Maybelline • Dream Fresh 8-in-1 BB Cream • BB Cream

rated 3.2(1155 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 soulsupermodel on 7/2/2012 1:32:00 AM more reviews by soulsupermodel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

As someone struggling with quite a lot of acne hyperpigmentation spots, I didn't expect this to cover everything right up - and after using this for more than a week, I can definitely tell you, it doesn't. From the newest, reddest marks to the very light pink ones, this will not cover those kind of spots. It's veryyyyyy sheer!

That being said, I like this stuff :) I've been using Revlon PhotoReady foundation and concealer for more than a year now, since I've got normal-dry skin and I am younger, and I like that shimmer. But it can look cakey all over my face by the end of the day, and I don't always relish the sparkles on my hands :p Since I got this BB cream, I've changed my routine. I apply it all over my face straight from the tube, and then, I mix a small amount of my Revlon with the BB cream for slightly heavier coverage on my spotty forehead/chin areas. For the worst marks, I top it off with concealer.

The ending result is something lighter (my cheeks and nose can breathe!) and dewy looking. My skin doesn't look shiny or feel wet, but it has a slight healthy sheen in the light, and photographs looking even and smooth. My boyfriend told me within the first couple of days that he preferred the lighter, more natural look..and I do too :) No bumps from wearing this as far as I'm concerned, so it's a keeper!

For reference, I'm about an NC 25 in the summer, and light/medium is working great for me :) If you have skin issues similar to mine, don't expect to give up the concealers anytime soon. But it's a good step in a more natural, light direction, and I'd recommend it if you're willing to mix things up a bit!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chrisaro on 7/1/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by chrisaro

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on the weekends when I don't want to wear a lot of heavy make up. It provides light coverage. I have to powder it because it is a little shiny. Overall I really like it. Costwise its about the same as other foundations...about $11. It has SPF which is good since I'm in the sun on weekends. I thought it would turn my oily skin into a greasepit since its basically a tinted moisturizer. By late afternoon i barely had to blot. I would purchase again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 7/1/2012 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a sample of this in my European magazine and was sceptic at first (as I never use/don't like Maybelline products much) and didn't know what BB stands for. Anyway, I decided to give it a try and was really amazed about the results!

Pros:
- No weird smell
- Easy to apply
- Light-Medium coverage
- Does not shine
- Skin feels matte all day long
- Price

Cons:
- Comes off at the end of day... *
- Not great for very hot weather
- I am not sure if it did or not break me out a little

However, I like this foundation (or tinted moisturizer) a lot. It's cheap and easy solution for days I do not want full coverage.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunnyfuusunflower on 7/1/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by sunnyfuusunflower

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this stuff on impulse at CVS the other day and so far I really like it. The coverage it provides is very light so it's just enough to cover a little bit of discoloration or light redness. It's easy to blend, has virtually no fragrance, has 30 SPF for sun protection, and it doesn't feel greasy or heavy. I wore it out today (in 95 degree weather) with just a little bit of powder and it wore well (it stayed put and didn't make my face feel greasy or look shiny) despite the heat. I have very pale skin with pink undertones and the light shade worked very well with my skin tone. My skin is also extremely sensitive ( I'm prone to mild rosacea outbreaks on my cheeks), and I had no problems with irritation after appying this.


Please keep in mind that if you're looking for something with moderate to heavy coverage (coverage for blemishes, moderate hyperpigmentation, moderate redness, scars, etc) then this IS NOT the product for you, but if you're looking for a product that will provide very light coverage and even out mild discoloration then this product is the perfect choice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nikki97 on 7/1/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by Nikki97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

When I saw the product at a store I thought the packaging was really cute and tried the tester on my hand. When I tried it on my hand it pretty much disapeared, you couldn't even tell it was there so I decided to buy it. After washing my face I applied it with my fingers and it looked terrible! First of all, it didn't cover or even affect any blemishes, redness in my skin or under eye bags. And even after blending a lot there were some little bits that just wouldn't blend. This is pretty much just a tinted moisturizer not a BB cream. It didn't leave my face shiny or really dewy although my skin did feel softer. Also, I have large pores on my nose and I could actually see that it was darker and a little orange on top of them. It just looks like I'm wearing a really cheap foundation. I'm probably just going to try one of the korean brands instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NaturalGirl1116 on 6/29/2012 5:08:00 PM more reviews by NaturalGirl1116

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Best tinted moisturizer I've tried!! It's so smooth and moisturizing yet feels light on my skin. It blurs imperfections give my skin a healthy glow. The light color is a tad dark on me but it blends in nicely. I set it with a finishing mineral powder and I'm good all day! It doesn't cake or settle into lines which is great! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a inexpensive yet wonderful TM

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 6/29/2012 2:49:00 PM more reviews by 2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up in the light shade in England for about 7 pounds. I don't think this product is available in Canada yet. The colour is too dark/ orangey for my skin IMO. It is also too greasy and gives my skin far too much shine. It does have a decent amount of coverage though. I will not repurchase.

