No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2223 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 skybaker05 on 12/13/2007 8:42:00 AM more reviews by skybaker05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OK, I am utterly amazed at how soft of a face I woke up to this morning. My acne has been horrible over finals and the aspirin mask definitely reduced the redness and got them down from what seemed like little volcanoes on my skin to smaller less angry bumps. So thanks to xanga.com/ricebunny, my skincare regimen has totally changed. First, I use Aveeno positively radiant as my cleanser, mix the aspirin with honey and water, tone with Burt's Bees garden tomato toner, which I also love. Lastly, moisturize with Philosophy's Hope in a Jar. Sometimes right before I moisturize, I'll put a drop of Evening Primrose Oil on my acne and scars to fade out the scars. So far I do think I've gotten results. All this is done at night, unless I'm too giddy in the morning and want to clean my face again =). I try every morning to take 2 tablespoons of flaxseed and wheat germ. If you guys have been reading Dr. Perricone's book or Fat flush, you might have heard how these two can help your skin and hair. More from wisegeek.com:

"The amount of nutrients that are contained within wheat germ seems endless. It contains more potassium and iron than any other food source. Also found in great quantities are riboflavin, calcium, zinc magnesium and vitamins A, B1 and B3. Vitamins B1 and 3 are very important to maintain energy levels and maintain healthy muscles, organs, hair and skin.

An important vitamin found in wheat germ is vitamin E. Vitamin E is a very important antioxidant. It is helpful in preventing the body's aging process and also to prevent heart disease. Vitamin E also helps to prevent blood clots and is needed to strengthen the body’s immune system."

In the 8th Century A.D. Charlemagne considered flax so important for the health of his subjects that he passed laws and regulations requiring its consumption. Flaxseed oil was also commonly used to prepare balms for inflamed skin. It has a delicate, nutty flavor and is an excellent source of protein, potassium, and beta-carotene. It also contains a beneficial fat, alpha-linoleic acid, which is a heart-healthy Omega-3 fat." Thanks wisegeek.com!

Look for more great skincare ideas from xanga.com/ricebunny. It's a great website that has helped me a bunch!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 S0CiALiTE on 12/11/2007 4:59:00 PM more reviews by S0CiALiTE

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have been using the asprin mask for about a year or two now. I absolutely love it and have tried using it many different ways.

I usually mash up about 4 or 5 asprins and use them with any powder clay masque to exfoliate and get extra clean pores. I also find that 5 powder asprins mixed with about a dime size of baking soda and dermologicas dermal clay cleanser with a bit of water works great! The mixture foams up a bit when you add water and it tingles when you put it on your skin. I usually leave it on for about 20-30 mins. The dermal clay cleanser is cooling and refreshing. Once it dries I rinse it with warm water and scrub my face with the asprin flakes and then apply 10% glycolic acid and then moisturiser. When I wake up in the morning my face is flawless and soft and smooth. My make up application goes on wonderfully. I will always use the asprin mask. It works wonders.
Note* I would not suggest people with sensitive skin use the asprin mask followed by glycolic acid. Too harsh. Its great with people with oily acne prone skin though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliazamir on 12/11/2007 1:24:00 AM more reviews by deliazamir

