L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2980 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 4/6/2011 11:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I too bought this product on the strength of a Paula B recommendation. She said it was blendable--I thought it was absolutely horrible and not at all blendable. I am a 50 year old who still has an oily T zone and this did nothing for me. It did not have good coverage either. It is horrible and in the garbage.
The claim "True Match" is true.!! I used this plastic card I found in a magazine to pick my shade, N1 and it was a perfect match for my very pale skin, unlike most foundations.Too bad the actual product was useless!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My skin is dry with acne blemishes from my teenage years when I had acne. I prefer Medium coverage for this reason. I had no problems matching my shade at all. I am a NW45 in MAC so I purchased C8 Cocoa in True Match and it was a perfect match! From first use I loved the coverage especially when I used my True Match Powder to set it, I looked flawless! Then the bad part came, give it about 2 hrs and your face looks so shiny and oily! (Did I mention I had DRY skin) I had to continuously touch up my face with my compact powder. But that's not the worst part, this foundation gets on EVERYTHING! It smears all over my phone and whatever my face touches. I gave my BF a hug and my foundation rubbed off against his gray sweatshirt! I was so embarrassed! But I am very adamant about using this product till its gone so I only use it for school nights when my class is only an hour1/2. That way I wont be worried about the shine and grease. Darn shame because the entire True Match line is great! I love the powder and coordinating blushes. But this foundation is a mess! One last thing, it has this shimmer in it that I don't like as well.
UPDATED: I am almost finished with this bottle and sad to say I will not be repurchasing. Its a love/hate thing going on because I love it when I first apply it. Its fawless and very pretty but like I mentioned earlier give it two hours and it oxidizes and becomes very shiny and oily on my face.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2011 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is very blendable and I love the spf in it as well. For a drugstore foundation it is definitely worth it. It does wear off a little bit fast even with a primer and setting powder but it does give you pretty good coverage and it doesn't feel heavy on your skin.


on 4/3/2011 11:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like it. Nice coverage. Super blendable. But it doesnt last long even with a primer and powder on top. but i still like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2011 8:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this foundation based on Paula B's review of it being a great buy for normal to oily skinned ladies. I have to agree with her! I have combination skin that, with the right moisturizer, stays pretty matte for at least half the day. Then a light blotting is all I need to stay oil-free. Some foundations, though, seem to make me more oily throughout the day. I'm always on the hunt for one that looks and feels light while evening my skintone and keeping my skin from becoming oily too quickly. This foundation does all of this and more for me! I bought it for around $9 which is a bargain compared to the $40+ I've spent in the past on dep't store foundations. The color I picked, Natural Buff (N3) matches my NC20-25 skin tone better than MAC (the NW's are too pink, NC is much better, but a bit too yellow) and my skin looks even, healthy, and radiant without the shiny slickness of oil! I love this and will continue to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2011 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When i first tried this product, i absolutely fell in love with it!My skin looked perfect and glowy with its medium-buildable coverage,dewy finish, light feel and with the added bonus of SPF 17, i really couldn't ask for more. I wore this to school, and when i got home and looked in the mirror, my face was an absolute disaster! Oily, blotchy, and oxidized makeup was all i could see!I looked at least one shade darker due to the oxidization! I eventually until i found the solution to my problem: I started using Maybellines Mineral Power Translucent Powder over top the foundation, and that was all i really needed. By the end of the day, i was left with a nice natural glow and the makeup hadn't oxidized and was still on my face and although i have oily skin, the foundation and translucent powder took care of that! This foundation was about $11 at Wall-Mart and i'd say thats reasonable, the consistency is quite liquidy and there is no pump on the bottle, if your careful a big mess can be avoided. What i do is give it a good shake, then carefull pour a small dime-sized portion onto my hand, if i need more i just repeat this.


on 3/31/2011 1:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this foundation. I've used this 2-3 years ago but then stopped using this because I wanted to try other products. I started using this again about a week ago for the heck of it and surprisingly I forgot how great this really was! Sure its about medium coverage but that's what concealer is for! I love the finish to this kind of a powder finish. I find this foundation matches my skintone the best and this one NEVER breaks me out thats what I loved about it 2 years ago! The colour I got was N2 Classic Ivory. I used to be W2 but that one seemed a bit too yellow for me. For reference, I am about NW15/20


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have a bizarre problem of having clear skin half of the time (not "tinted moisterizer" clear, but "i only need some concealour and can skip the foundation" clear). BUT during the week of my you-know-what, I have horrendous "disaster-face" pimples - yes, the isolated raised bright red screaming-at-the-mirror kind. So obviously I need light/medium coverage most of the time, but medium-heavy for certain days...

True Match in C1 is my go-to foundation because I can afford it (yay!!) and because I only need some coverage on most days. This puppy, if set with a medium powder, will last you a whole day at the office without touch ups, and as far as I can tell, doesn't oxidize (turn orange) but then again, I am using the "cool toned" fair skin version. I also tried W1, W2, C2, C3, and N1, N2. This was a great foundation to see what my undertones are.

If you are looking for heavy coverage for your every day wear, or have flaky dry skin, this is not your best pick. But if you are looking for a very blendable, matte (oil-friendly), medium coverage yet natural look, you can get it with this product for about $12.

NOTE: The nice thing about the display for this product is that it has swatches that you can hold against your lower jaw or neck (best place to swatch foundation, because who wants a neckline?? yikes!), but also remember that your CVS or RiteAid is flourescent light... but it matched me pretty good. And I'll be honest, as a fair neutral toned girl, it is hard to find em not too pink or yellow!!!

**EDIT** - (changed from 5 to 2, not a 1 because i could see this working for people looking for medium coverage with normal skin) I am no longer a fan of this foundation. I actually don't like liquids very much, this has a nice powdery finish, so in that aspect it is a good product. But for oily skin, it really does slide right off, even with pimer. it was a great tool for determining my undertones, but the formula is not up to par with my expectations of long-lasting.

Plus, C1 is definitely for NW15-20 and so is too dark for me unless I sheer it out.

My profile, for FYI:
NW10/15, cool toned, blue eyes, normal/oily skin, 3a fine but coarse curly hair but I wear straight thanks to keratin treatments!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 7:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I hate this foundation. It is drying, wears off very quickly, has poor coverage, and is difficult to apply. Probably the worst foundation I have ever used.


on 3/28/2011 5:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In my never-ending quest to find my perfect foundation, I decided to give this a try after seeing KandeeJohnson rave about this product. I am the same shade as her (W4), and the foundation made her look amazing, so I gave it a shot.

Pros:
It is a nice color match for me
It does have decent coverage of redness
SPF 17

Cons:
It wears off super quickly
It also gets very oily (like the oil fills up an entire blotting sheet oily)
It has SPARKLES (yellow sparkles, I think the purpose was to make skin look radiant, but it becomes very obvious in certain light)
Screw top lid (worries me slightly cause its a bit unsanitary) and it smells rather chemically

Overall it's an okay foundation. I would recommend it to dry-skinned people, but those with oily skin should stay away from this foundation.


Back to Top