Olay Hydrating Beauty Fluid Original

4.0

341 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, cetyl palmitate, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl hydroxystearate, stearic acid, steareth-100, Dimethicone, octyldodecyl myristate, potassium hydroxide, fragrance, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, tetrasodium EDTA, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, FD&C red No. 4.


on 6/29/2011 12:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think the product is great for people for normal skin but not so much for someone with really dry, dehydrated, sensitive skin. It feels great going on - very smooth and light and is absorbed right away.

My niece on the other hand with combination skin loves it.

We both love the scent and it completely reminds me of my mother but I love that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/29/2011 12:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

this would be my HG night moisturizer if i was NOT acne prone!! the moisturizer itself is so smooth and i personally love the smell. however it makes my breakouts so much worse, but the areas on my face without pimples weres ooo smooth and soft. so frustrating! haha ill probably end up trying this over and over again because it works so well on the normal parts of my face.


on 6/26/2011 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This moisturizer is very kind to my dry, flaky, rosacea prone skin. I use it as a night cream and it works very well. However, my mother used the exact same product - as I realizeed the minute I smelled the product - and I would rather not smell like my mother, so I will keep looking for a night cream that works as well as this one but with a different scent.


on 6/21/2011 6:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I keep coming back to Olay, wish it still came in the glass bottle because I think the scent mixed in the plastic doesn't smell quite as good. The scent is a sort of powdery floral with a touch of almond. It is strong. If you are sensitive to scent (like me) consider the scent free version. There is also one with SPF.


The major ingredients are mineral oil, vaseline (petrolatum) and glycerin. Very basic. It is cheap enough but watch where you buy it; Walgreens was 20% more than Walmart or online drugstores.


It leaves my face soft, has a cooling feel when applied (due to a high water content) and it sinks in fairly well. It leaves a slight moist feel due to the glycerin which is attracting water to your skin. I spent a lot more on creams that do no more, so why not spend $9.47 or so on a 6oz bottle that you can get anywhere?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Some of these reviews are really funny. I decided to try this after reading loads of reviews on the OLAY website from people who were in their 60's or even older who swore by this product. They were loyal users of years and years who said their skin had less wrinkles than their peers. This OLAY original fluid was the formula made so many years ago and it literally has like 4-5 ingredients. Simple, and effective. The picture on this page is not correct, that is the picture of the creme, not the beauty fluid. The beauty fluid comes in a small bottle, containing pink lotion. They also make one for sensitive skin which comes in a yellow bottle, and is odorless.

As a moisturizer I have to say it works very well. It has cleared up my flakes, and it has not broken me out at all. Although the smell isn't something I'd be like, "ooooo that smells so pretty!" I didn't find it as offensive as some others here who compare it to a dirty diaper masked with powder. It smells like... an old person. I guess. I've been using it for a month or so now and I got used to the smell. The smell also fades very quickly once it's massaged in, and I apply my makeup over it. My boyfriend and I are in a long distance relationship and he wasn't around when I bought this lotion, and we had a sleepover when he was home for a visit. I was getting ready for bed, washed my face, and applied the lotion and he said, "So, I'm glad your new moisturizer works and everything... but that smells like SH*T!" LOL. It's definitely not pleasant to most people. I definitely would buy this lotion again, but I think I will let this bottle finish up and then purchase the sensitive skin one that has no smell. I originally took off one lippy for the smell, but then I added it back. The smell is not a deal breaker, and it fades fast. Not bad enough to lose a lip.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2011 5:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this moisturizer! My skin was dried out and tight everywhere, especially on the area around my mouth and chin, due to my cleanser. This was lightweight, sunk in within seconds, and kept my skin moisturized. It wasn't greasy at all. Even my acne-prone, combination skin sister with extremely oily and dry patches loved this. She says, since using this every night, her dry patches have disappeared almost completely. My only gripe about this is the packaging. The squeeze bottle was good at first, but when half the bottle is gone, it's a hassle. If I squeeze out too much, I suck it back in, but it takes too much time. A way that I figured out that gets the lotion out is to turn the bottle upside down, and squeeze slowly when the lotion gets to the opening. Otherwise, this is my HG moisturizer. Love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2011 12:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is great, I love it! I have about 3 in my bathroom that I use almost every day. I recommend it to anyone. Once you apply it, it feels really comforting. Go out and get one!


on 6/9/2011 11:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this off and on since I was very young. I think it was one of my very first moisturisers. It's perfect. There's a reason why it has been around so long. I love it on my combination skin. Not too greasy, doesn't make my skin react, adds the perfect amount of moisture and it's so cheap to buy. The scent is comforting, it just takes me back to days long ago. Love it. I'll never be without a bottle of this trusty lotion.


on 6/9/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this moisturizer .. it's not greasy and did does not clog my pores .. i use this every night and every day for the past 4 months and it has been amazing to my skin. my skin feels sooo smooth and soft like a baby's butt (i love it) I recommend any one with oily acne prone skin to buy this

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Did I get a bad bottle? This stuff smells like baby sh*t masked with powder. And it's not just me being flip here: my boyfriend said I smelled like a dirty diaper. =/ How I missed this fact when I purchased the beauty fluid, I'll never know, (I probably just grabbed it without sniffing first...) but there ya go.


On the BRIGHT side, the smell fades after, like, an hour. And, smell aside, the moisturizer / beauty fluid works exactly as advertised: it moisturizes. Perhaps TOO well in my case...


The unseasonably chilly spring has wreaked havoc on my skin, so I was looking for cheap results until my skin got back to normal. This stuff managed to take dry, flaky, itchy skin and turn it greasy in a matter of hours. So it works? Meh.


I WAS going to give this product a 3 because most of my complaints admittedly stem from my own errors in judgment, but I'm going to give it a 2, since as my boyfriend says, "At some point, it's not your fault for not smelling it first; it's their fault for making something that smells like sh*t."


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top