Unlisted Brand • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2219 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 supergirlieque on 12/8/2007 11:11:00 PM more reviews by supergirlieque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i ran out of scrub to use pre-shave on my legs so i made a quick paste with some aspirin and VOILA! no red bumps! this is wonderful because i usually break out instantly post-shave. woohoo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camillepet on 12/8/2007 5:45:00 PM more reviews by camillepet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Well I can't believe it, but after over 20 years of buying skin care products and throwing away or giving away products I have come across an amazing routine and array of inexpensive, organic, easily obtainable products that I love! I now use Head to Toe baby cleanser to clean my skin, sugar and olive oil as a scrub, apple cider vinegar as a toner, jojoba oil mixed with a drop of olive oil as a moisturizer/sometimes just Jojoba, tea tree oil as blemish control, aspirin as a great mask, and I just bought lactic acid at 55% to try as a peel! They all are amazing and for the first time in ages my acne is clear, pores minimized and skin hydrated and less discoloration!!! I love it so much that I am making holiday baskets with all of the ingredients placed in baby food jars decorated with glitter glue and little stars and snowflakes then with a sheet explaining how to use the products for family and friends...this would make a great gift for any occasion!!! Thank you to all of the reviewers.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AnabelLee on 12/7/2007 3:59:00 PM more reviews by AnabelLee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm actually indifferent to this. I tried the mask (coated generic aspirin, clover honey, water) for about 2 months. To start with, I have combination skin with acne and take Rx topical meds for. I didn't notice any improvment with the mask, and if anything, I think I broke out even more, esp along my hairline. It could have also been stress, but it's definitely not due to the mask needing to make me break out before making it all better. My Rx meds already takes care of getting rid of all the surface crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 floodette on 12/7/2007 12:42:00 AM more reviews by floodette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

LOL, I found that aspirin actually helps cream to penetrate better.

I had a HUGE breakout last month which left me with the worst dark scars ever (yup, I picked). Tried the aspirin-honey combo, and while it made my skin better, it did nothing for the scars.
Then I used the aspirin with moisturizer (I tried Olay Total Effect Serum, Pynocare Brightening Cream, Primordiale Nuit, etc. Separately, of course), schlepped it on, wait 20 minutes, scrub, wash, go to sleep and... it clears up my scars in just ONE WEEK!!!!
Since the aspirin actually helps the cream to penetrate and work better, it will work with any other moisturizer IMHO.

That being said, be careful when mixing it with acne-combating cream, though. Yesterday I put on aspirin-Vichy Normaderm combo and it stung like crazy! However, it works well with Payot Creme Purifiante (although the result is a bit dry).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadendingsong on 12/4/2007 10:47:00 PM more reviews by sadendingsong

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this mask for a few weeks now and overall, it's a really simple, cheap alternative to masks or scrubs you buy in the store. I mix it with honey and use an electric toothbrush. I don't recommend the toothbrush for everyone since overscrubbing will irritate your skin. in fact, anyone with sensitive skin should be very careful when using this. this doubles as a mask and a scrub: just leave it on and then scrub your face with it. It isn't a miracle product (I still break out when I use this) but it does minimize pores and gives you a healthy *glow*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 experimenter on 12/3/2007 11:15:00 AM more reviews by experimenter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am trying this for the first time right now.
I mixed four asprin with a bit of water, then some plain moisturizer my derm. recommended to me. I applied to a freshly washed, still damp face.
Right now, I am waiting for the ten minutes to be up. I like to start small, if I want to use it again, maybe I'll go 12 minutes or 15. Anyway, it feels a little tingly. Or maybe itchy. I think I applied too close to my nose because my nose is a tiny bit itchy.
Ok. Going to rinse now.
Hmm. First reaction? Mixed.
Visible: it might be less discolored in my red areas. I did not have an adverse reaction though, and I might leave it on for 15 minutes next time.
Tangible: It feels smoother. Though not MUCH smoother. It was very dry before, and now it seems less dry in those areas. That might be the moisturizer though.
I will try again, because I've read that it takes three-four attempts to see a real difference. This is Monday, so I'll try again Thursday.
Will update then.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatMc on 12/3/2007 11:03:00 AM more reviews by CatMc

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this a few times, after reading about it on MUA. Sounded good. I used plain, unadulterated aspirin and plain tap water. My skin was very smooth and soft afterward, but I woke up the next morning with so many breakouts! My skin is oily, and still breaks out (even at my advanced age, lol) if it's not happy--I have to be very careful what I use and how I treat it. It did not like the aspirin mask at all. I waited a few weeks before trying it again, but had the same results. I gave it 3 tries, and gave up. Clearly, it's not for everyone :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkyskin on 12/3/2007 8:41:00 AM more reviews by silkyskin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'd have to agree with the 2 reviews below mine. Apparently there are different 'types' of plain old aspirin. I was using the mask weekly, and the aspirin toner maybe daily, and couldn't understand why my skin worsened and broke out. I even mixed it with distilled water, just in case. Well, it was the aspirin, duh. Ultimately, it was a bit too harsh for me, causing redness and breakouts, which I was trying to clear up, not induce. Perhaps if I tried a different aspirin with less ingredients I would have better results, but frankly, I'm too scared now. Not all things work for all people, so I advise to start slowly and pay very careful attention to how your skin reacts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curstcait on 12/3/2007 7:08:00 AM more reviews by curstcait

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

All aspirin is not created equal! Having used completely dissolvable aspirin and the kind that turns into grits, I am pretty sure that the utterly dissolvable kind broke me out. The kind that works for me has 2 ingredients only: aspirin and lactose. Check the ingredients list on the kind that dissolves into nothing and you'll see a *lot* more ingredients, some of which your skin probably objects to. This is only my experience but I hope it might help some others!.

I use 4 aspirin broken down into a gritty paste and worn for 15-30 mins as a mask, or until it starts falling off on its own. I find that mixing it with honey makes it too runny to wear (it's like the two react with each other to make things runnier!) and I don't use essential oils. This works for me when I want to attack some small whiteheads. There's a bit of a 'glowy' look after but it's very temporary. I only give it 4 stars because while it is cheap and somewhat effective, it just isn't a miracle worker for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Glam_Starlett on 12/3/2007 5:47:00 AM more reviews by Glam_Starlett

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Please be careful trying this mask. It can really irritate sensitive skin and overdry it. I used to think I needed to dry up my skin to solve my pimple problems and thought using this mask would help. Yes it exfoliates nicely and makes skin smooth but it totally overdried my skin making it blotchy and causing me to break out :-S I've done it twice so far and both times it was just too much for my skin. Think about it - this is not actually designed to go on your skin; so try it at your own risk. I prefer to stick to more mild face masks that sooth skin rather than over-exfoliate and over-dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Masks products