L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2911 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 1/16/2011 9:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very oily shortly after application, and it turned very orange, which was a new one on me. I did like the little bottle though I guess.



on 1/16/2011 8:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

L'Oreal, in my opinion, made a wonderful foundation when they conceived of the True Match line: it blends wonderfully, gives a beautiful finish with a soft glow, and complements a wide variety of skin shades.

Unlike Revlon's ColorStay, the True Match foundation (I wore C8 - Cocoa) felt light, and I could hardly tell that I was wearing makeup, except when it smeared everywhere as it slid off my face, which became an oil slick within an hour of application. It gave my skin a beautifully smooth finish (again, for the one hour before I became oily :( )for a few days, and then it started making me break out. I really loved the product, but it didn't do much for my skin, which is why I took away one lippie.

The other lippie was taken away because the packaging is awful. Given what L'Oreal charges for their drugstore foundation, I'd think they could include a pump.


on 1/16/2011 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

Some days, this foundation looked great on me, and other days not so great, I don't know why though. I mixed this with my moisturiser because I have dry skin and on its own, it was awful. I liked the finished effect, good coverage (even on my dark circles) and not too oily. I put powder over it even though I don't think I really needed it but I preferred it with a powder.

This would've got a higher rating if it wasn't for the fact that it was making me breakout. I guessed it was the foundation causing me spots because when I stopped using it, my skin got better and when I decided to try it again, the spots returned. I wish I didn't have to stop using it because I actually quite liked it and it wasn't so pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2011 9:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

True match is really easy to match to find the perfect skin tone especially when you use the little color swatches in some stores. They come in warm, neutral, and cool, which is really nice for hard to match skin tones. Its super blendable and has very nice coverage. The only downsides are that it isn't very water-proof and the packaging is a bit messy and it would be better if it had a pump. I think this is a great foundation and would work on any skin tone and type.


on 1/12/2011 9:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This really is a great product. It has an amazing shade selection for the drugstore. Usually drugstore foundations are too pinkish for me. I like this because it has the warm yellow undertones too. My shade is W2 in the winter and W3 in the summer. I have acne prone, oily skin and this gives me great coverage and stays on all day. I find that it can be a little cakey, but I found the perfect trick. Wet a cosmetic sponge in the sink and then wring it out a little bit, then apply the foundation. That gives you a natural looking finish. I definitely recommend this.


on 1/12/2011 9:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Shades
Mac Studio Fix: NC30
Estee lauder Double Wear Foundation: Tawny 3w1
L'oreal True Match: w4, but also w3.

I'm always willing to try drugstore foundation to help me find a cheap alternative to my ELDW. I orginally got this in w3, but it was just a tad bit too light but still wearable. So I bought w4 which was a little lighter than my ELDW but much more of a better match than w3. The consistency is very thin and runny compared to ELDW which doesn't really bother me. I've worn this for the past week and 3 of those days i've worked 12-13 hours shifts and at the end of the day it looked the same as the first hour i've put it on. there isn't a pump on this bottle so i transferred it to a small container that i bought and its a lot better to control how much comes out by squeezing it. I bought that bottle at a Japanese store. I use a stippling brush to apply my liquid foundation and it works well. I was really impressed with this foundation, especially the color. The color was actually a good match compared to the Revlon and Maybelline ones. I bought this on sale for 7 bucks, but its original price is around 10? I think i just found that cheap alternative liquid foundation. I'm really happy with this foundation


on 1/12/2011 12:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yes, I will be saving myself alot of money ... Until atleast loreal decides to discontinues this product lol... But on with the review I have been using this for about a month.. No breakouts, or oiliness ... The color match is beautiful. I am a nc 37-40 in Mac .. I got the color n6 and powder in n4.. This foundation is runny but the coverage is medium to full.. It is kinda like mufe hd but better..I would recommend this to a person with oily or combination skin.. And if you have dry skin moisturize will otherwise it can look caking.. If you can find you shade in this foundation you will never need another trust me.. I'm sure I will be saving atleast 200 dollars a year:))
So go out and try it if you don't like it you can always return it but make sure of the store policy beforehand... Hope this helps
Mufe hd 153
Mac nc37-40
Shisheido ochre 60
True match n6 powder n4
Maybelline matte honey beige
Maybelline fit me 310 sun beige
Revlon colorstay warm golden
Nars sheer glow Stromboli/Barcelona
Estee lauder double wear shell beige
Bobbi brown 5 honey

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2011 12:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Finally, a drugstore company that realizes there are many shades to peoples skin! Loreal is innovative in the sense they break it down for people like me that need specific undertones to their foundation and with many to pick from & a shade matching card to finally get it right!
~~~~~~~~ PRICE & AVAILABILITY ~~~~~~~~~~~
Loreal True Match Foundation can be found in most drugstores like CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens as well as mass retailers like Walmart, Target & Kmart. The availability & price will vary depending on your location as well as sales, discounts & coupons. Check your papers for coupons because Loreal gives many $1 off coupons which is great. Generally priced around $7-8. I purchased mine for $5.97 which is a great price bc there was a sale & i had a coupon. Fairly priced even at normal price.
~~~~ SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE ~~~~
Loreal True Match Foundation is one of the few lines that offers different shades w/in cool, warm or neutral undertones. Named within the range. I purchased C1- Alabaster which is a great very pale cool pink foundation. This is one of the few that matches me that i could use alone. Whats great is the choice of shades that could be mixed or matched to each persons needs. This is a great foundation for those with normal to dry skin. It does have a very liquid like runny consistency, meaning its not super thick. Its easy to apply & blends out. Do have a little bit of time to blend on the skin. Does have a semi-glow dewy finish. It gives the skin a healthy glow without heavy sparkles. Brightens the skin. Those with oily skin may not like the sheen that it gives. Could be toned down with powder. The wear time is around 6-7 hours before i see fading around tzone area. I do not powder everyday since my skin is drier. I like using a silicone based primer with this foundation since it helps it to smooth & blend out easily. I love to use this to help cool down & lighten my foundations that are too warm or dark. Its a great mixing foundation so if you have foundations like me that i've collected & couldn't use, grab one of these that can you can mix wiht to "fix" other foundation.
~~~~~~~~~~~~ PACKAGING ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Loreal True Match comes in a small see through glass bottle. The lid twists on and off. This pours out easily. The only complaint or wish i have is that it included a pump since its a thinner consistency and can come out too fast & i have to put some back in. The shade name is located on the lid & on the front of bottle. A standard 1 fl oz or 30 ml of foundation. Even though its a glass bottle, its small & light. I wouldnt carry this on vacation or travel since I'd be afraid of it leaking out but it may work just fine. Simple but good packaging, just missing a good lid or if the hole wasn't so big. Why won't these companies give us a pump every time?
Overall, this is a really great foundation. It works great and it finally matches me! Its great to see the wide range of shades to pick from & also to have it easy enough to find your shade. I love using this with other foundations but also gives a healthy glow to the skin. Its affordable and I will def repurchase over and over since it works so well for me!


on 1/11/2011 11:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm gonna start off saying I have dry skin with flakiness and patches of dry skin around my nose area. IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN, DO NOOOOOOOOOT BUY THIS! Also, if you have lots of peach fuzzes and "female facial hair" (lol) do not buy this! It clings on to every single dry spot, and it clings on to every hair on your face. It was horrible... I tried using it as concealer and it didn't do anything except make it worse!

Although this isn't that bad, the color I got was "Ivory W2" which basically matched my skin perfectly. Maybe if you use a primer it would help?


on 1/9/2011 10:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

idk if i just got a bad one but this has like micro glitters in it and i do not like it


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top