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

oh my god! i think i am hooked. last night i diluted 4 tablets in a squirt of aloe gel, placed the grainy paste on my face, watched a movie until halfway then went to the loo to splash some water and scrub it gently on the face as read in one of the reviews below. i really wasn't expecting much... but gawd i was shocked! very smooth, calm skin, almost as if i just had a good facial.. this coming from four humble aspirins is dumbfounding. i didn't tone, but cleansed and moisturized with my usual EL advanced night repair. my skin looked fresher than usual the morning after (i usually look like a corpse) therefore the claims that this mask helps the penetration of other products are true true true. will use this mask faithfully 3 times a week and update on any miracles that occur e.g. the fading of acne scars, skintone evenness, less sprouting of zits etc. EDIT: i got too worried about the skin thinning over time with the aspirin mask as mentioned in the MUA boards, therefore i stopped. it is good though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RuralAngel on 12/10/2007 12:30:00 PM more reviews by RuralAngel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I used 2 aspirin and a couple drops of water. Then I mixed it in a very small bowl. It did a great job of scrubbing out my pores. It worked really well on my flaky skin around
my pores in the T Zone area. Outside that area the aspirin really dried out my skin. I didn't like that. I will try this aspirin mask again with honey in it or maybe a drop of olive oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andorsia on 12/9/2007 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Andorsia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Here are my 2 cents.. It works, reduces redness and cleans up the face like a $100 facial :) I put 4 tablets, 1/2 tsp water and 1/2 tsp honey. Left it on for about a half hour and after washing put on moisturizer, really nice, I recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 supergirlieque on 12/8/2007 11:11:00 PM more reviews by supergirlieque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i ran out of scrub to use pre-shave on my legs so i made a quick paste with some aspirin and VOILA! no red bumps! this is wonderful because i usually break out instantly post-shave. woohoo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camillepet on 12/8/2007 5:45:00 PM more reviews by camillepet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Well I can't believe it, but after over 20 years of buying skin care products and throwing away or giving away products I have come across an amazing routine and array of inexpensive, organic, easily obtainable products that I love! I now use Head to Toe baby cleanser to clean my skin, sugar and olive oil as a scrub, apple cider vinegar as a toner, jojoba oil mixed with a drop of olive oil as a moisturizer/sometimes just Jojoba, tea tree oil as blemish control, aspirin as a great mask, and I just bought lactic acid at 55% to try as a peel! They all are amazing and for the first time in ages my acne is clear, pores minimized and skin hydrated and less discoloration!!! I love it so much that I am making holiday baskets with all of the ingredients placed in baby food jars decorated with glitter glue and little stars and snowflakes then with a sheet explaining how to use the products for family and friends...this would make a great gift for any occasion!!! Thank you to all of the reviewers.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AnabelLee on 12/7/2007 3:59:00 PM more reviews by AnabelLee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm actually indifferent to this. I tried the mask (coated generic aspirin, clover honey, water) for about 2 months. To start with, I have combination skin with acne and take Rx topical meds for. I didn't notice any improvment with the mask, and if anything, I think I broke out even more, esp along my hairline. It could have also been stress, but it's definitely not due to the mask needing to make me break out before making it all better. My Rx meds already takes care of getting rid of all the surface crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 floodette on 12/7/2007 12:42:00 AM more reviews by floodette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

LOL, I found that aspirin actually helps cream to penetrate better.

I had a HUGE breakout last month which left me with the worst dark scars ever (yup, I picked). Tried the aspirin-honey combo, and while it made my skin better, it did nothing for the scars.
Then I used the aspirin with moisturizer (I tried Olay Total Effect Serum, Pynocare Brightening Cream, Primordiale Nuit, etc. Separately, of course), schlepped it on, wait 20 minutes, scrub, wash, go to sleep and... it clears up my scars in just ONE WEEK!!!!
Since the aspirin actually helps the cream to penetrate and work better, it will work with any other moisturizer IMHO.

That being said, be careful when mixing it with acne-combating cream, though. Yesterday I put on aspirin-Vichy Normaderm combo and it stung like crazy! However, it works well with Payot Creme Purifiante (although the result is a bit dry).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadendingsong on 12/4/2007 10:47:00 PM more reviews by sadendingsong

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this mask for a few weeks now and overall, it's a really simple, cheap alternative to masks or scrubs you buy in the store. I mix it with honey and use an electric toothbrush. I don't recommend the toothbrush for everyone since overscrubbing will irritate your skin. in fact, anyone with sensitive skin should be very careful when using this. this doubles as a mask and a scrub: just leave it on and then scrub your face with it. It isn't a miracle product (I still break out when I use this) but it does minimize pores and gives you a healthy *glow*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Masks products