Aspirin Mask

4.2

2234 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

4 Aspirin, Water, Honey


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've read a lot of reviews on this thread, but I thought it might be useful for other sensitive skin people to add my own two-cents.

First, I use Bayer Women's low dose+calcium aspirin. Each caplet is 81mg. I take three and pour about 1 tablespoon of warm-hot water on them. Then I add a drop or two of honey.

I put the mask on a little runny, so it's a very thin, watery layer that dries chalky on my skin.

I leave it for only a maximum of 10 minutes, and then I wash it off with warm water and quickly moisturize. I use a very rich nighttime moisturizer, which only barely soothes the trauma my skin goes through from the mask.

The mask is VERY harsh. I am trying to use it every other night, but I think I could even cut back to once a week. The next day after use, my skin always feels a little more sensitive and uncomfortable, but if I keep it moisturized, use my makeup lightly and make sure to drink enough water, it calms and the final results are pretty amazing.

I grew up thinking I had combination skin, since it wasn't exactly oily but was constantly breaking out. It took me years to realize that my skin was just incredibly sensitive. Common over-the-counter acne medications and topical-oral antibiotics would just make it red, dry and worse. Once I finally realized that my skin needed to be treated gently, it cleared up. Now I barely put anything on it but the sensitive skin apricot face wash and moisturizers, and it's a lot clearer than it ever was.

But not as clear as I'd like, so to me the harshness of the aspirin mask is worth it, if I'm careful. I do recommend it to other sensitive skin people, but with caution. Overzealous use of the mask could be more harmful to your skin than helpful. But if you're careful, the mask could be a very useful addition to your regular face-care, with wonderful results.

ETA: I've started to mix a little Burt's Bees Buttermilk bath pint powder in with the aspirin before using it. The bath soak is basically powdered milk and buttermilk and scent, so it's very soothing, softening and gentle. Adding this to the aspirin has definitely helped calm the harsh effects of the mask.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 12/23/2007 10:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot live without this.


on 12/21/2007 8:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this as a spot treatment. I mix it with a little bit of Queen Helene's Mud Mask and it removes redness in a few minutes. I also use it all over sometimes as a super-exfoliator. So cheap!! I love it!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

does anyone know how often we should use this mask? would too much destroy our skin?


on 12/20/2007 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't' really use it for a mask, but it works absolutely great as a exfoliator. I mix a small crushed amount with my cleanser to give my cleanser an extra kick. I love it! It works like micro-beads.


on 12/20/2007 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nothing has ever left my skin feeling this great, not even a facial! Just tried the mask last night... It diminished the acne and large pores, and it also left my skin feeling baby-smooth soft. I did the combination of 6 aspirin, water, and ~1/2 tsp of honey.

I will use this on a weekly basis for sure!


on 12/18/2007 5:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

While I've always heard about the aspirin mask, I was so scared of actually destroying my face with it, that I didn't use it.
Now, I finally have the guts, and am thrilled with the results!
What I used was just four tablets, drop water on them, mix them with honey and apply to my face after I washed it with Lush's Fresh Farmacy.
Then, I use Lush's Eau Roma toner and Imperialis Moisturizer, and my skin is radiant!
I've had acne since I was 11, and it's never gotten any better... until now!


on 12/18/2007 3:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I always suffered from acne since teenage days, but when I hit 30, I broke out like no other. It was all on my chin and around my mouth, so I knew it had something to do with hormones. I went back on Ortho Tri cyclen, but it seemed things got worse for the first couple of months. During that time, I tried, Acne Gateway 101E, AcneFree, lemon topical, green-tea mask, and even went back on the Proactiv. After Proactiv virtually destroyed my face with dry patches and rushes, I was desperate to calm my pimply face once for all. I read numerous posts on MUE and acne.org, and discovered about aspirin masks. I was skeptical at first, but boy, I'm glad I gave it a try. I decided to try a completely new regimen I took reference from the posts in both sites. This is what I do every day in the morning and at night.

1. I wash my face using LUSH Fresh Pharmacy
2. I take 3-4 tablets of uncoated aspirin and drop a tiny bit of water to make the aspirin paste. I scrub the face gently with it, and leave it on for about 10 mins. (I do the scrub only at night)
3. I use Dickenson's With Hazel as a toner.
4. I moisturize my face with tiny bit of Jojoba oil.

It's been less than 2 weeks since I started this regimen, and the cystic acne I had for months shrank down, and all the dryness is gone! Now I only have the acne marks I need to work on. It's AMAZING. I also use mineral make up (my favorite is Sheer Cover), so I don't have to use harsh chemicals to take off my make up.

I don't really know exactly what is the main thing that worked wonder on my skin, but my face has a natural glow, no dryness, and most of all, no more flaring acne. My skin is not perfect just yet, but I truly think I'm finally on the right path to achieve the perfect skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2007 10:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My skin absolutely loves thissss. I havent tried mixing it with honey but I mix with a little bit of water and moisturizer. My face feels really soft when I take it off. When I wake up in the morning it still looks beautiful and radiant. I will try this with honey and update.


on 12/17/2007 8:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am definitely going to try this tonight. I have visible pores that i no longer want visible!


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4193 Reviews
Mud Mask
142 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2234 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Aspirin Mask, Jojoba/Vitamin E oil reduces acne/acne scars and minimizes pores by CindysFaves

Aspirin Mask by Michelle Phan



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

107 reviews
image

Sugar

247 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

39 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

200 reviews
Back to Top