L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2813 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bleuciel on 9/20/2010 4:35:00 PM more reviews by bleuciel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Where I live there is no True Match, but its brother/cousin/relative Accord Parfait, but from my understanding they are the same thing.

I bought this on a sale offer together with its correspondent compact powder, which has been my HG compact powder for years. I LOVE that powder so I thought why not try the foundation too. Big mistake.

First thing first - application. It's very liquid, so it applies smoothly and it blends very well into the skin. Which helps me with absolutely nothing since the coverage is next to non-existent. The literary word would be 'sheer', but even that means heavy coverage for the coverage this foundation gives. My skin looks pretty good, no pimples, scars or spots to hide, just some redness around the nose and on the chin. It failed to cover those. Actually, my face with fdtn on looked pretty much the same as w/o fdtn. I set it with my favorite powder and off I went.

Two hours later - first shock! I had actual beads of sebum on my nose which I hadn't got since high-school with all the hormones running wild and little knowledge of skincare and make-up routine. I blotted the T-zone with the said powder and carried on.

Half through the day - second shock! The foundation was almost gone, my face looked and felt greasy and sticky somehow, despite the numerous applications of compact powder. And it changed its color mildly, but still noticeable. Blotted with powder again, which I knew would last exactly 10 minutes and continued my work day.

In the evening - things looked the same as they did at midday. Numerous applications of powder didn't do anything. The only good thing was in the evening when the fdtn came off very easily using grapeseed oil.

In conclusion: it is such a big disappointment! I don't know what I thinking buying L'Oreal when my HG foundation, Revlon Colorstay was just on the next aisle. Even with the big discount, L'Oreal still isn't worth the money. Now I'm stuck with a foundation I'm never going to use and re-purchase. I don't know for whom this foundation is targeted at, but I'm guessing those people don't really need make-up in the first place - like children, for example.

If you want any type of coverage, be it sheer or light or medium, if you want foundation that stays on for more than 2 hours, that doesn't accelerate oiliness, that doesn't change color, then this isn't the foundation for you. The only good things about it are the pump, the variety of shades and easiness in application. Which are equal to zero if none of the other criteria is met.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellydoeshair on 9/19/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by kellydoeshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

overall a good foundation
the coverage isn't as much as I'd really prefer but it's super easy to blend and the color range is pretty good and easy to understand bc it's sorted by undertones
this has never really caused me to break out, but tbh I wouldn't wear it during a rough skin spell bc the coverage isn't as much as I would need
would LOVE if it came with a pump OF COURSE but that is asking too much I think at the price point, it is constantly going on special in drugstores so that is nice overall very good for the money and when paired with a great concealer it's good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mollysarah on 9/17/2010 10:16:00 PM more reviews by mollysarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

True Match has a great color range for a drugstore product, especially for girls with yellow/olive undertones. I think that is the best feature of this product. However, it doesn't seem to do well with my very oily skin. It makes me super duper shiny after just an hour. It also seems to accentuate large pores and it definitely clogs. I know you can't expect a drugstore brand to be the cat's meow - especially for foundation. I think a good policy is to spend as much as you can on foundation because 1) you use it every day, 2) it is super noticeable if it isn't flawless, and 3) high quality ingredients are important because the makeup will seep into your skin and potentially cause breakouts, etc.

I stick with Laura Mercier foundations (powder foundation for me because my skin is oily and temperamental).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jlovesmakeup on 9/16/2010 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Jlovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a month. I got this on sale (not exactly sure the price). I had ran out of colorstay and there was none in my shade so I picked this up. I easily matched myself up using the little helper they have. I love how they have 3 different undertones. Makes it so much easier to work with

I use W6, which is sun beige. I apply it using the Sigma F80 brush and it applies wonderfully.

It has a gold kinda like sheen to it, which I would say is gorgeous. It is very easy to work with and blends super easy.

It leaves me with a semi-matte finish, but since I'm oily I have to set it.

I took off a lippy because it isn't that long lasting on oily/combo skin. Lovely glow and finish. Definitely would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sayers on 9/16/2010 9:12:00 PM more reviews by Sayers

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If it's good enough for Dita Von Teese AND Cher it's good enough for me. DvT Twittered some beauty secrets and this foundation was one of them and I can see why. Beautiful flawless finish that isn't masky. It is one of those foundations that the longer you wear it the better it looks. Absolutly in love with this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Haruhi9 on 9/15/2010 12:48:00 AM more reviews by Haruhi9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my absolute favorite drug-store brand foundation! I love the coverage it brings and the fact that it dries fairly matte is a plus any day. I like to spot my face though with my foundation then blend, but sometimes with True Match it tends to dry before I can properly bend it so I don't recommend that method of dotting. Using a damp sponge helps to blend it if it does try a bit fast for you. The only other gripe that I have with this product is the packaging- I wish it had a pump bottle for both convenience and hygienic purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 9/14/2010 11:54:00 PM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two shades in a BOGO sale and neither matched. Their charts don't help at all since your wrist color doesn't match your face color. Duh. I hated the fact there was no pump, coverage was decent, but the colors were off. What's the point of having 3 divisions when the colors are off?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GothicGal on 9/14/2010 11:32:00 PM more reviews by GothicGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation did nothing for me. It had terrible coverage, and when applied it was streaky, uneven and greasy. The colour was not a true match either. I'm calling a spade a spade on this one - really awful foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karensis on 9/14/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by karensis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best drugstore foundation i ever used. I like the light consistency,but yet the great coverage that it has. I love the fact that it matches my skin tone perfectly. I have tried many drugstore foundations and this one is my favourite. I apply a little bit with a semi-wet sponge for daytime, set it up with the true match powder and it last all day.
For night outs I use the mac 187 brush and my face looks flawless. Even though it has SPF(it's very little compared to others) this foundation does not leave the white ugly cast in pics (yay!) I bought the concealer, and the powder for a complete even, mate, flawless look.
For reference, mine is W4= NC35

UPDATE; broke me up so much and the color is not longer looking as good as it used to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gotherotica on 9/14/2010 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Gotherotica

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use the Warm Ivory tone, seems to be the lightest one.
I always struggle finding the right color, and this one is great because it's very fair. The thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't cover very well, so I have to apply a little bit more and sometimes looks cakey , it also doesn't last long either, and in summer it's even worse...I keep using it because I haven't found a foundation that matches my skin tone like this one.
I also tried the roller version, and even though it covers better than the liquid one, it's creamy and a bit oily, and settles into lines, and the roller is kinda akward actually,so no I wouldn't use that version again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products