Olay • Hydrating Beauty Fluid • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(233 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amaiaisabella on 6/2/2010 9:36:00 AM more reviews by amaiaisabella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted a cream that I could get my face accustomed to and thus use for decades to come. This could be that cream, but not quite. It's great for my sensitive skin, doesn't make it burn and I can use the cream under my eyes, but it's not quite moisturizing enough. That's okay for now, since I don't need that much moisture, but later on that could be a problem. I'll use this for now, since it's rare to find a cream that doesn't irritate my skin, but I'll be looking for something more moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscruella16 on 5/14/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by misscruella16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only moisturizer that I have found to penetrate below the surface of my skin and truly moisturize without being greasy. It gets rid of the flakies like no other from retin-a use. I use cetaphil at night which is also great and then this during the day. I really like how olay makes simple products. This doesnt contain any comedogenic ingredients and I think it works so well because it contains mineral oil which is a great moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JolieBelle on 5/11/2010 5:43:00 PM more reviews by JolieBelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most average and least effective moisturizer i have ever tried...EVER. I bought it looong before the YouTube hype, out of boredom, at a supermarket...


I don't mind the scent, though i can't say i like it either. It is old school indeed, reminds me of my grandmother heavily rose-scented face powder. I don't mind the consistency either, rather liquid, that absorbs very quickly. The packaging is smart and a little old-fashioned as well, the simple tube with a screw-on tap...very old school, very Erno Laszlo circa 1950.


However....to me it did nothing, i saw absolutely no difference, in good or bad. I usually repurchase a moisturizer/face cream/beauty product if i see a positive change. It's obvious that i haven't found the 'recipe' for the perfect, porcelain doll complexion, but i do get results with various creams. My blue tin Nivea, for example, leaves my face plump and fresh, constituting a good makeup base for my estee lauder double wear foundation. My Nivea Visage hydrated my face throughout my highschool and college years, when i discovered the blue tin one wasn't bad at all on the face...my Lumene moisturizer gives me a luminous glow and non stop hydration...this one doesn't give me anything, cut and dry.


I apply it, it absorbs very quickly, and this thing combined with the scent gives me an awkward sensation of rubbing powder into my skin....then the complexion GETS softer, but only for 15 seconds...it's as if i haven't applied anything, and i do need something on my face to feel comfortable. Not to mention that if used after a thorough cleansing of the skin, a prolonged shower or a long day, it doesn't cut the dryness and you'll need more than a layer...combined with the smell, again, maybe it's me with these weird psychological 'connections' (lol), but when i apply several 'layers' of this product and it still doesn't feel like i have applied moisturizer, and my face smells of powder, i get this silly urge to wash my face, like i'm wearing makeup and i have to remove it.


Someone noticed it contains mineral oil thus is more prone to clog the pores. Well i think everything clogs our pores after all...and if babies, our eyes (makeup removal) and wet bodies LOVE mineral oil, i'm not so worried about it...however this fluid does clog a little...and i don't know whether it's the mineral oil or not, i just don't like having my face clogged AND improperly hydrated. I don't think it fulfills my needs therefore i won't repurchase.
However...i just got the anti-aging fluid from the same Olay, with ginko extracts and spf 15...and i kinda like it..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprila220 on 4/16/2010 9:15:00 AM more reviews by aprila220

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this stuff for YEARS. Ever since I was a teenager (I'd use it back then to take my eye makeup off, lol). Like some of the other reviewers, I go back to this all the time. I'll try something new and it works just the same or not as good for more $. My mom has used this as long as I can remember and she has always looked much younger than she is. Could be good genes or maybe this does have something to do with it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaxFun on 4/13/2010 9:29:00 AM more reviews by MaxFun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's okay. Nothing great, nothing bad.
I really like the smell and thought this product could function well as a foundation base. Unfortunately it is not moisturizing enough for my skin and leaves it feeling a bit tight around the eyes and the mouth. With some extra moisturizer in those place it does work well enough though.
It is rather cheap, but I won't buy it again since I still have two bottles left which I will probably never finish in my life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lila2310 on 2/24/2010 3:55:00 AM more reviews by lila2310

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm using this product for about a month now and i really like it a lot. I usually get blackheads very fast, but since this moisturizer isn't clogging pores, i don't have any problems with them anymore. The smell is okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AddictedShopper on 2/15/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by AddictedShopper

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with the ladyisachump. ive used the original beauty fluid and the sensitive for years. ive tried lots of other creams over the last 30 years, but always come back to the old faithful orignal. the only thing is that the sunscreen version isnt the same texture and i like a suncream. i get round this by using a tinted moisturiser or foundation over the top with an spf.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sassypants on 1/31/2010 7:48:00 PM more reviews by sassypants

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

***UPDATE: This has mineral oil in it. Clogs my pores. Will finish by using on my hands before bed. Took off 3 lippies. Also I read in a review by Paula Begoun that this product is pretty much crap. :(


So far so great. I used to use the Olay Complete w/ SPF 15 for a long time... have no idea why I strayed. I picked some of this Beauty Fluid up earlier today at the grocery store because I'm almost out of my Neutrogena anti-wrinkle night cream and want to start using it exclusively on my eyes since the tinted moisturizer I use during the day also has retinol in it. Trying to save some money! So I wanted to pick up a great, basic moisturizer. This seems to fit the bill so far.

I've noticed a lot of reviewers can't stand the smell - but I really love it. Maybe I'm just not finicky when it comes to smells, though. Yes, the smell is definitely old school, but I find it quite pleasant and not at all overpowering. But I could totally see how some reviewers, especially younger ones, would find it too flowery or something.

It sinks into my skin well and quickly and makes my skin feel super-soft. It moisturizes well and makes my fine lines much less noticeable. I will wear this during the day sometimes only because my tinted moisturizer (Neutrogena Healthy Skin Enhancer) has great sunblock ingredients in it and is SPF 15. I'm going to pick up some of the Olay Complete w/ SPF 15 tomorrow because it's my all-time favorite regular moisturizer w/ SPF.

I'll update in a few months and let you guys know how it's working out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xujoanna on 1/29/2010 6:53:00 PM more reviews by xujoanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very average moisturizer. I think it could be deemed good for the summer months (and that's when I may buy it again). However, after it sinks in, my skin isn't smooth to drag my hands across anymore. High friction?

Hence, I think it's decent for its price...but there are definitely things out there that are better (Clinique DDMG, for instance....but Clinique is just a whole lot more expensive).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theladyisachump on 1/22/2010 12:22:00 PM more reviews by theladyisachump

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Over the years, I have used countless different moisturisers; Clinique, No 7, Dior, (talk about breaking the Beauty Bank Balance!), and I simply cannot recommed this product highly enough! I recently purchased the non greasy sensitive version of the beauty fluid, and I can't say I was axpecting a great deal, but it has been utterly fantastic to my skin. The first time I put it on, it felt as though it was cooling and soothing my skin after I had scrubbed it with cleanser. And when I touched my cheek, expecting to find a greasy barrier, instead I felt my own skin, only smooth and hydrated! Even though we are currently in the harsh winter weather as I write this, I have not experienced any problems with flakiness or dry patches, and absolutely - no - breakouts!!! In fact, no zits at all since I've been using Beauty Fluid (I have been doing so for about a month now). I cannot vouch for the sickly 'baby powder' smell that many reviewers have complained about, but I would say that if you do not like fragrance in your mousturiser, then go for the sensitive version of Olay Beauty Fluid like I did. Overall, just about the best all round moisturiser I have ever used, and at around 5 for 200 ml of the stuff, you can't go wrong!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Moisturizers products