium coverage, blends fairly well and there's an endless amount of shades to suit your skintone. But don't be fooled by the oil-free formula advertised on the bottom of the transparent sticker. I have had oily skin and this product will not do justice on stopping the shininess across your t-zone. That said, I'm on a acne medication and my skin has been drying up for the past month and oiliness is no longer a problem for myself. With a moisturizer for a base, this foundation looks like my own skin, just perfected.

I think the price for an drug-store brand, L'Oreal's True Match foundation is a little bit more expensive than some and considering how much your getting in a bottle (30 ml) with no pump (why do they ought to make things more difficult?), the price at best is okay. It's the formula that I keep going back to.


on 1/28/2011 8:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using BE since it came out..then comes the recession. I bought a bottle of N2 Classic Ivory from the dollar store for 9$ which seemed expensive at the time but I've found it is worth at least that. I wear this foundation over very light moisturizer and don't use powder to set it and it lasts on me 8 hours at least. I do use blotting papers then powder after about 8 hours and then it lasts until I take it off. The color is a good match for my skin and is easy to blend. One application with a damp sponge covered all the redness around my nose and camouflaged (sp?) the few red spots I have.It didn't settly into fine lines or make my pores look hyper-visible like some foundations. I really like it but I will wait for warmer weather to see if it still looks decent after being somewhat sweaty! This is definitely my winter foundation HG. Nothing else matches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2011 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like the color selection and how they break it down into cool, neutral, and warm. I also like how they have corresponding blushes and concealers. The formula blends well and covers moderately. I find it lasts more of the day. The cons are: the bottle makes it difficult at times to get the foundation out, and I tend to get pretty oily with it by the end of the day, although that's not entirely the foundation's fault. I've recently switched to powder foundations, but if I ever switch back to liquid, I would consider repurchasing this.


on 1/26/2011 4:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i've used it on and off and i like that it's super blendable and the color selection is very broad. I dont know if it's the bronzer that i wear with it sometimes, but it makes me look kinda orange and by the end of the day, my skin is oily.. although if i wear a translucent powder to suck in the oil, my skin does look dewy. I don't think i will repurchase this foundation again. i've tried better ones.


on 1/26/2011 3:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This foundation is the only drugstore foundation that comes close to matching my pale skin, though it is still orange on me and I have to blend down my neck. I will continue to buy it until I can afford a white foundation to mix with something else, but until then I will use this. Pron and cons:

Pro:

-Matches my skin better than anything else
-Cheaper than most foundations

Cons:

-Very, very, very, cakey, powdery
-Thin, liquidy texture
-Dries fast and slow at same time
-Difficult to apply because it is so thin
-Although it is buildable, it will cake and look patchy if you do
-Feels sticky on skin even if your skin is dry
-Packaging makes it impossible to use all of the product

Overall, this foundation may work if you have slightly oily skin if you use it with a good powder. I kind of hate it though, because it is so cakey and gross. If you are not pale or dark skinned I would suggest using something else!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top