L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2982 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 4/15/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I see so many people love Revlon Colorstay. I prefer True Match. First I am an Black woman. And we can be difficult to match when it comes to foundations. Even if the makeup is geared towards women of color. I tried True Match on a whim and I LOVE it. The N7 fits me like a glove. I found that Colorstay made my skin look dull and sometimes ashy. Then again I never cared for the matte look.

I also like it because it is a light coverage. I do not like to look like I am wearing makeup. and True Match just enhances my skin tone. It doesn't cover it.

I recommend this for any woman that is looking for an everyday Foundation, that gives a light, natural coverage.



on 4/14/2011 8:10:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation for a very long time, at a time when my skin was pretty horrible. (I have hypersensitive, acne-prone, combination skin.) It suited my needs for the time and didn't make my acne any worse, but unfortunately that's all the good I can say about this foundation. The color selection is great, but oxidized terribly after a few hours and by the end of the day my face looked streaky, orange, and my acne was barely covered, despite setting with powder. I'm mad at myself for using this product for so long, but I couldn't find any better options. Now that I've done my research better, I've discovered much better foundations than this one and will not be repurchasing.


on 4/14/2011 6:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm NW 15-20, truly cool-toned pinkish skin and the best match for my skin is C3 Beige Rose. It's a wee bit dark, but it matches the pink in my skin well (which is rare).

Two lippies is all I can give. Nice range of colors, a good price and (at least where I get it) nice packaging in a glass bottle with a pump. The product itself is bad, bad, bad for my dry skin.

It's medium coverage at best. Feels nice going on. But it dries down super powdery and matte. Settles into every little fleck of dry skin on my face and emphasize them beyond belief, no matter how much I moisturise before application.

I won't buy this again, actually, I think Im going to throw it out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2011 5:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I think this is a midgrade foundation. What makes is good for me is how you apply it. I'm not really into liquid foundation but my niece's prom is coming up and I wanted to buy a drugstore foundation to use on her skin. She doesn't wear makeup so I wasn't going to spend a ton of money on Laura Mercier or MAC when she's only going to wear it once. I heard good things about the Revlon Color Stay foundation but I couldn't find a shade to match her skin. I found a good match with the L'Oreal true match. It was seven dollars which is pretty cheap for foundation. I hate the bottle, it has a screw on cap and no pump. I can get over that but they really should get a pump. I applied lotion and primer to her skin before hand and used the MAC stippling brush to apply the foundation. It looked airbrushed. It was amazing. I loved the overall effect. I can see how this stuff would get cakey or flakey on people. I didn't have that problem because of the lotion and primer I applied beforehand. I set it with Ben Nye transparent powder and it looked really nice. It gave her a soft matte finish. My niece told me it felt light weight on her skin and it didn't bother her at all.


on 4/13/2011 11:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great foundation for like 6 hours after that it dissapears. It does oxidize for me because I have oily skin. The color range for this line is amazing. You will find your true match. It has shimmers but its very very subtle if anything it makes the foundation look more natural on your skin. I have been using this product for 7 years. I plan on buying a few backups just in case (you never know when these makeup retailers want to pull it off the shelves). Its medium coverage doesn't feel thick or heavy. This was my first foundation that ever worked for me until I was introduce to macs pro longwear.


on 4/13/2011 9:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this to be incredibly drying and cakey on me. At first it seems to go on velvety and smooth, but then starts to dry, and dry, and dry, until it is just a superdry matte finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 2:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is currently my favorite foundation. BUT I WARN YOU IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN/ DRY PATCHES THIS IS NOT THE FOUNDATION FOR YOU! If you have dry skin it will cake up and make your dry patches extremely noticeable.

Other than that, if you are looking for the lightest drug store foundation, and perhaps one of the lightest foundations out there with realistic skin colours this is a great choice. I still have to mix C1 and N1 together just because N1 is too dark and C1 is too pink but I sit in between cool and neutral. But when I say too pink, I mean a tad bit too pink, not like covergirl's lightest cool colour that looks like hot pink blush, their lightest neutral that looks like clay and their lightest warm that looks like a bright orange fake bake. So much for light colours.

It blends very easily and has a great texture that when applied properly is like a second skin. It lasts a long time and even after being worn for hours it doesn't really get oily. It starts extremely matt then after a few hours of wear turns a bit dewy. A nice thing about it is that if it does come off it comes off nicely. I know that's a weird thing to say, but I've noticed that a lot of other liquid foundations ESPECIALLY THE CREME VERSION OF THIS, come off of the skin through out the day in patches so you end up with clumps which is disgusting.

Putting this stuff on with a damp sponge is your best option. It great because it can be very sheer and then built up to a medium/full coverage. Plus it's only ~$20 and most of the time it's on sale for around $13 (Canadian). If you don't like it then you haven't dropped $40+ on something you're going to hate.

My one big beef with this product is the glass bottle. If you drop it, it's broken and it's everywhere. It's hard to control how much comes out because you just have to pour it. I would like it more if it had a pump, or if it was just in a soft plastic bottle which I know isn't as "classy" but who cares if it works better? If you're spending money on a product you want to use it all, and not look in and see a bunch of product left unused in a glass bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First of all: I have terribly dry/peeling/patchy skin.
Pros: Very blendable, feels nice on your skin (not too heavy) really matches your skin tone (even if you're a couple shades off), Has a strange (but nice) matte/dewy finish, covers decently.
Cons: This product can cake up on me really easily. It might have to do with the fact I have really dry skin, but I can only apply one layer. It also a shimmer to it. Nobody else seems to think it's a big deal and it isn't, I just don't like it. Doesn't last too long.
Overall, this is not bad at all & you should give it a chance.... it's only about $7


on 4/11/2011 6:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product upon recommendation from my favorite YouTube makeup guru, Kandee the Makeup Artist. It is the first foundation I've ever purchased that matches my skin exactly. It has good coverage, used in conjunction with your concealer. It's oil free as well, and doesn't clog my pores or make me break out. I really like this stuff.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

*Edit to my original review: This is too dark and yellow for my skin. I am super pale with slightly cool undertones, but wore this warm shade because it is the lightest one they have. I am also finding that it does oxidize on me and get slightly orange throughout the day. I have since stopped using this.


At the moment my HG drugstore foundation! I am super pale and this is the best drugstore match I have found. No problems with breakouts either. I use a foundation brush to apply and a concealer brush where I need extra coverage. I even use it as my under eye concealer. Haven't tried MAC in years, but was around an NW15 or lighter and I wear W1 in this. I think W1 is the lightest shade and it has a slight yellow tone to it that helps with redness. The only thing that would make this better is a lighter shade and a squeeze tube packaging. I think I would prefer that to a glass bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top