Update: It's not as bad as it was when I first tried it. I still wouldn't repurchase but I would recommend this to those who want light coverage and have dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristen0889 on 6/27/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by kristen0889

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty much everything I've been looking for in a foundation or tinted moisturizer. Every foundation I've tried in the past is either too much coverage and looks mask-y, would oxidize, would be too shiny, or would become separated and splotchy looking. I'm a broke college student so high end foundations usually aren't an option. Recently I haven't been wearing foundation at all because I don't have problem skin and I'd rather wear nothing than wear a foundation that does what I mentioned above. I thought I'd sworn off on wearing foundation, but I've been keeping my eye out for this since I'd read some good reviews about it. When I saw it at my local CVS I decided to try it. Luckily there were tester bottles of each shade, and I chose medium after seeing that it blended perfectly into the skin on my hand. I was a little skeptical about applying it before work since I was in a rush and would be quickly applying it with my fingers. Application turned out to be really simple, especially since the packaging is a squeeze tub. The formula has the texture of a mix between a lotion and gel and it was very easy to spread. Like I said I was applying it in a hurry, but it blended very easily, and the finger application left no streaks. It felt like I was just putting on face lotion. The first thing I noticed was that the coverage was very sheer, which is what I've been looking for. It was a little shiny, but I always set my foundation with a matte bronzer, and that completely fixed it. This gave just enough coverage that my skin tone looked more even and the redness on my chin was practically unnoticeable. I was glad to see that my freckles across my nose still showed through since my boyfriend complains when my makeup covers them up =P Basically, it makes your skin look like your skin but better. There's no masky-ness to this what so ever. I applied it about 7 hours ago and it still looks freshly applied. No oxidation! My t-zone tends to get oily, especially in the summer, but this really seems to have done a good job of keeping oil at bay. But I do work in an air conditioned office so I'll do an update if that changes after a hot day outside! I was also happy to find that the sunscreen didn't give the formula a greasy or shiny finish. The finish is dewey without being shiny--it's like a matte dewiness if that makes sense! It gives the skin a nice glow, like the skin is lit from within. It looks the way foundation looks after it "sets" into the skin after a few hours, but you don't have to wait for this to set. Anyone looking for medium to full coverage to cover blemishes or scars probably wouldn't like this, but if you just need something to even out your skin tone and give your blush, concealer, etc. a base to stick to and give them more lasting power, I don't think you'd be disappointed with this product. If you're on the fence about trying this out, buy it from CVS--they'll take it back even if it's been opened and used
EDIT: said I would update after wearing for a full day outside in the heat, and I'm glad to say that it did not oxidize on me or turn me into an oil slick. Obviously it'll look even better if you stay in the air conditioning all day, but it really does hold up well in heat and humidity. If I wear for more than six or so hours on a hot day I do normally need to blot my face.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 6/27/2012 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I wear NW30 in MAC foundations. To be on the safe side, I decided to purchase the Light/Medium shade. When it first went on, it appeared a bit light on my face. However, after it had set, I noticed that it looked darker. As, it had oxidized on my face.

This product is no more than a tinted moisturizer labeled as a BB cream. It does not provide the same coverage as most traditional Asian BB creams offer. Also, since I have been wearing it, I don't think that it has been doing anything amazing for my skin either.

I do like that it provides a sun protection factor of 30. It is fairly easy to apply (whether you opt to use your fingers or a brush). And, it is doesn't have any added fragrance to, which is about one of the only things I liked about this product),

I have combination-to-oily skin. I cannot wear this product alone (w/o powder on top). Which is why, I always apply a finishing powder over top of it, to help control shine. Otherwise, my face will actually look shinier quicker with just this product on and nothing else over it.

If you are looking for a tinted moisturizer to wear (either on a daily basis while the weather is hot out or to simply give your skin a rest from regular foundation), then I would recommend giving this product a try. Like all makeup products, there will always be some people who end up liking a product. And, then,there will always be others who don't. I am one of those who in no way see this product as worthy of being called a BB cream and it totally does nothing to live up to its claims.

I do recommend buying this from a place that allows you to return opened/used makeup (if the product doesn't work for you). This way, you can always get your money back, if you don't end up liking it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Katie411 on 6/26/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's a shame as the colour match of 'medium' looks really nice on my skin and on the two occasions I wore this I got compliments. But, I'm a super shiny face lady within a couple of hours of wearing this. I tried it on bare skin with Maybelline Matte Powder over the top and it made no difference.

I'd normally give a product longer than 2 tries before making a review, but I'm not going to wear this again so I thought I might as well post it.

It goes on smoothly and gives a light coverage. I've got acne scarring and discolouration but I'm fed up of thick coverage that looks cakey and unnatural. I'd rather some marks show through and although you could see them, my overall face was 'evened' out so much that it looked really nice.

I might try this with milk of magnesia underneath but otherwise I can't wear this. Such a shame. I'm a light-mid olive colour by the way. Number 53 in Bourjois Healthy Mix and the 'Medium' was a lovely match. It was about 7.99 in Boots for 30mls, which I thought wasn't a great deal but was ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More BB Cream products