Olay Hydrating Beauty Fluid Original

4.0

338 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, cetyl palmitate, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl hydroxystearate, stearic acid, steareth-100, Dimethicone, octyldodecyl myristate, potassium hydroxide, fragrance, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, tetrasodium EDTA, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, FD&C red No. 4.


on 6/21/2011 6:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I keep coming back to Olay, wish it still came in the glass bottle because I think the scent mixed in the plastic doesn't smell quite as good. The scent is a sort of powdery floral with a touch of almond. It is strong. If you are sensitive to scent (like me) consider the scent free version. There is also one with SPF.


The major ingredients are mineral oil, vaseline (petrolatum) and glycerin. Very basic. It is cheap enough but watch where you buy it; Walgreens was 20% more than Walmart or online drugstores.


It leaves my face soft, has a cooling feel when applied (due to a high water content) and it sinks in fairly well. It leaves a slight moist feel due to the glycerin which is attracting water to your skin. I spent a lot more on creams that do no more, so why not spend $9.47 or so on a 6oz bottle that you can get anywhere?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/21/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Some of these reviews are really funny. I decided to try this after reading loads of reviews on the OLAY website from people who were in their 60's or even older who swore by this product. They were loyal users of years and years who said their skin had less wrinkles than their peers. This OLAY original fluid was the formula made so many years ago and it literally has like 4-5 ingredients. Simple, and effective. The picture on this page is not correct, that is the picture of the creme, not the beauty fluid. The beauty fluid comes in a small bottle, containing pink lotion. They also make one for sensitive skin which comes in a yellow bottle, and is odorless.

As a moisturizer I have to say it works very well. It has cleared up my flakes, and it has not broken me out at all. Although the smell isn't something I'd be like, "ooooo that smells so pretty!" I didn't find it as offensive as some others here who compare it to a dirty diaper masked with powder. It smells like... an old person. I guess. I've been using it for a month or so now and I got used to the smell. The smell also fades very quickly once it's massaged in, and I apply my makeup over it. My boyfriend and I are in a long distance relationship and he wasn't around when I bought this lotion, and we had a sleepover when he was home for a visit. I was getting ready for bed, washed my face, and applied the lotion and he said, "So, I'm glad your new moisturizer works and everything... but that smells like SH*T!" LOL. It's definitely not pleasant to most people. I definitely would buy this lotion again, but I think I will let this bottle finish up and then purchase the sensitive skin one that has no smell. I originally took off one lippy for the smell, but then I added it back. The smell is not a deal breaker, and it fades fast. Not bad enough to lose a lip.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2011 5:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this moisturizer! My skin was dried out and tight everywhere, especially on the area around my mouth and chin, due to my cleanser. This was lightweight, sunk in within seconds, and kept my skin moisturized. It wasn't greasy at all. Even my acne-prone, combination skin sister with extremely oily and dry patches loved this. She says, since using this every night, her dry patches have disappeared almost completely. My only gripe about this is the packaging. The squeeze bottle was good at first, but when half the bottle is gone, it's a hassle. If I squeeze out too much, I suck it back in, but it takes too much time. A way that I figured out that gets the lotion out is to turn the bottle upside down, and squeeze slowly when the lotion gets to the opening. Otherwise, this is my HG moisturizer. Love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2011 12:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is great, I love it! I have about 3 in my bathroom that I use almost every day. I recommend it to anyone. Once you apply it, it feels really comforting. Go out and get one!


on 6/9/2011 11:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this off and on since I was very young. I think it was one of my very first moisturisers. It's perfect. There's a reason why it has been around so long. I love it on my combination skin. Not too greasy, doesn't make my skin react, adds the perfect amount of moisture and it's so cheap to buy. The scent is comforting, it just takes me back to days long ago. Love it. I'll never be without a bottle of this trusty lotion.


on 6/9/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this moisturizer .. it's not greasy and did does not clog my pores .. i use this every night and every day for the past 4 months and it has been amazing to my skin. my skin feels sooo smooth and soft like a baby's butt (i love it) I recommend any one with oily acne prone skin to buy this

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Did I get a bad bottle? This stuff smells like baby sh*t masked with powder. And it's not just me being flip here: my boyfriend said I smelled like a dirty diaper. =/ How I missed this fact when I purchased the beauty fluid, I'll never know, (I probably just grabbed it without sniffing first...) but there ya go.


On the BRIGHT side, the smell fades after, like, an hour. And, smell aside, the moisturizer / beauty fluid works exactly as advertised: it moisturizes. Perhaps TOO well in my case...


The unseasonably chilly spring has wreaked havoc on my skin, so I was looking for cheap results until my skin got back to normal. This stuff managed to take dry, flaky, itchy skin and turn it greasy in a matter of hours. So it works? Meh.


I WAS going to give this product a 3 because most of my complaints admittedly stem from my own errors in judgment, but I'm going to give it a 2, since as my boyfriend says, "At some point, it's not your fault for not smelling it first; it's their fault for making something that smells like sh*t."


on 5/14/2011 10:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I cant use any other moisturizer because they just dont keep my skin hydrated throughout the day like this does. My skin is very combination. I use the original beauty fluid. When searching for this, I saw that they have sensitive and oil free versions of this so I would like to try those because my skin is both oily and sensitive, though so far this is the best for that. I've tried three of cliniques moisturizers which were tremendous wastes of money and i now hate clinique more than before. ive also tried biore, neutrogena, and aveeno. Only aveeno worked, but the hydration did not last all day, so i flaked by lunchtime.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My mom bought this for me long time back and I was in love initially. I liked the soft feel and the mild fragrance even though its a bit "grandma-like". I even recommended it to my friends... Mind you, this was the older formula and the bottle said "made in UK" on it. I then bought my first new bottle with the new formula "made in US"...and OMG!!! I started breaking out like crazy!! I don't know why they changed the formula or if the product in UK is superior to US. I checked online and in UK they call it "olay beauty fluid". I'm not going to buy it again! I'm using up the one I have on my hands and elbows.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2011 12:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my mom actually got this for me while she went shopping, at first my face felt very good. refreshed light on my skin i LOVED it but then my face got so DRY after a couple days. im still dealing with very dry skin because of it :(


Back to Top